vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Google search in forum search box (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=109906)

dbembibre 03-08-2006 10:00 PM

Google search in forum search box
 
This litle hack inserte a google search in the forum search box, with the posibility of search in web and in your site.

Edit you NavBar template and search for the following:
HTML Code:

<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
        </tr>
</table>

Put the google search code in this zone.

HTML Code:

</div>
<!-- / header quick search form -->

THE CODE BELOW CONTAINS A GOOGLE ACCOUNT WHICH AUTHOR WILL BE AWARDED:
HTML Code:

<!-- Search Google by Danny-->
<form method="get" action="http://www.google.com/custom" target="google_window">
<table bgcolor="#f7f7f7">
<tbody>
      <tr>
        <td align="left" height="32" nowrap="nowrap" valign="top">
        <a href="http://www.google.com/">
        <img src="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_25wht.gif" align="middle"  border="0" alt="Google" /></a>       
        <input type="hidden" name="domains" value="bmwfaq.com" />
        <input type="text" name="q" size="9" maxlength="255" value="" />
        <input type="submit" name="sa" value="Ir" />
        <br />

        <div style="padding:3px">
        <label><input type="radio" name="sitesearch" value="" checked="checked" />Web</label>
        <label ><input type="radio" name="sitesearch" value="bmwfaq.com" /></label>
        </div>

        <input type="hidden" name="client" value="pub-000000000" />
        <input type="hidden" name="forid" value="1" />
        <input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1" />
        <input type="hidden" name="oe" value="ISO-8859-1" />
        <input type="hidden" name="cof" value="GALT:#9A2C06;GL:1;DIV:#33FFFF;VLC:D03500;AH:center;BGC:99CCFF;LBGC:CCE5F9;ALC:440066;LC:440066;T:336699;GFNT:223472;GIMP:223472;FORID:1;" />
        <input type="hidden" name="hl" value="es" />
      </td>
      </tr>
</table>
</form>

<!-- Search Google -->

IF YOU HAVE YOUR OWN GOOGLE ACCOUNT YOU MAY REPLACE THE FOLLOWING LINES WITH YOUR INFO:
HTML Code:

<input type="hidden" name="domains" value="bmwfaq.com" />
HTML Code:

<input type="radio" name="sitesearch" value="bmwfaq.com" />
HTML Code:

<input type="hidden" name="client" value="pub-000000000" />

duplu 03-09-2006 11:46 AM

Looks pretty cool, I'll give this a go as no-one uses my other google search :)

Holidazed 03-09-2006 12:35 PM

I don't understand your instructions.

You mention "text in bold" and there is not text in bold.

Do I replace the first block of text you said to search for with the 3rd block you provided?

You said to put the search code in this zone.

</div>
<!-- / header quick search form -->

What does that mean?

Zia 03-09-2006 12:35 PM

seemd nice thing...hope going to install it..

dbembibre 03-09-2006 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bitg
I don't understand your instructions.

You mention "text in bold" and there is not text in bold.

Do I replace the first block of text you said to search for with the 3rd block you provided?

You said to put the search code in this zone.

</div>
<!-- / header quick search form -->

What does that mean?

Put the google code provided in the first post between this codes

Search this text is original in navbar template"<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
</tr>
</table>"

-->Here the Google code

</div>
<!-- / header quick search form -->


Now replace the text in bold and GREEN color by your data, for example, your domain, your google adsense cliente number, etc.

excuse my broken English, but i hope that the instructions are clear.


<!-- Search Google by Danny-->
<form method="get" action="http://www.google.com/custom" target="google_window">
<table bgcolor="#f7f7f7">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td align="left" height="32" nowrap="nowrap" valign="top">

<a href="http://www.google.com/">
<img src="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_25wht.gif" align="middle" border="0" alt="Google"></img></a>

<input type="hidden" name="domains" value="Bmwfaq.com "></input>
<input type="text" name="q" size="9" maxlength="255" value=""></input>
<input type="submit" name="sa" value="Ir"></input>
<br>

<div style="padding:3px">
<label><input type="radio" name="sitesearch" value="" checked="checked">Web</label>
<label ><input type="radio" name="sitesearch" value="bmwfaq.com">bmwfaq.com</label>
</div>

<input type="hidden" name="client" value= "pub-0000000000"></input>
<input type="hidden" name="forid" value="1"></input>
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1"></input>
<input type="hidden" name="oe" value="ISO-8859-1"></input>
<input type="hidden" name="cof" value="GALT:#9A2C06;GL:1;DIV:#33FFFF;VLC:D03500;AH :center;BGC:99CCFF;LBGC:CCE5F9;ALC:440066;LC:44006 6;T:336699;GFNT:223472;GIMP:223472;FORID:1;"></input>
<input type="hidden" name="hl" value="es"></input>
</td></tr></table>
</form>

<!-- Search Google -->

kall 03-10-2006 01:41 AM

I would advise NOT giving others your google code... if someone puts this somewhere that is against the adsense TOU, you may find yourself banned from the program.

dbembibre 03-10-2006 07:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kall
I would advise NOT giving others your google code... if someone puts this somewhere that is against the adsense TOU, you may find yourself banned from the program.

Thanks for the advise, i replace my adsense code by a unexisting one.

Holidazed 03-10-2006 02:56 PM

OK, I add the code in the place you tell me to and replace the the places with my own info. Now when I load up the main page of my site, I get the following error:

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '' (ASCII=7) state=2 in /home2/webbhelp/hidingplace-www/vbb350/index.php(487) : eval()'d code on line 1

Holidazed 03-10-2006 03:04 PM

D'Oh! It was me and my big fat fingers.

I guess the problem WAS the nut behind the wheel!

Lazarous 03-10-2006 07:13 PM

You know what would be awesome, changing the target to "_self" and having vBulletin do the search -BUT- display the output with vBulletin 3.5x headers and footers.

Does anyone know of an exisiting hack that maybe incorporated to display a non-vb page in this way? I seem to rember something on 2.x but can't find anything that resembles it.

Lazarous 03-17-2006 05:39 AM

< Bump >

Does anyone have any suggestions with how to achieve the above? ^^^

Many thanks.

dan35 03-17-2006 08:58 AM

I love how Erwin puts the Google Search box on his forumhome page.

http://www.christianforums.com/

Bro_Joey_Gowdy 05-11-2006 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dan35
I love how Erwin puts the Google Search box on his forumhome page.http://www.christianforums.com/


I agree, wish he would share it with us.

Btw, am I the only one who noticed that the code is wrong ?

This :
Code:

<input type="hidden" name="client" value="pub-000000000" />
should actually be this:
Code:

<input type="hidden" name="client" value="partner-pub-000000000" />
other it would count as adsense content instead of adsense search.

So yeah Erwin rocks !

:banana:

stinger2 05-11-2006 07:58 PM

Quote:

<input type="hidden" name="client" value="pub-000000000" />
what do you mean??..this is the correct sentence...or am i missingsomething?

Darat 05-11-2006 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dan35
I love how Erwin puts the Google Search box on his forumhome page.

http://www.christianforums.com/

I think I've added something similar to the search page on my forum see: http://forums.randi.org/search.php

Would that be of use to you?

Oops - forgot that wont be accessible for guests, it looks like the attached screenshot.

dbembibre 06-23-2006 06:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darat
I think I've added something similar to the search page on my forum see: http://forums.randi.org/search.php

Would that be of use to you?

Oops - forgot that wont be accessible for guests, it looks like the attached screenshot.

Another wonderfull way to add google to search :D

rjmjr69 04-04-2007 08:59 PM

This doesnt seem to work with 3.6.5? Ive done redone it a million times

amkge 04-14-2007 04:09 PM

When I do a search it comes up with the Google results but they are all foreign.


http://www.google.com/custom?domains...D%3A1%3B&hl=es

Could somebody please take a quick peek and tell me what i need to change to get my google results in english/american.

Thanks guys

jackstraw01 04-17-2007 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darat (Post 972388)
I think I've added something similar to the search page on my forum see: http://forums.randi.org/search.php

Would that be of use to you?

Oops - forgot that wont be accessible for guests, it looks like the attached screenshot.

I would like to do the same, how did you do this?

Darat 04-17-2007 02:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jackstraw01 (Post 1229690)
I would like to do the same, how did you do this?

Long time since I added it - as far as I remember it's really just the code from Goggle that allows you to have your google search results shown with your forum's logo (I think that's called "Google Custom Search") added to vBulletin search page:


In the template "search_forums", find

$header
$navbar


and then add this underneath it

PHP Code:


<!-- Search Google -->
    <
div class="tcat" style="padding:6px">
        <
a style="float:right" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('search_google')"><img id="collapseimg_search_google" src="http://www.randi.org/forumlive/images/buttons/collapse_thead.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
        
Google Search Forum
</div>        
<
div id="collapseobj_search_google" style="">


<
FORM method=GET action=http://www.google.com/custom>

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<
tr>
    <
td class="panelsurround" align="center">
        
    <
table class="panel" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]border="0" width="100%">
<
tr valign=center><td align=left >
<
A HREF=http://www.google.com/search>
<IMG SRC=http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_40wht.gif border=0 ALT=Google align=middle></A>
</td>
<
td align=left>
<
INPUT TYPE=text name=q size=31 maxlength=255 value="">
<
INPUT type=submit name=sa VALUE="Google Search">
<
INPUT type=hidden name=cof VALUE="S:http://forums.randi.org;AH:center;LH:75;L:http://forums.randi.org/images/misc/searchlogo.gif;LW:849;AWFID:31746880203d5407;">
<
input type=hidden name=domains value="forums.randi.org">

<
input type=radio name=sitesearch value="forums.randi.org" checkedSearch forums.randi.org
<input type=radio name=sitesearch value=""Search WWW 

</td></tr></TABLE>
</
FORM>

</
table>
</
table>
</
div>
</
br>

<!-- 
Search Google --> 

You'll need to use your own url for where my forum's url is used.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01343 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,828KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_html_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (20)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete