vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Empty Profile Field Notification! 1.0.0 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=108843)

Stangsta 02-24-2006 10:00 PM

Empty Profile Field Notification! 1.0.0
 
Empty Profile Field Notification! 1.0.0


WHAT IT DOES: This hack will inform your users in a somewhat annoying way that they should fill in profile fields that you specify. Once they fill in the specified fields, this message will go away. This Hack can be used for many things, for example. You can have a notice displayed if they are not a subscriber, not a member of a certain usergroup, have not selected an avatar, and more. Its up to your imagination :)

WHY I MADE THIS: Rather than forcing users to fill out profile fields and potentially lose new members because they just didnt feel like doing it right then and there during signup, this will remind them while they are browsing the forums that "hey, its a good idea to fill this out or you have to look at this annoying message everyday"! :)

INSTRUCTIONS:

Step 1 - Go in your adminCP > Styles & Templates > Edit Templates > Forum Home Templates > FORUMHOME

Find:
Code:

$navbar
Below, add:
Code:

<!-- Empty Profile Field Notification by Stangsta -->
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 1">
<else />
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]==''">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You do not have anything listed for the <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"About Me" </a>field in your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<!-- / Empty Profile Fields Notification by Stangsta -->

Step 2 This can get tricky for beginners. Now, customize the Hex color for the word "ATTENTION:" to whatever color you wish. I just made it a different color to help it stand out, you may remove the color formatting if you wish. Now select the profile field number you wish to produce a warning with.
ex.
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]==''">
*NOTE: Make sure you change the URL to match yours.

Step 3 This is OPTIONAL!

Lets say, you want your users to fill out 2 or more profile fields. Simple, just keep adding the code like this:
Code:

<!-- Empty Profile Field Notification by Stangsta -->
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 1">
<else />
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]==''">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You do not have anything listed for the <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Field 1" </a>field in your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]==''">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You do not have anything listed for the <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Field 2" </a>field in your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]==''">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You do not have anything listed for the <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Field 3" </a>field in your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<!-- / Empty Profile Fields Notification by Stangsta -->

Hopefully this was informative and helpful. I will support this the best I can, but I am no expert. Feel free to improve upon this, all I ask is you share the improvements with others in this thread.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE....If you use this hack CLICK INSTALL!

bubba1977 02-25-2006 12:13 PM

install went ok, shows that i need to fill in some information about me.

i filled in the info but the warning is still on the main page

any help?

EDIT.... silly me, forgot to change the XX to profile field number.

works ok now thanks :squareeyed:

MissKalunji 02-25-2006 12:40 PM

nice just what i needed :)

[high]* MissKalunji clicks installed[/high]

bubba1977 02-25-2006 12:49 PM

just noticed that when this is in place it makes the footer of the skin skewif and makes a large gap at the bottom of the page. :ermm:

Stangsta 02-25-2006 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubba1977
just noticed that when this is in place it makes the footer of the skin skewif and makes a large gap at the bottom of the page. :ermm:

Hmmmmm, Ill look into it.

It shouldnt effect the footer. Are you sure you installed it in the FORUMHOME template under the $navbar?

trancetopia 02-25-2006 06:03 PM

Now this is more like it. Thanks for sharing.

/me clicks install

bubba1977 02-25-2006 07:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stangsta
Hmmmmm, Ill look into it.

It shouldnt effect the footer. Are you sure you installed it in the FORUMHOME template under the $navbar?


yes i did install it it in forumhome under $navbar

Stangsta 02-25-2006 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubba1977
yes i did install it it in forumhome under $navbar

Can you PM me with a link to your forum with guest access?

FleaBag 02-25-2006 08:35 PM

Nice! I'll install I think.

bubba1977 02-25-2006 08:36 PM

Sorry the forum is members only but i will still pm you the link

moonclamp 02-25-2006 09:14 PM

Does someone know how to do this for a profile photo?

ie. You have not yet uploaded a profle photograph. Click here to do so now.

Stangsta 02-26-2006 05:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubba1977
Sorry the forum is members only but i will still pm you the link

It looks fine to me. I tried firefox & IE (I registered). Ill look more into it tomorrow, but it seems to be specific to your forum.

Stangsta 02-26-2006 05:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moonclamp
Does someone know how to do this for a profile photo?

ie. You have not yet uploaded a profle photograph. Click here to do so now.

Try this, let me know if it works:
Code:

<if condition="$show['profilepic']">
                        <else />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You have not created a <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Profile Picture" </a>for your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>

Change the URL to the location to change the profile pic.

Brandon Sheley 02-26-2006 05:42 AM

nice. I'll install this soon

moonclamp 02-26-2006 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stangsta
Try this, let me know if it works:
Code:

<if condition="$show['profilepic']">
                        <else />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You have not created a <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Profile Picture" </a>for your profile.</strong>
</if>
</td>
</tr>

Change the URL to the location to change the profile pic.

Unfortunately there was something wrong with the if condition ... it displayed for everyone regardless of whether they had a picture or not, even non-members.

Stangsta 02-26-2006 05:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moonclamp
Unfortunately there was something wrong with the if condition ... it displayed for everyone regardless of whether they had a picture or not, even non-members.

Ok , try this. If I had a way to test this, I would. My site does not use profile pics and has it disabled. I would as always recommend that you use a "test style" if you dont already. Just so your users arent affected.
Code:

<!-- Empty Profile Field Notification by Stangsta -->
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 1">
<else />
<if condition="$show['profilepic']">
<else />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You have not created a <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Profile Picture" </a>for your profile.</strong>
</td>
</tr>
</if></if>
<!-- / Empty Profile Fields Notification by Stangsta -->

or this
Code:

<!-- Empty Profile Field Notification by Stangsta -->
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 1 OR $show['profilepic'] ">
<else />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">

<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="5">
<strong><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You have not created a <a href="http://www.YOUR_DOMAIN_NAME.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile">"Profile Picture" </a>for your profile.</strong>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<!-- / Empty Profile Fields Notification by Stangsta -->

I know im close on this.

Stangsta 02-26-2006 06:53 PM

Also, this Hack can be used for many things, for example. You can have a notice displayed if they are not a subscriber, not a member of a certain usergroup, have not selected an avatar, and more. Its up to your imagination :)

moonclamp 02-26-2006 07:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stangsta
Ok , try this. If I had a way to test this, I would. My site does not use profile pics and has it disabled. I would as always recommend that you use a "test style" if you dont already. Just so your users arent affected.


I know im close on this.

Instead of adding this to forumhome I added it to the bottom of the navbar template to test it on different pages.

It actually works on "profile.php?do=editprofilepic" but it displays all the time on other pages.

I think that <if condition="$show['profilepic']"> will only work on that particular page, so I'm guessing it will need a plugin to function properly.

Stangsta 02-27-2006 03:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moonclamp
so I'm guessing it will need a plugin to function properly.

Thats where I cannot help. :( Maybe someone else here has the knowledge on this one.

arossphoto 04-12-2006 01:39 AM

I just installed this and everything seemed to be working fine, until I realized the right column that I placed in my forums page using vBadvanced CPMS was gone. I removed your code from FORUMHOME and the right column magically reappeared.

I'd really like to get this working and don't want to give up my right column, so if you have any advice I'd really appreaciate it. If it helps, here's the instructions from the vBadvanced manual that I used and they have nothing to do with the FORUMHOME template.

http://www.vbadvanced.com/membersare...tid=4&pageid=6

Thanks

bada_bing 04-12-2006 02:26 AM

Wow this sounds great but can someone make this a plugin as I hate template mods.

Stangsta 04-12-2006 02:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bada_bing
Wow this sounds great but can someone make this a plugin as I hate template mods.

If someone would be so kind in showing me how to make a plugin, I would do that. :)

arossphoto 04-12-2006 03:01 PM

Any suggestions regarding my problems with the vBadvanced right column? Am I out of luck?

Cheers,

Andrew

Stangsta 04-12-2006 03:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arossphoto
Any suggestions regarding my problems with the vBadvanced right column? Am I out of luck?

Cheers,

Andrew

I have no idea, I don't use VBA.

arossphoto 04-12-2006 05:17 PM

Thanks,

I ended up using the other mod here to force users to fill in the fields. I prefered your more gentle approach, but I'm glad I found something that works. It's always nice to have options.

Cheers.

arossphoto 04-13-2006 09:16 PM

I just reinstalled this. Using vBadvanced to add columns to the forum pages seemed to be causing other weird layout problems so I got rid of it.

Thanks for a great mod!

PennylessZ28 04-17-2006 12:14 AM

Hurm, I was looking at this and I was wondering why you did this
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 1">
<else />

And not this

Code:

<if condition="$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] != '0' AND THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">
Or you could use something even simpler

Code:

        <if condition="$show['member']">

Stangsta 04-17-2006 12:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HR3rdGen
Hurm, I was looking at this and I was wondering why you did this

Gotta start somewhere ;)

Good looking out.

truCido 05-04-2006 09:22 PM

looks like a great hack exactly what I've been after but how would I get this to work with the email field?

Tralala 05-04-2006 09:41 PM

Quote:

You can have a notice displayed if they are not a subscriber, not a member of a certain usergroup, have not selected an avatar, and more.
This looks great, just what I am looking for. I'd like to gently remind folks to upload an avatar.

So how is this done? What is the profile field # for avatar?

FleaBag 08-13-2006 04:39 PM

Is this default in 3.6.0 now?

robert_2004 11-02-2006 03:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arossphoto
I just installed this and everything seemed to be working fine, until I realized the right column that I placed in my forums page using vBadvanced CPMS was gone. I removed your code from FORUMHOME and the right column magically reappeared.

I'd really like to get this working and don't want to give up my right column, so if you have any advice I'd really appreaciate it. If it helps, here's the instructions from the vBadvanced manual that I used and they have nothing to do with the FORUMHOME template.

http://www.vbadvanced.com/membersare...tid=4&pageid=6

Thanks


It's because this mod is poorly coded.
The code SHOULD BE
Code:

<!-- Empty Profile Field Notification by Stangsta -->
<!-- Enter the IDs for guest usergroups, and any other usergroups you don't want to show this to, below. -->
<if condition="in_array($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'], array(1,34,41,45))">
  <!-- Anything here will be displayed to guests and above usergroups -->
<else />
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[field2]==''">
        <table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
        <tr>
                <td class="tcat" colspan="5">
                <strong><a href="/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile"><font color="#FF9933">ATTENTION:</font> You have not entered your Suburb into your profile.</a></strong>
                </td>
        </tr>
        </table>
</if>

<!-- / Empty Profile Fields Notification by Stangsta -->

the table wasn't closed on the original version.

robert_2004 11-02-2006 03:36 AM

on another note, does anyone know how to get this to work on non forum pages, like vBa CMPS index?
i need to call the userprofile variables from somewhere...


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01352 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,836KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (14)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (33)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete