vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   google analytics + archive questions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=107967)

David_R 02-14-2006 02:47 PM

google analytics + archive questions
 
hi,

Where should i place the google analytics code as follows in:
Code:

<script src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" type="text/javascript">
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
_uacct = "UA-*****-*";
urchinTracker();
</script>

1. Vbulletin Archive
2. vB Easy Archive - Search Engine Spiderable Hack from Xenon

thanks.

Reeve of shinra 02-14-2006 03:05 PM

In the default vbulletin archive, add a new plugin using the archive header start and add in this:

HTML Code:

?>

<script src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" type="text/javascript">
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
_uacct = "UA-*****-*";
urchinTracker();
</script>

<?php

Not sure about the other one.

David_R 02-14-2006 09:11 PM

did you meant to add a new plugin to this page:
admincp/plugin.php?do=add ??

what should i select under hook location, sorry for being lame i have not read complete information about vb yet :(

thanks for helping.

Reeve of shinra 02-14-2006 09:28 PM

yep thats the place. The hook location should be called something like archive header start or something close to it. Im at work and wont be home for a few hours but let me know if you cant find it or have problems :)

David_R 02-21-2006 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reeve of shinra
yep thats the place. The hook location should be called something like archive header start or something close to it. Im at work and wont be home for a few hours but let me know if you cant find it or have problems :)

THANKS man, i just added the same above the </body> tag under <div> elements.

styleforum 05-19-2007 07:45 PM

Could someone explain this a little more step-by-step? I'm trying to figure out how to do this. Surprised more people aren't wondering the same thing.

Dismounted 05-20-2007 04:38 AM

Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin > Hook Location: archive_header_start > Paste code as above.

firstrebel 05-20-2007 06:47 AM

Does the code put into the footer template not work for the archive?

Bob

Dismounted 05-20-2007 07:09 AM

It probably does, but I don't know why Reeve of shinra instructed to do it using plugins. I was assuming it wouldn't work the other way.

firstrebel 05-20-2007 08:06 AM

I just looked at the page source in the Archive and the Google script was not there, so this suggests putting it in the footer template does not cover the archives.

I have not tried using it as a plugin yet and removing the code from the footer. Can anyone clear this up please?

Bob

Dismounted 05-20-2007 09:53 AM

Ah, sorry about that, I though the Archive had it's own templates. No, it wouldn't work in the footer template as the archive generates its own HTML on-the-fly.

styleforum 05-20-2007 05:08 PM

Yeah, I pulled the archive source after adding Google ads to the archive, and didn't see the tracker in there. So I tried editing the archive/index.php to include the script and it didn't work - wouldn't parse at all, I don't know what I'm doing in there exactly, just pasted it right before the </body>.

So does this plugin thing work for this purpose then? I'll try it. Thanks.

I must be blind, I don't see archive_header_start. I see:

archive_global
archive_process_start
archive_postheader
archive_navigation
archive_forum
archive_forum_thread
archive_thread_post
archive_complete

Dismounted 05-21-2007 06:25 AM

Use archive_process_start :).

styleforum 05-21-2007 06:52 AM

Thanks, I used archive_complete and it worked, so I think I'll leave it. Cheers.

Spinball 07-03-2007 01:11 PM

I used archive_complete and get the following error:
Quote:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/sites/avforums/public_html/forums/archive/index.php(453) : eval()'d code on line 1
when I view archive pages using 3.6.7PL1

Dismounted 07-04-2007 05:18 AM

What are you putting in for the PHP code.

Spinball 07-04-2007 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dismounted (Post 1282446)
What are you putting in for the PHP code.

Erm, just putting the Google HTML Script tags. No PHP code.

Fixed it.
You have to put
PHP Code:

$output .= "<script src=\"http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js\" type=\"text/javascript\">
</script>
<script type=\"text/javascript\">
_uacct = \"XX-XXXXXXX-X\";
urchinTracker();
</script>"


in to the archive_complete hook.

Voyager-S 04-20-2008 08:45 AM

I'm bumping this thread as I really want to have my archive tracked by Google Analytics, however the new code is different from the one you posted above. My new code looks like this:

PHP Code:

<script type="text/javascript">
var 
gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" gaJsHost "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</
script>
<
script type="text/javascript">
var 
pageTracker _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXXX-1");
pageTracker._initData();
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</
script

What should I do to have this added to my archive? I tried using a plugin from archive_complete but I get a parse error everytime, and other different errors.

Anybody? thanks in advance :)

Dismounted 04-20-2008 08:59 AM

PHP Code:

$output .= '<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src=\'" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js\' type=\'text/javascript\'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXXX-1");
pageTracker._initData();
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>'



Voyager-S 04-20-2008 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dismounted (Post 1495021)
PHP Code:

$output .= '<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src=\'" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js\' type=\'text/javascript\'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXXX-1");
pageTracker._initData();
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>'



Oh wow, thank you!! It finnally works. Now I only have to wait and see if the results get tracked in Google Analytics :)

Thanks again, dismounted!

adnoid 02-25-2009 07:57 PM

Thanks for this thread - I just did this on our forum. The Google code has changed a little bit:

PHP Code:

$output .= '<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src=\'" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js\' type=\'text/javascript\'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXXX-1");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
'


The key to getting it to work as a plugin is:

--Add this first:

Code:

$output .= '
--Paste your Google code

--Add this at the end:

Code:

';
--Go through the pasted Google code and anywhere there is a single quote (') escape it with a backslash (\'), LEAVING the first and last single quotes you added above. You can find 4 places in the code I put above, and there should always be an even number!


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01303 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,774KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (21)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete