vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Simple global announcement (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=101697)

tommykjensen 11-26-2005 10:00 PM

Simple global announcement
 
Inspired by the Welcome headers hack I wanted to add a simple global announcement that I could turn on and off via the admin cp and change the announcement from acp.

The Dynamic Announcements hack is a bit more than I require so I wrote my own simple global announcement hack.

To install import the xml file as a product in the Plugin Manager.

Modify template FORUMHOME add

$simple_global_announcement

where You want the announcement to be placed. I have placed it after $navbar and before <!-- main --> like this

Code:

<body>
$header
$navbar
$simple_global_announcement

<!-- main -->


To enable the announcement goto vBulletin options and open settings for "Global annoucement". Here You can enable/disable the announcement and enter the text to display.


Change history.

1.1.0 Made the announcement box collapsable


Future.
I am hoping a new template hook will be added in FORUMHOME just after $navbar so future template edits won't be required to install this.

Daniel 11-27-2005 03:48 PM

EDIT: Having some problems, it's not showing up. I did the template modification and turned it online via the admincp and included a message. Any ideas?

Watson 11-27-2005 04:53 PM

Looks pretty cool, however will this interfere with my Geek Banner System?

MoMan 11-27-2005 05:14 PM

Awesome! Nice and simple, yet effective!

tommykjensen 11-27-2005 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daniel
Having some problems, it's not showing up. I did the template modification and turned it online via the admincp and included a message. Any ideas?

Hmm, strange. You loaded the xml file via plugin manager, edited the template FORUMHOME? Can You post a few lines from that template around where You made the change?

If You goto the settings are the global announcement then still enabled and the text still there?


Quote:

Originally Posted by Watson
Looks pretty cool, however will this interfere with my Geek Banner System?

I don't know that banner system so I don't know if it will interfere.

puertoblack2003 11-27-2005 05:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daniel
EDIT: Having some problems, it's not showing up. I did the template modification and turned it online via the admincp and included a message. Any ideas?

also check your template if you have more then one beside the default you have to make changes to each template in nav bar... :ermm:

-=Sniper=- 11-27-2005 05:56 PM

simple :) will be installing.

BiReL41r 11-27-2005 09:08 PM

Great hack, but does it interfere if you have the Dynamic Announcement installed aswell?

tommykjensen 11-28-2005 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BiReL41r
Great hack, but does it interfere if you have the Dynamic Announcement installed aswell?

I don't know, but I don't think so. I have not installed Dynamic Announcement installed.

Hexemer 11-29-2005 07:06 PM

How can i make it colabsable? :)

puertoblack2003 11-29-2005 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BiReL41r
Great hack, but does it interfere if you have the Dynamic Announcement installed aswell?

so far i have both installed and no problem to report :rolleyes:

bigmonay2k 11-30-2005 05:35 PM

sound, I'll try when i get home

DWard 11-30-2005 09:00 PM

got it working, but doesnt seem to display on vbadvanced at all. I have put it in the correct templates for both, hmmmm

tommykjensen 12-01-2005 06:40 AM

I don't know vbadvanced so can't help there.

silurius 12-24-2005 11:10 PM

How can I control visibility by user group? This approach does not appear to work:
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '23'">Testing permissions</if>
Collapsibility would also be awesome.

Julie 12-25-2005 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hexemer
How can i make it colabsable? :)

Take a look at this thread:

Linky

:)

Eagle Creek 01-03-2006 11:50 PM

Tommy; I have a question.

Your original code contains:
Code:

                <td class="alt1">
                        <phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]" 2="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vboptions[globalannouncementtext]</phrase>
                </td>

But with this use, the announcement lay-out gots f*cked up when I use a table with a picture and text.
So I edited it to:
Code:

                <td class="alt1">
                        $vboptions[globalannouncementtext]
                </td>

and that works PERFECT!

So can you explain why do you call the username and bbtitle in those phrases?

tommykjensen 01-07-2006 02:58 PM

So that those phrases can be used inside the actual announcement text if required. But either works.

Eagle Creek 01-07-2006 07:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tommykjensen
So that those phrases can be used inside the actual announcement text if required. But either works.

Do you mean when I would use the {1} and {2} 'things"?

I'm sorry for the questions but I'm just curious :D.

The Chief 01-08-2006 11:55 PM

Does anybody know if this works on vB Drupal or how to make it work on it??

tommykjensen 01-12-2006 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eagle Creek
Do you mean when I would use the {1} and {2} 'things"?

I'm sorry for the questions but I'm just curious :D.

Yep and thats ok :-)

Eagle Creek 01-12-2006 09:07 PM

Thank you!

Eagle Creek 02-26-2006 08:11 PM

Tommy; listen!

I love your hack. But I have a question/request.

I want to make a copy of this hack on my forums, cause I want to use it two times. But I want the original version not modified. So it can be changed from the admin panel.

The second one I want to have it be able to be changed from the MODCPpanel.

Is this possible and how can I do it?

Alien 03-04-2006 05:07 PM

Will this work site-wide? Instead of just inside the forumhome?

tommykjensen 07-11-2006 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eagle Creek
Tommy; listen!

I love your hack. But I have a question/request.

I want to make a copy of this hack on my forums, cause I want to use it two times. But I want the original version not modified. So it can be changed from the admin panel.

The second one I want to have it be able to be changed from the MODCPpanel.

Is this possible and how can I do it?


Sorry about the late response. I haven't been around for a while.

I guess You could do that if You want to. You would need to create a new xml file with a different name. Then You would need to change all references, names etc so the to plugins do not use the same. Not really easy to explain.


Alien, yeah I guess You could use it anywhere You like since the variable is global. I have not tried but see no reason why it shouldn't work.

Eagle Creek 09-28-2006 10:47 AM

Is this hack working with 3.6.1?

tommykjensen 10-01-2006 03:57 PM

I think it will but have not tested it as I have not had a lot of spare time.

Eagle Creek 04-19-2007 01:34 PM

3.6 compatible?

tommykjensen 04-23-2007 03:00 PM

I will see if I can get it tested on 3.6.5 soon.

Eagle Creek 04-23-2007 08:34 PM

Thank YOU!

tommykjensen 05-13-2007 06:26 PM

Sorry for the long wait. I have just upgraded my test forum to 3.6.6 and tested simple global annoncement at the same time and it works with no changes.

(I have asked a moderator to move the thread to 3.6.x forum so I can update the thread with the correct version number).

Paul M 05-14-2007 04:13 PM

Moved.

tommykjensen 05-16-2007 05:53 AM

Thanks Paul.

Now also tested to work with 3.6.7.

Eagle Creek 05-16-2007 10:26 AM

Thank you!

marlena 05-25-2007 11:50 PM

Question : I installed this, it's working fine, however when I try to use bbcode to make a url link that says (for example) click here it wont create a link and the bbcode shows up,. What am I doing wrong?

scan-pa 05-25-2007 11:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marlena (Post 1254753)
Question : I installed this, it's working fine, however when I try to use bbcode to make a url link that says (for example) click here it wont create a link and the bbcode shows up,. What am I doing wrong?


use an anchor tag, and it works fine for a link.

<A href="URL here">Text msg to show</A>

marlena 05-26-2007 12:12 AM

awesome thanks!

marlena 05-26-2007 12:15 AM

hmmm when i used that tag the box where it should show up is extremely narrow and about a millimeter tall :(

***edited nevermind i was just being an airhead lol i got it...

tommykjensen 05-28-2007 03:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hexemer (Post 835816)
How can i make it colabsable? :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by silurius (Post 856501)
How can I control visibility by user group? This approach does not appear to work:
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '23'">Testing permissions</if>
Collapsibility would also be awesome.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Julie (Post 856529)
Take a look at this thread:

Linky

:)


Thanks for the link I finnally got around to do this so in version 1.1.0 it is now possible to collapse the announcement.

4x4 Mecca 06-04-2007 05:13 PM

thanks for this


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01336 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,816KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete