vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   QuoteIt! - Quote Database (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=97585)

Cap'n Steve 06-15-2006 03:16 AM

The rogue phrase is one of many things that will be fixed in the next version. I know it's taken a long time, but it's getting close to being done. ;)

Canis Firebrand 06-15-2006 10:36 AM

Good to hear. I really like the plugin. Looking forward to the new release. :)

jaks 06-15-2006 06:50 PM

I guess there would have to be an update to the a VBA module aswell?

Jaks :knockedout:

hurry 06-25-2006 03:28 AM

Hello. I wanted an option to switch off the rating system as it takes up too much vertical space on the forum pages. How can I do this?

Bubble #5 06-25-2006 04:52 PM

Guess this doesn't work with 3.6 :(

Cap'n Steve 06-26-2006 12:24 AM

You can disable the rating system in your admincp.

Thanks for the heads up about 3.6. I haven't even downloaded it yet.

Alien 06-26-2006 12:58 AM

This works fine at least if you already have it installed before upgrading to 3.6, I haven't tested a fresh install. :)

TPOCJames 08-04-2006 03:43 AM

Question:

Can you set it so that only administrators can view the quotes.php page?

Maybe I should just do an <if> tag on all of the content? ;)

Cap'n Steve 08-04-2006 07:31 AM

You could do that, but it'd probably be better to do this:

In quotes.php, find
PHP Code:

require_once('./global.php'); 

after that, add
PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->userinfo['permissions']['adminpermissions']) {
    
print_no_permission();
    exit;



MortysTW 08-04-2006 11:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve
Attached are instructions for adding a random quote block to vBadvanced CMPS. vBportal seems to have become a commercial product, if anyone knows how to create addons for that, please let me know.

UPDATE: Added instructions for adding quotes to the quick moderation block.

I think you might be linking to the wrong file or something. There aren't any instructions on how to add it to the Quick Moderation block. But besides that, I can't seem to get it to work at all. No errors, its just invisible.

I add and remove modules and create my own all the time. So I'm familiar with vBadvanced. But for the life of me I'm not sure why this block isn't appearing at all.

I've got RANDOM turned on in the vBulletin Options > QuoteIt and also in the vbulletin options>vbulletin options>forumhome

But I'm trying to get it to appear in the vBadvanced home page. I don't want it in my forums so I haven't edited those templates to get it to appear there at all.

Only thing I can figure is that with the "THRESHOLD" boxes, it says to leave it BLANK yet when I delete the ZERO and hit save, when I go back, there is a ZERO again. But making those a 1 or 3 has no affect. :(

Cap'n Steve 08-05-2006 02:09 AM

Quick moderation instructions are in the README.html file, in the second part.

Could you post a screenshot of the options you filled out for the Random Quote module?

MortysTW 08-05-2006 04:06 AM

As for the Clean File Output, I've tried it both on and off.

Here's the snapshot.

MortysTW 08-05-2006 04:11 AM

And as for the instructions in the 2nd part you are talking about, you list it as vBindex so I assumed that was some sort of other portal system. Not sure what "2nd part" you are referring to.

Cap'n Steve 08-06-2006 03:42 AM

I'm not sure where you're seeing vBindex. In the main post, there's a link to the fourth post in this thread where the vBadvanced instructions are attached. In the README.html file from that post, the instructions for quick moderating quotes are below this heading (which is in red):

Quote:

These are instructions for adding quick quote moderation to your portal homepage. You must have QuoteIt! 2.1 already installed.
For your other problem: Try setting Use Module Shell Template to no. If that doesn't work, try doing the modification to the FORUMHOME template. Does the quote show up there? Do they show up when you go to quotes.php?

MortysTW 08-06-2006 04:26 AM

WTF? Okay, I'm an idiot. I must of kept opening the wrong zip. When I saved them to my PC, the only difference is the ! in the file name. And I was reading the one that showed how to add the actual vba module and on that readme, it shows the vbindex instructions too. Sorry.

And as for forumhome, the quotes don't show. The box and everything does, but the actual words don't. Its just a pair of "" in an empty box. And yes they appear when I do the quotes.php and I can add them just fine. They just won't show. I'll go try the shell OFF right now. If I don't reply, that means it still doesn't work.

MortysTW 08-06-2006 04:38 AM

Nope. Still no luck. Help me Oh Mighty Man of Quoting :)

Cap'n Steve 08-06-2006 05:07 AM

So you have quotes in the database, right? Try running these queries, replacing $TP with your table prefix, if you're using one:

[sql]UPDATE $TPsetting SET
value = 1
WHERE varname = "showquote"[/sql]

[sql]UPDATE $TPsetting SET
value = ""
WHERE varname = "totalthreshold"[/sql]

[sql]UPDATE $TPsetting SET
value = ""
WHERE varname = "averagethreshold"[/sql]

AAN 08-07-2006 12:09 AM

Not sure if this has been asked, but how do I get the quotes to come up on every page? right now they're only coming up on the front of the forum..

ambrosious 08-07-2006 10:20 PM

Is there a graphic for the "Submit to Quotes" line that comes up in each thread? If so, where and how do I use it?!

GREAT HACK!

MortysTW 08-08-2006 01:02 AM

Alright, got it working in ForumHome finally. Thanks for the DB edit.

As for the vbadvanced part, its odd. Its not even "calling" the quotes.php file at all. I view my source code of my vbadvanced page and its nowhere in the file.

Cap'n Steve 08-08-2006 04:17 AM

AAN - This post has instructions for adding it to other pages.

ambrosious - Not right now, but I'm working on one.

MortysTW -
In modules/quote.php find this
PHP Code:

    eval('$home[$mods[\'modid\']][\'content\'] .= "' fetch_template('quote_randomquote') . '";'); 

and replace that with this
PHP Code:

    eval('print_output("' fetch_template('quote_randomquote') . '");'); 

Then turn Clean File Output on again. If that doesn't work, then I really don't have any idea why. You might want to ask the vBadvanced guys.

TPOCJames 08-29-2006 03:21 AM

Getting this error:

Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.5.4:

Invalid SQL:

                SELECT COUNT(*) AS quotes FROM quotes
                        WHERE AND quotes.average >= 0 AND quotes.rating >= 0  approved = 1;

MySQL Error  : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'AND quotes.average >= 0 AND quotes.rating >= 0  approved = 1' at line 2
Error Number : 1064
Date        : Tuesday, August 29th 2006 @ 12:20:41 AM
Script      : http://www.into-thin-air.com/quotes.php
Referrer    :
IP Address  : removed
Username    : removed
Classname    : vb_database

A moron admin deleted my entire forum and this was after a backup soo... yeah.

Cap'n Steve 08-29-2006 04:24 AM

Do you have the Random Quote set to use the golbal_start hook? If that's the case, you need to edit that plugin and add this at the end:
PHP Code:

unset($threshold); 


TPOCJames 08-30-2006 12:29 AM

Thanks, I'll try that and tell you how it goes. :)

Working fine. Thanks. :)

Antwerp 09-01-2006 04:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ambrosious
Is there a graphic for the "Submit to Quotes" line that comes up in each thread? If so, where and how do I use it?!

GREAT HACK!

I made this button, but I'm using the old school buttons, I don't like the new ones.
http://www.driveaddictforum.com/gif/submitquote.gif

To get it to work, I used this in the postbit
Code:

<!-- BEGIN QuoteIt! -->
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/quotes.php?$session[sessionurl]do=submitpost&amp;postid=$post[postid]">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/submitquote.gif" alt="$vbphrase[submit_to_quotes]" border="0" /></a>
<!-- END QuoteIt! -->

Also, I changed the Phrase "Submit_to_Quote" in the phrase manager to say:
"Submit Quote to Hall of Fame"

Works Great! Love the Hack!
Thanks :)

opteek 09-13-2006 08:43 PM

Does this work with 3.6 and if not, what changes would need to be made? This is an awesome mod!

Cap'n Steve 09-14-2006 01:06 AM

It may or may not work on 3.6. If you're worried about it, you can just wait until the official 3.6 version is released, which shouldn't be too long.

Lionel 09-28-2006 12:54 PM

This does not work for me on 3.60. This is really too bad.

Bubble #5 10-02-2006 12:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve
you can just wait until the official 3.6 version is released, which shouldn't be too long.

Any update on this please? ;)

Alien 10-02-2006 02:16 AM

While I can't verify if it works installing it fresh, I do know that it works fine on 3.6.1 here already installed..

Can't wait for an update on this, Capt! Been a year since last, man time flies..

Cap'n Steve 10-02-2006 05:19 AM

I'm having some trouble with the Javascript right now, but it should be on my site soon for a beta test, and then released soon after. There's quite a few changes, so I want to make sure it'll work smoothly.

Lionel 10-03-2006 05:34 AM

Hum, I take it back... In uninstalled a couple of hacks, and looks like it is working now.

murrtex 10-08-2006 09:46 AM

Hello Cap'n Steve thanks for this hack and for the others.

I want to do some Please help me.
I use redirection link code ( This )

And I want to put random quate to attention page. (at the this hack to RLI_error_message temalate)

I put
<if condition="$randomquote[context]">
( $randomquote[context] )
</if>

or

$randomquote[context]

but nothing happens

pleasa help me .How we can do that.
Thanks

Cap'n Steve 10-10-2006 01:02 AM

You want to add the random quote to the link interceptor template? This post has instructions for adding the quote to any template.

murrtex 10-10-2006 07:34 AM

yes..thank you Cap'n Steve.I'll try.

yes its done..thank you again.

dobbs 10-11-2006 04:50 PM

Steve, whats the word on the new version? Should i wait or intsall this one?

Cap'n Steve 10-11-2006 07:15 PM

It depends how patient you are. I hope to have it open to the public for testing within a week and then released a litle while later. There's no harm in installing this one and then upgrading, though.

dobbs 10-11-2006 07:19 PM

10-4, thanks

I have had it running on my 3.0.7. board for a long time and it's always worked great.

Cap'n Steve 10-22-2006 08:11 AM

It's up right now on http://forums.monkeycrap.com/quotes.php. Any feedback is appreciated.

dobbs 10-25-2006 06:12 PM

How would I get all the quotes out of a database on an old board and insert them into the database on a new board?


Also, why is doesn't the outline color around the title bar match the outline around the other title bars. I made my own style by editing color in the css. But can seem to find where the setting is for this border color.

if you want to take a peak, http://315er.net


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01761 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete