vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=217329)

993ti 07-10-2009 02:27 PM

Awesome mod, also works with 3.7.x btw ;)

LI Pets 07-10-2009 06:28 PM

the folks over at vbseo had this to say.

We don't suggest using this mod as it breaks vBSEO's main purpose Link Consensus

Any comments?

racale 07-10-2009 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1Unreal (Post 1845946)
I made a little jQuery thing for the flags, feel free to use it.

Demo - at the top

HTML Code:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
        $(document).ready(function(){
                $("#flags a img").hover(function(){
                        $("#lang_text").text($(this).attr("alt"));
                })
               
                $("#flags").mouseleave(function(){
                        $("#lang_text").text("Translate This Page");
                })
        });
</script>
</head>

<body>
<div style="margin: auto; width: 100%;" id="flags">
<a href="?hl=ar"><img src="/flags/Saudi Arabia.gif" alt="Arabic" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=bg"><img src="/flags/Bulgaria.gif" alt="Bulgarian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=zh-CN"><img src="/flags/China.gif" alt="Chinese (Simplified)" border="0" /></a>

<a href="?hl=zh-TW"><img src="/flags/Taiwan.gif" alt="Chinese (Traditional)" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=hr"><img src="/flags/Croatia.gif" alt="Croatian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=cs"><img src="/flags/Czech Republic.gif" alt="Czech" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=da"><img src="/flags/Denmark.gif" alt="Danish" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=nl"><img src="/flags/Netherlands.gif" alt="Dutch" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=fi"><img src="/flags/Finland.gif" alt="Finnish" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=fr"><img src="/flags/France.gif" alt="French" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=de"><img src="/flags/Germany.gif" alt="German" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=el"><img src="/flags/Greece.gif" alt="Greek" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=iw"><img src="/flags/Israel.gif" alt="Hebrew" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=hu"><img src="/flags/Hungary.gif" alt="Hungarian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=it"><img src="/flags/Italy.gif" alt="Italian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=ja"><img src="/flags/Japan.gif" alt="Japanese" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=ko"><img src="/flags/South Korea.gif" alt="Korean" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=no"><img src="/flags/Norway.gif" alt="Norwegian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=pl"><img src="/flags/Poland.gif" alt="Polish" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=pt"><img src="/flags/Portugal.gif" alt="Portuguese" border="0" /></a>

<a href="?hl=ro"><img src="/flags/Romania.gif" alt="Romanian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=ru"><img src="/flags/Russian Federation.gif" alt="Russian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=sr"><img src="/flags/Serbia.gif" alt="Serbian" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=sk"><img src="/flags/Slovakia.gif" alt="Slovak" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=es"><img src="/flags/Spain.gif" alt="Spanish" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=sv"><img src="/flags/Sweden.gif" alt="Swedish" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=th"><img src="/flags/Thailand.gif" alt="Thai" border="0" /></a>
<a href="?hl=tr"><img src="/flags/Turkey.gif" alt="Turkish" border="0" /></a>
<span id="lang_text">Translate This Page</span>
</div>


</body>
</html>


I put this query I can now say that the pages you open, not only am I being translated

where I am wrong, help thanks:confused::confused::confused:

if someone can see my problem, so you realize apologies for not knowing write English well demo

tpearl5 07-10-2009 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1Unreal (Post 1845992)
A few pages back someone asked how to set the vBSEO rewrite rules to do this site.com/en/threadname

Could someone tell me the rewrite rules please :)

I think you're referring to me, but I'd like to know the details as well. Would it be as simple as putting in some rewrite rules?

NLP-er 07-11-2009 02:15 AM

Just want to say that I'm proud of my new and first very own mod :D

Just made today - this one will automatically tag posts according to content, title and existing tags in forum:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=218350

So for every one who like my support here - enjoy :D

PS.
Still support this one ;)

racale 07-11-2009 08:33 AM

Who helps me to please not I who has to make it work where I can say I'm wrong by 4 days that I try and try but still unable to get to work through it.........

thanks thanks

punk23 07-11-2009 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LI Pets (Post 1846511)
the folks over at vbseo had this to say.

We don't suggest using this mod as it breaks vBSEO's main purpose Link Consensus

Any comments?

hmm...this mod looks perfect for my site but I am going to wait to see how the vBSEO issue develops....

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LI Pets (Post 1846511)
the folks over at vbseo had this to say.

We don't suggest using this mod as it breaks vBSEO's main purpose Link Consensus

Any comments?

Right, so adding normal threads in English breaks link consensus?

Adding any content does in their eyes, so should you stop altogether?

You have to break link consensus in order to grow your forum normally or via translated pages.

Pages you should avoid in order to gain link consensus are contact, about or privacy pages.

I'm not sure you or them understands the point.

Hmmmmm.

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by racale (Post 1846538)
I put this query I can now say that the pages you open, not only am I being translated

where I am wrong, help thanks:confused::confused::confused:

if someone can see my problem, so you realize apologies for not knowing write English well demo

Use the flag code I provided, otherwise I wont support you.

LI_Pets 07-11-2009 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1846868)
Right, so adding normal threads in English breaks link consensus?

Adding any content does in their eyes, so should you stop altogether?

You have to break link consensus in order to grow your forum normally or via translated pages.

Pages you should avoid in order to gain link consensus are contact, about or privacy pages.

I'm not sure you or them understands the point.

Hmmmmm.

I don't understand your points???

I think what vBseo is concerned about is duplicate content, not 100% sure, but that's the only thing that comes to mind is being penalized by Google. link

Instead of getting so defensive why don't you log in there and ask them directly.

A lot of people here use their software so it's to your benefit I would think.


Don't get me wrong I like your mod a lot.


.

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 10:26 AM

If you don't understand what you are posting or talking about then why post it?

First you mention link consensus and now duplicate content, with NO facts.

Stop spreading your FUD. None of these issues apply here.

Now you tell me to run along and ask them? You do it if your concerned, didn't you already? I don't have any doubts so I will pass on asking their advice thanks, they know SEO no better than anyone else.

How can translated pages be duplicate? They are original content, translated, so are still original and no different to your current content, except in various other languages, it's not rocket science.

Link consensus is the theory that by linking to junk pages you are wasting link juice, junk pages are things like tag pages, contact pages etc. Not thread pages, these are content rich and should be included in you site above anything else.

I have been doing SEO 5+ years, own vBSEO and have been using this MOD years too. I get 10,000's of visits daily from it.

Clearly you have been around 5 minutes, this idea has been used for years, there are countless wordpress versions, amongst others, from many other coders. Just because this is new to you and as a vB plugin doesn't mean it hasn't been around ages and tested to death.

Where are your facts? Where is your evidence to backup your claims?

LI_Pets 07-11-2009 11:38 AM

Hey Dave are you always this arrogant?

You're doing your self a dis-service

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LI_Pets (Post 1846902)
Hey Dave are you always this arrogant?

You're doing your self a dis-service

So just because I don't agree with you I'm arrogant?

I'm just stating my case, you questioned my MOD and stated yours, so then it is my go no?

That's how a discussion/debate works.

Next time I suggest you research your claims before stating them, otherwise you do yourself a dis-service also, right now ppl with even the smallest amount of SEO knowledge are pointing at you, and laughing.

Kind regards.

punk23 07-11-2009 12:21 PM

Ok, so I took the plunge and the translation is working.

I have had to disable it for now though as every translation takes 30 seconds. Great mod though :)

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by punk23 (Post 1846927)
Ok, so I took the plunge and the translation is working.

I have had to disable it for now though as every translation takes 30 seconds. Great mod though :)

Because translation has to be sent to the Google Translate API and then stored in the MySQL DB it takes a small amount of time first time.

So second page load is fast, as your site gets cached, page load speeds become a non-issue.

CThiessen 07-11-2009 12:33 PM

Hi,
i think this is no duplicated content, as long as you take out your own language.

So “?hl=en” should be working but if Google recommend “/en/” this might be better.
Try to work together with the Stuff of vBSEO and try to figure out how to add some rules for that Mod to meet the Google recommendations. My experiences are, that they have a really good support.
Christian

punk23 07-11-2009 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1846935)
Because translation has to be sent to the Google Translate API and then stored in the MySQL DB it takes a small amount of time first time.

So second page load is fast, as your site gets cached, page load speeds become a non-issue.

Ok, thanks for the explanation :)

With nearly 200,000 indexed Google pages I guess that'll take a while... lol!

Cheers.

1Unreal 07-11-2009 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CThiessen (Post 1846936)
Hi,
i think this is no duplicated content, as long as you take out your own language.

So ??hl=en? should be working but if Google recommend ?/en/? this might be better.
Try to work together with the Stuff of vBSEO and try to figure out how to add some rules for that Mod to meet the Google recommendations. My experiences are, that they have a really good support.
Christian

I was talking on the Google message boards and they said that different languages doesn't count as duplicate content :)

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 12:40 PM

This guy has a 2k alexa rank and is running the wordpress version.

Probably getting anything around 100,000 visits a day.

100,000's of indexed translated pages too.

Clearly they are not complaining.

http://www.mydigitallife.info/

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by punk23 (Post 1846939)
Ok, thanks for the explanation :)

With nearly 200,000 indexed Google pages I guess that'll take a while... lol!

Cheers.

Right, but imagine you added 1000,000's of normal threads overnight, these would take months to index too, so it's no different.

You install the mod and leave it, it takes no work, what is there to lose exactly? :)

punk23 07-11-2009 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1846944)
Right, but imagine you added 1000,000's of normal threads overnight, these would take months to index too, so it's no different.

You install the mod and leave it, it takes no work, what is there to lose exactly? :)

Completely agree.

racale 07-11-2009 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1846869)
Use the flag code I provided, otherwise I wont support you.

sorry the code talk which are not very experienced thanks

Dave Hybrid 07-11-2009 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CThiessen (Post 1846936)
Hi,
i think this is no duplicated content, as long as you take out your own language.
Christian

Correct. :up:

MadK 07-12-2009 02:45 AM

Has anyone used this with vBSEO?

racale 07-12-2009 02:48 AM

I do not know really what to do, I am here Blocked

please help me thanks

NLP-er 07-12-2009 04:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadK (Post 1847271)
Has anyone used this with vBSEO?

I'm using it with vbSEO - works fine :)

NLP-er 07-12-2009 04:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by racale (Post 1847272)
I do not know really what to do, I am here Blocked

please help me thanks

Disable cache first, so you will know is this some cache issue. If after that it works then PM to me - I support cache issues in this mode. Otherwise call Dave :)

Dave Hybrid 07-12-2009 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadK (Post 1847271)
Has anyone used this with vBSEO?

100's are using this with vBSEO. Why, what is your query? :)

turbosatan 07-12-2009 03:14 PM

Does this work with zoints?

if not can you explain what i need to do to get it to work.

if it works with VBSEO rewritten urls i dont see why it cant work with zoints.

Stingray27 07-12-2009 05:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1847366)
100's are using this with vBSEO. Why, what is your query? :)

100's ? it has an install count of 55, where does 100's come from ?

turbosatan 07-12-2009 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stingray27 (Post 1847552)
100's ? it has an install count of 55, where does 100's come from ?

<removed>

how many people click install?? i know i never do

Dave Hybrid 07-12-2009 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stingray27 (Post 1847552)
100's ? it has an install count of 55, where does 100's come from ?

Did you miss the download numbers?

File Type: %1$s vBGT v2.0.zip (64.7 KB, 105 downloads)
File Type: %1$s vBGT v2.2.zip (26.6 KB, 45 downloads)
File Type: %1$s vBGT v2.3.zip (26.6 KB, 70 downloads)
File Type: %1$s vBGT v2.4.zip (26.5 KB, 61 downloads)

Also v1 was in an old thread, plenty of d/l there too.

45wheelgun 07-12-2009 08:58 PM

Getting ready to try this on Tuesday or Wednesday. I am running VB 3.8.3 with vbSEO 3.3.0.

I have a forum with 300k messages 30k threads and 50k users.

Is the software designed to handle that type of load and are there any installation tips you might suggest?

Thanks for what looks like a really cool application.

Dave Hybrid 07-12-2009 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 45wheelgun (Post 1847679)
Getting ready to try this on Tuesday or Wednesday. I am running VB 3.8.3 with vbSEO 3.3.0.

I have a forum with 300k messages 30k threads and 50k users.

Is the software designed to handle that type of load and are there any installation tips you might suggest?

Thanks for what looks like a really cool application.

One of my forums is around that and it runs just fine, on a site that big I would use an if condition and just show the flags on showthread pages, that will mean only the real good content gets translated and that you DB doesn't get too big and full of tag and member pages which bring little traffic anyway. Good luck.

45wheelgun 07-12-2009 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1847682)
One of my forums is around that and it runs just fine, on a site that big I would use an if condition and just show the flags on showthread pages, that will mean only the real good content gets translated and that you DB doesn't get too big and full of tag and member pages which bring little traffic anyway. Good luck.

Thanks Dave, can you give me an idea as to what the syntax would be for the conditional? I am pretty sure that I can follow the installation instructions, but I am unclear the proper way to do the conditional. I was planning on putting it in the header like the example link above.

Thanks,
Dave

Dave Hybrid 07-12-2009 09:52 PM

Quote:

<if condition="(THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread')">
<!-- vBGT Code Start-->
<div align="center">
<!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->
$translateflags
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->
</div>
<!-- vBGT Code End -->
</if>
Replace that with the one in the install guide.

MadK 07-12-2009 10:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1847366)
100's are using this with vBSEO. Why, what is your query? :)

I have no questions as such, but I was just thinking about the url rewrites, are they also going to be rewritten in that new language?

Dave Hybrid 07-12-2009 10:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadK (Post 1847721)
I have no questions as such, but I was just thinking about the url rewrites, are they also going to be rewritten in that new language?

It's pretty hard to do, no such thing as Chinese urls for example...

However translated pages have a new url, new meta tags and new content.

45wheelgun 07-12-2009 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid (Post 1847708)
Replace that with the one in the install guide.

Thanks Dave!

lord_of_chaos 07-13-2009 12:12 AM

I'm trying to use this great addon but can't get the links to show up. It works when I add the "?hl=XXX" string manually.

I'm using PHP 5.3 running as FastCGI. And I recognized that the mechanism to fetch the appropriate language links is a little bit odd - could some of the URL rewriting stuff you do in "translateflags.php" be broken in PHP 5.3?


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04402 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,883KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (26)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete