vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Links and Files Database (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60403)

CERTguide 04-05-2004 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
I don't know ;)

I tried adding these links to my test database and they work just fine for me. The links checking process simply tries to open a connection to the specified file. Maybe you had a very busy server?


I tried several times with no luck. I wish my server was that busy.

AlexanderT 04-05-2004 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Thanks - I'll think about this idea. But is bandwidth to your site more expensive than my time as a programmer? (smiling)

:nervous:

AndrewD 04-05-2004 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CERTguide
I tried several times with no luck. I wish my server was that busy.

I think the code would benefit from a bit better error reporting when these problems arise. I'll have a look at it next time I have some free time (probably the weekend). Otherwise we're grappling in the dark.

What I did to get the link working was simply open your link in a new window then cut and paste from the address line into the links database. Sure you've not missed out a character somewhere?

CERTguide 04-05-2004 07:05 PM

I copied the link into the database and copied it back out after it said it was not available. Always works in a browser, never in the database.

Konk 04-05-2004 07:50 PM

A fantastic hack, I'm in the process of installing it. Thanks!

I hope that you find interest/time to continue with the:
- Integrate this with the VB attachment system to allow users to upload files
- Integrate this with the VB moderation system

I imagine it's complicated but I'm sure many would be very appreciative!

Animension 04-06-2004 12:09 AM

Hello, I recently installed this hack (along with the integration with vBAdvanced hack).

My problem is that I cannot add links. I can add categories, but when I attempt to add links it sits there and loads nothing. I've tried several different web pages but it still just sits there.

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: I played around and found that it was the URL check that was messing it up. However now, I get this SQL database error:

Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:

Invalid SQL: 
                INSERT INTO local_linkslink (linkname, linkurl, linkdesc, linkhits, linkforum, linkcheck, linkstatus, linkdate, linkusername, linkuserid)
                VALUES (
                'www',
                'http://www.google.com',
                'thedhrhetrgtgfehe',
                0,
                '11',
                1081171544,
                ,
                1081171544,
                'Ultima Ichijouji',
                1
                )
       
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '
                1081171544,
                'Ultima Ichijouji',
        ' at line 10

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Monday 05th of April 2004 06:25:44 AM
Script: http://www.animension.net/adrf/local_links.php
Referer: http://www.animension.net/adrf/local...ddlink&catid=1
Username: Ultima Ichijouji


AndrewD 04-06-2004 04:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Animension
EDIT: I played around and found that it was the URL check that was messing it up. However now, I get this SQL database error:

Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:

Invalid SQL: 
                INSERT INTO local_linkslink (linkname, linkurl, linkdesc, linkhits, linkforum, linkcheck, linkstatus, linkdate, linkusername, linkuserid)
                VALUES (
                'www',
                'http://www.google.com',
                'thedhrhetrgtgfehe',
                0,
                '11',
                1081171544,
                ,
                1081171544,
                'Ultima Ichijouji',
                1
                )
       
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '
                1081171544,
                'Ultima Ichijouji',
        ' at line 10


The SQL error is happening where the value (statuscheck) returned by check_url is inserted into the database. You said that you'd played around with check_url - perhaps you've deleted the return code by mistake?

AndrewD 04-06-2004 04:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CERTguide
I copied the link into the database and copied it back out after it said it was not available. Always works in a browser, never in the database.

OK - this weekend ...

hitmanuk2k 04-06-2004 03:54 PM

just installed.... but when i go to local_links.php?links (where i am told i can add categories...) there are no options at all for anything....

AndrewD 04-06-2004 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hitmanuk2k
just installed.... but when i go to local_links.php?links (where i am told i can add categories...) there are no options at all for anything....

Do you not see another tool bar across the screen? It should say Links, Search and Administer links v1.01. Click on Links and you'll get a pull down menu with the Create Category option

If not, we need to look deeper.

OGT 04-07-2004 10:35 PM

Is there a way to turn the link validation off? http://www.shoutcast.com shows up as unavailable even though it is available. I think a report broken link type system would work better if the validation code cant be tweaked.

AndrewD 04-08-2004 05:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ohgeetee
Is there a way to turn the link validation off? http://www.shoutcast.com shows up as unavailable even though it is available. I think a report broken link type system would work better if the validation code cant be tweaked.

Each time someone reports this problem, I test the link they quote on my own installation and it works fine. This is making it rather hard to get to the bottom of the problem!!

It's straightforward to tweak the links_linkbit template to show all links regardless of whether they test ok or not.

for example, find the sequence
PHP Code:

<if condition="$linkstatus<=0">
$linkname (not available)
</if> 

and replace with

PHP Code:

<if condition="$linkstatus<=0">
<
a href="local_links.php?action=jump&id=$linkidtarget="_blank">$linkname</a> (maybe broken)
</if> 

This may fix your problem.

OGT 04-08-2004 01:32 PM

Thanks a ton. Is there any information I can give that will help narrow down this problem? I run a fairly low population site on a server that so far has seemed to have all the right things already installed by default.

How does your link validation work? Is it a ping type thing or some other form of mass packet sending that may be blocked by some servers?

AndrewD 04-08-2004 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ohgeetee
Thanks a ton. Is there any information I can give that will help narrow down this problem? I run a fairly low population site on a server that so far has seemed to have all the right things already installed by default.

How does your link validation work? Is it a ping type thing or some other form of mass packet sending that may be blocked by some servers?

I'll have to dig a little to find out what I need to know. The link validation uses the facilities built into PHP to open web pages/files over an http connection. It seems to work ok on the servers I maintain but a couple of you have reported difficulties so I need to investigate.

You should check (although this was checked automatically when you installed the hack) that your server has the php variable allow_url_fopen set to 1 (you can find this out by going into your admincp, down at the bottom Import and Maintenance, then View PHP Info.

OGT 04-08-2004 02:13 PM

allow_url_fopen On On

both my master and local values for that are set to on. maybe its timing out on slower to load sites?

fortnox 04-09-2004 05:38 AM

Is here anybudy to write this Hack in german because this is great for my forums :rolleyes: ? :nervous:

AndrewD 04-09-2004 05:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortnox
Is here anybudy to write this Hack in german because this is great for my forums :rolleyes: ? :nervous:

First I need to "phrase" the hack - to use the VB jargon, i.e. place all the text into the phrase database - then it will be a straightforward task to translate.

fortnox 04-09-2004 10:07 AM

Thanks, but this is to heavy for me, because my english is bad.
Still i wait a little bit time to hope for a German version.

Thanks,

Okiewan 04-09-2004 12:05 PM

It may have been mentioned before? But it would seem that the only thing lacking would be to show how many links are in a cat/subcat and something to indicate that a cat/subcat has "new" links. Maybe total links (number) on the main links page.

AndrewD 04-09-2004 12:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Okiewan
It may have been mentioned before? But it would seem that the only thing lacking would be to show how many links are in a cat/subcat and something to indicate that a cat/subcat has "new" links. Maybe total links (number) on the main links page.

I agree - and I think this may happen quite soon :devious: - but tell me - do you want the checks/counts to go right the way through nested subcategories (tricky) or just one level down (easy)

OGT 04-09-2004 12:51 PM

1 level down would be the least confusing to the end user IMO. in links home, any cat with new links directly under it should be bold, and the number of total links should show up under each cat line. then when they click down, the same should happen for each sub cat.

Okiewan 04-09-2004 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ohgeetee
1 level down would be the least confusing to the end user IMO. in links home, any cat with new links directly under it should be bold, and the number of total links should show up under each cat line. then when they click down, the same should happen for each sub cat.

Agreed.

Okiewan 04-09-2004 02:50 PM

Would also be cool to be able to assign an image to a link... easily. The idea is to list whoever in the links database, but sell the logos.

13th_Disciple 04-10-2004 04:13 AM

now that this thread has grown to over 20 pages, I find it hard to search to see if this has been asked, so if it has, just point me to the correct post..

when you click a link to DL a file, in the status bar of the DL, the file size is not shown nor is the "time remaining"

any idea why that may be? using 1.01 with vB RC3 - upgrading to 3 gold this weekend..

I personally don't mind, but my members get a little pissy about it..

AndrewD 04-10-2004 05:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 13th_Disciple
now that this thread has grown to over 20 pages, I find it hard to search to see if this has been asked, so if it has, just point me to the correct post..

when you click a link to DL a file, in the status bar of the DL, the file size is not shown nor is the "time remaining"

any idea why that may be? using 1.01 with vB RC3 - upgrading to 3 gold this weekend..

I personally don't mind, but my members get a little pissy about it..

No, this hasn't been asked before and it was a "design feature"...

I think it's quite easy to add this facility - and it probably should be included, as some of my users become a bit mouse button happy, not knowing if their downloads are happening or not. But there's one situation (when the d/l comes from another site) where I don't think it's possible - you have to have read the entire file before you know its size, whereas for local files, the operating system tells you.

AndrewD 04-12-2004 03:04 PM

I've released (see first post) a new beta version fixing/dealing with several requests in this thread:

- count of links/categories in category
- bold face for categories which contain new items since last visit
- more robust file downloading - should correctly provide a 'save as' even if Adobe Acrobat steals the browser
- progress information for downloads of local files
- more user friendly handling of broken links - if a new/edited link seems broken, user is given the option to fix it, but the link stays available in case we're dealing with a slow site, etc.

brianstevz 04-12-2004 08:21 PM

I'm sorry if I'm repeating a question that has been asked before but I couldn't find it in the thread.

1) How do I get Links to work with another Style? I have 4 styles on my forum and it only works on the default style. If I change one of the styles to the default style and attempt to reinstall it tells me that I'm about to delete all of the previous files.

2) How can I get the web sites listed on multiple pages? One of my caterories is growing quite large filling making the page too big. Is there a way to change this into a page 2,3,4....etc.

Thanks in advance

Brian

AndrewD 04-13-2004 04:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brianstevz
I'm sorry if I'm repeating a question that has been asked before but I couldn't find it in the thread.

1) How do I get Links to work with another Style? I have 4 styles on my forum and it only works on the default style. If I change one of the styles to the default style and attempt to reinstall it tells me that I'm about to delete all of the previous files.

2) How can I get the web sites listed on multiple pages? One of my caterories is growing quite large filling making the page too big. Is there a way to change this into a page 2,3,4....etc.

Thanks in advance

Brian

1) In the official VBulletin, standard templates are available automatically to all styles. This is not true for the links&files templates. They are only available to:
- styles that existed at the time you last ran stage 2 of the installation process
- new styles that are children of styles that existed at that time.
In other words, if you create new top level styles after you install this hack, these styles will not include the templates for this hack.

The solution is to rerun stage 2 of the installation process. This will fix matters - it will not delete your links - but you will lose any customisation you have made to the links&files templates.

2) Currently, there is no facility to paginate the links. I know that I need to code that, but I have to work out how the standard VB3 code behaves. Sorry.

brianstevz 04-13-2004 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
1) In the official VBulletin, standard templates are available automatically to all styles. This is not true for the links&files templates. They are only available to:
- styles that existed at the time you last ran stage 2 of the installation process
- new styles that are children of styles that existed at that time.
In other words, if you create new top level styles after you install this hack, these styles will not include the templates for this hack.

The solution is to rerun stage 2 of the installation process. This will fix matters - it will not delete your links - but you will lose any customisation you have made to the links&files templates.

2) Currently, there is no facility to paginate the links. I know that I need to code that, but I have to work out how the standard VB3 code behaves. Sorry.


Thanks for the quick response! I repeated step 2 and it worked great.

Skyline_GT 04-14-2004 06:00 AM

is it possible for users to submit files, but need to wait for amin or mod's approval?

milkmycow 04-14-2004 06:45 PM

I think It would be cool to arange links by # of hits, alphabetical, by date dadded(very important for myself) ,or by rating, just have that as an option on links home or something.

also, a different rating system might make severe improvments. like a drop down box where u select 1 through 5, then it displays the avg rating after u rate it. (or just display avg rating w a spot to click to rate in a popup, and results of ur rate would show once a refresh was made) kinda like @ www.milkmycow.com/videos

milkmycow 04-14-2004 08:32 PM

i just realized that the rating system for vbaffiliates v2 is like exactly what would be GREAT for the links/files database!

AndrewD 04-15-2004 06:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by milkmycow
i just realized that the rating system for vbaffiliates v2 is like exactly what would be GREAT for the links/files database!

I appreciate these suggestions, but they will not be done (by me at least) in the near future. Sorry.

What *will* happen soon is
- standard VB pagination will available so that long lists of entries get broken up
- I will think quite hard about some form of moderation of new entries
- I will continue to fix bugs and provide a bit of assistance to people getting started

I have thought about using the VB attachment system to allow user file uploads, but unless the interface turns out to be trivial to use, I shall not add this facility. We do not need this on our site and there are likely to be a lot of extras that people want. I just haven't got the time to code and debug these things.

Skyline_GT 04-17-2004 05:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 13th_Disciple
now that this thread has grown to over 20 pages, I find it hard to search to see if this has been asked, so if it has, just point me to the correct post..

when you click a link to DL a file, in the status bar of the DL, the file size is not shown nor is the "time remaining"

any idea why that may be? using 1.01 with vB RC3 - upgrading to 3 gold this weekend..

I personally don't mind, but my members get a little pissy about it..

I don't know why when I download the file from the databse.. It just doesn't work.. Like the doucment is about 1 mb big.. but it just let me download 50kb..and it said the file is damaged.. but when I download using a direct link. it works fine..

AndrewD 04-17-2004 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyline_GT
I don't know why when I download the file from the databse.. It just doesn't work.. Like the doucment is about 1 mb big.. but it just let me download 50kb..and it said the file is damaged.. but when I download using a direct link. it works fine..

No idea!

PM me the full details and we can try to find out why.

AndrewD 04-17-2004 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
No idea!

PM me the full details and we can try to find out why.

I poked around your board, tried your links, and found one that was broken in the way you describe (War3TFT_115a_beta_English).

What is downloaded is actually the html for your home page, which is then being given a zip filename, so it looks like a corrupt zip file.

Let me know what you were trying to set up as the correct link. Either you've given a bad link or the hack isn't handling it correctly.

AndrewD 04-17-2004 04:34 PM

version 1.10 is now the official release. Since the beta, I have added standard vb pagination to break up lengthy pages.

The *only* further feature that I am still considering in the near future is moderation.

Acido 04-17-2004 04:40 PM

I wish see this hackt in action. Can someone give me some links to see this hack instaled and working?

Thanx :)

accyroy 04-18-2004 03:41 AM

I've got this installed here: http://www.landyzone.co.uk/lz/local_...p?action=links

It's a new site though so there aren't to many links yet..

welo 04-18-2004 05:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Acido
I wish see this hackt in action. Can someone give me some links to see this hack instaled and working?

I set it up on my test board today and it seems pretty nice. My forums are closed until May 1st so it won't be live there until then. I'm liking it so far though. I'll have a couple of suggestions in a sec.

Meanwhile though, how hard would it be to add a link harvester to this app? I had a quick one I put together awhile back to find links in posts in IPB. Should be pretty similar here:

PHP Code:

<?php
//define the database connection information
$dbHost "localhost";
$dbUser "";
$dbPass "";
$dbName "";

mysql_pconnect($dbHost,$dbUser,$dbPass);
mysql_select_db($dbName);

$urls = array();
$query mysql_query("SELECT `pagetext` FROM `vb3_post`"); while($row mysql_fetch_array($query))
{
unset(
$matches);
preg_match_all("|href=['\"]?([^\"' >]+)|i",$row['vb3_post'],$matches);
foreach(
$matches[1] AS $href)
{
echo 
$href.'<br />';
}
}
?>

Anyway, would be nice for the script to harvest everything then put the results in a temp category you could just go through to edit links and shuffle them around. Regardless, very nice script. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02163 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,871KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete