vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Advanced Templates: Dynamic Templates Changing according to different conditions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=43325)

daFish 01-16-2004 11:09 AM

Hi,

what code do i have to put in postbit template to mark the threadstarter?

Like:

Username
(Threadstarter)

digitalSite 01-23-2004 08:42 PM

Does anyone care to share what their web site looks like? I am still having trouble trying to figure out what hack to use for my home page.

I need something that looks like vbPortal or PHPNuke, but I don't want to use those systems. I am between pluhnews, this one, and vbHome.

I want to have: calendar, latest forum threads, weather, photos, and news that I enter into a database. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

Logician 01-23-2004 08:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalSite
Does anyone care to share what their web site looks like? I am still having trouble trying to figure out what hack to use for my home page.

I need something that looks like vbPortal or PHPNuke, but I don't want to use those systems. I am between pluhnews, this one, and vbHome.

I want to have: calendar, latest forum threads, weather, photos, and news that I enter into a database. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

wrong thread?

digitalSite 01-23-2004 08:58 PM

Hi:

Well, actually, I just wanted to see some people's examples of THIS hack. I don't really know what's the difference in "look" between this hack and the others. Do you have an example on how this looks?

Logician 01-23-2004 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalSite
Hi:

Well, actually, I just wanted to see some people's examples of THIS hack. I don't really know what's the difference in "look" between this hack and the others. Do you have an example on how this looks?

I think you misunderstood this hack. This is not a portal like/main page hack which can be an alternative among pluhnews,vbhome, vbportal etc.

If you know VB3's template conditional concept, this hack is its vb2 version which allows you to have dynamic (changing templates) in vb pages.

You might have intended to reply in my Webtemplate's or Logician News Hack threads though?

digitalSite 01-23-2004 09:09 PM

Ahh, ok. I understand now. Thanks for the clarification! By the way, I love your hacks. I find them in your profile :D Take care.

Aaron1 02-16-2004 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Logician
$thread[forumid]==X should work in showthread related templates. (your request is so)

For forumdisplay related templates use $forumid==X

Cool!
And how would that be for forumhome templates Logician?
I have on the forumhome a 'new thread' button besides every forum.
Already tried adding in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post the following:

[[($forumid==54)]]test[[/($forumid==54)]]

(54 = my hidden moderator forum)

But nothing shows up. Not even an error...

Or isn't that possible?



Cheers!

Logician 02-17-2004 06:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aaron1
Cool!
And how would that be for forumhome templates Logician?
I have on the forumhome a 'new thread' button besides every forum.
Already tried adding in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post the following:

[[($forumid==54)]]test[[/($forumid==54)]]

(54 = my hidden moderator forum)

But nothing shows up. Not even an error...

Or isn't that possible?



Cheers!

[[($forum[forumid]==54)]]test[[/($forum[forumid]==54)]]

Aaron1 02-17-2004 07:51 AM

Hmm, thanks Logician, but that doesn't work. :(
Just like the previous code i tried, no errors, and nothing is to be seen.
Maybe there's another way?

Aaron1 02-22-2004 07:18 AM

Any clues Logician? Or is it simply not possible?

Logician 02-22-2004 07:43 AM

It didnt work here either.. Anyway try hacking:
Edit index.php, find:

eval("\$forumbits .= \"".gettemplate("forumhome_forumbit_level$depth$te mpext")."\";");

Replace it as

if ($forum[forumid]!=54) {
eval("\$forumbits .= \"".gettemplate("forumhome_forumbit_level$depth$te mpext")."\";");}
else {
eval("\$forumbits .= \"".gettemplate("forumhome_forumbit_54")."\";") ;}

Then create template named "forumhome_forumbit_54" and put any content there.

Aaron1 02-22-2004 09:28 AM

Cool, i think it's working Logician! Thanks!

I added the extra 'forumhome_forumbit_54' template, to my $templatesused templates. So that saves me another querie i guess.

Cheers!

larryd 02-26-2004 10:14 PM

Awesome mod, incredibly easy to install and works great :)

John Diver 03-12-2004 10:19 AM

Hey,
I just installed this hack but with me being stupid, I installed it on my live forum instead of my test forum first.
I had the time online hack installed which recorded the time users spent on the forum.
That hack doesnt work now and it gives this error:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: dotimeonline() in /home/hradmin/public_html/timeonline.php on line 39

I had to uninstall this hack because the forum wouldnt work at all, I have it installed on my test forum now and this is the error Im getting:
Parse error: parse error, expecting `','' or `';'' in /home/hradmin/public_html/workforum/admin/functions.php on line 163

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: getuserinfo() in /home/hradmin/public_html/workforum/admin/sessions.php on line 112

This is line 163:
if ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 6)

Just so you konw the kind of thing giving an error

Hope someone can help because I would love to use this hack!
Thanks
John

John Diver 03-12-2004 12:37 PM

Ok i have got them fixed.
There was a problem with installing the time online hack and this at the same time, since Im not very good at PHP it took me a while to work out what to do.

Also, I read that you said there is no way to change the header for different user groups when inside a post, so it will only work on forum display pages.

Does this mean that I cant set a certain piece of HTML code to show for members that arent in a certain user group for all pages?
What I want to do is show ads on my site for guests but remove the code for the ads for registered members/admins etc. but it would have to be like this on all pages for the header and footer.

Thanks
John

Logician 03-12-2004 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Diver
Does this mean that I cant set a certain piece of HTML code to show for members that arent in a certain user group for all pages?
What I want to do is show ads on my site for guests but remove the code for the ads for registered members/admins etc. but it would have to be like this on all pages for the header and footer.

Edit header template and put this in it:

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==1)]]
put your ad's html code here. It will be displayed to guest only
[[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==1)]]

John Diver 03-12-2004 02:32 PM

Thanks Logican, I thought you said the header wouldnt work when viewing posts.
I tried it on a test forum but it didnt work so I will try it again soon.

Thanks for the help, great hack, I appreciate it :)
John

Logician 03-12-2004 02:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Diver
Thanks Logican, I thought you said the header wouldnt work when viewing posts.
I tried it on a test forum but it didnt work so I will try it again soon.

Thanks for the help, great hack, I appreciate it :)
John

Certain variables wont work in header template so my remark above applied to them only. Your request is achievable and it should work. ;)

John Diver 03-14-2004 02:01 PM

Hey,
Thanks for the help again :)
Im having a bit of a problem though and cant work out whats wrong.
This is what Im doing:

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==1 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==2 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==3 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==4 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==7 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==8 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==9)]]

Ad code

[[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==1 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==2 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==3 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==4 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==7 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==8 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==9)]]


What Im trying to do is ads for all member groups apart from 6 and 10.
Can you or anyone else see a problem in what I have done?
Its removing the ads for all groups, apart from guests.
So anyone logged in, or not a guest, doesnt see the ads.

Hope someone can help
Thanks
John

Logician 03-14-2004 03:29 PM

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=6 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=10)]]
ad code
[[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=6 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=10)]]

John Diver 03-14-2004 04:00 PM

Hey,
Thank you very much, you have been a great help!
I tried that but I used OR instead of AND, I dont know very much about PHP :)
Thanks again!
John

John Diver 03-27-2004 07:15 PM

Hey,
Me back again :)

That worked perfectly but now I am wanting to expand it a bit.
I just went through every page but everything I saw had something extra in and I dont know how to edit them to work for me as I dont know PHP.
What I want to do is have around 6 usergroups which wont see certain code in the header.
The code Im using now is working for 2 usergroups, and I tried changing it for around 6 usersgroups so instead of the 2 not seeing the code inside the conditionals, the 6 now would.
But I couldnt work out what way to do it :(
Hope you can help me out again

Thanks
John

Logician 03-27-2004 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Diver
Hey,
Me back again :)

That worked perfectly but now I am wanting to expand it a bit.
I just went through every page but everything I saw had something extra in and I dont know how to edit them to work for me as I dont know PHP.
What I want to do is have around 6 usergroups which wont see certain code in the header.
The code Im using now is working for 2 usergroups, and I tried changing it for around 6 usersgroups so instead of the 2 not seeing the code inside the conditionals, the 6 now would.
But I couldnt work out what way to do it :(
Hope you can help me out again

Thanks
John

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X1 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X2 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X3 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X4 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X5 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X6)]]
ad code
[[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X1 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X2 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X3 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X4 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X5 AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=X6)]]

Replace X1 to X6 with usergroupids.

Kaelon 03-27-2004 08:36 PM

This is quite possibly the best hack for vB2 that I've ever used to date. Great work, Logician!

John Diver 03-28-2004 11:31 AM

Thank you very much again Logician
This is easily the best hack I have seen, very simple (If you know how to use PHP hehe)

malcolm fraser 03-31-2004 11:51 PM

I've been using this hack on vb2 for a long time, and it's certainly been the most useful hack I've installed - but I've just upgraded to vb3. Does anyone know if this hack will still work?? Or if there is a different or equivalent version for vb3?

Thanks.

--

Oh, just saw your signature message, Logician. No problem. I'll wait.

malcolm fraser 04-01-2004 02:04 AM

Okay, well, I tried a few things and actually got this hack to work very easily in vb3! :)

Basically, you follow the same instructions, except the functions.php file is now in the "includes" folder.

Then, the line of code to look for is:

PHP Code:

    if ($vboptions['addtemplatename'] AND $gethtmlcomments

Just throw the first part of the hack in before this line, and then follow exactly the same instructions for the last part of the hack.

Then follow the standard instructions to apply the conditions to your vb3 templates.

I have no idea if this is the best, or the most elegant, way of doing this - but it is working 100% successfully on my vb3.0.0 installation.

Hope this helps anyone else out there.

Logician 04-01-2004 05:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by malcolm fraser
Does anyone know if this hack will still work?? Or if there is a different or equivalent version for vb3?

Good thing you made it work in VB3 but you don't need this hack in VB3 since it involves conditional support in templates as a default feature ;) Just its syntax is different.

malcolm fraser 04-01-2004 04:03 PM

Yeah, I noticed the "if condition" stuff in the vb3 templates and figured that's what they were - but I'm afraid I don't really know exactly how they work yet. I'm used to using your hack from vb2, so this "quick port" works out fine for now. :) If you know of anywhere I can learn more about using the default conditions in vb3, though, I'd certainly be interested.

Anyway, thanks again for this great hack - it was absolutely invaluable in vb2!

Michi 11-18-2004 01:10 PM

Thanks, works very well with vB 2.2.7.

I needed it to do stuff according to $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] and by god, it works!

Adrian Schneider 12-30-2004 04:41 AM

If you used a javascript to detect screen resolution, could you use that incombination template conditions?

Simplified: If resolution = <1024 then display this
else display this

Adrian Schneider 12-30-2004 04:53 AM

Nevermind I think I have it. By the way good hack, I was getting sick of the weird syntax in regular template conditions, especially if statements inside of each other.

Cle 04-24-2005 06:20 PM

Great hack Logician! It works great!

However, I ran into a problem. I used this conditional:
Quote:

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7)]] Display this HTML code if page visitor's a Super Mod OR a Mod OR an Admin [[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7)]]
Where "Display this HTML code if page visitor's a Super Mod OR a Mod OR an Admin" is replaced by $adminoptions.
I used this conditional in the showthread template and it works great. But I have one forum where this Thread Options menu bar should only be shown to people who mods that forum. So I tried to use Replacements Codes:
Quote:

[[($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7)]]$adminoptions[[/($bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==5 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7)]]
to
Quote:

[[($bbuserinfo[userid]==1 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==11 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==68)]]$adminoptions[[/($bbuserinfo[userid]==1 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==11 OR $bbuserinfo[userid]==68)]]
However, it's like this Replacement thingys don't respond to what I have put there. Do you know any other solution for this?


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01730 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,826KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (33)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete