vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Chat Modifications - Flashchat: Integration for vB 3.7 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=166834)

updated 09-01-2008 01:07 AM

Got Flashchat 5.06 working with VBulletin 3.73.

It was a bit of a bumpy road, but it is working now. I pieced together some advice from other messages here.

Here's a summary of how I got it to work:

1. I moved the existing chat to an archive directory name (chat.old).

2. Get the new flashchat 5.06 unzipped and uploaded.

3. Upload the files from this integration module as directed.

4. Get rid of the existing vbulletin36CMS.php or rename it.

5. Rename the vbulletin37CMS.php to vbulletin36CMS.php

6. *IMPORTANT* Go into your mysql database, and delete all tables that start with flashchat. I didn't do this at first and got a black screen when I ran flashchat. This step is only needed if you had flashchat installed before.

7. Now go ahead and follow the normal installation. Be sure to select Vbulletin 3.6 as your choice.

8. Follow the post-install integration instructions as well. You don't have to worry about the CMS file part. We already took care of that in the steps above.

That's what it took for mine to get working. Good luck!

Jaxel 09-01-2008 06:14 AM

I made the following change to your original Flashchat Template:

PHP Code:

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<
html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<
head>
<!-- 
no cache headers -->
<
meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
<
meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
<
meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
<!-- 
end no cache headers -->
<
title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
$headinclude
</head>
<
body>
$header
$navbar
<!-- main -->
<
table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]border="0" width="100%" align="center">
    <!-- 
body -->
    <
tr align="center">
    <
td class="alt1" colspan="2">
    <
iframe width="100%" height="$vboptions[fcheight]src="$fcpath/flashchat.php$room"></iframe>
    </
td>
    <!-- 
end body -->
    </
tr>
    <
tr align="center">
        <
td class="thead"><div class="smallfont"><a href="/chat/flashchat.php">Full Screen FlashChat</a></div></td>
        <
td class="thead"><div class="smallfont">$data_fci[titleVersion $data_fci[version] : &copy; <a href="http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/member.php?u=1268">Paul Marsden</a$copyrightyear</div></td>
    </
tr>
</
table>
<!-- /
main -->
<
br />
<
br />
$footer
<!-- PEMDATA37$data_fci[title] : Version $data_fci[version] : Revision $data_fci[cvs] -->
</
body>
</
html

This adds a link on the bottom left for full screen flashchat, as well as fixes the copyright symbol.

Poppet 09-01-2008 08:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by updated (Post 1611610)
Got Flashchat 5.06 working with VBulletin 3.73.

It was a bit of a bumpy road, but it is working now. I pieced together some advice from other messages here.

Here's a summary of how I got it to work:

1. I moved the existing chat to an archive directory name (chat.old).

2. Get the new flashchat 5.06 unzipped and uploaded.

3. Upload the files from this integration module as directed.

4. Get rid of the existing vbulletin36CMS.php or rename it.

5. Rename the vbulletin37CMS.php to vbulletin36CMS.php

6. *IMPORTANT* Go into your mysql database, and delete all tables that start with flashchat. I didn't do this at first and got a black screen when I ran flashchat. This step is only needed if you had flashchat installed before.

7. Now go ahead and follow the normal installation. Be sure to select Vbulletin 3.6 as your choice.

8. Follow the post-install integration instructions as well. You don't have to worry about the CMS file part. We already took care of that in the steps above.

That's what it took for mine to get working. Good luck!

Followed your instructions and it's installed great:D Works perfectly...

yotsume 09-06-2008 10:42 AM

Hello,

I have a question. I have your mod installed witrh FlashChat 4.7 times on my VB3.7.3 board. When your inside the chat and you click on a username and go to Profile is that supposed to link to the vb profile page? Mine does nothing. Also when you PM a member inside the chat and their avatar pops up is that image sapposed to be linked to their vb profile as well?

I had upgraded my site from 3.6x to 3.7x. I figured maybe there was some config setting I needed to change to get the flashchat profile button under a user name to link to the vb users page???

Does that work or not work?

tldagent 09-06-2008 03:28 PM

I'm still having and ongoing problem that I had originally posted here.

I installed new flashchat 5.0.7 and everything worked fine until I reinstalled this hack. The chat is there but the box to type in is not there. I've installed this over and over and still can't seem to get it to work. I'm using vb 3.7.2 and flashchat 5.0.7. It's not a problem with Flashchat as I stated before, it was working and the chat entry box was available all the way up until I installed this integration hack. Anyone have any ideas as chat on our forum has been down for months.

If I take the old vbulletin36CMS.php file and upload it, then the problem is gone. But if I use the file within this hack, the chat box (where you type chat) doesn't show up at all.

Please assist!

Ville 09-06-2008 07:24 PM

In December 2006 ShanJ asked the following in the 3.6 integration thread:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shanj
[...] So I need to restrict access to at least some rooms to the students who are members of a class / usergroup.

I need to have at least three rooms (but would like more) where only certain members can go to each room. I have similar access to their own forums, via usergroup on vb, and access permissions were a major reason for choosing vb.

It would be great to config the flashchat integrate mod to carry over the same usergroups as I have on vb. That would be heaven! so a user with e.g. B usergroup can then be allocated access to their own B room, C usergroup can be given access to their own C room etc. [...]

Is this still impossible/difficult to do? Are there any existing hacks to accomplish something like this? I have FlashChat 5.0.7 integrated and working with vB 3.7.3 using the Flashchat: Integration for vB 3.7. On the board there is one usergroup that I would like to restrict to a single dedicated/private room (they're neither admins nor moderators). Other registered users (not member of that group) would have normal access to FlashChat, except perhaps they would be restricted from accessing the room that is dedicated for the user group that is restricted to the single, pre-defined room.

Paul M 09-07-2008 11:44 AM

There is no facility within Flashchat to restrict the rooms users can enter (in the manner you want).

yotsume 09-07-2008 06:25 PM

Paul,

After updating your mod the profile button on the user's drop down menu in FlashChat no longer works. How can I fix this? Also their avatar photo which comes up next to the private message window no longer links to their profile as well. Is there a code setting I have to change to get these two items to point to their VB profiles again?

I have a new international board for students and teachers all around the world to share from their classrooms together. I really would like to get the profile button to point back to the VB profile again.

THANKS!

PS: I would also like to talk with you about maybe getting your help to improve my FlashChat Combo mod fro vBa which shows who's in chat. Would be great to have the rooms clickable so you can directly enter the listed rooms from my mod. Also some kind of chat invitation system built into my vBa block.

Mosh 09-08-2008 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tldagent (Post 1615934)
I'm still having and ongoing problem that I had originally posted here.

I installed new flashchat 5.0.7 and everything worked fine until I reinstalled this hack. The chat is there but the box to type in is not there. I've installed this over and over and still can't seem to get it to work. I'm using vb 3.7.2 and flashchat 5.0.7. It's not a problem with Flashchat as I stated before, it was working and the chat entry box was available all the way up until I installed this integration hack. Anyone have any ideas as chat on our forum has been down for months.

If I take the old vbulletin36CMS.php file and upload it, then the problem is gone. But if I use the file within this hack, the chat box (where you type chat) doesn't show up at all.

Please assist!

Have you tried the new v3.7.006 of this hack yet?

Yellow-06-GT 09-08-2008 11:15 PM

I have installed flashchat and this integration hack. Everything seems to be working properly with the exception of the user group permissions. They seem to have no effect. All users are able to chat, even if I set the user group to "no chat access" or even if I set the group to "Banned from chat".

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Paul M 09-08-2008 11:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yotsume (Post 1616816)
Paul,

After updating your mod the profile button on the user's drop down menu in FlashChat no longer works. How can I fix this? Also their avatar photo which comes up next to the private message window no longer links to their profile as well. Is there a code setting I have to change to get these two items to point to their VB profiles again?

Have you installed the latest version, making sure the CMS files supplied with this are uploaded correctly. It would also help if you said what you mean by "no longer works".

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yellow-06-GT (Post 1617760)
I have installed flashchat and this integration hack. Everything seems to be working properly with the exception of the user group permissions. They seem to have no effect. All users are able to chat, even if I set the user group to "no chat access" or even if I set the group to "Banned from chat".

What am I doing wrong?

As above, are you sure you have uploaded the supplied CMS files to the correct place, overwriting those that come with Flashchat.

varkjie 09-09-2008 01:29 AM

I'm a little lost I have flashchat and it's integrated but I just added new styles and I forgot where to go to add the flashchat link into the template... can someone please poitn me in the right direction?

Yellow-06-GT 09-09-2008 01:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 1617768)
Have you installed the latest version, making sure the CMS files supplied with this are uploaded correctly. It would also help if you said what you mean by "no longer works".


As above, are you sure you have uploaded the supplied CMS files to the correct place, overwriting those that come with Flashchat.

Thanks for the reply.

Thank you, that was sort of it. I did upload them; however, I had the old and the new. Like this:

vbulletin36cms.php
vbulletin36CMS.php
vbulletin37cms.php
vbulletin37CMS.php

So, not sure which one it is using I recopied the files from your zip file to both the upper and lower case CMS files.

That took care of the problem. Is it using the upper case CMS files?

Thanks again.

Paul M 09-09-2008 06:56 AM

They should be uppercase, where did you get the lowercase versions ?

tldagent 09-09-2008 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tldagent (Post 1615934)
I'm still having and ongoing problem that I had originally posted here.

I installed new flashchat 5.0.7 and everything worked fine until I reinstalled this hack. The chat is there but the box to type in is not there. I've installed this over and over and still can't seem to get it to work. I'm using vb 3.7.2 and flashchat 5.0.7. It's not a problem with Flashchat as I stated before, it was working and the chat entry box was available all the way up until I installed this integration hack. Anyone have any ideas as chat on our forum has been down for months.

If I take the old vbulletin36CMS.php file and upload it, then the problem is gone. But if I use the file within this hack, the chat box (where you type chat) doesn't show up at all.

Solved! Thank you Paul for identifying the issue. Paul found that there were multiple permissions set for my admin and moderator usergroups and one was spy mode. In spy mode, a user cannot see the box to type in. So watch the spy mode thing because you cannot chat if your group is in spy mode you can only view.

Thanks again Paul for your assistance!

Yellow-06-GT 09-09-2008 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 1618021)
They should be uppercase, where did you get the lowercase versions ?

My FTP program (Total Commander) converted them to lowercase when it uploaded them.

Thanks,

Bob

trilljester 09-12-2008 05:32 PM

OK, I've got this installed on my 3.7.3 board. However, every now and then, I get this error message:

Code:

Fatal error: Call to a member function next() on a non-object in <forum path>/chat/inc/cmses/vbulletin36CMS.php on line 39
Line 39:
Code:

$rs = $this->getUserForSession->process($this->session);
Is something wacky going on with the session management? Is this a problem with Flashchat or the integration with 3.7?

I just refresh and the problem disappears and everything works. It happens when I'm modifying the Flashchat config as well.

yotsume 09-13-2008 07:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 1617768)
Have you installed the latest version, making sure the CMS files supplied with this are uploaded correctly. It would also help if you said what you mean by "no longer works".

As above, are you sure you have uploaded the supplied CMS files to the correct place, overwriting those that come with Flashchat.

I do not use flashchat5x because my vba mod for flashchat which uses some of your old code in the whochat.php file gets broken. I upgraded my vb site to 3.7.3 so I went ahead and updated this mod to this version you released here. However I use a 4x flashchat version. Did I make a big boo boo here?

Also, would you be willing to help me update my Flashchat Combo Mod so it will work with 5x? PRETTY PLEASE!

So without upgrading to Flashchat5x and using this version of your integration how can I get the profiles in the chat to link back to vb profile pages when you click on the avatar images or click on a user name in the chat?

LCN2007 09-13-2008 12:51 PM

Quote:

Fatal error: Call to a member function next() on a non-object in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/chat/inc/cmses/vbulletin36CMS.php on line 39
X2 im trying to install / upgrade and im getting this error when i try to complete step 2.

please help.

Paul M 09-13-2008 04:07 PM

Sorry, no idea, as far as I can tell that basically means it failed to connect to the database properly.

wtrk 09-15-2008 02:21 AM

ive been using flashchat and this mod forever and for some reason all of a sudden i cant find the usergroup permissions, they arent in the usergroup admincp page. im having total brain fart can somebody help me?

Paul M 09-15-2008 01:03 PM

What have you changed ?

wtrk 09-15-2008 02:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 1622602)
What have you changed ?

the only thing i can think of is that i upgraded from 3.7.0 to 3.7.2 pl2 a few weeks ago. then just yesterday somebody said they cant use the chat and so i was testing it and sure enough they couldnt and then when i went to the usergroups page i cant find the flashchat options. whatever settings i made in the past seem to be working, i just cant seem to change them since there is no options to change them. its wierd..

Paul M 09-15-2008 03:10 PM

I would guess you never copied the mods bitfield file over when you upgraded.

wtrk 09-15-2008 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 1622651)
I would guess you never copied the mods bitfield file over when you upgraded.

you know what, i bet your right. im going to go check on that right now..... update: yup that was the problem. thanks paul!

slinkyman 09-15-2008 06:43 PM

I'm new with all this vbulletin stuff... and the first step makes absolutely no sense to me:

Quote:

Step 1. (if not already done)

Install Flashchat, ticking the option to integrate with a CMS (on the first page where file permissions are checked)

On the CMS page choose the vBulletin 3.7 option and continue the install.
What is a CMS page? Where do I install this?

slinkyman 09-16-2008 10:47 PM

Anyone know? Really want to get this on my site soon...

Paul M 09-17-2008 10:23 AM

Its simply the next page of the flashchat install process.

WNM07 09-17-2008 05:44 PM

where is the install.php file? it's not in the files i'm downloading

Guest210212002 09-20-2008 05:43 PM

Install.php comes with Flashchat, not with this mod.

Guest210212002 09-20-2008 05:44 PM

/me clicks install, btw.

PGAmerica 09-23-2008 05:32 PM

I successfully have Flashchat 5.0.7 working in vbulletin 3.7.3 PL1 (thank you for this modification). It is working perfectly. In an effort to add an option in my navbar for Flashchat to come up in a new window, I added this javascript code.

Code:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!-- Begin
function popUp(URL) {
day = new Date();
id = day.getTime();
eval("page" + id + " = window.open(URL, '" + id + "', 'toolbar=0,scrollbars=0,location=0,statusbar=0,menubar=0,resizable=1,width=700,height=400,left = 540,top = 325');");
}
// End -->
</script>

Then I added this link to my navbar.
Code:

<A HREF="javascript:popUp('/forums/chat/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]')">Chat in New Window (might have to login again)</A>
It works fine, except the user has to login again when the new flashchat window comes up.

Are there any suggestions as to how I can pass the vbulletin login info to FlashChat? I know I can call FlashChat with the link "/forums/misc.php?do=flashchat", but this puts the vbulletin wrapper around it. I want it to be all by itself in a popup window.

Note: When FlashChat is launched normally through vbulletin, it works fine.

todd222222 09-25-2008 02:25 PM

VB 3.7.3
Flashchat 4.71.2
VB/Flashchat Integration 3.7.006

One of my customer Useregroups (ID 8) is causing users to get the "banned" message when trying to enter the Chat.

Plus when I put someone in my "banned" group it does not ban them.

It seems like usergroup 8 is setup as the "banned" group, where can I change this?

On another note...is usergroup 8 now a banned group by default with new installs of VB? I've been using VB since version 2.

todd222222 09-25-2008 02:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PGAmerica (Post 1628734)
I successfully have Flashchat 5.0.7 working in vbulletin 3.7.3 PL1 (thank you for this modification). It is working perfectly. In an effort to add an option in my navbar for Flashchat to come up in a new window, I added this javascript code.

Code:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!-- Begin
function popUp(URL) {
day = new Date();
id = day.getTime();
eval("page" + id + " = window.open(URL, '" + id + "', 'toolbar=0,scrollbars=0,location=0,statusbar=0,menubar=0,resizable=1,width=700,height=400,left = 540,top = 325');");
}
// End -->
</script>

Then I added this link to my navbar.
Code:

<A HREF="javascript:popUp('/forums/chat/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]')">Chat in New Window (might have to login again)</A>
It works fine, except the user has to login again when the new flashchat window comes up.

Are there any suggestions as to how I can pass the vbulletin login info to FlashChat? I know I can call FlashChat with the link "/forums/misc.php?do=flashchat", but this puts the vbulletin wrapper around it. I want it to be all by itself in a popup window.

Note: When FlashChat is launched normally through vbulletin, it works fine.

Link to /forums/chat/flashchat.php instead of index.php

Plus this is how I did it not using javascript:

<a href="chat/flashchat.php" target="_blank">Chat</a>

C138 Kaysone 09-25-2008 05:20 PM

This isnt working for me in my admin panel

PGAmerica 09-25-2008 06:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd222222 (Post 1630079)
Link to /forums/chat/flashchat.php instead of index.php

Thank you. That did the trick.

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd222222 (Post 1630079)
Plus this is how I did it not using javascript:

<a href="chat/flashchat.php" target="_blank">Chat</a>

I want to open the new window in a specific width and height. Just using a target of _blank does not do this.

Paul M 09-25-2008 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by C138 Kaysone (Post 1630215)
This isnt working for me in my admin panel

It doesnt do anything in the admin panel .......

todd222222 09-25-2008 08:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd222222 (Post 1630074)
VB 3.7.3
Flashchat 4.71.2
VB/Flashchat Integration 3.7.006

One of my customer Useregroups (ID 8) is causing users to get the "banned" message when trying to enter the Chat.

Plus when I put someone in my "banned" group it does not ban them.

It seems like usergroup 8 is setup as the "banned" group, where can I change this?

On another note...is usergroup 8 now a banned group by default with new installs of VB? I've been using VB since version 2.

Well my problem does not seem to have anything to do with the ID number of the usergroup. I copied the usergroup and I'm having the same issue with the new group....I reviewed the permissions in the usergroup and I don't see anything about allowing access to chat.....

todd222222 09-25-2008 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd222222 (Post 1630376)
Well my problem does not seem to have anything to do with the ID number of the usergroup. I copied the usergroup and I'm having the same issue with the new group....I reviewed the permissions in the usergroup and I don't see anything about allowing access to chat.....

Never mind, I'm an idiot, I see the permissions now....disregard my messages.

Paul M 09-25-2008 11:06 PM

FYI, Yes, Usergroup 8 is a banned group by default in all VB3.x versions I believe.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03351 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,884KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete