vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   vB Weather Mk. 2 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=41842)

reifegerste 08-06-2002 04:40 PM

where can i find the new weather.php?

in weather_mk2_v1[1].0.zip i can't see the weather.php

:paranoid:

JJR512 08-06-2002 04:43 PM

reifegerste, you need to download the ZIP file currently attached to the original message in this thread. It's weather_mk2_v1.0a.zip.

Boofo, what you are asking for is exactly what we've been discussing in those posts. :)

reifegerste 08-06-2002 04:54 PM

hi,

i do it https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...&postid=280268

weather_mk2_v1.0a.zip

but when i extract this file i can't see the weather.php

only the templates (4), instruction und readme files
an two zip files (icons and data)

reifegerste 08-06-2002 04:55 PM

oh sorry


my cache was incorrect :D

this hack is great!!!

chris2707 08-06-2002 05:15 PM

The problem with that Boofo is that the time the raw data is collected is not when the data was updated - in other words, could be 2 hours old when it is collected from the MSNBC server by vbWeather.

If you go to the MSNBC server mentioned near the beginning of this site you'll see no matter what country/city you select, the time remains constantly on the ET timezone - in my humble opinion it should change to whichever city you select since, even if you are going on holiday and checking the weather, it's still nice to know what time it is there!

I'm fairly new to PHP coding but I will have a look at converting the time string retrieved back to a time format for correct display.

Chris.

Quote:

Originally posted by Boofo
Yes, I read all of that. What I meant was, is there a way you can parse the time after you collect the raw data (instead of just echoing it) to match that of the site so everything stays in a site standard format.



PhoenixBB 08-06-2002 07:12 PM

This is a great hack. Thank you!

Got a couple of probs tho......

1) The table and default data comes up fine, but the 'Change Settings' and 'Get More Detailed Forecast. don't work. The pages loads but it just contains my header and background, nothing else. What am I doing wrong??

2) I don't actually want it on my forums page, I'm using VPBLite, so I want a vertical box like the ones on phpportals. I managed to get it into that format ok, but how would I get it to appear on the portal page? I've given up on making it a 'block'. I tried adding the info to the 'vpbincfile' (which generates the portal page), instead of the index, and putting the variable into the portal template instead of the forumhome, but it won't appear. Any ideas?

Boofo 08-06-2002 07:24 PM

Ok, I see what you are saying now. What I was looking for is the time that my site went out and got the update, whether is be automatically or through force update type setting (since I can't do force update and have to do it through settings, I will call it that). They must be going by the server time itself on MSNBC then.

If you come up with the time conversion, I would be very interested in trying it out. Thank you. :)

Quote:

Originally posted by chris2707
The problem with that Boofo is that the time the raw data is collected is not when the data was updated - in other words, could be 2 hours old when it is collected from the MSNBC server by vbWeather.

If you go to the MSNBC server mentioned near the beginning of this site you'll see no matter what country/city you select, the time remains constantly on the ET timezone - in my humble opinion it should change to whichever city you select since, even if you are going on holiday and checking the weather, it's still nice to know what time it is there!

I'm fairly new to PHP coding but I will have a look at converting the time string retrieved back to a time format for correct display.

Chris.



JJR512 08-06-2002 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by PhoenixBB
This is a great hack. Thank you!

Got a couple of probs tho......

1) The table and default data comes up fine, but the 'Change Settings' and 'Get More Detailed Forecast. don't work. The pages loads but it just contains my header and background, nothing else. What am I doing wrong??

2) I don't actually want it on my forums page, I'm using VPBLite, so I want a vertical box like the ones on phpportals. I managed to get it into that format ok, but how would I get it to appear on the portal page? I've given up on making it a 'block'. I tried adding the info to the 'vpbincfile' (which generates the portal page), instead of the index, and putting the variable into the portal template instead of the forumhome, but it won't appear. Any ideas?

I cannot support this hack for anything but vBulletin. If you are using vbPortal, there is a weather feature for that, which looks and works just like this. But, it was written specifically to work with vbPortal, which, although based on vBulletin, is a bit different. You could take mine and adapt it to vbPortal, but by then you'd have what someone else already did, so you may as well just get the one that's already made.

If whoever is responsible for that add-on to vbP hasn't updated it yet (last time I checked phpportals.com, they hadn't yet), they're welcome to take a look at mine to see what the changes are. And that would be the greatest of ironies, too, considering the fact that I wrote my hack because I couldn't get theirs without paying. :)

JJR512 08-06-2002 09:32 PM

OK, I have uploaded a new ZIP which should show the time of the last update in the user's own local time zone. I have tested it on my own board and it seems to work fine, but let me know if there are any issues. Please note the time shown is the time stamp in the raw data that was last cached for the user. In other words, if a user sees the weather and this gets cached, then right after that, MSNBC releases a new raw data set, the user will still see the cached data, including the time stamp from it (adjusted for local time zone, of course), until the cache expires (by default after two hours), or the user does a force update.

If you already have an earlier version installed, here's how you upgrade. Upload the new weather.php file. Next, open index.php, and find
Code:

  eval("\$currentweather = \"".gettemplate("forumhome_weather")."\";");
Above that, add:
Code:

  $time_lastup = strtotime($weather[lastup]);
  $weather[updatedate] = vbdate($dateformat,$time_lastup);
  $weather[updatetime] = vbdate($timeformat,$time_lastup);

(Note: You can perform the same change to your existing weather.php if for some reason you don't want to upload the new one.)

Now you need to change two templates: weather_main and forumhome_weather. Do the same change to both templates. Find:
Code:

Time of last update: $weatherdata[lastup]
Change to:
Code:

Time of last update: $weather[updatedate] at $weather[updatetime]
Remember, do this to both the forumhome_weather and weather_main templates.

***
If you've already installed this hack, you needn't worry about it, but, for the record, I've broken the weather_city.sql file into six smaller parts would should be easier for many websites to import without timing out.

PhoenixBB 08-06-2002 09:47 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by JJR512

I cannot support this hack for anything but vBulletin. If you are using vbPortal, there is a weather feature for that, which looks and works just like this. But, it was written specifically to work with vbPortal, which, although based on vBulletin, is a bit different. You could take mine and adapt it to vbPortal, but by then you'd have what someone else already did, so you may as well just get the one that's already made.
Except I'd have to pay $20 to get it and I can't afford it at the moment. Plus they haven't updated it yet.

The old one worked - not in the blocks but it rendered on the portal page. This one appears to only render when the code is in the index.php and the variable is on the forum page. Regardless of where I put it tho, the fact remains that even on the forum home page I cannot change the settings or get a detailed forecast. I just get a blank page. Is this fixable, or is this because the of the portal (which is only the lite version and shouldn't interfere with anything).

Obviously if users can't change the settings it will be unusable. :(


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01554 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,757KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete