vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   vBExternal v1.6 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=83005)

Kirk Y 03-07-2006 02:35 AM

Yes, it's normal. The script needs to have the path to your forums. It's not a security risk, as nobody will be able to see the path. Aside from those capable of viewing files directly from your File Manager, FTP, etc.

Tannerman 03-07-2006 03:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TYorke
Try using this instead

Code:

<?php
chdir('/home/tannerwo/public_html/forums');
require_once('/home/tannerwo/public_html/forums/vBExternal.php');
?>


That did the trick. Thanks.

Now to work on the formatting...

hitmanuk2k 03-07-2006 08:37 AM

My BBtags don't seem to parse on the news. I have the text limited to X characters as a preview, then they click to read more. But on this it just shows things like "...returns with [i]100 ..." etc.

TYorke 03-07-2006 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TYorke
I have a request myself now :)

In the Who's Online output, can line can I add (and where) so that when no users are browsing the forums, I can add a message saying so. Currently nothing is displayed and the output is just blank.

Any ideas?

No ideas? :(

Tannerman 03-08-2006 12:52 AM

I stuck this into an pre-existing page that I have that references a stylesheet. However, all content pulled in by vBExternal does not seem to be formatted by the stylesheet. So my question is... do I need to reference the stylesheet elsewhere? If so, where do I place this style info?

hellekim 03-08-2006 05:23 PM

I've the forum on another server than my actual website where I need this element to be added. The other servers address is foorumi.domain.com (it's forwarded with IP address).

Is there a solution for this?

Freesteyelz 03-08-2006 09:42 PM

Thanks. Now I need to figure out how to remove images from the news.



Quote:

Originally Posted by acidburn0520
Yes, it's normal. The script needs to have the path to your forums. It's not a security risk, as nobody will be able to see the path. Aside from those capable of viewing files directly from your File Manager, FTP, etc.


GetGamer.com 03-08-2006 11:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TYorke
That's awesome work could you possibly show me how you got that to work like that? I've been looking for a way to ditch the traiditional 'news scripts' for the front page of my site and looking to integrating vbulletin with a news script but this would work just great. I'd be very interested in knowing how you accomplish.

Thanks! Here's the gist of how it's accomplished. A user named Dune on TAZ had done something similar on his web site. I saw it, asked how he did it, and implemented on my site (with a few tweaks). He wrote up the process as an article which you can find here:

vBulletin as CMS

BaBa2002 03-12-2006 05:17 PM

hello
i get a database problem?
how can i fix this

PyrOxide 03-12-2006 06:47 PM

Hi,

We have quite a bad problem. Stuff in QUOTE tags doesn't show on the main website where the thread from the forums is being output. It is imperative we are able to show quotes, how can we do this?

Thanks.

EDFMedia 03-14-2006 04:58 AM

Is there a way to display one of the user profile fields with the newest_members.html? I have an extra field I added (field 5) that is required and I would like to show it on my non vb page using vbexternal in the newest_members

Thanks in advance

hellekim 03-14-2006 06:44 PM

I must be doing something wrong, but I don't know what so I hope you can help me out. I'm trying to get great a file called newest.php which is located in the root of my forum folder. The newest.php looks like this:

PHP Code:

<?php
chdir
('/home/paitsio/public_html/Foorumi');
require_once(
'/home/paitsio/public_html/Foorumi/vBExternal.php');
?>

<?php
output_NewestReplies
(5,"1,2,3");
?>

I also tried it And when I try to call it, it gives me this:

Quote:

There seems to have been a problem with the database.
Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.
The idea is that I can call newest.php from a page which is located in external page.

beddoe 03-16-2006 12:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EDFMedia
Is there a way to display one of the user profile fields with the newest_members.html? I have an extra field I added (field 5) that is required and I would like to show it on my non vb page using vbexternal in the newest_members

Thanks in advance

Exactly what I'm trying to do... Thanks in advance...

hitmanuk2k 03-17-2006 09:09 AM

Anyone else not able to get BB code working on News?

blacklancer 03-17-2006 05:32 PM

I am gettin the following error:

Code:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function output_NewestMembers
what am i doing wrong??? :confused:

BaBa2002 03-18-2006 02:09 PM

hi can i get it work for the calendar events

djjeffa 03-18-2006 06:43 PM

is there anyway for me to add this to a difrent website i run?
i have 2 domain names and i want to ad stuff to the other domain.

Webs007 03-22-2006 02:19 PM

Is this compatible with 3.5.4 ?:banana:

johnn 03-23-2006 08:04 AM

I commented out

PHP Code:

$vbulletin =& new vB_Registry(); // Fake an OOP Object 

and

PHP Code:

class vBulletinHook { function fetch_hook() { return false; } } 

Like I was instructed, and added the Master and Slave port calls, but I got a NEW error

PHP Code:

Fatal errorCall to undefined function: dooutput() in /home/animefan/public_html/community/vBExternal.php on line 257 


Any ideas on how I might resolve this ( hopfuly my last ) error with this script. I moved from 3.0.7 to 3.5.4 and this scripts been a huge pain lol, but its the perfect one!


Wow..somehow, while I was working on the script half of it was eaten...possibly an error caused by my laptops faulting onboard mouse...anyhow..redownloaded the FULL script, modded it, and now it works perfectly!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Webs007
Is this compatible with 3.5.4 ?:banana:

Yes it is, i'm running 3.5.4 and it works fine.

Webs007 03-23-2006 08:34 AM

Can you tell me the mods to get it to work please? I followed the instructions and I get this error.

There seems to have been a problem with the database.
Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

The database is fine, so i'm unsure....

I undertsnad this is a modified version of VbExternal for 3.0.7 - but on both mod pages - the zip file is called 1.6.zip ?? I'm certain i'm downloading the wrong version, but i'm getting it from this thread..? Who knows.... how do I get the version that works with 3.5.4 ?

Any assistance - as little as it may be may be a big help to me.

cheers

Webs:banana:

Webs007 03-23-2006 09:13 AM

Ok.....

I'v got it now to work! WAhoooooo !!:banana: "Banana Dance"

This may not be a bit complicated - but someone super smart may know this...

How would i make it show the thread itself i.e the text (news story) - and have it truncated (cut off) after 200 words?

So we would have:

Title
Story (only show 200 words)
Posted by

Can anyone help me out here?

Webs

webgeek247 03-24-2006 07:09 AM

I tried using it on my homepage but got the error

Quote:

Warning: chdir(): No such file or directory (errno 2) in /home/fhlinux190/c/christopher-powell.co.uk/user/htdocs/index.php on line 2

Warning: main(./home/fhlinux190/c/christopher-powell.co.uk/user/htdocs/forum/vBExternal.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fhlinux190/c/christopher-powell.co.uk/user/htdocs/index.php on line 3

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './home/fhlinux190/c/christopher-powell.co.uk/user/htdocs/forum/vBExternal.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/pear') in /home/fhlinux190/c/christopher-powell.co.uk/user/htdocs/index.php on line 3
Ive gone through this whole thread, is there something i missed? their uploaded?? im using 3.5.4 :confused:

Webs007 03-24-2006 01:44 PM

This works well if the external file - is on the same server as the forum...

What if I wanted to pull the news onto another website - not located on the vb server?

i.e i have www.vbinstallion.org/forum/ and I actually want to pull the headlines so they appear on www.news-site.org ? (these forums are examples not my actual fsites) - how does this work with vBExternal? - is it even possible?

Webs

idwf 03-24-2006 11:51 PM

I've got this to work via many mods and changes posted throughout the 18pages. So good work team! keep it up!

I've got a new sugesstion though. Is is posible to have forum stats? Such as 'total posts, total members, total threads' Maybe in the following format?

Quote:

Total Threads :: 1638
Total Posts :: 35643
Total Members :: 647
Newest Member :: Ashbeard
Any luck?

boduzapho 03-26-2006 04:15 PM

running vb 3.5.4

Installed ok..

following error message:

Warning: main(./includes/db_mysql.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\xxxxxxxxxxx\forum\vBExternal.php on line 67

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './includes/db_mysql.php' (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in C:\xxxxxxxxxx\forum\vBExternal.php on line 67

--------------------------------------------------------------------

it seems the file '/includes/db_mysql.php' is not even in the install of vb 3.5.4 , any suggestions?

**** Note was informed by Jel this hack needs to be upgraded for use with 3.5.4

DrewM 03-26-2006 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boduzapho
running vb 3.5.4

Installed ok..

following error message:

Warning: main(./includes/db_mysql.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\xxxxxxxxxxx\forum\vBExternal.php on line 67

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './includes/db_mysql.php' (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in C:\xxxxxxxxxx\forum\vBExternal.php on line 67

--------------------------------------------------------------------

it seems the file '/includes/db_mysql.php' is not even in the install of vb 3.5.4 , any suggestions?


**** Note was informed by Jel this hack needs to be upgraded for use with 3.5.4

I'm running 3.5.4 and it's fine! Also it vbexternal doesn't even requrie this! Either you've modded it or I would try re-downoading.

boduzapho 03-26-2006 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larrysw
I'm running 3.5.4 and it's fine! Also it vbexternal doesn't even requrie this! Either you've modded it or I would try re-downoading.

really? Ok can you point me to the appropiate Download link?

In the download in this thread the vbexternal.php file containes this:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<?php
/*================================================= =====================*\
|| ################################################## ################## ||
|| # vBExternal v1.6 By Zero Tolerance [http://gzevolution.net] ||
|| # This file may not be redistributed, copied in whole or part ||
|| # without written permission. ||
|| # Copyright (C) 2005 Inferno Technologies. ||
|| ################################################## ################## ||
\*================================================ ======================*/

// ---------------------------------------------------
// Start Set PHP Environment
// ---------------------------------------------------

error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// ---------------------------------------------------
// End Set PHP Environment
// ---------------------------------------------------

// ---------------------------------------------------
// Start Define Important Constants
// ---------------------------------------------------

define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'vBExternal');

// ---------------------------------------------------
// End Define Important Constants
// ---------------------------------------------------

// ---------------------------------------------------
// Start Cache Of Any Needed Templates/Phrase's
// ---------------------------------------------------

$phrasegroups = array();

$specialtemplates = array(
'options',
);

$actiontemplates = array();

$globaltemplates = array();

// ---------------------------------------------------
// End Cache Of Any Needed Templates/Phrase's
// ---------------------------------------------------

// ---------------------------------------------------
// Start Call DB & Establish Connection
// ---------------------------------------------------

if(!file_exists('./includes/config.php')){
echo "includes/config.php does not exist. Cannot continue.";
exit;
}

require('./includes/config.php');

define('TABLE_PREFIX', $tableprefix);
define('COOKIE_PREFIX', (empty($cookieprefix)) ? 'bb' : $cookieprefix);
define('DEBUG', 0);
define('DB_EXPLAIN', false);
define('DB_QUERIES', false);

require_once('./includes/db_mysql.php'); <----------- there it is...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So maybe i need another download link?

DrewM 03-26-2006 09:02 PM

Re-download that I think was 3.0 I just downloaded from this thread and it does not contain that I would try CTRL-F5

boduzapho 03-26-2006 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larrysw
Re-download that I think was 3.0


I did, that was from the link on this page...

do you know another link?

DrewM 03-26-2006 09:04 PM

I just updated my post try it if it doesn't work I'll PM you the code I have.

boduzapho 03-26-2006 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larrysw
I just updated my post try it if it doesn't work I'll PM you the code I have.


Ok i got it to work sort of, found the new code, installed on a FRESH copy of VB 3.5.4, now seeing this:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
There seems to have been a problem with the database.
Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

weird... it is a fresh clean install, weird..

boduzapho 03-27-2006 08:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boduzapho
Ok i got it to work sort of, found the new code, installed on a FRESH copy of VB 3.5.4, now seeing this:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
There seems to have been a problem with the database.
Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

weird... it is a fresh clean install, weird..


Ok its working, sort of...


Quote:

<?php
chdir('./forums');
require_once('./vBExternal.php');
?>

<fieldset>
<legend>News Article: <a href='{url}/showthread.php?t={threadid}'>{threadname}</a></legend>
<table cellpadding='0' cellspacing='0' border='0' width='100%'>
<tr>
<td width='100%'>{post}</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width='100%' style='white-space:nowrap'><span style='float:right'>[Comments: {comments}]</span>
<b>Posted By:</b> <a href='{url}/member.php?u={postuserid}'>{postusername}</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
this is the page I am using, but it is not producing any data....

The site is running off of an active forum, there are users, new posts ect...

any suggestions?

boduzapho 03-27-2006 09:55 PM

Never mind, re did the hack in ASP, works good for me

webgeek247 03-27-2006 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boduzapho
Ok its working, sort of...




this is the page I am using, but it is not producing any data....

all I get is this

http://63.209.191.131/info.php

The site is running off of an active forum, there are users, new posts ect...

any suggestions?

Firstly create a blank php file and copy this into it

Code:

<?php
echo getcwd();
?>

name this path.php, upload it to your webservers root and point your browser at it and this will tell you your servers path.

Now enter that path into chdir and require once also naming the location of your servers root and forum folder

Code:

<?php
chdir('/xxx/xxx/x/xxxx/xxxx/forum_root_folder/your_forum_folder');
require_once('/xxx/xxx/x/xxxx/xxxx/forum_root_folder/your_forum_folder/vbexternal.php');
?>

this needs the full path

enter this inbetween

Code:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<?php
chdir('/xxx/xxx/x/xxxx/xxxx/forum_root_folder/your_forum_folder');
require_once('/xxx/xxx/x/xxxx/xxxx/forum_root_folder/your_forum_folder/vbexternal.php');
?>
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>

</head>
<body>
<!-- Where output code goes -->

<?php
output_TopPosters(5);
?>

<?php
output_NewestMembers(5);
?>
<!-- etc etc -->
</body>
</html>

the other code you have there has to be in a external .html file within your vbexternal folder

also make sure your vbexternal folder is the same lettercase as your path eg. if its vbexternal name your path that otherwise if its vBexternal (note the capital B, name it like that)

hope that helps :)

blacklancer 03-31-2006 10:32 PM

ok...i finally got rid of errors, but now, nothing is showing up. my normal html is showing up fine, but none of the php info. i'm completly lost right now.........

i attached my index.php, and my website is www.sclc.net.

someone please help!! https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/12/8.gif https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/12/8.gif

Paul_Hollibone 04-02-2006 06:38 AM

Question.

I am running a site which uses vb 3.5.4, and it is also using this script as a login script.
PHP Code:

        <? 



if ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']!=0) { 
$username=$vbulletin->userinfo['username']; 
   
print("<align='center'><span class='sectionheader'>Welcome back, $username!<br>"); ?>
        <? 

} else { 
  


?>
      </p>
      <form action='/forums/login.php' method='post' class="style46" onsubmit='md5hash(vb_login_password,vb_login_md5password)'>
        <p align="center" class="inbottom">
          <script type='text/javascript' src='/forums/clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js'></script>
          <span class="style57">Username:</span><span class="style57">
          <input type='text' class='button' name='vb_login_username' id='navbar_username' size='15' accesskey='u' tabindex='1' value='' onfocus='if (this.value == 'username="username"') this.value = '';>
          <br />
          Password:
          <input type='password' class='button' name='vb_login_password' size='15' accesskey='p' tabindex='2' />
          <br />
          <input type='checkbox' name='cookieuser' value='1' tabindex='3' id='cb_cookieuser_navbar' accesskey='c' />
          Remember Me</span><br />
          <input name="submit" type='submit' class='button' accesskey='s' tabindex='4' title='Log In' value='Log In' />
          <input type='hidden' name='do' value='login' />
          <input type='hidden' name='forceredirect' value='1' />
          <input type='hidden' name='vb_login_md5password' />
        </p>
      </form>
      <div align="left" class="style46">
        <div align="center">
          <p><a href="/forums/register.php?"><span class="inbottom">Support ThrillHistory.com &amp; Register Today. It only takes two Minutes! </span></a>
              <? 



?>

Which also uses this.
PHP Code:

<?php
chdir
("forums/"); 
require(
'global.php');   
chdir("../");
?>

Now I have tried many times to implement a few of these enhancments onto my website, however I am greeted with the Vbulletin DB error page. Any help?

Sean James 04-07-2006 11:55 AM

i have tried almost everything and for some reason i cant get a stylesheet to work with this, internal or external.

Charmedfan 04-08-2006 03:33 PM

Is there any solution to show HTML on the external page?

djjeffa 04-08-2006 05:26 PM

still wonderin if anyone got this to work on a diffrent domain?

pewp 04-17-2006 01:53 PM

is there anyway to make the news output keep stickied threads at the top of the output?


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03008 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,871KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete