vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Flashchat: Who is chatting (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=73042)

zendiver 10-25-2005 08:53 PM

Paul, got a question for you....it may have already been asked but I didn't see it. Why is that users still show up in the "Users Currently Inside Chat:" LONG after they have left? Sometimes even the following day. Is there somewhere that this can be refreshed more often?

thanks
-ZD

derekivey 10-25-2005 09:19 PM

Thats the way that FlashChat keeps track of users logged in. It's really weird. This hack has nothing to do with that problem.

Paul M 10-25-2005 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zendiver
Paul, got a question for you....it may have already been asked but I didn't see it. Why is that users still show up in the "Users Currently Inside Chat:" LONG after they have left? Sometimes even the following day. Is there somewhere that this can be refreshed more often?

thanks
-ZD

This has multiple mentions in the thread, but here it is again ....

Basically it's down to Flashchat not removing them from the connections table. This happens because the user does not log out properly, but instead just closes their browser. When a user does this, Flashchat attempts to run a little pop-up to log them out, but browsers like firefox block this - so they don't get logged out.
These dead sessions only get removed when they time out, and since timeout processing only happens when someone is connected, if the last person in the chat does this, their 'connection' can end up being displayed for ages.

The answer is to drill the users in to logging out properly, or getting them to allow pop-ups from your site.

Coldhands 10-27-2005 03:33 AM

This might be user error on my part, but when I cut and paste the code into the main index.php file just above where it says I should, and upload the new file, I get a blank screen when I point my browser at my forum. I've changed the ForumHOME template code too. In the config file it has

'pref' => 'flashchat_',

Am I missing something?

I just installed Flash Chat 4.4.1 and I'm using vB 3.5.0.

I feel like an idiot right now. Please help. :/

Paul M 10-27-2005 05:11 AM

This is not for vb 3.5, it is the 3.0.9 version.

Look in the 3.5 plugins area for the 3.5 version, or click on the my hacks link in my sig.

kpr 11-18-2005 11:00 AM

Im having trouble.

i do not understand what i have to edit with the index.php. i know where it goes but what exactly do i add and where.

sorry for sounding so stupid.

its a fresh install of the latest version on VB 3.0.9

PHP Code:

// ## Paul M - Flashchat - Who is in the chat v2.30 ## //

$fcfolder 'chat'// The folder name where your flashchat installation is located //

$GLOBALS['fc_config_stop'] = true;
require_once(
"./" $fcfolder "/inc/config.php"); 
require_once(
"./" $fcfolder "/inc/config.srv.php"); 
$fcprefix $GLOBALS['fc_config']['db']['pref'];
$chatlist $DB_site->query("SELECT connections.userid, connections.roomid, rooms.name, rooms.ispublic, connections.start, 
user.usergroupid, user.displaygroupid, user.options, user.username, groupa.opentag as opentaga, groupa.closetag as closetaga, 
groupb.opentag as opentagb, groupb.closetag as closetagb
FROM " 
$fcprefix "connections as connections
LEFT JOIN " 
$fcprefix "rooms as rooms ON(connections.roomid = rooms.id)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user as user ON(connections.userid = user.userid)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "usergroup as groupa ON(user.usergroupid = groupa.usergroupid)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "usergroup as groupb ON(user.displaygroupid = groupb.usergroupid)
WHERE connections.userid IS NOT NULL ORDER BY start" 
);
unset(
$chatters);
$totalchatters 0;
while (
$chat $DB_site->fetch_array($chatlist))
{
    
$totalchatters += 1;
    
$roomname "In private room";
    
$chat['opentag'] = $chat['opentaga'] ;
    
$chat['closetag'] = $chat['closetaga'] ;
    if (
$chat['displaygroupid']) 
    {
        
$chat['opentag'] = $chat['opentagb'] ;
        
$chat['closetag'] = $chat['closetagb'] ;
    }
    if (
$chat['ispublic']) { $roomname "In ".$chat['name']; }
    
$chatters .= "<a href='member.php?u=$chat[userid]' title=\"$roomname\" >";
    
$chatters .= $chat['opentag'].$chat['username'].$chat['closetag']."</a>, ";
}
if (
$chatters)
{
    
$chatters substr($chatters0strlen($chatters)-2);
}
else
{
    
$chatters "No one is currently using the chat";


you say add * Make sure you have set the parameter in the Step 2 code * well step 1 really lol.

My prefix is _fc_.

any help on what i add and where.

any help is much appreciated.

The chatroom works fine just this.

site if needed http://http://gamezmania.com

Paul M 11-18-2005 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kpr
Im having trouble.

i do not understand what i have to edit with the index.php. i know where it goes but what exactly do i add and where.

you say add * Make sure you have set the parameter in the Step 2 code * well step 1 really lol.

My prefix is _fc_.

any help on what i add and where.

1. Add the code to index.php in the correct place, the parameter is already correct.

2. Check the prefix in flashchats config.srv.php is correct.

3. Do the template edit.

4. Done.

kpr 11-18-2005 11:14 PM

It was more where on the file for index.php i add the _fc_ to get it to work ive tried a few to no avail

Paul M 11-18-2005 11:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kpr
It was more where on the file for index.php i add the _fc_ to get it to work ive tried a few to no avail

You don't add it to index.php.

Like I said ;

Quote:

2. Check the prefix in flashchats config.srv.php is correct.
That is where the prefix is defined (as 'pref' iirc)

kpr 11-19-2005 12:20 AM

thanks for that was just confused.

MortysTW 11-26-2005 02:08 AM

I installed this today to my forum home and its great, but looking at it, is there a way to copy and edit it so that up in my header of all pages of the site, I can list the same info? Before vb3.5 I was able to do a "Who's Online: MemberA, MemberB, MemberETC and 432 guests"

Any thoughts or knowledge of how to accomplish this?

tekram 12-16-2005 07:15 AM

Great Hack, have a big Thx for this dude. Installes and work !!!

RichTJ99 01-03-2006 04:38 PM

somewhat off topic but...

I added Flashchat to our board and created a forum link on our forum home page. Members hardly ever scroll all the way to the bottom to see who's in the chat room so...

Is it possible to add the names of the people chatting next to the link for the chatroom? Similar to the picture below. Or maybe a mouse over, instead of a description it could show the names of the chatters?

Hexemer 01-03-2006 06:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichTJ99
somewhat off topic but...

I added Flashchat to our board and created a forum link on our forum home page. Members hardly ever scroll all the way to the bottom to see who's in the chat room so...

Is it possible to add the names of the people chatting next to the link for the chatroom? Similar to the picture below. Or maybe a mouse over, instead of a description it could show the names of the chatters?

nice idea :)

RichTJ99 01-17-2006 08:18 PM

now if only someone would reply with some help :ermm:

oldfan 01-18-2006 10:20 PM

I tried adding the source code to the Description and Title fields, didn't work :(
this is the code I added "Members currently in the Chat: $totalchatters"
Anyone else wanna take a stab at it?
This is a great idea RichTJ99!

oldfan 01-23-2006 01:51 AM

bump

RichTJ99 01-23-2006 01:17 PM

I have a feeling this would get more attention if it was for the latest versions (3.5)

Coleccromos 04-05-2006 06:25 PM

Some of the user groups of my forum do not see that this in line in chat. Where it can be the error?

Cebby 06-25-2006 11:56 PM

One of the forums I admin is still on 3.0.x We recently implemented CMPS and I've been trying to get the "Who's Chatting" module for CMPS to work ( based on this post:)

The module trys to go full width (and fouls up everything else) and also has two collapsible icons (something not right). I got rid of the "width" statement, but that only affects part of the box.

Has anyone put together a "Who's Chatting" module that actually works right? It's obviously just an issue with the template formation since it is pulling the right info. I've messed with it for far too long.

I know this is unsupported, but maybe someone has sorted this out?

ncangler 06-26-2006 12:05 AM

Mine works and I'm running 3.5.4. Create a CMPS module called "adv_portal_whochat", select YES for "Use Module Shell Template" and then add this code to adv_portal_whochat template:

<tr>
<td class="$bgclass">
<center>
<font size="1" face="verdana">
Currently Active Chatters: $totalchatters
<br>$chatters
</font></center>
</td>
</tr>

Then ftp the attached 'whochat.php' file in your /forums/modules folder.

Cebby 06-27-2006 02:00 AM

Thanks for the post - I couldn't get it to work though. Here are the steps I took:

1st - uploaded whochat.php to modules dirrectory.
2nd - Created the template in my default style (all styles are child styles of this one)

3rd - Created Module

-Add Module
-PHP File option

-Module Title -> Who's Chatting
-Column -> Left Column
-Display Order -> 8
-Active -> yes (default value)
-Update All -> yes (dafault value)

-File to include -> whochat.php
-Module Parent -> none
-Identifiers -> chatters (not sure what this should have been, so I guessed)
-Template -> adv_portal_whochat

-Use Module Shell -> yes
-Module Link -> (blank)
-Title Row Colspan -> (blank)
-Form Code -> (blank)

This is on vB 3.0.6 and CMPS 2.0. I guess it's possible that the modules aren't compatible from 2.1 to 2.0...

Also, on this forum, the vB software and CMPS software are in the root directory - not sure if this has a bearing or not. (not my doing...)

Somewhere in this there is an error, because I get a white screen when this module is active.

Mitendrius 07-06-2006 07:11 PM

PLS Help i always gettin this

Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on a non-object in /is/htdocs/wp/VBulletin/index.php on line 343

usin vb 3.5.4

Paul M 07-30-2006 11:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mitendrius
PLS Help i always gettin this

Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on a non-object in /is/htdocs/wp/VBulletin/index.php on line 343

usin vb 3.5.4

This version is for vb 3.0, not 3.5.

robinl143 08-03-2006 07:15 PM

I have tried everything and I can not get my who's chatting box to show up for anything? Can someone please help me out here?

Robin

Jeff Bade 11-15-2006 01:26 PM

I used Paul M's CMPS module..

Works great when I am in the chat.
As soon as I log out.
The CMPS homepage goes to a Blank white page..
View the Source and it's blank.

I dissable the Module... everthing works fine again.

Any thoughts?

CMPS 2.0.0
vBulletin 3.0.13

Thanks,

Jeff


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01665 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,813KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (26)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete