vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164)

SnitchSeeker 10-25-2004 06:42 AM

No one seems to be supporting this thread any more.

This is very very annoying. :(

glo 10-25-2004 11:57 AM

unfortunately, i have found the same problem with some of Gary's threads.

He is probably too busy.

ipas2 10-26-2004 07:58 PM

How do I add a custom template ? I simply cant find ADD button in the template manager. I can Custumize existing template.. but how do I add a new one ?

welo 10-26-2004 08:29 PM

ACP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > (in dropdown) Template Options > Add New Template

You have to scroll the dropdown selector content up to see it. Caught me off guard the first time too.

ipas2 10-27-2004 06:06 AM

Thanx man ! I got it now.

JohnBee 11-09-2004 04:42 PM

Code:

<?PHP
include("/home/servr/public_html/web/cutenews/show_news.php");
?>

Heres the PHP code snipit that usually includes the news data into
my ewb pages, hoever I cannot get it to display in my vB powered
page, cany anyone help me?

I added this in my TEST style but it just shows blank. Any help on
matter is greatly appreciated.

thx

ambumann 11-09-2004 11:23 PM

Nice.

xeonkiller711 11-22-2004 11:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnBee
Code:

<?PHP
include("/home/servr/public_html/web/cutenews/show_news.php");
?>

Heres the PHP code snipit that usually includes the news data into
my ewb pages, hoever I cannot get it to display in my vB powered
page, cany anyone help me?

I added this in my TEST style but it just shows blank. Any help on
matter is greatly appreciated.

thx

Yes I want to know the same thing. I am trying to get a server query to tie into my vb pages. Any help would be awesome!

JohnBee 11-25-2004 03:28 AM

Quote:

Yes I want to know the same thing. I am trying to get a server query to tie into my vb pages. Any help would be awesome!
xeonkiller711 I cured all my problems with news in my page by switching
to the coranto 1.24 news script its much more powerful than cutenews
and I was able to do anything I wanted within vBB using the phpinclude
functions.

let me know if you need any help I am more than willing to share my
configs and code.

JohnBee 11-25-2004 05:13 AM

Anyone know how to call a template from a custom style?

I want to copy and modify some common templates but I don't want things
getting all messy.

How would I pull data from an alternate style other than default?
ex: frontpage style

Boofo 11-25-2004 08:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnBee
xeonkiller711 I cured all my problems with news in my page by switching
to the coranto 1.24 news script its much more powerful than cutenews
and I was able to do anything I wanted within vBB using the phpinclude
functions.

let me know if you need any help I am more than willing to share my
configs and code.

I would be interested in seeing this. ;)

Takamine334 11-28-2004 12:51 AM

excellent!

yellow281 11-28-2004 11:12 PM

Couldnt this be taken one step further and include the categories and sub categories from one of the 50 forums I have to create. It would sure save me a hell of alot of typing setting up ALL these forums when theyre all the same. Be great to do one, then copy them all over doing by doing this and renaming them. Not sure how they would all link together though.. I guess I could set up the master page and have all my 50 categories link to URL's for the other boards. Least they would all be drawing off the same user database to create the larger board I wanted.

Can someone show me if this could be done using this code.. but modified somewhat?

Thanks

Kate

Xtrm2Matt 11-30-2004 04:49 PM

Could someone make some code for me so it displays the posts from a certain forum (with forumid 38) post on the front page of a non-vB powered website? I'd also like templates.

I've tried and failed... someone please help!!!

traderx 12-20-2004 02:51 PM

Ok... I was able to create the page to work in the /forum directory, and it work as posted. But I really want it to work in /forum/glossary directory. I finally was able to get it to work to show the header and footer AND the test template, BUT it doesn't use my CSS for the formatting, could this be because I am using it saved as a file, or did I forget to add something as this is not in the /forum directory but in my /forum/glossary directory. Any help on this would be great as I could really use this.



Code:

<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test1'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
// $specialtemplates = array( 
// );

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    'test',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
chdir('/home/jaxen/public_html/4xtraders/forum/');
require('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('test') . '");');

?>


T3MEDIA 12-20-2004 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by glo
unfortunately, i have found the same problem with some of Gary's threads.

He is probably too busy.

Heh...Gary... dont tell me about this guy...

traderx 12-21-2004 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gary King
3) Replace eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('TEST') . '");'); with your PHP stuff.

Could you pls give a working example so I don't screw it up :)
I am having a hell of a time getting a stand alone glossary script to work and I am now totall lost on what to do to make it happen.

Xtrm2Matt 12-21-2004 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xtrm2Matt
Could someone make some code for me so it displays the posts from a certain forum (with forumid 38) post on the front page of a non-vB powered website? I'd also like templates.

I've tried and failed... someone please help!!!

Done this and much more now without using any CMS's or anything, just code.

I have stats.. news.. log-in form.. user information.. and more on a non-vB page using only code now.

Thanks anyway :)

T3MEDIA 12-22-2004 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xtrm2Matt
Done this and much more now without using any CMS's or anything, just code.

I have stats.. news.. log-in form.. user information.. and more on a non-vB page using only code now.

Thanks anyway :)

insted of braggin why not help the poor chap? He is asking for help.

T3MEDIA 12-22-2004 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gspot
Sorry I have this option so new members will register in order to view the images the forum has to offer. Non-the-less, I'm still having the same problem.. And this doesn't effect the coding problem I'm running into, does it???

I know its old but you wont get support from this guy since he stole the idea from somewhere else.

Xtrm2Matt 12-22-2004 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
insted of braggin why not help the poor chap? He is asking for help.

I wasn't bragging, notice I quoted myself stating "I no longer need help with this".

Dionysis 12-31-2004 10:31 PM

i did this hack for the .js files

"$vboptions[bburl]" in headerinclude

along w/ the chmod('/vbulletin/'); for globals.php

but the breadcrumbs still don't work properly... it's weird since a "view source" shows an absolute path to the .js files (so what could possibly be wrong?)

2ndly,
i'd like to create more pages outside of the forum index, is it possible to have database driven pages for these things (instead of creating a new test_x.php for each, which is totally unreasonable). the use would be to somehow integrate my current article system w/ vbulletin so that i can use all the vbulletin functions on those pages.

n_wattam 01-02-2005 12:13 AM

Hi, i did the test example and it worked great cheers, how ever i dont want to call the template from its own file, instead i want to call the template within an exisiting one...

Does anyone know how to do this... Lets say for argument sake we are are going to call the template and display it under the navbar... Therefore i would need the correct code which i would then place in the navbar template..

ResaleBroker 01-02-2005 12:23 AM

That works great! Thank You!

ogden2k 01-11-2005 11:28 PM

How can I get this to work in a separate folder? I used this code:
PHP Code:

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
chdir('/home/public_html/forums/');
require_once(
'./global.php'); 

But I have the CSS saved in a file and it's broken now. How do I resolve this issue?

deathemperor 01-12-2005 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ogden2k
How can I get this to work in a separate folder? I used this code:
PHP Code:

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
chdir('/home/public_html/forums/');
require_once(
'./global.php'); 

But I have the CSS saved in a file and it's broken now. How do I resolve this issue?

if your css has broken, just go to your ACP and go to edit style or templates and save it, vb3 will save a new css file in your server.

the code you used is correct.

Quote:

Hi, i did the test example and it worked great cheers, how ever i dont want to call the template from its own file, instead i want to call the template within an exisiting one...
eval('$varible_NAME = "' . fetch_template('template_NAME') . '";');

if you want to have something under navbar (or anything else) in your custom (non-vb) files place that line in the file and in the template which was created with:

eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('TEMPLATE_NAME') . '");');

call out $varible_NAME, you can place it everwhere you want to.

and in vb3 files, well...just repeat the process ^^



Quote:

2ndly,
i'd like to create more pages outside of the forum index, is it possible to have database driven pages for these things (instead of creating a new test_x.php for each, which is totally unreasonable). the use would be to somehow integrate my current article system w/ vbulletin so that i can use all the vbulletin functions on those pages.
pay attention: the file names could be whatever you want, it doesn't have to be exactly like the template names. It's just easier for you if you use the file names same as templates. so it's possible to create your own database driven pages, if you notice that's how people making hacks ^^

ogden2k 01-17-2005 09:25 PM

No, there is nothing wrong with my CSS. I save the CSS as a file and the java script does not work either when I try to use subdomain.binarydreams.us/index.php with the code I mentioned.

ResaleBroker 01-21-2005 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SVTBlackLight01
OK. To answer my own question, on line 32, I replaced

Code:

require_once('./global.php');
with this

Code:

chdir('/home/site/public_html/testvb/');
require('./global.php');

;)

With this code, I can get the page to "display" properly but the "links" are not correct. They are pointing to the "root" directory but my forum is in a folder/directory titled "forums."

Any ideas?

wrang 02-08-2005 05:37 PM

Thanks for a great thing. It?s work fine with 3.0.6
Like this

Is it possbile to have a include site insted of the text.

If it works how should i do to have the ReviewPost included

http://www.saltvattensguiden1.se/produktguide/

whats the code to do this?

SVTBlackLight01 02-08-2005 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ResaleBroker
With this code, I can get the page to "display" properly but the "links" are not correct. They are pointing to the "root" directory but my forum is in a folder/directory titled "forums."

Any ideas?

You will have to change all your links to include the full URL like this
Code:

a href="$vboptions[bburl]/register.php?$session[sessionurl]">
wrang,

Reviewpost has an option to use the vBulletin styles by default. You don't need to use this hack. ;)

wrang 02-09-2005 03:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SVTBlackLight01
Reviewpost has an option to use the vBulletin styles by default. You don't need to use this hack. ;)

If they had i would use it ;)
Photopost is intergrate with Vbulletin but not the Reviewpost :ermm:

So any clue

SVTBlackLight01 02-09-2005 09:44 AM

I'm running a vB integrated reviewpost at my site. Check it out. http://www.modernengineuity.com/rev/ ;)

ogden2k 02-09-2005 01:07 PM

Has anyone successfully setup this hack so it works in a different folder? Such has public_html\foldername?

I made a few posts about this awhile back (p18) and none of the suggestions help.

SVTBlackLight01 02-09-2005 07:02 PM

It's working fine for me with 3.0.3. I have a few directories set up outside vb.

http://www.modernengineuity.com/specs/

http://www.modernengineuity.com/prod/cobra.mod?

http://www.modernengineuity.com/ebay.php

http://www.modernengineuity.com/calc/

keymistress 02-15-2005 04:50 AM

i've got it working so far but need help with some extras, say i want someone with 500 or more posts to have access to the page how do i retrieve that info? is it possible to retrieve the username as a variable as well? cos i need these info for a form, thanks in advance!

Adrian Schneider 02-15-2005 05:20 AM

PHP Code:

if ($bbuserinfo[posts] >= 500)

    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('template_name') . '");');
}
else 
{
    
print_no_permission();


This should work.
For username, it is just $bbuserinfo[username]. $bbuserinfo[fieldname] displays the field value of the member browsing the page. (so you can use tons of others as well).

keymistress 02-15-2005 05:28 AM

right, thanks! got it working!

DRJ 02-15-2005 09:01 AM

Works great. Thanks.

zemic 02-15-2005 01:03 PM

Is it possible to create my pages in Dreamweaver, and put this vbulletin code around it so I get the header and footer + verfication thing working.??

I want to create a web site onto my Vbulletin forum. I dont want to be copying and pasting HTML into the vbulletin template system everytime I need to update the pages.

deathemperor 02-15-2005 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zemic
Is it possible to create my pages in Dreamweaver, and put this vbulletin code around it so I get the header and footer + verfication thing working.??

I want to create a web site onto my Vbulletin forum. I dont want to be copying and pasting HTML into the vbulletin template system everytime I need to update the pages.

no you can't, you must write do exactly this thread guy, then in template you can do like making a HTML file in DW. it's jut you must have a php file 1st.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04728 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,850KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete