vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - NoSpam! - an alternative to CAPTCHA images (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124828)

phill2003 01-16-2007 06:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1160627)
There is a solution for this in the 3.5 thread, which at a glance I can't see why wouldn't work just fine for 3.6 too (assuming the quickregister template is about the same). Ask if there's a problem, though.


The box for the answer shows up but the question doesnt :( lol its a tad hard to get it right then :)

antialiasis 01-17-2007 05:49 PM

Hmm.

This is rather funny because as far as I can see, the variable is set...

Does the Quick Register form show on the normal registration page? If so, does the NoSpam! question appear in it there? If not, does it appear on the search page for guests or the guest post page?

phill2003 01-17-2007 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1161576)
Hmm.

This is rather funny because as far as I can see, the variable is set...

Does the Quick Register form show on the normal registration page? If so, does the NoSpam! question appear in it there? If not, does it appear on the search page for guests or the guest post page?


The question appears as it should on the registration page but nowhere else :(

thuffner 01-17-2007 07:06 PM

I have been having a huge problem with spam lately and came across this hack.

Nevertheless, spam no more!

Amazing hack, worked like a charm. Well done! :)

antialiasis 01-17-2007 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phill2003 (Post 1161613)
The question appears as it should on the registration page but nowhere else :(

Hmm...

Okay, can you give me the full text of that plugin? "Generate NoSpam! question" on the hook global_start?

Ordovicium 01-19-2007 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1152028)
So the NoSpam! question is not actually appearing on the search page?

This is the one most vulnerable to template edits, so something going wrong with it is not too unlikely. If it's not appearing, you might want to make the automatic template edit manually:

FIND

Code:

        <if condition="$imagereg">
REPLACE it with

Code:

        <if condition="$imagereg OR $vbulletin->options['nospam_onoff']">
Then FIND

Code:

            <td align="$stylevar[left]" valign="top" colspan="2">$imagereg</td>
REPLACE it with

Code:

            <td align="$stylevar[left]" valign="top" colspan="2">$nospamfield

$imagereg</td>


I can't find the template for these changes.

sportsoutlaw 01-19-2007 12:50 PM

Have had this installed for almost a week now, and it seems to have completely eliminated my bot spam. (Which was about 5-8 registrations and posts per day)

Great Job!

phill2003 01-19-2007 01:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1161699)
Hmm...

Okay, can you give me the full text of that plugin? "Generate NoSpam! question" on the hook global_start?

here it is.

Code:

if ($vbulletin->options['nospam_onoff'] AND !$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])
{
  $nospamdo = true;
  switch (THIS_SCRIPT) {
      case 'register':
        $thetemplate =& $vbulletin->templatecache['register'];
        break;
      case 'sendmessage':
        $thetemplate =& $vbulletin->templatecache['contactus'];
        break;
      case 'search':
        $vbulletin->templatecache['search_forums'] = str_replace(array('$imagereg</td>', '($imagereg)'), array('$nospamfield\n\n$imagereg</td>', '($imagereg OR $vbulletin->options[\'nospam_onoff\'])'), $vbulletin->templatecache['search_forums']);
        break;
      case 'newreply':
        $thetemplate =& $vbulletin->templatecache['newreply'];
        break;
      case 'newthread':
        $thetemplate =& $vbulletin->templatecache['newthread'];
        break;
      default:
        $nospamdo = false;
  }

  if ($thetemplate)
  {
      $thetemplate = str_replace('$imagereg', '$nospamfield\n\n$imagereg', $thetemplate);
  }

 
      $questions = explode("\n", $vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
      $nospamnumber = array_rand($questions);
      $qanda = explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
      $nospamquestion = $qanda[0];
if ($nospamdo) {
      eval('$nospamfield = "' . fetch_template('nospam') . '";');
  }
}

as you can see i have done the edit you stated was needed to get the nospam into the quick register template but from what i can see it is as it should be otherwise.

thincom2000 01-19-2007 04:24 PM

I would recommend creating separate options fields for questions and answers. Each field could still separate questions and answers by line breaks, but now you could allow colons to be used in at least the questions. To allow them in answers, I would recommend using a string to separate answers instead of just a colon - maybe :|: since it is even more unlikely someone would want that in their answers. :)

mamedo73 01-19-2007 04:39 PM

thanks my friend.

antialiasis 01-19-2007 04:54 PM

I'm really not sure what could be causing this if the NoSpam! system is definitely turned on...

As for using separate fields for questions and answers, it is a little more difficult because if you have a lot of questions you'll just have to count the lines to see which answer goes with which question. Colons can already be inserted, anyway, using the ASCII code (& #58; without the space).

voteforbird 01-19-2007 11:44 PM

NoSpam was working great for about a month. I used very basic math questions like "1 + 2" and "1 + 1". Suddenly, however, I'm getting tons of spam just like I used to. Was there some spambot software that was upgraded to circumvent NoSpam?

jugo 01-19-2007 11:50 PM

I love this...can you imagine the possibilities....

INSTALLED

antialiasis 01-20-2007 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by voteforbird (Post 1163125)
NoSpam was working great for about a month. I used very basic math questions like "1 + 2" and "1 + 1". Suddenly, however, I'm getting tons of spam just like I used to. Was there some spambot software that was upgraded to circumvent NoSpam?

No spambot can circumvent the hack altogether. However, asking basic math questions is a very bad way to do this; I highly recommend making up questions that a computer would actually have trouble answering, since if you use simple math questions, all that needs to be done to a spambot to make it get around this is to instruct it to read the math problem found in that particular spot on the page, solve it and insert the solution into that particular field. The only protection you have with math questions is that the bot won't know it's supposed to solve the equation and insert it into the field, and it was only a matter of time before they caught on to it.

They don't need to be anything strenuous for the user to answer; it's just that math questions are by definition a piece of cake for an unintelligent computer program to answer. Just have them answer a simple verbal question, and your problems are solved.

Gryphon 01-22-2007 03:20 PM

Would it be possible to make the Search page requirement optional so we could include it only on the registration page?

There is also an invalid url for the product version check.

rknight111 01-22-2007 05:29 PM

I installed today and hope it stops all these new users trying to register that are all use the same time zones, (GMT -7:00) Eniwetok, Kajaleiw

And there from all over, USA, Russia, Japan, where ever.

I have 10 - 12 per day try to sign on as members and I set my Admin CP for me to moderate all new users, Well that means I have to check out up to 20 users a day, that can be alot of extra work. And I have even deleted some users I wanted on the site, and don't know how to get them back.

If this works I will know within 2 days, hopefully then my new users can reister and I dont have to moderate the new users

RON

WhyDoesItMatter 01-23-2007 04:54 AM

Just amazing! Well done.

morrow 01-23-2007 07:44 PM

Love it!

antialiasis 01-23-2007 10:22 PM

The next version will include the option to turn it on and off for each page (registration, Contact Us, search) separately.

And thanks for the tip about the version check URL - guess I got the vBulletin.org feature somehow wrong.

haris_led 01-23-2007 11:06 PM

i have just installed it, and the captcha image when registering is still there!!
how can i disable the captcha image??
thanks :)

rknight111 01-24-2007 04:57 AM

Well, Its great allready. Two days and 21 new registrations and not one spammer. Usually I would have at least 5 day. Thanks for the good work.

RON

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:58 AM

I'm sorry to be stupid but this is my first time using a plug-in: am I supposed to unzip the file first before importing it in my plugin&product manager? (Because, the file shows up as a zip, not as "product-nospam.xml.")

captainron19 01-24-2007 12:24 PM

I installed this product (Using V 3.6.4) when into the cp settings turned on the no spam, entered a question with an answer, but it is not showing up on my registration page. Any ideas what I might be missing?

Ron
www.fire-forums.com

Caiman 01-24-2007 12:58 PM

After having used this for a while now, I just want to reiterate how awesomely effective it is. I've gone from literally twenty+ spam registrants a week to zero, thanks to such a simple implementation using easy math questions. Couldn't be happier.

antialiasis 01-24-2007 01:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lostgirl815 (Post 1166260)
I'm sorry to be stupid but this is my first time using a plug-in: am I supposed to unzip the file first before importing it in my plugin&product manager? (Because, the file shows up as a zip, not as "product-nospam.xml.")

Yes, you should unzip it. product-nospam.xml is inside the zip file.

Quote:

Originally Posted by captainron19 (Post 1166364)
I installed this product (Using V 3.6.4) when into the cp settings turned on the no spam, entered a question with an answer, but it is not showing up on my registration page. Any ideas what I might be missing?

Ron
www.fire-forums.com

Go to the register template and try manually finding $imagereg and adding $nospamfield above it.

captainron19 01-24-2007 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1166385)
Go to the register template and try manually finding $imagereg and adding $nospamfield above it.

I went into the style manager and di that but it still didnt work.

als95tsi 01-24-2007 02:23 PM

*installed.

thanks!

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1166385)
Yes, you should unzip it. product-nospam.xml is inside the zip file.

Thanks for the reply!

haris_led 01-24-2007 04:30 PM

antialiasis, can you help me with my problem??

captainron19 01-24-2007 06:04 PM

You can disable image verification in the control panel under User Registration Options

captainron19 01-24-2007 06:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1166385)
Go to the register template and try manually finding $imagereg and adding $nospamfield above it.

I double checked and double checked everything and it still isnt working. I tired every poossible option. I added the $nospamfield and that didnt work. I even tried shutting off the image verigication to see if that had something to do with it and still nothing. I also tried re-saving and uploading the template after adding the $nospamfield and that didnt work either.

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:22 PM

I hate to ask this because I realize it makes me look like a moron, but I really really want this mod.

After I unzip the file with WinZip, what do I do next? i.e. I right-click the file as it appears after WinZip unzips it and choose .... ? (Extract? View? Open With?)

Because it still shows up as a zip file when I try to choose it from my product manager "browse" function.

captainron19 01-24-2007 06:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lostgirl815 (Post 1166554)
I hate to ask this because I realize it makes me look like a moron, but I really really want this mod.

After I unzip the file with WinZip, what do I do next? i.e. I right-click the file as it appears after WinZip unzips it and choose .... ? (Extract? View? Open With?)

Because it still shows up as a zip file when I try to choose it from my product manager "browse" function.



Extract it to somplace on your computer first then go into your cp to install the product. If you are opening in winzip it may not be pulling the files out of the zip file when you are looking at the infdividual ones so you can also right click - copy the needed file then past it someplace to upload once in your cp

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:30 PM

Thank you very very much!

captainron19 01-24-2007 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lostgirl815 (Post 1166557)
Thank you very very much!



Your welcome - let me know if it works for you because I cant get it to run still

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:33 PM

Will do - I'm fumbling my way through it as we speak.

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:49 PM

Okay, I got it to work! :) Which part are you having a problem with?

captainron19 01-24-2007 06:51 PM

My problem is that it is not showing up on my registration page. It is listed in my cp and I turned it on, set a question but still not showing on my registration page. Here is the registration page if anyone has an idea... http://fire-forums.com/forums/register.php

lostgirl815 01-24-2007 06:54 PM

Here's the text of my test question, which showed up okay, if that helps -

In order to thwart the registration spam robots, I need to ask you a question they won't know the answer to... so, what is the last number of the six Numbers.:42

(The question being everything in front of the colon, and the answer being after the colon.)

However, I can't get it to work with more than one question.

antialiasis 01-24-2007 09:44 PM

captainiron19, check your style manager and see if you don't definitely have a template called nospam.

Also, were you definitely editing the template in the right style when you added $nospamfield manually before?

lostgirl815, if you have more than one question it will show one at random, not all of them, if you thought that.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02236 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,836KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete