vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Tabbed Forumhome 1.0.0 (Light) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=189672)

GoTTi 09-01-2008 03:52 PM

will this mod mess with spiders and search engine crawlers and their findings on the site?

GoTTi 09-01-2008 03:55 PM

the last post, threads, and post columns for the stats are not lined up properly. ideas?

mystic10 09-01-2008 04:35 PM

Yeah Same Problem..its Not In Linke...is There Anyway I Can Pic And Choose Which Ones I Want To Show.

Gio~Logist 09-01-2008 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by masons_mum (Post 1612076)
i added this but for 5 of my styles it shows 'Forum, Last Post, Threads, Posts. ABOVE the category name so its not inline. How can i change this? Other than that works fab thank you :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoTTi (Post 1612105)
the last post, threads, and post columns for the stats are not lined up properly. ideas?

To get rid of the header information on a style from above the tabs and into the tabs instead:

Delete the following from the forumhome template:

HTML Code:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
        <thead>
        <tr align="center">
          <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
          <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
          <td class="thead">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
          <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
          <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
          <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
          <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
          </if>
        </tr>
</thead>

After $forumbits, add:
HTML Code:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
In forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost

Add this to the top of the template:
HTML Code:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
Then before
HTML Code:

</tbody>
Add:
HTML Code:

        <tr align="center">
          <td class="thead" width="50">&nbsp;</td>
          <td class="thead" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="90">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="90">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
          <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
          <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
          </if>
        </tr>

Now add </table> to the end of the template and you should be good to go.

Keep in mind you can mess with the option to add the forum table wrap to mess with which styles it'll automatically update well for you, and for the others you can make the edit above if you'd like.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mystic10 (Post 1612129)
Yeah Same Problem..its Not In Linke...is There Anyway I Can Pic And Choose Which Ones I Want To Show.

Not in the light version, sorry.

masons_mum 09-01-2008 06:03 PM

i dont want to get rid of it, i want to move it below the tabs that your mod creates, on one of my styles it all appeasrs fine. Thanks :)

sinucello 09-01-2008 06:03 PM

Hi,

I had a closer look at the mod and will post now a summary of my understanding of how the mod works and how it can be improved:
  1. It adds a div element with the id "forumhome_tabs_switch_content" which will contain the first category of forums on your forum-startpage. This category will be displayed initially / by default when loading the page.
  2. Then all categories including their forums are displayed again and wrapped with a div element with the id "forumhome_tabs_$forum[forumid]". This means the first category will be included twice in the generated HTML-Source code which unnecessarily increases the size and loading time of the start page. It`s also confusing for visually impaired people if their screen-readers read the first cat twice.
  3. The categories also get a "display: none" inline style so they don`t appear but instead work as content-containers for the little java-script that pulls the content in these containers to the "forumhome_tabs_switch_content" when clicking on a tab.
  4. To make the containers invisible via an inline style has the drawback of making all categories and their forums inaccessible for users that have deactivated JavaScript.

So the three major disadvantages are:
  • repetition of the first category and all it`s forums
  • non-functional links in the tabs when JS is turned off
  • all categories and their forums are hidden and unaccessible when JS is turned off

To get rid of the disadvantages you should change the tab-links from
Code:

<a href="#" onclick
to
Code:

<a href="#forumhome_tabs_$forum[forumid]" onclick
in template: g_forumhome_tabs_headbits
so they work as link to local anchors when JS is not available.

To make the local anchors work, you should give the div-content-containers a name attribute with the same value as their id:
Code:

<div style="display: none;" id="forumhome_tabs_$forum[forumid]" name="forumhome_tabs_$forum[forumid]">
in template g_forumhome_tabs_forumbit_1

That was the easy part. I don`t have enough knowledge and experience yet to make the next steps myself but it shouldn`t be too difficult for someone who knows a bit of DOM-scripting.

Basically you should remove the style="display: none;" for the content containers and stop the repitition of the first category. Then you should give the first category a different id then the other categories (might be there already) and hide all the other categories via DOM-script instead with inline style.

After that you would have to change the JS-function that gets called by the tab links so it switches the desired category visible and all others invisible.

I`ll try to solve it myself and find the necessary DOM-script snippets. But I hope there are few devs here who can help.

edit: I think I found a solution: http://www.stilbuero.de/2006/05/13/a...s-with-jquery/
Will try tomorrow.

all the best,
Sacha

Gio~Logist 09-01-2008 06:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by masons_mum (Post 1612207)
i dont want to get rid of it, i want to move it below the tabs that your mod creates, on one of my styles it all appeasrs fine. Thanks :)

Edited the post accordingly : )

Hornstar 09-01-2008 08:11 PM

Will there be a pro version to this? or is light meaning something else?

Gio~Logist 09-01-2008 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hornstar1337 (Post 1612298)
Will there be a pro version to this? or is light meaning something else?

Yep, there already is. The link to it is in the first post ;)

TheInsaneManiac 09-01-2008 08:34 PM

Great job! It's even a product unlike those other modifications!


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01312 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,760KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_html_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete