vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Links and Files Database (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60403)

dirtymerc 03-10-2004 02:11 AM

I did a small file edit to put the search in the main page, check it out, if your interested to know how i did it, ill post it up here:

http://www.offthetopic.com/forums/lo...p?action=links

AndrewD 03-10-2004 04:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by swanienufan
First off, I want to say GREAT hack, super easy installation worked great!

Is there a way to set the display order of the categories or links? Didn't know if I was missing something. I went back and looked through most of the messages and couldn't find anything on this. If not available now, is this something that might be added in future releases?

Thanks for your work on this.

G

Thanks. You're right.

Currently, the categories and the links are pulled out of the database in alphabetical order. There's no facility yet to change that. (There's no code yet, either, to break up the lists into pages.)

What sort options would you like to see? These haven't been priorities for me, and the risk is always that extensions introduce new bugs, but I'm happy to think about the problem.

AndrewD 03-10-2004 04:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dirtymerc
I did a small file edit to put the search in the main page, check it out, if your interested to know how i did it, ill post it up here:

http://www.offthetopic.com/forums/lo...p?action=links

Looks nice - just interested to know, why do you prefer having the search box visible rather than just using the drop down from the links menu bar? Or are you using a browser that doesn't handle the pop up correctly? (Or maybe I screwed up the coding for your browser :tired: - the pop up works find for me on your site with IE6 and Mozilla Firefox)

joeychgo 03-10-2004 05:32 AM

IM thinking about installing this --- but I have a few questions first.. (im a 10 day old newbie so please be gentle)

First this part in the instructions confused me:

Integrating with your board

Use these links:

local_links.php?action=links : Browse the database at top level

local_links.php?action=links&catid=nn : Browse the database starting at category nn
local_links.php?action=search : Set up a search

local_links.php?action=jump&id=nn : Anti-leech jump to link/file nn, incrementing hit counter

local_links.php?action=admin : Admin control, including links validation (normally admins only)
local_links.php?action=logjumps&start=yyyy-mm-dd&end=yyyy-mm-dd : Admin access to
see who downloaded/jumped to what
local_links.php?action=cleanjumps&start=yyyy-mm-dd&end=yyyy-mm-dd : Admin access to
clear out log of who downloaded/jumped to what

local_links.php?action=show&forum=nn : Display entries associated with forum nn
local_links.php?action=show&check=0 : Display entries that failed the latest site validation
local_links.php?action=show&check=1 : Display entries that passed the latest site validation
local_links.php?action=show&check=-1 : Display those entries that are invalid


WHat am I suppose to do here?

Second, how do I get this to add a option to the navbar?

Third, is there a way to add the banner for the link?

Again, im new, I dont know html, and am just muddling my way along... :) thanks!

AndrewD 03-10-2004 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeychgo
IM thinking about installing this --- but I have a few questions first.. (im a 10 day old newbie so please be gentle)

First this part in the instructions confused me:

Integrating with your board

Use these links:
etc
WHat am I suppose to do here?

Second, how do I get this to add a option to the navbar?

Third, is there a way to add the banner for the link?

Again, im new, I dont know html, and am just muddling my way along... :) thanks!

I'm as gentle as they come - I also do a good job removing teeth :devious:

Basically, you only need to add one link to your navbar template to get access to this hack.

Go into the admincp, styles and templates, edit templates. Edit the navbar template.

Look for a line
PHP Code:

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="faq.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td

Add the following line immediately afterwards
PHP Code:

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="local_links.php?$session[sessionurl]">Links</a></td

Save. that should add a new item on your navbar that takes you straight into this hack. The other items I explain in the instructions give direct links to individual functions, but you can get at these via this link.

Adding a banner - I imagine you want an image to show up? What you have to do is work out where the image is stored. If you go into a site and right click on an image, then choose Properties, it will give you the full url. Simply put a standard IMG VBulletin BBCode into your link description pointing to that url.

joeychgo 03-10-2004 06:03 AM

what about the first question?

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeychgo
what about the first question?

You don't need to do anything about the first question unless you you want direct access to individual functions. The answer to the second question effectively answere the first. Try it and see!

Morrus 03-10-2004 06:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Have you just done a revalidation via the admin page, or is this spontaneous? And are your links on or off your site?

The "validate" procedure tries to open a connection to all your links. If the call fails (timeout, etc), then the link is flagged as unavailable.

Perhaps you could pm me or post one of the apparently bad links? I'll try to see iof anything obvious is going on.

Yep, I did a revalidation.

There are 217 links on there right now (including my own site, which is definately available, otherwise I wouldn't be able to see the links page! :) )

I've checked the links maually - they all work OK. Here are a couple of examples which are marked as unavailable, but this is applying to all 217 of the links:

http://www.enworld.org (my own site, currently marked unavailable)
http://www.americanfolklore.net/
http://www.seankreynolds.com

It was odd. I revalidated, and it suddenly marked every single one as unavailable (came up as "failed" on the revalidation page). I've attached a screenshot.

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Yep, I did a revalidation.

There are 217 links on there right now (including my own site, which is definately available, otherwise I wouldn't be able to see the links page! :) )

I've checked the links maually - they all work OK. Here are a couple of examples which are marked as unavailable, but this is applying to all 217 of the links:

http://www.enworld.org (my own site, currently marked unavailable)
http://www.americanfolklore.net/
http://www.seankreynolds.com

It was odd. I revalidated, and it suddenly marked every single one as unavailable (came up as "failed" on the revalidation page). I've attached a screenshot.

As you say, strange. The links are certainly valid.

There can be problems with bad DNS connections. When you do the revalidate, does it immediately tell you that it can't find each link, or does it sit there for quite some seconds thinking about it?

joeychgo 03-10-2004 06:21 AM

Ok, I uploaded the 3 files --

I turned my browser to local_links_install.php, then local_links.php?action=admin then local_links.php?action=links each time I got a blank white page --- ??? Now what? nothing else happened.

Also, there is a Templates directory in the zip file, what is that for?

Addemdum.... I installed the navbar link -- but when I click on it I get an error message which says :

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:

Invalid SQL: SELECT * FROM local_linksadmin
mysql error: Table 'lincol14_forums.local_linksadmin' doesn't exist

mysql error number: 1146

Date: Wednesday 10th of March 2004 12:37:13 AM
Script: http://www.lincolnvscadillac.com/local_links.php?
Referer: http://www.lincolnvscadillac.com/
Username: Joeychgo
IP Address: 24.14.128.110

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeychgo
Ok, I uploaded the 3 files --

I turned my browser to local_links_install.php, then local_links.php?action=admin then local_links.php?action=links each time I got a blank white page --- ??? Now what? nothing else happened.

Also, there is a Templates directory in the zip file, what is that for?

The templates directory is simply a set of text files containing the individual templates in the .xml file. You can ignore it unless you're interested.

The local_links_install.php should certainly not have given you a blank page. Are you sure you've put the three files into your forum directory?

It should take you through a series of installation steps, starting with table creation.

joeychgo 03-10-2004 06:37 AM

I copied all 3 --- but got no installation sequence.



I installed the navbar link -- but when I click on it I get an error message which says :

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:

Invalid SQL: SELECT * FROM local_linksadmin
mysql error: Table 'lincol14_forums.local_linksadmin' doesn't exist

mysql error number: 1146

Date: Wednesday 10th of March 2004 12:37:13 AM
Script: http://www.lincolnvscadillac.com/local_links.php?
Referer: http://www.lincolnvscadillac.com/
Username: Joeychgo
IP Address: 24.14.128.110

Morrus 03-10-2004 06:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
As you say, strange. The links are certainly valid.

There can be problems with bad DNS connections. When you do the revalidate, does it immediately tell you that it can't find each link, or does it sit there for quite some seconds thinking about it?

It's immediate. I barely had time to hit the "Print Screen" button to take that screenshot! :)

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
It's immediate. I barely had time to hit the "Print Screen" button to take that screenshot! :)

OK, I'll think about it this evening. There's certainly a quick workaround, but I'd like to get to the bottom of this.

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeychgo
I copied all 3 --- but got no installation sequence.

I installed the navbar link -- but when I click on it I get an error message which says :

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:

Invalid SQL: SELECT * FROM local_linksadmin
mysql error: Table 'lincol14_forums.local_linksadmin' doesn't exist

Yes, this means that the install script hasn't been run, because the required tables don't exist. Just to be absolutely clear, have you pointed your browser at local_links_install.php?

If you want, create me an admin account and PM me the details.

Morrus 03-10-2004 06:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
OK, I'll think about it this evening. There's certainly a quick workaround, but I'd like to get to the bottom of this.

No problem - I can manage without for a day or so. :)

Natch 03-10-2004 07:14 AM

joeychgo: you have to do more than just point your browser at the script local_links_install.php - you have to complete all the steps ...

joeychgo 03-10-2004 07:16 AM

Thanks for all the help andrew. works great....

question -- is there a way to increase the font sizes?

AndrewD 03-10-2004 07:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeychgo
Thanks for all the help andrew. works great....


question -- is there a way to increase the font sizes?

Just take a look in the links_linkbit and links_catbit templates. Change "smallfont" to "normalfont" wherever you want to have things a bit bigger (or go into your main admin CP and redefine the smallfont style - green, flashing, 26point Comic Sans perhaps?!)

joeychgo 03-10-2004 07:55 AM

lol tried the 26 in the smallfont...... no good.. made lots of things real big, but not the navbar links lol

Natch 03-10-2004 09:44 AM

This is a hack dealing with the links and so on ... if you want to change the size of the navbar links, then change the CSS relating to the navbar links ... check out Style Manager, Main CSS

AndrewD 03-10-2004 06:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
No problem - I can manage without for a day or so. :)

ok, Morrus, can you try two things for me.

First, go into your admincp, go to Import and Maintenance, View PHP Info.
Tell me the version of php that you are running and tell me the two values given for the variable allow_url_fopen (should be quite close to the top of the section labelled PHP Core.

If allow_url_fopen is off, then we have the immediate answer to your problem. You need to check with your ISP to get this reconfigured as "on" in php.ini.

[edited out - this seems to have been the problem]

Morrus 03-10-2004 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
ok, Morrus, can you try two things for me.

First, go into your admincp, go to Import and Maintenance, View PHP Info.
Tell me the version of php that you are running and tell me the two values given for the variable allow_url_fopen (should be quite close to the top of the section labelled PHP Core.

If allow_url_fopen is off, then we have the immediate answer to your problem. You need to check with your ISP to get this reconfigured as "on" in php.ini.

Then, upload the attached (debug) version of local_links.php. Go into its admin page and revalidate. It will create a file debug.html in your main forum directory. I'd like a copy of that file (you can email it to ad_rodin@noos.fr)

Everyone else - please do not use this version of local_links - it is not intended for production use.

Okey dokey! Thanks so much for your help!

PHP version 2.3.4

allow_url_fopen is off in both columns, so it looks like we have found our problem. Weird, though - does this mean it turned itself off spontaneously, as the links were working previously.

I have a co-location server, so I'm going to need to make that php.ini change myself - is it something easy to to do?

Oh, and do you still need a copy of debug.html, now we've found this?

refertech 03-10-2004 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Natch
I stop visiting the board for 3 days and I'm in hiding ?

The problem you are having (unless I'm mistaken) is assocaited with the links not pointing to files that exist ...


I didnt mean to be rude. Sorry if thats how it came out.

Mark

swanienufan 03-11-2004 12:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Thanks. You're right.

Currently, the categories and the links are pulled out of the database in alphabetical order. There's no facility yet to change that. (There's no code yet, either, to break up the lists into pages.)

What sort options would you like to see? These haven't been priorities for me, and the risk is always that extensions introduce new bugs, but I'm happy to think about the problem.

I like the way VB handles the display order for forums. It can be a little time consuming for large numbers of forums but it makes it very user configurable. I know in PhotoPost when you move a category up in the list it automatically renumbers all categories below it, it would be nice if it could do that, but not necessary.

I also like your idea about breaking up the lists into several pages, your program has huge potential, keep up the good work on this.

AndrewD 03-11-2004 04:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Okey dokey! Thanks so much for your help!

PHP version 2.3.4

allow_url_fopen is off in both columns, so it looks like we have found our problem. Weird, though - does this mean it turned itself off spontaneously, as the links were working previously.

I have a co-location server, so I'm going to need to make that php.ini change myself - is it something easy to to do?

Oh, and do you still need a copy of debug.html, now we've found this?

No, I don't need the debug file!

I assume you mean PHP 4.3.2 not 2.3.4!

Find the following lines in your php.ini - I've no idea where it will be on your server.

PHP Code:

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
Fopen wrappers ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Whether to allow the treatment of URLs (like http:// or ftp://) as files.
allow_url_fopen On 

Off = not allowed, On= allowed.

Quite possibly a new version of php was installed?

Morrus 03-11-2004 02:25 PM

Thanks, Andrew. I've made that change.

However, another problem has cropped up. When clicking on "Revalidate", browsers have now started trying to download the file rather than execute it.

I decided to try upgrading to 1.0 (I was on 0.95), and local_links_install.php does the same thing - won't open in the browser, just tried to download it. If I permit the download, the resultant text file appears to be garbage:

Quote:

? ?T?n?0 }N???^????
KE??P??=???BmI???F?)%X???"Q????`4?ߵE?+ ???z?[,.???m??T???B???4???C???????O+??pr8?_???i1*E ????W? ^-?w??J?ڒ)?N޽???V~??x??ѝ8a?h?+?v?^VdqB??C+?!?v %? ޘ???????o?BĬ?V??I??{?8???t?c?w?F???f'*/׸qqqr?e1b<?Hä?2?9?`?獅??
?O??ʊ<L'Y??e???8#b?GC????^Z*{?-?#??*D???R+`iu?ŵԽ???ü?B?~v?6?d?)HJ{p?1?? ??`B$?8?? ?he}??
B?Č"Ș??W@??P?0?nf? h,.?I?+??3I?~?81????ΧI??(<????!OE?‹?k?%ks/????8N??? з???@_?4??"?????*!??yr??1)>j?~`7?̞???
?????!?Jz???? ?N:??1????V?jD???%^TK'?#V??v?y????'!????L4)?7$?J (VL?@?^+ ???QF?[?=??G#?FU??z ??b㇤7?d!4E=1??o9???z?+?D???:?(?? 喑ற???#??ڎ?;#"?J?L?
?q???l?D????;???V^?T?3ڎ2???"??l?}0? ?? 5^?k?
Any thoughts?

AndrewD 03-11-2004 02:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Thanks, Andrew. I've made that change.

However, another problem has cropped up. When clicking on "Revalidate", browsers have now started trying to download the file rather than execute it.

I decided to try upgrading to 1.0 (I was on 0.95), and local_links_install.php does the same thing - won't open in the browser, just tried to download it. If I permit the download, the resultant text file appears to be garbage:

Any thoughts?

Ouch!

First question - does any php script now run? If not, then your php installation is corrupt. Are you sure you've only changed the one line in php.ini?

If yes, how much of the standard VB s/w works and how much of my hack works?

Morrus 03-11-2004 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Ouch!

First question - does any php script now run? If not, then your php installation is corrupt. Are you sure you've only changed the one line in php.ini?

If yes, how much of the standard VB s/w works and how much of my hack works?

Yep, vBulletin is working just fine.

This was happening before I changed the php.ini file, so it's not connected to that (it started last night).

Can't really tell how well the rest of the hack is working because, with half an upgrade to 1.0 done, I can't test it! :)

AndrewD 03-11-2004 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Yep, vBulletin is working just fine.

This was happening before I changed the php.ini file, so it's not connected to that (it started last night).

Can't really tell how well the rest of the hack is working because, with half an upgrade to 1.0 done, I can't test it! :)

Would you mind setting me up as an admin on your board and PM me the account and password, so that I can take a look?

Morrus 03-11-2004 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Would you mind setting me up as an admin on your board and PM me the account and password, so that I can take a look?

Not to worry - got it fixed! I'll ask the guy who did it what the problem was and let you know, just in case someone else has the same issue! :)

Thanks for your help!

AndrewD 03-11-2004 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Not to worry - got it fixed! I'll ask the guy who did it what the problem was and let you know, just in case someone else has the same issue! :)

Thanks for your help!

No problem, am interested to know what went wrong.

Morrus 03-11-2004 04:47 PM

Here's what he said:

Quote:

In php.ini I changed the line
zlib.output_compression = On
to
zlib.output_compression = Off

Earlier when I was in there I had changed it too on (it was off). In the past I have found better performance from php websites having it on.
If the website does zlib compression as well it can cause problems. Most sites check to see if php has it on to avoid the problem, but it seems the link software doesn't.
So that was the (second) issue. The first, as you surmised was the allow_url_fopen. Don't know if that's any help to you (or anyone else who might end up in this situation).

AndrewD 03-13-2004 04:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morrus
Here's what he said:

So that was the (second) issue. The first, as you surmised was the allow_url_fopen. Don't know if that's any help to you (or anyone else who might end up in this situation).

Morrus, the documentation on zlib compression is distinctly cryptic in this respect, so I asked for help and did not get a relevant answer. But...

[New version of local_links.php attached for testing - now removed]

97cobracpe 03-16-2004 10:49 PM

Installed without problems. Great Hack!

One suggestion, when I added a link for a video, it simply opened it up. I'd rather have it bring up the prompt to open or download first. Kinda like when you right click, save as. Is this possible? Maybe through the mime type?

refertech 03-16-2004 11:21 PM

We have talked about this before because i had the same problem with pdf and xls files on my board but if there's a way none of us have been able to figure it out just yet.

Mark

Natch 03-17-2004 02:11 AM

This issue can be resolved thru correct config of your mime types ON YOUR SERVER ...

However, if this is not possible for you, the PHP file headers can be used to modify the behaviour of downloads - this would require a new class to be added to detect the filetype (based on the extension) and apply the appropriate headers to the download link based on that ...

refertech 03-17-2004 05:34 PM

thats over my head but ill work on it and see what i can come up with.

Thanks Natch.

Mark

97cobracpe 03-17-2004 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Natch
This issue can be resolved thru correct config of your mime types ON YOUR SERVER ...

However, if this is not possible for you, the PHP file headers can be used to modify the behaviour of downloads - this would require a new class to be added to detect the filetype (based on the extension) and apply the appropriate headers to the download link based on that ...

I am interested in this. I run the server I'm on, so I have the capabities to make changes. Please, explain a little further :).

refertech 03-17-2004 11:40 PM

After some checking, I can also set my mime types on my server as well but I'm to unfamilar with how to do this so any adviced would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02280 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,878KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (26)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete