![]() |
Does it work on my site for you when viewing in either Chrome or IE9?
If you want to PM me a link to your site I'll have a look for you (might be a bit later on today as I'm quite busy away from computer stuff just now) |
Yeah, when I go to your site it works fine in any browser. I'll play around with it a bit more and I sent you a pm so you can check it out if you want when you get a spare moment. Your prompt replies and assistance are much appreciated.
**Edit** Actually, I just figured out what my issue was. I should have payed attention and realized that there was a reason why you had 23 hours, 59 min, and 59 sec entered for the target date. I tried to set it as 24 hours, 0 min, 0 sec. Firefox understood what I meant but I guess IE and Chrome didn't. Works great for me now, and thanks Gemma for your support. |
Quote:
Glad you got it working :) |
Quote:
Gemma, How about this? |
Quote:
No, not that I can think of. Sorry. |
No problem.
Thank you for your answer. ;) |
I'd had some visual issues with the timer since installing this a couple months ago. If you sat on a page with the timer for an extended amount of time it would not keep time very accurately and the animation would be off and at times cover up the labels (mins, secs).
After seeing you mention upgrading jquery to someone in a previous post I went and grabbed the latest version (1.7.2), installed it and updated the code to use it. This mod for me looks a lot better now visually with the new jquery version. Figured I'd mention it for anyone else experiencing what I was. By the way I have the code installed in a sidebar block. |
if you are trying to do the display on forum home and getting 00's... he has the code wrong on the example.
you need to find the first line and change it from 1.4.4 to this <script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js"></script> cut and past that exactly^^ EDIT: i upgraded to 1.7.2 and the numbers seem to flip smoother. http://blog.jquery.com/2012/03/21/jq...-7-2-released/ |
ok, i noticed when you use a sideblock it keeps the style of the other blocks with the graidents ect.
when you make it fresh on forum display it does not keep gradients and it makes a line on top of the counters. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/07/45.png do you know how to remove that line? it looks worse on certain skins. |
im putting the times in as eastern time. is there anyway for it to auto correct via javascript for the users actual timezone? like -1central and -3pacific? as you can see, I'm counting down live events, so it is usually like 10e/9c/7p
|
if an event is in eastern time live, do i need to convert the say 8 oclock time to UTC with an offset to get it to show up at the right time for all users across the globe? so 8 oclock eastern is actually 0000 (midnight) in UTC sinceet is a-4 offet right now?
im confused. |
The current time is retrieved with JS so it's set to the client's time (whatever each individual member has set on their computer). You set the timer to 9.30pm on Christmas Day then it will countdown to that time differently for members if they are in different timezones.
|
right, im just not sure if im putting the event in right.
if i want it to expire at 8 pm eastern do i put it as <script type="text/javascript"> $(document).ready(function() { $('#countdown5').countDown({ targetDate: { 'day': 14, 'month': 07, 'year': 2012, 'hour': 00, 'min': 00, 'sec': 00 }, omitWeeks: true }); }); </script> i guess what I am asking, is the clock actually counting down from UTC or is it just using UTC layout? i think its just the layout. so, if i put it to expire at 8pm(20) it will expire at 8pm in e/c/p. right? however, it needs to expire at 8 e, 7 c and 5 p. if it was the other way, where you just enter what time the actual even ends at UTC then.. 8pm eastern would be the next day at midnight UTC. then it would expire all at the same time if it was converting your local time to when the event expires at UTC time. its just using the 24 hour clock now, not comparing it to actual UTC time. sorry if im confusing. |
Put the hour as 20
|
Quote:
Code:
// Initiate Countdown |
ok thanks. im just trying to get it to expire all at the same time based on a live event. its at different local times. thanks, i was just using your template from the forum home version. thanks for all your help, ill try that code^ Do i enter it in block_countdown or individually on each countdown on forum home template?
|
Most countdown timers I've seen work this way, you set the time and it will be matched to the users browser time (and timezone) when counting down - the only other way I've seen is to match the countdown timer to the server time.
Try changing the timezones on your computer, the countdown timer should change accordingly. |
Quote:
|
ok, setting it to that code up there^ seems to work. now it will keep the same countdown time no matter what time zone I set my computer to. thats how it needs to work. sorry for so much text. can i donate you some money on paypal? thanks.
anyone else, make sure you change "dashboard" to match your id of the countdown you are editing. $('#countdown_dashboard').countDown({ |
Quote:
Quote:
|
i think it needs the "omitWeeks: true" part as well. i did two events that both go n a saturday at 10 eastern and it is showing the countdown to be the same, ignoring that they are a week apart. i set the date right at "date" in the code. how do i add that?
|
Quote:
Code:
// Initiate Countdown |
Hi!
It is possible to read multiple countdown-dates from a txt-file? I mean, if one countdown is finish, the next one is enter automaticaly? Please, can somebody with coding skills help here, for this great Add-on? Thanks in advance! D. |
So, if I wish to use this option: To show multiple countdowns on forumhome
I use Step 1 and then go to Post #158? Which template? FORUMHOME? And, where exactly do I place the code? I just wish to be sure. Thank you. :) |
Quote:
|
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
Here's an easy one for ya! :) See the screen shot I attached. I need a fresh set of eyes, like yourself. Notice how the first timer is a "touch" lower than the other 3. How can I fix that? Again, much thanks! :up: EDIT: How come 2 of the timers read Countdown Complete? |
Quote:
To remove it, search for Code:
<div class="info_message" id="complete_info_message" style="display: none;"> |
1 Attachment(s)
Added it to my site, only thing I've done different is add the css to additional.css instead of having a file on the server. And I didn't bother with this line:
Code:
<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js"></script> |
Quote:
What about the first part of my question in post #226 as per the screenshot? |
Can you post the code you countdown code you are using so i can take a look at it.
|
Here ya go!
HTML Code:
<div id="wgo" class="collapse wgo_block block"> |
Hmmm. It displays fine on my test site so not sure where the problem lies.
edit: Just tried it on my main site too and it was fine. |
I don't really know how to use these blocks on vbulletin. Can you tell me how to put them on the site once they're created or direct me to where that information is please? Thanks.
EDIT: I figured out how to add it. Thanks. |
Quote:
countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js countdown/js/jquery.lwtCountdown-1.0.js countdown/js/misc.js countdown/style/main.css Secondly, take the line of code you mentioned out? And more importantly where is it? I don't see it. Thanks. |
Quote:
Code:
#countdown { Code:
<link rel="Stylesheet" type="text/css" href="countdown/style/main.css"></link> Code:
<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js"></script> |
OK, thanks.
For the life of me I can't figure out way the first countdown block is just a "smidgen" lower than the other 3. I even tried it on a different style/skin/template and same thing. FWIW, I used the code in post #153 not post #158 |
Quote:
Code:
$('#countdown').countDown({ Code:
$('#countdown1').countDown({ Code:
<div id="countdown"> Code:
<div id="countdown1"> |
Nope. :(
|
Gemma, I got it.
Added: HTML Code:
<td class="blocksubhead" align="" valign="top"> HTML Code:
<td> |
I like this little addition and want to add it to my site.
However, is there a way to make this run everyday rather then a selected date without having to manually change it every day? |
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:44 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|