vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Major Additions - Mindestic GlosPro 1.2.2 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=132632)

Vossi 01-25-2007 10:05 AM

I forgot to mention, that I can change the content when I'm in the AdminCP (that worked all the time), its just the 'normal user way' that doesn't work.

SS9267547 01-25-2007 08:10 PM

Okay well then you can just remove the check all together for now if you can get it working. Find the following (2 in glossary.php and 2 in admin_glossary.php):

PHP Code:

    $checkglossaryresults $db->query("SELECT glossaryname,glossaryid FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "glossary");
    while (
$checkname $db->fetch_array($checkglossaryresults))
     { 

Delete it and everything under it until the last '}'. There should be about 8 lines altogether to be deleted. Try that for the time being until the next release.

Lightmaster-AH 01-25-2007 09:23 PM

Thanks,

I made your last modification, delete the 8 lines, now it works.

wait for the next release :)

Lightmaster-AH

SS9267547 01-25-2007 11:16 PM

Your welcome!

Vossi 01-26-2007 06:33 AM

Hi Lucas,

when deleting the lines you quoted, it works fine. Actually, now it shouldn't check for double entries anymore, right?

SS9267547 01-26-2007 08:37 AM

Thats correct.

captainslater 01-26-2007 09:29 AM

May you release a version 1.2.2a with the bug fix from above?

I'm to lazy to edit the files :p

SS9267547 01-26-2007 09:30 AM

Haha okay I'll see how I'm feeling this weekend ;)

Vossi 01-27-2007 08:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1167614)
Thats correct.

Thanks, Lucas, for your support.

Now it's possible to edit the entry.

The check for double entries isn't working now, but I can live with that until you release 1.2.2a this weekend. Hahaha... LOL!

RS_Jelle 01-27-2007 05:20 PM

A suggestion: better MySQL slave/master server support. There are a lot of old $vbulletin->db->query queries. Replace all those with $vbulletin->db->query_read, $vbulletin->db->query_write or $vbulletin->db->query_first :)

Another suggestion: query optimimalisation. Mindestic GlosPro is using too much queries than necessary:

Add the amount of terms in a category to the glossarycategory table. That's very easy to do with the product file (just a while loop with a count counter etc.) and changing the value after adding or removing a file.
This would remove the need of one query on the glossary home (showglossaries) and the list glossary page.

Use the datastore cache feature for the category info and the custom fields. The datastore is very easy to use and you can remove some queries with caching these things.

Also, please move the product file to outside the uploads folder. I think a minority is using the possibility to give up the server location of the file to install the product. I also don't want it on my server (normal people shouldn't have access to it), it's private and after importing it isn't necessary any more.

SS9267547 01-27-2007 05:47 PM

For those waiting for a fix to the duplicate issue will have to wait as I will be doing some additional fixes first as well I'm a bit to busy with my other hack which I want to release the beta soon.

RS_Jelle: Thanks for the information. I don't know much about the datastore so this might take me a while lol. Also is there an artilce about query_read, query_first, query_write, etc? Want to refresh myself with this info.

RS_Jelle 01-27-2007 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1168465)
RS_Jelle: Thanks for the information. I don't know much about the datastore so this might take me a while lol. Also is there an artilce about query_read, query_first, query_write, etc? Want to refresh myself with this info.

Articles about it are here and here :)
The datastore isn't that difficult you think it is. The first time I started with it, I had the same feeling, but it's just using some commands and using it as a normal array.

Allan 01-27-2007 09:38 PM

Do you have a lite version to this hack, only for put some tutorial for example :) ?

inspector 01-28-2007 01:40 AM

I installed this on my message board yesterday and it caused every thread on my board to go to "fatal flaw" message. I had to uninstall and revert my templates back to original.

SS9267547 01-28-2007 01:45 AM

inspector: fatel flaw? I have never seen this before. Do you have any more information on this?

Allan: Like what parts did you have in mind?

RS_Jelle: Thanks!

rodneytamblyn 01-28-2007 04:23 AM

Hello,

Is there a way to restrict access to a particular glossary category by group?

E.g. I have several courses running with different interests on my vB. I'd like to assign some categories to go with group a, other categories to go with group b etc.

How I would imagine this working is that I would edit group permissions and assign the categories to use with that group.

Maybe it's possible to do this already and I'm just missing something obvious?

Thanks

~ Rodney

rodneytamblyn 01-28-2007 04:54 AM

Two more questions:

(1) is there any easy way to import a list of glossary terms? I have a list of a few thousand medical terms I'd like to add...

(2) when users reference a glossary term in a posting, what must they do to have it highlighted/linked to the glossary? (e.g. [glossary]term[/glossary] ). I've tried just typing a term from the glossary in the text of a post, but it doesn't automatically hyperlink after posting so I must be missing something there.

Thanks again

~ Rodney

ntock 01-28-2007 07:47 AM

Great hack :) Can users choose to turn it on or off for them individually? Thank you ! :D

SS9267547 01-28-2007 11:15 AM

rodneytamblyn: At this time there is no options to restrict access by group per category. However not a bad idea for to add later. Now to import, where are these terms from? At this time there is no import option however I have be thinking off adding something like this but not sure how to yet. With the crosslinking, its not perfect. First you need to turn the feature on in the settings. Once that is done it should highlight as long as at the end of each term there is either a space ,.!? etc after it. If you for example only post the word and nothing else in your post, it won't highlight.

ntock: Users can't turn off the glossary itself but they can turn off the crosslinking feature.

Allan 01-28-2007 12:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1168715)
Allan: Like what parts did you have in mind?

I thinks at a hack with only with categories and message
(example, a faq with your editor wysiwyg ;))

With this hack, we can make many thing such as:
- tutorials
- articles
- Reviews
- etc ....

More possibility again !

Example with sidebar: http://www.webmaster-hub.com/publica...ublicite-.html

What do you think about it ?

SS9267547 01-28-2007 12:23 PM

So just a basic package which people could use to start hacks, is that the idea? I mean people are allowed to use this hack for whatever needs they want on their servers.

Allan 01-28-2007 12:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1168950)
So just a basic package which people could use to start hacks, is that the idea? I mean people are allowed to use this hack for whatever needs they want on their servers.

Yes, exactly :)

SS9267547 01-28-2007 12:37 PM

Its an idea, I'll think it over but I won't be able to work on it until I finish the beta of my next mod.

Allan 01-28-2007 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1168959)
Its an idea, I'll think it over but I won't be able to work on it until I finish the beta of my next mod.

oki, i understand ^^

Ricsca 01-28-2007 08:02 PM

How it is possible to have the old crosslink seen that with the novelty it is seen me badly?

http://www.tartaportal.it/forums/sho...3&postcount=58

Thanks

SS9267547 01-28-2007 08:50 PM

Ricsca: I don't quite understand what you are asking for, are the crosslinked words not showing up? When logged in or when a guest is viewing? Please explain a bit more.

Vossi 01-29-2007 07:24 AM

@Lucas:
Another nice function would be to see a list of users who edited the entry when looking at it what makes it more comfortable to the users. They can write eachother when having questions to their edits and so on...

Is that possible? The reason why I'm asking is that I already see the first questions like 'who the f**k screwed up my entry'.... :o

SS9267547 01-29-2007 10:28 AM

Well on the admin side it records the last person who edited the entry and from where (not sure if it does records if someone edits on the user side tho, will have to check that). So it could be possiable to even add a new option on the user side where is shows who edited the entry just like the threads on vbulletin. Its a good idea for those that want to give any body access to edit things.

Vossi 01-29-2007 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1169674)
Well on the admin side it records the last person who edited the entry and from where (not sure if it does records if someone edits on the user side tho, will have to check that). So it could be possiable to even add a new option on the user side where is shows who edited the entry just like the threads on vbulletin. Its a good idea for those that want to give any body access to edit things.

Yeah, that's what I meant. Thanks...

roni1015 01-29-2007 10:24 PM

I have installed this and love it...I specifically LOVE the crosslinking in forum posts function....when it worked that is. This worked beautifully while one of my admins was adding terms. She got through all the A's and everything worked great...but once she finished adding the B's, for some reason it totally messed up my boards. You didn't get access to viewing threads anymore. I played with some of the options and found that if I disabled crosslinking, the problem was fixed. Because I don't want to disable crosslinking b/c I like that feature so much, I tried playing with the types of cross linking and found that when only allowing crosslinking in forum threads, you can still view the thread, but then this message is all across the top of the page:

Quote:

Warning: preg_replace(): Compilation failed: missing ) at offset 41 in /includes/functions_glossary.php on line 56
Please HELP!!! I want crosslinking back!!!

SS9267547 01-31-2007 12:15 AM

roni1015: Hmmm havn't come across this issue before. Your using the latest version? Please upload all files from this hack again and see if that changes anything. Also in the setting check and see what you have under crosslinking limit.

Kungfu 01-31-2007 05:29 AM

uncaught exception: Permission denied to call method XMLHttpRequest.open
createAJAX()glossary_crosslin... (line 54)
glossarysack(undefined)glossary_crosslin... (line 204)
glossary_ajax_loadContent("glossary_ajax_tooltip_c ontent", "site.com/forum/glossary_crosslinking.php?do=crosslink&term=10")gl ossary_crosslin... (line 356)
glossary_ajax_showTooltip("site.com/forum/glossary_crosslinking.php?do=crosslink&term=10", a glossary.php, false)

i keep getting an ajax error when trying to use the cross linking, the pop up wont come up. Any ideas?

SS9267547 01-31-2007 10:57 AM

Hmmm, is they a fresh install or an upgrade? Would it be possiable forr you do install on the same server but on a test board to see if the error is recreated?

Kungfu 01-31-2007 11:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1171211)
Hmmm, is they a fresh install or an upgrade? Would it be possiable forr you do install on the same server but on a test board to see if the error is recreated?

i could try it using the default template as mine is modified quite a bit. And its a fresh install.

i tried it on another forum that is pretty clean and it worked. Ill try to disable some stuff and see if anything is conflicting.

I tried to disable all the plugins, they didnt help. I know its not the server and i know its not a template issue. I still might be a another plugin conflicting but im not sure. Any ideas?

SS9267547 02-01-2007 11:28 AM

Okay so on another forum it works but not yours, hmmm. Well I'd say to uninstall the glossary and install again just to make sure. However if you have a lot of glossary terms already inputted I'd wait for the next version since I'll be releasing the new import/export system so you'll be able to save the terms you added.

With the error it looks like a permissions issue but I'm confused as to why there would be one since there is none to run. Could be another mod you had installed since it has happened before. Maybe I'll have to change/add permissions or there is a setting on your server but I'm not sure what that would be lol. Heres a test you could do, install a test board on the same site with nothing on it and install this and see if the issue comes up. Then we’ll know if it’s the server your on or your board.

otto 02-01-2007 01:17 PM

Hello,

befor - sorry for my bad english. ;)

I have the vb 3.5.3 and the vbglossary 1.2.2 installed - but, why can i edit the categories? I have it edit in the database... And why can i make terms "online" in the ModCP? I can only "edit" or "delete" the term...

Can you help me, by the problem? Thanks!

Edit: Ok, its run (ACP mus kompletle closed, log off and than login and ACP reopend - then it works. :D

The only problem i have, is the not working crosslinking ... :confused:

akulion 02-01-2007 03:57 PM

Ill wait for the update I think, seeing errors makes me jittery

Any news when its coming?

SS9267547 02-01-2007 11:37 PM

Can't say lol. When I get some free time, maybe in the next few days or a week. I'm working on a new import / export system for people to be able to save their terms which I would like to inculde in the next release.

Kungfu 02-02-2007 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS9267547 (Post 1171995)
Okay so on another forum it works but not yours, hmmm. Well I'd say to uninstall the glossary and install again just to make sure. However if you have a lot of glossary terms already inputted I'd wait for the next version since I'll be releasing the new import/export system so you'll be able to save the terms you added.

With the error it looks like a permissions issue but I'm confused as to why there would be one since there is none to run. Could be another mod you had installed since it has happened before. Maybe I'll have to change/add permissions or there is a setting on your server but I'm not sure what that would be lol. Heres a test you could do, install a test board on the same site with nothing on it and install this and see if the issue comes up. Then we’ll know if it’s the server your on or your board.

No didnt add many just to test it, i installed it on another site same server. I keep playing with it as i have no clue as to why that would do that.

you are gonna think im crazy and that im lying. I just tested it again, nothing changed that i know of. it works now out of the blue. Go figure. Now i can start using this yay!!. I cant wait for the clan mod to come out that would be sweet for my forums.

There is one bug though. If you dont type anything after the term it wont crosslink it. Example say you have

BC = Before christ and you type

Well this happened BC

the BC wont crosslink.

SS9267547 02-02-2007 03:35 AM

Yes this is a known issue with the crosslinking. However is you for example added a ? or ! it would then work lol.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01540 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,838KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (9)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete