vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - Cyb - Sub-Forum Manager (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=122996)

TheMilkCarton 03-16-2007 04:48 AM

For those wanting it in forumdisplay.. Just change the "Depth of Forums - Forum Display" option to 1.

However,
This doesn't quite display correctly if you have "Act as a Forum" set to "No" for the subforum when you have:

Parent Forum -> Child Forum -> Subforum (that only acts as a category) -> More Subforums -> Threads.

If you have a setup like this, adding the $forumid to "Exclude Forum" in the Subforum Manager doesn't work either... and I'm not sure why.

I included an image of how it doesn't display correctly. Attachment 61912
Notice that it uses the "tcat" class, and also has the collapse button which is not needed since nothing will be displaying under it.

Fixing these few things is simple:

Open forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and find:
Code:

<tbody>
    <tr>
        <td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">

Replace with:
Code:

<tbody>
    <tr>
        <td class="<if condition="!in_array($forumid, array(X,Y,Z))">tcat<else />alt1</if>" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">

Where X, Y, and Z are the $forumid's of the subforums that are Category Only and displaying incorrectly.

Now for getting rid of the collapse button.

In the same template find:
Code:

<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumid" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
and replace with:
Code:

<if condition="!in_array($forumid, array(X,Y,Z))"><a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumid" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a></if>
again where X,Y,Z are the $forumid's that aren't displaying correctly. Note: If you ever change your Forumdisplay depth back to 2, you should delete this conditional, or you won't be able to collapse/expand your Subforums.

It should now look like this:Attachment 61913

Not done yet! If you want to fix that column spacing, add the $forumid of that subforum to the "Forum Exclude" in the Subforum Manager. The columns will now space the same as Subforum (Act as forum) in the attached pictures.

I haven't tested this thoroughly, but I haven't had problems either.

If it's not working, make sure the $forumid's you are using are the actual $forumid's of the subforum.. i.e. "Test Subforum (Category Only)" in the images.

------------------------------------------
Also, if ALL of the subforums you have are "Category Only" you may want to get rid of the table with the Forum, Last Post, Threads, and Posts for that forum, since it won't display post counts, etc.

To do this go to forumdisplay.

Find:
Code:

<thead>
    <tr align="center">
      <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
      <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
      <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
      <if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
      </if>
    </tr>
</thead>

and replace with
Code:

<if condition="!in_array($forumid, array(X,Y,Z))"><thead>
    <tr align="center">
      <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
      <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
      <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
      <if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
      <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
      </if>
    </tr>
</thead></if>

This time, X, Y, and Z are the forums that contain the category only subforums, i.e. "Test Child Forum" in the attached images. They will NOT be the same $forumid's that you used in the other steps. It should look like this afterward: Attachment 61915

I'm pretty sure with all this info, Cybernetec may be able to incorporate this into the product?? :) It would be easy to add 2 more Exclude boxes for the 2 conditionals I added above, right?

Edit: For some reason "Exclude Forums" doesn't work at all on my forum... It just makes the columns closer together.. does this happen for anyone else?

Edit: Nevermind. I understand what the Exclude is for now. I thought it HID the subforums entirely. It just gets rid of the column formatting. :)

Bree 03-16-2007 07:06 PM

*Installed* That was one of the easiest things I've ever done!! Now I feel stupid for putting if off so long LOL I guess I just kinda got it in my head that the cooler the hack the harder it will be to install... apparently that is not the case! Thanks a bunch!! Always, Bree (3.6.5)

mgurain 03-20-2007 05:10 AM

I have a forum which has about 10 subforums,

Is it possible to "hide those subforums only" not other subforums from the forumhome?

But in forumdisplay it will show them.

It would be greate if I only need to specifiy the parent forum to do that.

This will be helpfull.

Thanks in advance,,

Mecho 03-28-2007 09:50 AM

Is it possible that i disable Posts Count just for one section ???

Thanks

RENDY81 03-30-2007 04:08 AM

install thanks

notrious 04-03-2007 03:57 AM

Great Excelent Super

rating 11/10

Mecho 04-03-2007 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mecho (Post 1214349)
Is it possible that i disable Posts Count just for one section ???

Thanks


any idea !?!

YabbaDabba 04-04-2007 03:31 AM

Still woking great on my vB 3.6.4. Many thanks.

Suggestion:

Support for more than one sub-forum level.


Category
Sub-forum A (threads/posts)
Sub-forum B
Sub-sub-forum 1 (threads/posts)
Sub-sub-forum 2 (threads/posts)
Sub-forum C (threads/posts)

Valter 04-04-2007 03:35 AM

I'll update this hack soon anyway... please be patient.

Mecho 04-04-2007 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybernetec (Post 1219432)
I'll update this hack soon anyway... please be patient.


Sure and thanks for all ur activities and support https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2007/04/14.gif

tobybird 04-06-2007 01:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybernetec (Post 1219432)
I'll update this hack soon anyway... please be patient.

Thank you so much for this hack! I'm looking forward to the upgrade.

I wonder... will this be addressed or do I have some thing wrong with my current setup?

I have many forums with this type of structure

Category
--Forum
----SubForum
--------Sub of Sub

The hack works beautifully for the first level subs but the second level are off. The column structure is there but they spacing is off. For example:



Does anyone have any idea how to fix this?

Thanks!

Oh and for reference....
Depth of Forums - Forum Home: 2
Depth of Forums - Forum Display: 1
Depth of Sub-Forums: 1

mhackl 04-06-2007 05:31 PM

This may be the same thing as the quotes below, but just in case it's not.

This is what I need:
I desperately need to make the forums appear the same in the "Category" view as they do on the Forumhome, and for sub-forums to also appear the same in the "Forum" view as they do on the Forumhome. Can this be done? This would be an immense help.

Thank you for sharing your hard work, it's greatly appreciated.

http://www.themodelhangar.com/images/sbuf-1.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derekclarke (Post 1069141)
IText removed, Changed layout.

Howeverit looks like this hack only works on the home page, any way to get it to work on other Pages?

e.g a sub forum, that has Multiple sub forums?

Quote:

Originally Posted by EasyTarget (Post 1071197)
I know this says for forum home, but on forumdisplay it arranges them in subcolumns as well. However, on forumdisplay it bunches them more closely together even though there is room for the subforums to be listed more organized (like on forumhome)

How can I get the spacing on forumdisplay to be like the spacing on forumhome?

*edit*
I found out that on forumdisplay its contingent upon the length of the forum description.

Quote:

Originally Posted by cobradude (Post 1145634)
cybernetec, I would be interested in this too. Thoughts?

Quote:

Originally Posted by lange (Post 1151300)
Me too, I would be interested in a forumdisplay sub-forums manager.

I am willing to pay for it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by cobradude (Post 1152069)
I have pm'd cybernetec several times about this but no response. I too am willing to pay.


bashy 04-06-2007 09:09 PM

Hi it says columns but it dont seem to be working as i had hoped

I wanted it like this
Colum1-----Colum2-----Colum3-----Colum4
subforum1--subforum2--subforum3--subforum4
subforum5--subforum6--subforum7--subforum8
subforum9--subforum10

But instead it just shows 1 colum no matter how many i add?

I think this is because i have a heavily modified style,
How can i sort this manually please?

tobybird 04-07-2007 12:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EasyTarget (Post 1071197)
I know this says for forum home, but on forumdisplay it arranges them in subcolumns as well. However, on forumdisplay it bunches them more closely together even though there is room for the subforums to be listed more organized (like on forumhome)

How can I get the spacing on forumdisplay to be like the spacing on forumhome?

*edit*
I found out that on forumdisplay its contingent upon the length of the forum description.

Ahhh I missed this. Thanks so much! That took care of my problem. :up:

ChinniePaws 04-09-2007 02:56 PM

*installs*

Thanks a bunch - I had a similar hack on my older version - Love it!!

vgevolution 04-27-2007 12:36 PM

I think I have a similar problem as some other people with a large number of sublevels. Here's my basic forum breakdown, as I'd like to set it:

Cat01
Cat01-Subcat01
Cat01-Subcat01-Forum01
Cat01-Subcat01-Forum02
Cat01-Subcat01-Forum03
Cat01-Subcat02
Cat01-Subcat02-Forum04
Cat01-Subcat02-Forum05
Cat02
Cat02-Subcat03
Cat02-Subcat03-Forum06
Cat02-Subcat03-Forum07
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat01
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat01-Forum08
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat01-Forum09
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat02
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat02-Forum10
Cat02-Subcat03-Subsubcat02-Forum11
Cat03
Cat03-Subcat04
Cat03-Subcat04-Subsubcat03
Cat03-Subcat04-Subsubcat03-Subsubsubcat01
Cat03-Subcat04-Subsubcat03-Subsubsubcat01-Forum12
Cat03-Subcat04-Subsubcat03-Subsubsubcat01-Forum13
Cat03-Subcat04-Subsubcat03-Subsubsubcat01-Forum14
... and on and on.

I have over 140 forums tightly organized to keep each category index from scrolling for miles. I could shrink it back to Cat-Forum-Subforum, but the index would be ungodly long.

Subcategories currently look hideous no matter what I do. I've been forced to change some subcategory levels (alternating) into closed forums with open subforums so that at least some of the indexes look as intended. I end up with the following:

Cat01
Cat01-Forum01
Cat01-Forum01-Subforum01
Cat01-Forum01-Subforum02
Cat01-Forum01-Subforum03
Cat01-Forum02
Cat01-Forum02-Subforum04
Cat01-Forum02-Subforum05
Cat02
Cat02-Forum03
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum06
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum07
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum08
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum08-Subsubforum01
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum08-Subsubforum02
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum09
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum09-Subsubforum03
Cat02-Forum03-Subforum09-Subsubforum04
Cat03
Cat03-Forum04
Cat03-Forum04-Subforum10
Cat03-Forum04-Subforum10-Subcat01
Cat03-Forum04-Subforum10-Subcat01-Subforum11
Cat03-Forum04-Subforum10-Subcat01-Subforum12
Cat03-Forum04-Subforum10-Subcat01-Subforum13
... and on and on.

I know it looks strange, and I don't like it either, but the result is that only every other level looks messed up (the "bad" levels do not display in columns as expected). It's the best I can do to make it partially presentable. It's almost like there needs to be a way to set the display such that subcategories receive subforum style treatment when they are beneath the current view level instead of category styles, and to be able to force the beautiful column format at every level, no matter how deep.

I've tried tinkering with various combinations of the following settings:
Depth of Forums - Forum Home: 2
Depth of Forums - Forum Display: 2
Depth of Sub-Forums: 1

Anything but this breaks everything and looks even worse.

I guess my question is, has anyone else found a fix for this. I tried the hacks above, and they didn't help. The problem got worse. Will the upcoming update fix these issues? If so, please tell me it's coming soon. I'd be happy to beta test it... :D

Regardless, thanks for a great mod! Even in its current state, VB's waaaaaay better than without it. It should be in the source code! :up:

maamon 04-27-2007 03:45 PM

thank you

MotMann 04-29-2007 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tobybird (Post 1221030)
The hack works beautifully for the first level subs but the second level are off. The column structure is there but they spacing is off.

Yes, i have the same Problem... any ideas to fix that?

Have a look here.

DieselMinded 04-29-2007 11:05 PM

THIS IS AWESOME I LOVE IT ! THANKS
Clicked the clicker too !!

Ohiosweetheart 04-30-2007 12:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MotMann (Post 1237714)
Yes, i have the same Problem... any ideas to fix that?

Have a look here.

It looks fine to me, what's off about it?

MotMann 04-30-2007 02:49 PM

The problem ist, that the right underforen not in one row in every boards.

DieselMinded 04-30-2007 11:27 PM

Ho Do I ....

Section
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Section
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Section
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Section
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child
Parent (dead) just the text
Child
Child
Child

See - www.dieselbombers.com I hate it when the Parent forum resides below sight cause of child forums , Would like to remove the parent and just keep its text there and add a "General" child

basskiller 05-05-2007 09:14 AM

the further down you go in subforums. the more screwy the columns become..

http://www.worldclassbodybuilding.co...tball-247.html
But I do so love this hack
I have one Cat that goes 5 subforums deep
Cat-COMBAT SPORTS >
Forum-The Gridiron Are you ready for some football! >
level 1 sub - NCAA Football (posting allowed) >
level 2 sub - By Conference >
level 3 sub- ACC >
level 4 sub - Coastal >
level 5 sub - Duke (posting allowed)

Terminatoronly 05-07-2007 07:39 PM

Thanks Alot For The Update :D

duncan99 05-12-2007 11:49 AM

Installed, this is a great hack I ever found, it works great but I still see the phrase "There are no posts in this forum" ? anything I made it wrong, how can I do like your demo? Thank you .


http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/897/subforumop4.gif

inciarco 05-12-2007 12:58 PM

Magnific Add-On!! :up:

Works Ok With vBulletin 3.6.6!! :up:

:)

Mrs.Winters 05-12-2007 04:21 PM

WONDERFUL! Thank You. :D *INSTALLED*

MotMann 05-12-2007 08:46 PM

But the Problem with the subforums exist.. comes there an update?

j_86 05-19-2007 01:51 PM

Hi there,

IT appears as though forums that are link forums are not excluded when included in the exclude field. Bug?

BobbyBig 05-22-2007 09:16 AM

I tryed to change the style for sub-sub forums, but I dont get it how to check for it.

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/7...ielxxxylh6.gif

What to change to get the shown effect in the picture above ?
Normaly all listed Forums are shown the same style, but I want sub-sub Forums to get another style like shown in the picture with the ---.

I would be greatfull for help.

FleaBag 05-26-2007 03:55 PM

Finally got this installed, it makes a hufge difference! Thanks! :)

Aneurysm 05-28-2007 04:38 AM

Just what I was looking for! Thanks

Valter 05-31-2007 12:14 PM

v2.2 - May 31. 2007.
-Option to hide thread/reply counts for selected sub-forums
-Counts automatically hidden for sub-forums with '0' threadcount
-Option to add blank lines after selected sub-forums
-Options to change CSS attributes for sub-forums inner table (change background color, text size,...)
-Several other improvements and general code cleanup

Upgrade info: Import product XML, allow overwrite. Check hack settings.

BobbyBig 05-31-2007 12:18 PM

Great, does this also still work for 3.6.5 ?

StarFire 05-31-2007 12:31 PM

Works great! Thanx a lot!

SF

Kihon Kata 05-31-2007 12:47 PM

updated mine!

xcingix 05-31-2007 12:53 PM

How was this hack updated?

KURTZ 05-31-2007 12:59 PM

updated!

Nathan2006 05-31-2007 01:10 PM

Works great!

Thank you for the update :)

MeMySelfNi 05-31-2007 01:44 PM

update...............


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01812 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,855KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete