vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   vBaCMPS Featured/Random Geek Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=73836)

Lizard King 04-11-2005 10:30 AM

Is this and the other one working with cmps 1.0.1 and geek articles 3.51 ? because this one didn't work for me and the other one's instructions cannot be completed because the file change we need to make cannot be made.

misuse 04-12-2005 02:14 AM

Two things:

1) Even though I have it set to "Show the thread/article icon", nothing shows. The poster avatar will show when enabled however.

2)In the URL to default image section it keeps adding the slash before the UNC, as follows:
/http://www.bloodydecks.com/forums/gas/images/default.jpg

KTBleeding 04-19-2005 05:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by misuse
Two things:

1) Even though I have it set to "Show the thread/article icon", nothing shows. The poster avatar will show when enabled however.

2)In the URL to default image section it keeps adding the slash before the UNC, as follows:
/http://www.bloodydecks.com/forums/gas/images/default.jpg

Same here, I even hardcoded the icon in (removed the conditional statements) and it still won't show up. :(

The Geek 04-19-2005 05:29 PM

Thats becasue this is designed for GAS2.0

I havent had time to develop one for 3.0 yet. This will work - but it will not use GAS3x header image or byline. It will only show first x amount of chars from the article.

I have a rough version on my site for 3.0 but havent had time to rework it properly though. If anyone wants to finish it up - I am more than happy to help by providing the code.

misuse 04-29-2005 05:06 PM

Anyword on what's happening with getting this set up to work with 3.5 yet?

The Geek 04-29-2005 06:57 PM

I sent tpr some prototype stuff I use on my site and he tweaked it some so its now working for him. He said he would post it when he gets a minute.

HTH's

Lionel 04-29-2005 06:59 PM

I made a module to display categories, should I post?

The Geek 04-29-2005 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lionel
I made a module to display categories, should I post?

hell ya. Is it like the one for last x articles? If its different - post a new add on. I am sure many would benefit.

Lionel 04-29-2005 07:08 PM

here you go. I grouped all articles as subforums under one category in forums named articles.
then I made a module named geekcategories.php (replace parentid=xx with the main category number)

PHP Code:

<?
$result_articlescategories = $DB_site->query("
SELECT * FROM forum WHERE parentid=XX ORDER BY displayorder
 
"); 
 
 
 
while ($artcatego = $DB_site->fetch_Array($result_articlescategories)) {
 
$artid = $artcatego[forumid];
 
$arttitle = $artcatego[title];
 
$artdescription = $artcatego[description];
 
$artthreadcount = $artcatego[threadcount];
 
eval('$categobits .= "' . fetch_template('adv_portal_artcategobits') . '";'); 
 
}
 
$DB_site->free_result($result_articlescategories);
 
 
 
eval('$home[$mods[\'modid\']][\'content\'] .= "' . fetch_template('adv_portal_artcatego') . '";');
 
 
 
unset($artcatego,$artid,$arttitle,$artdescription,$artthtreadcount);
 
?>

then I created the templates.
adv_portal_artcatego
Quote:

<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><strong>$vba_options[portal_blockbullet] Categories</strong></span></td>
</tr>
$categobits
</table>
<br />
adv_portal_artcategobits (replace forums with yours)
Quote:

<tr class="alt1"><td><table width="100%" cellpacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0"><tr class="alt1"><td><span class="smallfont"><strong><a href="/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=$artid" title="$artdescription">$arttitle</a></strong></span></td><td align="right"><span class="smallfont"><font size="1" color="#666666"> ($artthreadcount)</font></span></td></tr></table></td></tr>

Troy McClure 05-06-2005 02:47 PM

Like a couple of others I am having trouble with the module displaying. If I make it a "featured" article and specify the article number, the module shows up fine but if I go with the random method nothing shows at all on my front page.

Anyone figure out a fix?

Thanks,

Troy


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01357 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,745KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete