vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   RedBar Style (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=127996)

Frank H 11-29-2006 08:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank H (Post 1127752)
navbar/header help for newbie

Hello all, this is my first post and I am a little clueless so hopefully someone here can help me out. I have downloaded markbolyard's excellent RedBar vBulletin Style and with the help of the forums and wiki I have had some success in customising it. I'd like to add a get new button to the main navbar (forgive me if I get the terms wrong, still new to this) but when I compare the navbar code in REDBAR to other navbar templates I find the differences in coding far enough apart to get confused.


I've had a rummage in the redbar>Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates>navbar area with no great success. How do I get the new posts link/button? I dont really understand how to code at all so would be greatful for any help. I've had a really good look round the support forum but couldnt see anything that would help - apologies if this has already been covered. Cheers!!!!



is this correct?

<a href="register.php">Register</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
</if>
<a href="memberlist.php">Member List</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
<a href="calendar.php">Calendar</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
<a href="faq.php">FAQ</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
<if condition="$show['member']">
<a href="search.php">Search</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
</if>
<if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()">Logout</a>
</if>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="655">
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output
Thanks

dramster 12-04-2006 06:24 PM

Great skin - thanks Mark.

This is exactly what I was after. I have made amendments to view it as a fluid skin at 100%.

The problem is that it works fine in Firefox, but when viewed in IE7 it appears as limited width. Any ideas? This is frustrating the hell out of me!

archaosus 12-05-2006 06:30 PM

Check your stylevars for your main table width - it should be at 100% - you should also check your header and footer to ensure that they are at 100% as well rather than the fixed width.

PDM 12-10-2006 05:07 PM

TANK YOU Mark

dreck 12-13-2006 04:40 PM

Great style mark. *install*

I noticed a few people are having problems with images. It maybe that your download file has 2 redbar folders. Users maybe uploading the first folder which causes the urls to be off? ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by archaosus (Post 1115628)
www.3d-palace.com and www.3d-palace.com/forum - working in VBAdvanced nicely.

Cris

Actually you dont have it working correctly. :( You are missing some of the images in the footer & acouple of the urls aren't correct. But, you do have it close.

I am in the process of trying to figure out why or rather how?

Normally with vbadvanced you place the needed file in 3 locations & it takes care of it for you:
Code:

vBa CMPS / Default Settings / Header Replacements

vBa CMPS / Default Settings / Navbar Replacements

vBa CMPS / Default Settings / Footer Replacements

I have this in all 3 of my locations:
Code:

ajax.php
calendar.php
cron.php
external.php
faq.php
forumdisplay.php
global.php
index.php
image.php
login.php
online.php
member.php
memberlist.php
misc.php
moderator.php
moderation.php
newattachment.php
newreply.php
newthread.php
profile.php
private.php
register.php
search.php
subscription.php
usercp.php
vbseo.php

But, I have never had to edit a style for vbadvanced. So I am not sure what file would need to be added to the 3 locations?

I will let everyone know if & when i get it working.

Thanks, dreck

d-mac 12-13-2006 07:37 PM

I was trying to figure out how too get rid of the "grey border" on both the right and left sides in vBadvanced. The "borders" weren?t showing up on the actual forums but were there in vBadvanced. All I did was remove the class="page" from the adv_portal style under vBadvanced CMPS Templates and it got rid of it. Not sure why or how this fixed it but it did.

dreck 12-13-2006 09:40 PM

I believe I have everything working right? The only problem is a page error on forum home page only:
Code:

Line: 2
Char: 1
Error: Syntax error
Code: 0
URL: http://www.thisdarncar.com/vb/

I will keep working on it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by d-mac (Post 1138011)
I was trying to figure out how too get rid of the "grey border" on both the right and left sides in vBadvanced. The "borders" weren?t showing up on the actual forums but were there in vBadvanced. All I did was remove the class="page" from the adv_portal style under vBadvanced CMPS Templates and it got rid of it. Not sure why or how this fixed it but it did.

Yes, this worked for me too. Thanks!

Well I couldn't figure out what file needed to be add to the replacements. :(
So I just did the easiest thing without a possibility of missing something. I upload the redbar folder to my vbadvanced root dir. Thus, getting rid of any image errors. Not the fix I wanted but it works.

I too saw the message to revert 5 of the templates back to original. Also, I noticed that a few more templates had been edited. Out of the templates that had been edited, I reverted all of them back but the following:
Code:

footer
FORUMHOME
forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost
header
navbar

If you revert these templates it will affect the looks.


I also didn't like the "Main" button. It doesn't go with my vBa_CMPS page very well. So I edited the header template to add a "home/forum" & a "New Posts" button. This way when you are on home page you see forum, & when you are on the forum you see home. ;)

Find:
Code:

<a href="index.php">Main</a> &nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="usercp.php">User CP</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;
Replaced with:
Code:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'adv_index'"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]"> Forums <else /> <a href="http://thisdarncar.com/index.php"> Home </if></a> &nbsp;&nbsp; <if condition="$show['member']"><a href="usercp.php">User CP</a> &nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="http://www.thisdarncar.com/vb/search.php?do=getnew">New Posts</a>
I hope this helps.

dreck

dreck 12-13-2006 10:03 PM

Not sure what caused the error? But I replaced the following code in the forumhome template & everything seems to be ok.

Find:
Code:

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
        <!-- no cache headers -->
        <meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
        <meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
        <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
        <!-- end no cache headers -->
        $headinclude
        <title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
<script src="/mint/?js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

Replace with:
Code:

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
        <!-- no cache headers -->
        <meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
        <meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
        <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
        <!-- end no cache headers -->
        $headinclude
        <title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

I also noticed the jump menu color was blue, we can't have that. :-)

Styles & Templates / Style Manager / Main CSS / Help Forum Jump Menu / RevertSelected Item (Customized in this Style) / Background

I replaced the blue with #454545

Thanks again mark!

dreck

munch 12-14-2006 04:16 PM

mark,

thanks for the style, like it alot.

i am having an issue with the main forum page only. Please be advised that I am very new at this and the forum was just installed days ago.

This issue is only on the main page (not portal page) and not within any of the forums,

main page: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/12/10.jpg

forum example: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/12/11.jpg

any help, ideas etc in regards to fixing the look of the main page would be appreciated.

vbulletin version 3.6.4

dreck 12-14-2006 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by munch (Post 1138541)
i am having an issue with the main forum page only. Please be advised that I am very new at this and the forum was just installed days ago.

This issue is only on the main page (not portal page) and not within any of the forums,

Have you revert any of the templates? I forget which template it was but one of the templates I revert made it look like that.
I think it was forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost? But I am not sure?

dreck


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01453 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,762KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete