vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   NNTP Gateway (Usenet/Newsgroups) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=35247)

groovesalad 06-29-2003 09:12 PM

del

iggy123 07-01-2003 10:22 PM

any ideas on how to stop it updating all threads?
I have tried to install this but the newsgroup i want to get threads from has 3 months worth of posts - i only want the last months threads.
everytime i manually prune the forum the next time the gateway.php runs it brings in the old posts again.

alesis404 07-02-2003 07:05 AM

Quote:

Using older stuff from Usenet hack - you need a new field in thread table.

ALTER TABLE thread ADD isusenetpost TINYINT(2) DEFAULT 0 not null;

then open your gateway.php and find:

// Create thread
$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO thread (threadid,title,lastpost,forumid,open,replycount,p ostusername,postuserid,lastpos
ter,dateline,iconid,visible,attach,msgid,prefix) VALUES (NULL,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($subject))."' ,'".$date."','$forumid','1','0','".addslashes(from _name($message[from]))."','0','".addslashes(from_name($message[from]))."','".$date."','0','1','$attachcount','".addsla shes($message[msgid])."','".addslashes($theprefix)."')");

replace it with (changes enbolded)

// Create thread modded
$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO thread (threadid,title,lastpost,forumid,open,replycount,p ostusername,postuserid,lastpos
ter,dateline,iconid,visible,attach,msgid,isusenetp ost,prefix) VALUES (NULL,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($subject))."' ,'".$date."','$forumid','1','0','".addslashes(from _name($message[from]))."','0','".addslashes(from_name($message[from]))."','".$date."','0','1','$attachcount','".addsla shes($message[msgid])."','1','".addslashes($theprefix)."')");

From now on each thread created by gateway.php will be flagged as originating from usenet (isusenetpost=1)...

Open search.php and find two lines:

$wheresql.=" AND thread.open<>10";

in my case around line 551 and 601...
Directly below each of them add:

// NNTP Gateway mod
if (!$includeusenetpostsingetnew) { $wheresql.=" AND thread.isusenetpost=0"; };
// End of mod

Having isusenetpost in thread table also allows you to separate threrad counts or create separate links for "View new Usenet posts" ( see example here...
==============================================
Can someone tell me the correct syntax to run this line as a query and create this?

ALTER TABLE thread ADD isusenetpost TINYINT(2) DEFAULT 0 not null;

*I tried creating the table manually but after doing the mod and trying view new posts I got a white screen and suspect maybe the table I have is made wrong, thanks

PhoenixBB 07-02-2003 07:02 PM

I couldn't get that querie to worked - kept giving me a syntax error. The post beneath that one you quoted provided the solution for me. :)

kaiwang 07-02-2003 07:06 PM

which NNTP service provider is everyone here using??

thanks

alesis404 07-02-2003 08:43 PM

Someone mentioned to remove certain users usenet posts you could do this

Quote:

A simple SQL query can be used periodically to delete them. Use something like "DELETE FROM post WHERE username='username'" You'll also need to run DELETE FROM thread WHERE postusername='name of bad seed'" Or you can see my last post and add another thing to the if statement.
Using phpmyadmin I am trying to run a sql query and am not sure I am doing this properly and need confimation, is the exact line that needs to be typed

DELETE FROM post WHERE username='username'

of course replacing 'username' with the actual username who's posts you need deleted or is there some other code that must be added before this to the standard query from phpmyadmin? I seem to get a syntax error trying to run that line and assume i am missing a small code snippet that might go in front of that line of the querys?

alesis404 07-02-2003 10:40 PM

Post #334 mentioned to alter the table thread and add

ALTER TABLE thread ADD isusenetpost TINYINT(2) DEFAULT 0 not null;

I did this manually and appears I have the table right but going by the last error I got was I supposed to make another change to mention that extra column?

*I did also make the mod to search.php and appears to be blocking posts from "view new posts but now I have this error"

allan grossman 07-02-2003 10:49 PM

Quote:

Today at 04:06 PM kaiwang said this in Post #575
which NNTP service provider is everyone here using??

thanks

I'm using Giganews and it's working fine. I also made some changes to the signature routines - because I wanted them to say something different and because the signature separator wasn't RFC 1036-compliant and some newsreaders were having problems strippng them off.

A compliant signature separator is <linefeed><dash><dash><space><linefeed> Gilby's hack (while outstanding) was missing the space and some newsreaders wouldn't strip the signature out of quoted vB Usenet posts.

This hack has added real value to my board - thanks, Gilby!

PhoenixBB 07-07-2003 04:29 AM

Quote:

which NNTP service provider is everyone here using??
I was going to use my Easynews account, but chickened out when I read the TOS. They were very much ''you must use the account soley for your own use''. Technically it is, but I figured too dicey as I'm in the UK and my site is on a US server, and they might notice I can't be in two continents at once. :P In the end I went with teranews.com who give 50mb a day free, which is plenty for the couple of text groups I use. They charge a one off $3.95, which isn't bad. Had no problems so far.

I'm just gearing up to switch the posting function on. Am a bit nervous of that in case it posts what's already there. I guess I'm gonna have to re-read this whole thread again <whimpers> but am I remembering rightly that people can't use the normal vbcodes when replying? Or if they do they don't get converted like they do on the way in? That'll take some getting used to for some of my members.

alesis404 07-07-2003 05:07 AM

Quote:

A simple SQL query can be used periodically to delete them. Use something like "DELETE FROM post WHERE username='username'" You'll also need to run DELETE FROM thread WHERE postusername='name of bad seed'" Or you can see my last post and add another thing to the if statement.
Is anybody sucessfully doing this through phpmyadmin and if so what is the exact query you are using? I tried this and it gives me a syntax error on line 1 and I really have alot of posts I would like to remove asap...thanks

DELETE FROM post WHERE username='username' <---this give me bad syntax when i run this query from phpmyadmin? is there something that goes in front or behind this...sorry for asking again but I've been waiting all weekend to be able to remove bulk spam posts and would appreciate help from anybody using phpadmin to run this query and delete posts by user, note I cannot mass prune by user from admincp and when I try it hops to the next page but appears there is buttons missing and I cant perform the action...perhaps others know what I mean....


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01867 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,753KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete