vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   Links and Downloads Manager (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91107)

calgdsm 07-12-2006 01:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by calgdsm
How does one change that?? Thats the problem i am having.

Anyone know this??

AndrewD 07-12-2006 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by efil
It was working until the few last days , now when I want to sort , I get always the same position.
You can test yourself :
http://www.televizia.net/vb/local_links.php?catid=5

The sort by is in the left of the screen.
You can test it and see that nothing change.

Thanks in advance,
Efil.

From the look of your screens, I think you have given every entry a different value for "display_order". This over-rides the sort order, and forces entries to be shown in increasing display_order. The purpose of this setting is to let you force some entries together, then some others, etc. Entries which have the same value for display_order are sorted according to the selection you make.

If this is the case, the quickest/easiest way to correct it is with a simple SQL command on your database. Something like the following:

UPDATE local_linksltoc SET displayorder = '1'

AndrewD 07-12-2006 01:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by calgdsm
How does one change that?? Thats the problem i am having.

These parameters are set in the php.ini file on your web site. You need to edit that file and then restart apache/whatever web server you are running. If you do not have this level of access, you may have to ask your service provider to make the changes.

AndrewD 07-12-2006 01:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lovevn
I remember that there is an option for us to let LDM find and up date or files are up loaded by ftp.

I can not file this options in version 2.2.1

LDM/admin/categories/scan

In the next release (almost fully tested) there will be the possibility to set categories to 'autosynchronise' with specified directories. This works recursively, so you can automatically create a category structure which matches a directory structure and stays up to date..

AndrewD 07-12-2006 01:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Langly
I have a usergroup with permission to view a forum, post to a forum, can add links in LDM, allowed to upload in LDM but when they go to and file catagory, they don't get the option to Upload Files. All my other user groups have no problem and they get this option. Any ideas?

Thanks

Not offhand. If you send me a pm with your site details + an admin username/pwd, I'm happy to take a look.

GrendelKhan{TSU 07-12-2006 02:08 PM

ok. beta3 up! great stuff...
lots of comments and few (v. minor) issues...

want me to email em, pm or is posting em ok?

AndrewD 07-12-2006 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU
ok. beta3 up! great stuff...
lots of comments and few (v. minor) issues...

want me to email em, pm or is posting em ok?

PM them - I haven't released the code to others, so let's not add more to this thread

efil 07-12-2006 03:05 PM

Quote:

From the look of your screens, I think you have given every entry a different value for "display_order". This over-rides the sort order, and forces entries to be shown in increasing display_order. The purpose of this setting is to let you force some entries together, then some others, etc. Entries which have the same value for display_order are sorted according to the selection you make.

If this is the case, the quickest/easiest way to correct it is with a simple SQL command on your database. Something like the following:

UPDATE local_linksltoc SET displayorder = '1'
Thank you very much!
That was the problem, Now it's working fine. :)

Efil.

GrendelKhan{TSU 07-12-2006 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
PM them - I haven't released the code to others, so let's not add more to this thread

done! :)

though I suspect I'm gunna need to have to screenshot ya up or something. its tough explain some stuff with text. :/

anyway...great stuff!! :D :D

dodjer42 07-13-2006 02:15 AM

Curious, I am trying to find out where and how different user groups have been assigned different upload allowances. I have my PHP values set to 12M, but registered users are only getting 2M.

Any ideas?

GrendelKhan{TSU 07-13-2006 04:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42
Curious, I am trying to find out where and how different user groups have been assigned different upload allowances. I have my PHP values set to 12M, but registered users are only getting 2M.

Any ideas?

sounds like your isp.
upload limits in the end are determined by your ISP. default for most isps is 2mb.

you have to check with them and see if you get access to your php.ini and can increase your upload allowances.

once that is done you can adjust LDM accordingly.

AndrewD 07-13-2006 04:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42
Curious, I am trying to find out where and how different user groups have been assigned different upload allowances. I have my PHP values set to 12M, but registered users are only getting 2M.

Any ideas?

Take a look at the follows:

- your php settings post_max_size and upload_max_filesize

- the apache setting LimitRequestBody

- the VBulletin attachments table, which sets maximum sizes per filetype

If LDM is giving admins the full 12M, the problem is in the limits set in the VBulletin table. If admins also are limited to 2M, then you've got a conflict somewhere in your php values or perhaps with apache

lovevn 07-13-2006 05:38 AM

The "play" botton in my LDM does not work. Where can I turn this function on? I have set the right file type for music box!

Thanks

AndrewD 07-13-2006 06:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lovevn
The "play" botton in my LDM does not work. Where can I turn this function on? I have set the right file type for music box!

Thanks

Several things to check:

a) Is there an entry for mp3, etc, in the VB attachments table (VB/admincp/attachments/extensions and sizes). You need to provide an entry for each filetype that can be played, including the mimetype information (e.g. for mp3: Content-type: audio/mpeg)

b) LDM permissions -> can_play_musicbox Enable this permission for usergroups that should be able to access the embedded player.

c) is your PC running under Windows? I have included a test in the LDM code for this, as I have no way of testing the embedded players on Macs or Linux.

lovevn 07-13-2006 06:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Several things to check:

a) Is there an entry for mp3, etc, in the VB attachments table (VB/admincp/attachments/extensions and sizes). You need to provide an entry for each filetype that can be played, including the mimetype information (e.g. for mp3: Content-type: audio/mpeg)

b) LDM permissions -> can_play_musicbox Enable this permission for usergroups that should be able to access the embedded player.

c) is your PC running under Windows? I have included a test in the LDM code for this, as I have no way of testing the embedded players on Macs or Linux.

Thanks for your reply me at this and other questoin. I have solved the problem by adding image types for attachment talble.

By the ways, I have one more question.
I have stored both audio file and zip file in my LDM. I turn off the "off-site-download" function because I want to prevent people from download my audio files. Unfortunately, this stop people from download the zip file too. Is there anyways to let people download zip file but not audio file?

Thanks

AndrewD 07-13-2006 06:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lovevn
Thanks for your reply me at this and other questoin. I have solved the problem by adding image types for attachment talble.

By the ways, I have one more question.
I have stored both audio file and zip file in my LDM. I turn off the "off-site-download" function because I want to prevent people from download my audio files. Unfortunately, this stop people from download the zip file too. Is there anyways to let people download zip file but not audio file?

Thanks

Turn on allow downloads but turn off can_save_musicbox

redlabour 07-14-2006 09:27 AM

Please use the Updatefunction next Time so that we get a Mail if a Update is released.

Slave 07-15-2006 07:45 AM

Hi AndrewD :)

One thing I've noticed using 2.2.1 (not upgraded to 3.6 just yet) and the "Latest Links" module for vBadvanced. When you click on a link it takes you to local_links.php and shows the details of the cat as well as the one link you clicked on. But there isn't an easy to click link to see all of the other links within the same cat ..

As a suggestion, maybe we could have a "See other links in this category .." type link at the end of the description of the link, like we do when a link is within more than one cat.

In fact, in playing with this it seems like it does show a "See also .." link if the link is in 2 or more cats. It just doesn't include the cat that you are viewing at the time, so perhaps just make sure that all of the cats the link is in are shown.

If you need to see an example I can provide links (as always :))

Oh .. and I know you can just press on the "go" button of the Category jump menu, but that isn't clear to normal users and not everyone has it turned on :p

AndrewD 07-15-2006 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slave
Hi AndrewD :)

One thing I've noticed using 2.2.1 (not upgraded to 3.6 just yet) and the "Latest Links" module for vBadvanced. When you click on a link it takes you to local_links.php and shows the details of the cat as well as the one link you clicked on. But there isn't an easy to click link to see all of the other links within the same cat ..

As a suggestion, maybe we could have a "See other links in this category .." type link at the end of the description of the link, like we do when a link is within more than one cat.

In fact, in playing with this it seems like it does show a "See also .." link if the link is in 2 or more cats. It just doesn't include the cat that you are viewing at the time, so perhaps just make sure that all of the cats the link is in are shown.

If you need to see an example I can provide links (as always :))

Oh .. and I know you can just press on the "go" button of the Category jump menu, but that isn't clear to normal users and not everyone has it turned on :p

No sooner suggested than done. In the next release, when a single item is displayed, the linkbit will include the full list of categories in which it appears.

obmob 07-15-2006 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
LDM/admin/categories/scan

In the next release (almost fully tested) there will be the possibility to set categories to 'autosynchronise' with specified directories. This works recursively, so you can automatically create a category structure which matches a directory structure and stays up to date..

Sounds great... :bunny:

zooki 07-15-2006 06:15 PM

i uploaded files and trawled them, it says "trawled during scan of /files/Video" for description, how can i have it not say that next time??

AndrewD 07-15-2006 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zooki
how do i change the title, on the main page it says> "Links and Downloads Manager" i want to rename this.. thanks

LDM/Admin/Settings/Database Name

Give it whatever name you want.

AndrewD 07-15-2006 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zooki
i uploaded files and trawled them, it says "trawled during scan of /files/Video" for description, how can i have it not say that next time??

Either edit the links_scantext template to say what you want, or go LDM/admin/settings/monitor_template and provide the name of a new template that provides the layout you want to use.

Slave 07-16-2006 06:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
No sooner suggested than done. In the next release, when a single item is displayed, the linkbit will include the full list of categories in which it appears.

That's great .. thanks AndrewD :D

Foxsake 07-16-2006 08:16 AM

Ive installed this and all seems to be fine.
However i cant work out how to get the file_icons_dir working? :surprised:

I point it to the place the files are on the server and all i get is not found? :confused:

What exactly do i have to put in this box? - Ive tried numerous things to no avail


Thanks in advance if you can help

AndrewD 07-16-2006 08:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foxsake
Ive installed this and all seems to be fine.
However i cant work out how to get the file_icons_dir working? :surprised:

I point it to the place the files are on the server and all i get is not found? :confused:

What exactly do i have to put in this box? - Ive tried numerous things to no avail


Thanks in advance if you can help

Suppose your site is http://yoursite
Suppose your forum directory is http://yoursite/forum
Suppose you've put the LDM icons in http://yoursite/forum/LDMicons

Then file_icons_dir should be set to LDMicons [i.e. it's relative to forum]

However, suppose you've put the icons in http://yoursite/LDMicons (i.e. not in the forum branch of your site)

Then file_icons_dir should be set to ../LDMicons

If youstill have problems, send me a PM with your site details and an admin account, and I'm happy to take a look

Slave 07-17-2006 06:46 AM

A quick question AndrewD :)

How are you coming along with the import/export stuff? .. I've a lot of links which are being used in a 1.60 LDM version which I'd like to move to a 2.1.1 version, but as I've already got links in the 2.1.1 version I can't import them.

In the meantime of you improving the import/export side of things, can you suggest a way of getting these links into the 2.1.1 version easily?

AndrewD 07-17-2006 06:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slave
A quick question AndrewD :)

How are you coming along with the import/export stuff? .. I've a lot of links which are being used in a 1.60 LDM version which I'd like to move to a 2.1.1 version, but as I've already got links in the 2.1.1 version I can't import them.

In the meantime of you improving the import/export side of things, can you suggest a way of getting these links into the 2.1.1 version easily?

Thanks for reminding me of this. It will be in the 'gold' release for VB36, which may be called 2.2.2 or maybe something else, but will be there quite soon.

Slave 07-17-2006 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Thanks for reminding me of this. It will be in the 'gold' release for VB36, which may be called 2.2.2 or maybe something else, but will be there quite soon.

Given the extra things being added perhaps 2.5 // :)

AndrewD 07-17-2006 11:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slave
Given the extra things being added perhaps 2.5 // :)

Or perhaps 'bloated heavyweight of the year'

Slave 07-17-2006 12:01 PM

heh .. it is getting rather large isn't it .. :p

Perhaps a way forward would be to give it a plugin system similar to vB itself. This would allow for a basic links/downloads architecture for people who want it (therefore easier to install/configure) and then extra's like photos, music etc would be able to be added as people found need for them and got used to the system.

AndrewD 07-17-2006 12:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slave
heh .. it is getting rather large isn't it .. :p

Perhaps a way forward would be to give it a plugin system similar to vB itself. This would allow for a basic links/downloads architecture for people who want it (therefore easier to install/configure) and then extra's like photos, music etc would be able to be added as people found need for them and got used to the system.

Most of the size is caused by having to upload six different translations of the installation file.

There is a now full plug-in architecture inside LDM, but it's too late (at least until I decide to take a six month sabbatical) to go back and un-engineer everything into discrete modules.

It would help, though, if the vb.org people could work out a better way to handle complex add ons like this. As it is, we have to put everything in one zip file and in one thread per VB release. (They got unhappy with me for pointing the vb36 thread at the vb35 download - even though the software was the same.) I appreciate the difficulties, but...

GrendelKhan{TSU 07-17-2006 12:18 PM

quick q:

how do you limit the number of items that show in the "New Entries LDM" for the Forumhome display (one of the extra plugins)? I thought I knew where but I forgot and now can't find it. :/

like ya'll said..its a HUGE mod.

ps. I emailed ya ;)

AndrewD 07-17-2006 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU
quick q:

how do you limit the number of items that show in the "New Entries LDM" for the Forumhome display (one of the extra plugins)? I thought I knew where but I forgot and now can't find it. :/

like ya'll said..its a HUGE mod.

Unless it's run away, the admin setting is links_seen_on_portal

GrendelKhan{TSU 07-17-2006 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
Unless it's run away, the admin setting is links_seen_on_portal

woot! thanks. ;) :)

Foxsake 07-17-2006 04:27 PM

Sorry, you do not have sufficient download allowances available at the moment.
Allowances: 100 files/6 used, 0 Mbytes/ 0 MBytes used

any ideas anyone? just trying to play file not download it?:confused:

AndrewD 07-17-2006 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foxsake
Sorry, you do not have sufficient download allowances available at the moment.
Allowances: 100 files/6 used, 0 Mbytes/ 0 MBytes used

any ideas anyone? just trying to play file not download it?:confused:

Playing counts as download because it consumes server bandwith. Have you enabled (ticked) both file and bandwidth limits for your usergroup? (LDM/admin/bandwidth). The message is saying that you've not got enough bandwidth left.

Foxsake 07-17-2006 04:55 PM

Yes both ticked - server has only used 3% of bandwidth and the other files play? its just an mp3 file, that has worked previously :confused:

AndrewD 07-17-2006 05:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foxsake
Yes both ticked - server has only used 3% of bandwidth and the other files play? its just an mp3 file, that has worked previously :confused:

Sorry if I'm not being clear - if you click these settings, you're telling LDM to limit the number of files each user can access each day and how many bytes they can transfer , via LDM. If set, each time you start a download (or play a file), LDM sees if total use in last 24 hours + new file > allowance.

If you don't want to restrict bandwidth, then unclick the bandwidth column. Similarly, files.

I imagine that, for the ones which still download, you have not put an entry in the VB attachments table. So LDM is not handling them as 'downloads' but is relying on the fact that your PC is configured appropriately.

Foxsake 07-17-2006 05:06 PM

Ah - sorry yeah misunderstood you there :tired:

Thats solved it - thanks Andrew


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05799 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,857KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (27)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete