vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   RPG Integration Hack (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=102)
-   -   RPG Integration Hack - Old Support Thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=73868)

Zantheus 09-27-2004 08:48 PM

Ok, I cant seem to find my original post, I got everything working (I think I missed something, somewhere). But I goto User CP and click on Edit Information for this hack, but when I click the link ,it jusy comes up blank, what templates do I need to edit?

Warlord 09-27-2004 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Revan
They not supposed to, because the Add Items or Add Category cannot guess what type of item you wish to add, nor can it update its choices dynamically according to what Item Type you select.
To set Spell attributes, edit the Spells category and set them to Spells (yes the same), then you will see checkboxes that allows you to set spell attributes.


I had no idea this stuff was possible. I don't think this is in the manual. ;)

Are all these items/potions/spells/armor, etc going to be standard, pre-installed (with attack/def levels/buff already input) in v3? That would rock.

And thanks for adding me to MSN.. look forward to seeing you online. :D

Warlord 09-27-2004 10:13 PM

P.S. There's so much stuff to add attributes for.. is there a master list somewhere we can go off of? Or a file that you use that we can overwrite our attributes with the ones you use?

starfantazy 09-27-2004 11:56 PM

how do i make a drop down link for everything included in the hack?

Warlord 09-28-2004 01:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by starfantazy
how do i make a drop down link for everything included in the hack?


Add this to your navbar somewhere (swap out my hardcoded url for yours):

PHP Code:

<if condition="$show['member']">
<
td class="vbmenu_control2" id="rpg"><a href="http://www.neropolis.com/vb/#rpg">RPG</a> <script type="text/javascript"vbmenu_register("rpg"); </script></td>
</if> 

Find:

PHP Code:

<!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS --> 


And then add this right BEFORE that:

PHP Code:

    <!-- RPG Menu -->
    <
div <if condition="!is_browser('ie')">style="width: 125px;"</if> class="vbmenu_popup" id="rpg_menu" style="display:none">
        <
table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        
                <
tr><td class="thead">RPG</td></tr>        
        <
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="rpgcp.php">RPG Main</a></td></tr>
        <
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="battle.php">Battle Arena</a></td></tr>
        <
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="itemshop.php">Itemshop</a></td></tr>
        <
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?do=updaterpg">Edit Your Character</a></td></tr>
<
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="heal.php">Healing Center</a></td></tr>
<
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="battle.php?action=showbattlestats">RPG Top 10</a></td></tr>
<
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="battle.php?action=showuserstats">Check Your Stats</a></td></tr>
<
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="clancp.php">Clan CP</a></td></tr>
<
tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="rpgmanual.php">RPG Manual</a></td></tr>



        </
table>
    </
div>
    <!-- / 
RPG Menu --> 

I have a custom skin and this works for me.. but I think it should work for you too.

rinkrat 09-28-2004 03:45 AM

My users are getting "Fighter used a potion but it had no effect" every time they use a potion. Is there something I have to tweak to get them working?

starfantazy 09-28-2004 05:50 AM

k, got it, now i did the database fix several times, went in and redid 6 hack installs and tried everything i could think of, yet i continue to get this error:

Quote:

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /home/****/******/forums/includes/db_mysql.php on line 213

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in Unknown on line 0
and the latest:
Quote:

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /home/*****/*******/forums/includes/db_mysql.php on line 212

This happens when i go to
Quote:

profile.php?do=updaterpg
and try to edit my own character. My board is at the link in my siggie. it has taken me 5 hours to double check, reinstall and everything else. so, if the only way this is to be fixed is to check my file edits....well...

Revan 09-28-2004 11:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Warlord
I had no idea this stuff was possible. I don't think this is in the manual. ;)

Are all these items/potions/spells/armor, etc going to be standard, pre-installed (with attack/def levels/buff already input) in v3? That would rock.

And thanks for adding me to MSN.. look forward to seeing you online. :D

Yes that there IS in the Admin Manual, even the default one IIRC ;)

Nope, to have them more preinstalled than now is impossible.
Because the SQL NEEDS to be updated with the battle types, and buff levles is something each admin has to decide for himself.


Quote:

Originally Posted by rinkrat
My users are getting "Fighter used a potion but it had no effect" every time they use a potion. Is there something I have to tweak to get them working?

You have to do the same as for the spells, set the categories' battle type once again, then set attributes for MA and HP healing.



Quote:

Originally Posted by starfantazy
k, got it, now i did the database fix several times, went in and redid 6 hack installs and tried everything i could think of, yet i continue to get this error:


and the latest:



This happens when i go to and try to edit my own character. My board is at the link in my siggie. it has taken me 5 hours to double check, reinstall and everything else. so, if the only way this is to be fixed is to check my file edits....well...

As it has been stated multiple times in this thread, if you get dbase timeout errors, its because of the way PHP is compiled on the server.
In short, it sucks.
It causes some glitch with the Female class that only seems to happen to 20 % of the installs. It will probably be fixed in v3, once SquareUltima gets around to installing the v3 Alpha I sent to them (Alpha because the ACP isnt finished plus it hasnt been tested much) we'll see if it fixes itself.

rinkrat 09-28-2004 03:22 PM

Thanks for the tip. The settings in this thing are like a nuclear reactor. I suggest that you have it set up with a basic working configuration to start instead of having new users go in and tweak dozens of adjustments when they don't even know the way it works. At least if it worked out of the box you could just change things how you want them instead of having nothing activated or adjusted. Just a basic catch-all config to get the newbie going would be way better. It's been a week and I'm still discovering mandatory settings that are not correct.

Revan 09-28-2004 07:06 PM

I might write a build_rpg() that fixes the SQL so at least the battle types are correct.
But I will not set Buff levels on anything, because thats so individual from forum to forum what the admin wants. If there was a standard level, every newbie would use this and there would be distinctions between those that bother to configure it and those that dont bother.
In the updated RPG Manual, there will be a getting started section, so anyone comin whinin after that will be sent right back to detention in the manual ;)


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01863 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,777KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete