vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Add-On Releases - Rewrite eBay Links (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=144214)

ferreo 04-02-2008 02:15 PM

I fixed this by changing line 111 in the product-rewrite_ebay_links.xml file from

Code:

<validationcode><![CDATA[return (strlen($data) == 9);]]></validationcode>
to

Code:

<validationcode><![CDATA[return (strlen($data) == 10);]]></validationcode>
This took care of the admin CP error, but it wouldn't display the &campid=XXXXXXXXXX bit in the rewritten links. I just hardcoded my campaign ID in the XML file. Ready to keep on rocking.

Thanks for the quick update dismounted.

GoTTi 04-02-2008 03:54 PM

so u got it working ferreo?

creativepart 04-02-2008 04:08 PM

The campid is not being added. I changed the error look up to 10 so I'm not getting the error but it's not adding the campid to the link in the forum. It's just campid=&.....

I modifed the XML file by hard coding the CampID but I just wanted to let Dismounted know of this problem.

creativepart 04-02-2008 04:10 PM

I've made a donation to Dismounted for his great work on this. I think everyone else that's earned anything from this mod should do the same.

So, come on. Don't be selfish. It's time to reward the author.

There is a donation button above under his Avatar.

siliconfinance 04-02-2008 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dismounted (Post 1480633)
Modification Updated!

2/04/2007 - Version 1.2
- Updated URL Format
- Updated ReadMe

The URL format is as specified in the developer documents. Please note that you MUST re-enter your Campaign ID in the options page!

Hi Dismounted,

Previously, someone tweaked your code on my site to work with vBseo. I would like to manually implement the changes you made to the script since the time that ebay changed its affiliate program.

Can you provide some sort of guidance?

Thank you in advance.

ferreo 04-02-2008 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creativepart (Post 1481053)
The campid is not being added. I changed the error look up to 10 so I'm not getting the error but it's not adding the campid to the link in the forum. It's just campid=&.....

I modifed the XML file by hard coding the CampID but I just wanted to let Dismounted know of this problem.

I modified line 57 of the XML file from

Code:

$newurl = 'http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?toolid=10013&campid=' . $vbulletin->options['rewrite_ebay_links_pid'] . '&mpre=' . rawurlencode(str_replace('&amp;', '&', $url));
to

Code:

$newurl = 'http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?toolid=10013&campid=XXXXXXXXXX' . '&mpre=' . rawurlencode(str_replace('&amp;', '&', $url));
and it's working fine now. Don't forget to replace XXXXXXXXXX with your 10 digit campaign ID.

I'm going to send a donation to dismounted as well, his plugin has done very well for me.

siliconfinance 04-02-2008 06:09 PM

Is that all I would need to do to make this work again?

ferreo 04-02-2008 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by siliconfinance (Post 1481077)
Hi Dismounted,

Previously, someone tweaked your code on my site to work with vBseo. I would like to manually implement the changes you made to the script since the time that ebay changed its affiliate program.

Can you provide some sort of guidance?

Thank you in advance.


How does it conflict with vbseo? I use both dismounted's ebay rewrite and vbseo in parallel without any issues on my end.

ferreo 04-02-2008 06:17 PM

Actually, I found some discrepancy between dismounted's code and the one the link generator at EPN provides:


Code:

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=4&campid=XXXXXXXXXX&toolid=10001&customid=&mpre=
is the prefix that the generator spits out (eBay US Network),

Code:

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?toolid=10013&campid=XXXXXXXXXX&mpre=
is dismounted's code. I'll switch things around in the XML file, just to make sure. For now, I don't see any clicks or revenue tracked yet, this may be due to the reporting delay though.

ferreo 04-02-2008 06:23 PM

This is the file I am currently using. I have matched the prefix URL to the one from the generator for my campaign, the ID is hardcoded in line 57. Replace Xs with your campID.

OneDesignTalk 04-02-2008 07:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ferreo (Post 1481183)
This is the file I am currently using. I have matched the prefix URL to the one from the generator for my campaign, the ID is hardcoded in line 57. Replace Xs with your campID.

Would also like to thank Dismounted .:up::)

I have a suggest. making key words that people post, clickable to products on ebay.

think this would be possible?

creativepart 04-02-2008 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ferreo (Post 1481177)
Code:

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=4&campid=XXXXXXXXXX&toolid=10001&customid=&mpre=

I checked my Link generator and I see the same coding as yours.

Heres a link I generated yesterday to display a page of Ebay auction listings from a Keyword:

Code:

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=3&campid=XXXXXXXXXX&toolid=10001&customid=... etc.
Dismounted is in Australia, maybe he's giving us Australian Ebay codes?

ferreo 04-02-2008 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OneDesignTalk (Post 1481253)
Would also like to thank Dismounted .:up::)

I have a suggest. making key words that people post, clickable to products on ebay.

think this would be possible?

This is possible via vbseo - it has a very customizable rewrite ability that allows you to do just that.

siliconfinance 04-02-2008 09:38 PM

ferreo, are you running vbseo on the same site?

BadgerDog 04-02-2008 09:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ferreo (Post 1481183)
This is the file I am currently using. I have matched the prefix URL to the one from the generator for my campaign, the ID is hardcoded in line 57. Replace Xs with your campID.


Thanks ... :up:

I've used your XML file with my campaiign ID until Dismounted has a chance to update this....

Regards,
Badger

vitoreis 04-02-2008 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ferreo (Post 1481183)
This is the file I am currently using. I have matched the prefix URL to the one from the generator for my campaign, the ID is hardcoded in line 57. Replace Xs with your campID.

Thanks! Works perfect!

ferreo 04-02-2008 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by siliconfinance (Post 1481383)
ferreo, are you running vbseo on the same site?

Sure do. No issues on this end with the latest version.

creativepart 04-03-2008 02:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ferreo (Post 1481490)
Sure do. No issues on this end with the latest version.

Except that Ebay Partners Networks is not up to snuff to handle the load they've created. Suddenly the clicks I had showing are all gone. The support forum is loaded with screaming affiliates out lots of money and the Blog says, "We're working on it."

ferreo 04-03-2008 03:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creativepart (Post 1481598)
Except that Ebay Partners Networks is not up to snuff to handle the load they've created. Suddenly the clicks I had showing are all gone. The support forum is loaded with screaming affiliates out lots of money and the Blog says, "We're working on it."

Ain't that grand? If the shit doesn't work right, I'll switch over to CJ for the next few weeks until they work things out.

Dismounted 04-03-2008 04:18 AM

I was following eBay's Developer documentation with the URL format, but it seems they are not right (typical eBay...:p). I've now switched a few things over and updated the v1.2 package. Please re-download and import the v1.2 XML. I apologize for the incorrect formats.

Kevlar 04-03-2008 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creativepart (Post 1481598)
Except that Ebay Partners Networks is not up to snuff to handle the load they've created. Suddenly the clicks I had showing are all gone. The support forum is loaded with screaming affiliates out lots of money and the Blog says, "We're working on it."

The added income from switching early was a bonus... but I had a feeling eBay would not have their act together and it would flop and die. I'm probably going to move in the next day or two, hopefully the eBay problems will be fixed by then.

ferreo 04-03-2008 12:04 PM

Anyone actually seeing any revenue yet with the EPN?

creativepart 04-03-2008 12:15 PM

Finally, this morning the numbers of impressions and clicks look right on the reporting tool. And I've got a whopping $.62 of commissions today as well.

I'm using my hand coded mod right now. I'll download the new revised mod and give that a go.

linkasaur 04-03-2008 01:13 PM

Thanks for the update Dismounted!

Also thanks to the other folks for the temporary fix suggestions.

--

creativepart 04-03-2008 01:38 PM

The mod seems to be working just fine now. Thanks so much!!
Oh, Dismounted, on the Mod Admin page in vB Options it still says:
Enter your 9-digit eBay Partner Network Campaign ID.

It's 10 digits... you corrected the error checking routine to 10 digits but not the wording in the admin page.

(dismounted... you still need to change the year of the version description above from 2007 to 2008)

GoTTi 04-03-2008 05:13 PM

is there a way to make it where if the word ebay is on the post, that it will link to ebay.com with our affiliate link?

ferreo 04-03-2008 08:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoTTi (Post 1482153)
is there a way to make it where if the word ebay is on the post, that it will link to ebay.com with our affiliate link?

vbseo can do.

GoTTi 04-03-2008 11:21 PM

vbseo cost $$ right?

Dismounted 04-04-2008 04:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creativepart (Post 1481987)
Enter your 9-digit eBay Partner Network Campaign ID. It's 10 digits... you corrected the error checking routine to 10 digits but not the wording in the admin page.

That's eBay again for you, developer documentation said it was nine digits...I removed the error checking for the option to prevent problems, it only checks that the entered string is numeric now.
Quote:

Originally Posted by creativepart (Post 1481987)
(dismounted... you still need to change the year of the version description above from 2007 to 2008)

My bad. Fixed, thanks :).
Quote:

Originally Posted by GoTTi (Post 1482153)
is there a way to make it where if the word ebay is on the post, that it will link to ebay.com with our affiliate link?

Not currently, no.

siliconfinance 04-04-2008 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoTTi (Post 1482153)
is there a way to make it where if the word ebay is on the post, that it will link to ebay.com with our affiliate link?

This would be very cool.

ETDC 04-04-2008 08:54 PM

Can someone answer me this?:

I think I currently only get revenue for clicks through to eBay.com from my forum. With this new system, would I get revenue from all regions i.e. ebay.co.uk, ebay.fr, ebay.ca etc :confused:

Does it depend on the location of the 'clicker'?

:)

creativepart 04-04-2008 10:03 PM

Ebay Partner Network talks about such localization (UK, FR, CA etc) but I haven't seen any results from these places only from the USA. I'd like to figure this part out, we have a LOT of International members. But I've not seen any info on how to make that work with this mod.

ferreo 04-05-2008 01:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ETDC (Post 1483136)
Can someone answer me this?:

I think I currently only get revenue for clicks through to eBay.com from my forum. With this new system, would I get revenue from all regions i.e. ebay.co.uk, ebay.fr, ebay.ca etc :confused:

Does it depend on the location of the 'clicker'?

:)

Very good question! I think a tweaked version of this script that would customize for location would be terrific. Heck, I'd pay for it. Let us know dismounted.

GoTTi 04-05-2008 06:10 PM

dismounted where is thef ree vbseo? on the vbseo website, it cost $. thanks.

creativepart 04-05-2008 06:31 PM

There is a VBSEO Lite available as a Mod here. Simply look for it. It doesn't do all that VBSEO does but it's a start.

GoTTi 04-06-2008 06:18 AM

ive actually been looking for it and i cant find it anywhere on here. can you link me to it.

Dismounted 04-06-2008 08:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ETDC (Post 1483136)
Can someone answer me this?:

I think I currently only get revenue for clicks through to eBay.com from my forum. With this new system, would I get revenue from all regions i.e. ebay.co.uk, ebay.fr, ebay.ca etc :confused:

Does it depend on the location of the 'clicker'?

:)

eBay talks about localisation (as mentioned), and I believe they also said that users would be automatically redirected.
Quote:

Originally Posted by GoTTi (Post 1483769)
dismounted where is thef ree vbseo? on the vbseo website, it cost $. thanks.

There is no vBSEO that is free (to my knowledge).

creativepart 04-06-2008 02:35 PM

Sorry, you're correct. There are other similar free rewrite threads here. I was confusing this with the VBSEO Google Site Map Generator. That's here and it's free.

GoTTi 04-06-2008 07:22 PM

there was a vbseo light i think a long time ago, but its removed now.

ferreo 04-06-2008 08:18 PM

If you want functionality, quality and features, you gotta pay for it. vbseo is well worth the investment.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01809 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,838KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_code_printable
  • (20)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete