vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   Links and Downloads Manager (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91107)

AndrewD 05-03-2006 01:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by |oR|Greg
Andrew, I changed line 813 to read:

Code:

global $vbulletin, $vbphrase, $forumperms;
Is that correct? I had someone make an item that wasn't an admin, the thread was auto-created as it should have been, but was moderated.

That's correct.

The way this behaves (is written to behave) is as follows:

- When the new thread is autocreated, it is placed in the forum associated with the entry
- If the main VB board requires moderation of new threads in this forum, then the thread is placed in the moderation queue. Otherwise it is displayed immediately

Moderation of the new entry itself is a separate process, and depends on the settings within LDM.

Is this reasonable, do you think?

|oR|Greg 05-03-2006 01:35 PM

I'm just confused as to why it happened at all, nothing on my board is moderated anywhere, and poof, this occured today. I added that code, went in as a user with the same rights as the guy that prompted the moderation "error" and posted a link in the same place he did. With the code in place everything is ok again, however people have been posting links prior to this in the same fasion with the auto-thread creation turned on, and it never happened before this morning. That's the strange part. Hopefully that Global var is all that is needed to fix it. Otherwise, things are as smooth as can be.

I think the way you have moderation setup is as good as it can be.

AndrewD 05-03-2006 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by |oR|Greg
I'm just confused as to why it happened at all, nothing on my board is moderated anywhere, and poof, this occured today. I added that code, went in as a user with the same rights as the guy that prompted the moderation "error" and posted a link in the same place he did. With the code in place everything is ok again, however people have been posting links prior to this in the same fasion with the auto-thread creation turned on, and it never happened before this morning. That's the strange part. Hopefully that Global var is all that is needed to fix it. Otherwise, things are as smooth as can be.

I think the way you have moderation setup is as good as it can be.

Yes, without the 'global' statement, the behaviour was unpredictable but presumably depended on how many other hacks, etc, were loaded on the board, day of the week, etc.

aramik 05-04-2006 03:51 AM

AndrewD - yeah, I just fixied it, wasn't anything on LDM's end.

Hey LDM is awesome just one thing, usually LDM logs my users out.. not a big deal, but they have to re-login, is this something to do with the script or is that my end?

Akagi 05-04-2006 03:55 AM

got a question for fellow LDM users and AndrewD, now that LDM is working fine, anyone of you have tried adding adsense to LDM? Just thought of this and would like to seek your opinions regarding the placement of adsense. I feel that perhaps links_main as well as links_linksbit would be good places to put adsense? who have tried? perhaps you wanna share what you have done?

AndrewD 05-04-2006 04:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aramik
AndrewD - yeah, I just fixied it, wasn't anything on LDM's end.

Hey LDM is awesome just one thing, usually LDM logs my users out.. not a big deal, but they have to re-login, is this something to do with the script or is that my end?

I don't know of anything in LDM that could cause this,but I may be missing something. Is anyone else having this problem?

|oR|Greg 05-04-2006 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Akagi
got a question for fellow LDM users and AndrewD, now that LDM is working fine, anyone of you have tried adding adsense to LDM? Just thought of this and would like to seek your opinions regarding the placement of adsense. I feel that perhaps links_main as well as links_linksbit would be good places to put adsense? who have tried? perhaps you wanna share what you have done?

I'll be adding it soon, and my plan was to have it under the navbar, that way it's on all pages.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
I don't know of anything in LDM that could cause this,but I may be missing something. Is anyone else having this problem?

Nope.
:banana:

|oR|Greg 05-04-2006 06:53 PM

Oh Mr. Andrew, I was searching for 2 things and couldn't find them, don't know if they exist or if they're possible, so here we go!

1. Is there a variable to check if the description field is filled out? The purpose of this would be, that if it isn't, have in IF statement in the template(s) that checks and if no description, then to use the title instead.
2. Is there a way to include, IF available, the thumbnail picture of a link in the auto-created thread? Not as an attachment, but with the IMG tags.

AndrewD 05-05-2006 12:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by |oR|Greg
Oh Mr. Andrew, I was searching for 2 things and couldn't find them, don't know if they exist or if they're possible, so here we go!

1. Is there a variable to check if the description field is filled out? The purpose of this would be, that if it isn't, have in IF statement in the template(s) that checks and if no description, then to use the title instead.

Ideally this would be a test on $linkdesc, but it's made slightly more complicated because a blank description is actually passed to the template as a non-breaking space to avoid producing a null table cell (which is invalid html). The most reliable approach would be to edit local_links_include.php, find function get_linklistbit, then find the line:

Code:

if (!trim($linkdesc)) $linkdesc = " ";
Either add yourself a new variable which you test against, or change the assignment so that $linkdesc is assigned a normal space character and then you can test against that in the template.



Quote:

Originally Posted by |oR|Greg
2. Is there a way to include, IF available, the thumbnail picture of a link in the auto-created thread? Not as an attachment, but with the IMG tags.

For this, I think you should edit the autothread plugin. After line:

Code:

construct_phrase($vbphrase['ldm_thread_create_body'], $linkname, $linkdesc, $gotolink, $master_title);
add the line

Code:

if ($imgthumb) $thread_message = '[img]'.$vbulletin->options['homeurl'].$imgthumb.'[/img] '.$thread_message;

|oR|Greg 05-05-2006 03:31 PM

I went for the plugin first. I added it and it works great!

If I do the link_desc I'll let you know.

MimeSong Erk 05-06-2006 06:02 PM

This mod has singlehandedly changed the face of my forum forever. I've been looking for something exactly like this for months. Thank you ever so much.

Is there anywhere my site can donate to support the designers of this, once our subscription revenue starts coming in? PM me if so, I probably won't check back in this thread, 119 pages intimidates me a tad.

|oR|Greg 05-08-2006 03:30 PM

I donated at www.eirma.org which is the author's site.

louis_chypher 05-08-2006 03:46 PM

Probabbly missed it but is there a random links module for CMPS?

AndrewD 05-08-2006 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by louis_chypher
Probabbly missed it but is there a random links module for CMPS?

No, but it's easy to achieve. Just edit one of the existing ldm modules and change the line
Code:

$order        = "linkdate DESC ";
to
Code:

$order        = "RAND()";

AndrewD 05-08-2006 04:17 PM

I've uploaded release 2.2.1 in the first post. This is mainly a bug fix release - see first post.

Appreciate a few tests and reports, please.

Thanks

|oR|Greg 05-08-2006 06:33 PM

I'm famous!!!!

Quote:

New linkbit (links_linkbit_greg) added
When i get home I'll try it...

Oh yeah before I forget, does this also do the thumb in the auto-created thread?

AndrewD 05-08-2006 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by |oR|Greg
I'm famous!!!!



When i get home I'll try it...

Oh yeah before I forget, does this also do the thumb in the auto-created thread?

No, I didn't make this a feature for everyone.

Taylor123 05-08-2006 10:24 PM

I have two problems, they've probably been addressed at some point but I don't wanna look through 600 pages just in case it hasn't ;)


#1, the daily allowances don't seem to work for me. I set the allowance to one but it's still allowing me to download as often as I want..

#2 I would like to edit below "links and download manager" on the main local_links.php face with some rules, how would I go about doing that?

AndrewD 05-09-2006 04:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taylor123
I have two problems, they've probably been addressed at some point but I don't wanna look through 600 pages just in case it hasn't ;)


#1, the daily allowances don't seem to work for me. I set the allowance to one but it's still allowing me to download as often as I want..

The allowances only apply to 'downloads', i.e. to files which have recognised mimetypes in your main VB attachments table. For entries that are not handled as downloads, then no restrictions are placed on how many times it can accessed.

The reason for the difference lies in how the entry is processed. Transfer of 'downloads' are managed by reading the file on the server and then sending segments to the user. Other entries are handled by browser redirects and do not place any load on the server.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taylor123
#2 I would like to edit below "links and download manager" on the main local_links.php face with some rules, how would I go about doing that?

You mean, you want to place a section of text that only appears on the opening page of LDM? Surprisingly, this has not been asked so far. There are related ways of achieving something similar:

- set 'force_accept' on the LDM admin settings page to require users to accept some terms and conditions before downloading anything
- set 'use_instructions' on the main LDM admin settings page (for all categories) or in each category edit (for the individual category and its children), so that users adding new material get to see some standard text.

ccoa 05-09-2006 06:38 PM

This is almost exactly what I've been looking for, thank you! The only thing it is lacking is a way to sort by submitter. I looked through this thread, but can't find anything about it. Is there a way to accomplish this?

AndrewD 05-09-2006 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ccoa
This is almost exactly what I've been looking for, thank you! The only thing it is lacking is a way to sort by submitter. I looked through this thread, but can't find anything about it. Is there a way to accomplish this?

This requires a very minor change to the existing code. Bear with me.

MissKalunji 05-09-2006 08:52 PM

Can anyone show me a demo? and as for downloads doe sthis raise a lot of queries? cause ecdownload uses to raise like 30 queries + the queries for download wich would raise server load....

Thanks!

dinodonk 05-10-2006 02:39 AM

i want to move all attachment to links and download manager.
is there any way to do that??

TIA

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 03:05 AM

Can anyone help me install this?
Thx

AndrewD 05-10-2006 03:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji
Can anyone help me install this?
Thx

What help do you need?

Concerning your earlier questions, the main LDM screens require around 16-19 queries depending on how many options are turned on. An actual download requires fewer - will need to check how many.

AndrewD 05-10-2006 03:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dinodonk
i want to move all attachment to links and download manager.
is there any way to do that??

TIA

This is not built into the script. It wouldn't be difficult to write a quick script to do the job, but this is not something I currently have time for.

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 03:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
What help do you need?

Concerning your earlier questions, the main LDM screens require around 16-19 queries depending on how many options are turned on. An actual download requires fewer - will need to check how many.


i was able to manage

Think you have some time to do something like that? custom work perhaps? pm me

just the right part

Taylor123 05-10-2006 03:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD
1) The allowances only apply to 'downloads', i.e. to files which have recognised mimetypes in your main VB attachments table. For entries that are not handled as downloads, then no restrictions are placed on how many times it can accessed.

The reason for the difference lies in how the entry is processed. Transfer of 'downloads' are managed by reading the file on the server and then sending segments to the user. Other entries are handled by browser redirects and do not place any load on the server.



You mean, you want to place a section of text that only appears on the opening page of LDM? Surprisingly, this has not been asked so far. There are related ways of achieving something similar:

- set 'force_accept' on the LDM admin settings page to require users to accept some terms and conditions before downloading anything
- set 'use_instructions' on the main LDM admin settings page (for all categories) or in each category edit (for the individual category and its children), so that users adding new material get to see some standard text.

1. I added rar's to my mimetype table, but it still doesn't appear to be working exactly how I want it. Does it only work for what was on the original mimetype table? Some people link to sites like yousendit.com so I guess I can't do nothing about that....

2. I had the force_accept enabled but I couldn't figure out where to edit the terms. Where could I do that?
I can't find "use_instructions" when clicking on "Change LDM settings" in the admin, am I looking in the wrong spot?

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 04:00 AM

I have another slight problem i enabled mp3 and whenever i try to uplaod it gives me this error :

Upload error - security breach. Return

Taylor123 05-10-2006 04:03 AM

I am also having a problem with the image upload option
"Upload error - unable to create a user subdirectory on server."
I have uploads enabled and the upload directory is linked in the admin...

and is there a way for me to completely take off the file upload option when a user adds a link. I only need the image upload (if i can get it to work) :)

I set

blueberry 05-10-2006 05:52 AM

hi.. i am a newbie.. hope that someone can help me out... i have one question regarding the understanding of this program.. I dont want to upload any files for the time being... but i just want people to be able to download... Is the software already linked to program databases.. or it is empty and i should add everything to it? Thanks :)

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 05:53 AM

if i understand properly you should have to add everything yourself

Like category etc etc

blueberry 05-10-2006 08:19 AM

after studying the manual for the LDM, i found out that you can upload an xml files with links to tv stations or music... do you have a file to link to program databse instead?? this should be great... waiting for anyone to answer me!!

|oR|Greg 05-10-2006 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taylor123
I am also having a problem with the image upload option
"Upload error - unable to create a user subdirectory on server."
I have uploads enabled and the upload directory is linked in the admin...

and is there a way for me to completely take off the file upload option when a user adds a link. I only need the image upload (if i can get it to work) :)

I set

Did you CHMOD the directory correctly?

|oR|Greg 05-10-2006 04:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji
i was able to manage

Think you have some time to do something like that? custom work perhaps? pm me

just the right part


That should actually be really easy to do. It's just a table with 2 cells, left cell has I'm guessing a nested table with a few rows, and the right cell has the thumbnail if included.

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 04:16 PM

Well if you could assist me :) would be greatly appreciated

|oR|Greg 05-10-2006 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji
Well if you could assist me :) would be greatly appreciated

This is the very BASIC layout code for the formatting of the template. However it's missing all the LDM variable references and associated IF statements as well as the correct width/height formatting. Hopefully it's a start? :banana:

Attached is what this basic code looks like.

Code:


<table border="1" width="586" height="255">
        <tr>
                <td height="41" width="272" align="center">File Information</td>
                <td height="41" width="298" align="center">Screenshot</td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
                <td height="204" width="272">
                <table border="1" width="294" height="145" id="table1">
                        <tr>
                                <td height="23" width="129" align="left">Name:</td>
                                <td height="23" width="149" align="left">&nbsp;</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                                <td height="26" width="129" align="left">Author:</td>
                                <td height="26" width="149" align="left">&nbsp;</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                                <td height="34" width="129" align="left">Submitted by:</td>
                                <td height="34" width="149" align="left">&nbsp;</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                                <td height="25" width="129" align="left">Submitted:</td>
                                <td height="25" width="149" align="left">&nbsp;</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                                <td height="3" width="129" align="left">Views:</td>
                                <td height="3" width="149" align="left"></td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                                <td height="10" width="129" align="left">Downloads:</td>
                                <td height="10" width="149" align="left"></td>
                        </tr>
                </table>
                </td>
                <td height="204" width="298">
                <p align="center">&nbsp;</td>
        </tr>
</table>


|oR|Greg 05-10-2006 05:06 PM

MissKalunji, looking at the layout in more detail I see there is a whole bottom section I missed. Heh. Additionally, LDM isn't as extensive with tracking views versus downloads, nor can you do file notification, direct linking to a specific forum, etc...

MissKalunji 05-10-2006 05:09 PM

Thats all i needed :) and the comment can you add the comment at the bottom? and how do i attach it to link?

AndrewD 05-10-2006 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blueberry
hi.. i am a newbie.. hope that someone can help me out... i have one question regarding the understanding of this program.. I dont want to upload any files for the time being... but i just want people to be able to download... Is the software already linked to program databases.. or it is empty and i should add everything to it? Thanks :)

LDM gives you and your users the means to create and access downloads. It does not come pre-configured with any databases - that is something you have to sort out. You can limit it so that uploads are possible or prohibited, etc, etc - it's all very flexible.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03318 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,866KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (21)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete