vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Add-On Releases - Add Facebook "Like" button to your threads [vB 3.8.x] (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=241053)

paradoxx109 08-15-2010 08:11 PM

I guess I didnt realize about that one, thank you so much. Although I still have the loop of like dislike in firefox.

m2006 08-16-2010 04:21 AM

Many thanks for Mode is the result of a page to load slowly silk

paradoxx109 08-19-2010 03:23 PM

anyone has problems with FF when clicking the like button?

WinnipegHeights 08-21-2010 06:29 AM

Why would you not simply add this to the social bookmarking template??

In Show Thread templates..

showthread_bookmarksite

Paste the following after the existing code

Code:

<if condition="$bookmarksite[title]=='Facebook'">

<li>
<fb:like></fb:like>

<div id="fb-root"></div>
    <script>
      window.fbAsyncInit = function() {
        FB.init({appId: 'YOURAPPID', status: true, cookie: true,
                xfbml: true});
      };
      (function() {
        var e = document.createElement('script');
        e.type = 'text/javascript';
        e.src = document.location.protocol +
          '//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js';
        e.async = true;
        document.getElementById('fb-root').appendChild(e);
      }());
    </script>
</li>

</if>

All that is required is to create a Social Bookmark for Facebook, as suggested in this thread..

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...light=facebook

The reason this works more nicely, is that
a) It puts the LIKE button with the rest of the social networking stuff.
b) Vbulletin will only display the Social Bookmarking bits in threads that are GUEST viewable.

SnakeEaterITA 09-07-2010 12:46 AM

Hi guys, one problem for me.

I put this code in the Showthread

Code:

<div id="fb-root"></div> <script>
  window.fbAsyncInit = function() {
    FB.init({
      appId  : '116209095073446',
      status : true, // check login status
      cookie : true, // enable cookies to allow the server to access the session
      xfbml  : true  // parse XFBML
    });
  };
 
  (function() {
    var e = document.createElement('script');
    e.src = document.location.protocol + '//connect.facebook.net/it_IT/all.js';
    e.async = true;
    document.getElementById('fb-root').appendChild(e);
  }());
</script> <fb:like layout="standard" show_faces="false" width="300" action="like" colorscheme="light" />

and the Like button is nicely displayed next to the Post Reply, but I have some problems:

1) IE doesn't show anything

2) If I press the Like button and I go in my facebook wall, it doesn't show the infos of the thread.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/09/47.jpg

No thread title, no thread url, no thread description.

What should I do?

FSA 09-21-2010 11:16 AM

:edit

i've solved it with the share-button.

Code:

<a name="fb_share" type="button_count" share_url="http://WWW.DOMAIN.COM/showthread.php?p=$post[postid]&t" href="http://www.facebook.com/sharer.php">Share</a><script src="http://static.ak.fbcdn.net/connect.php/js/FB.Share" type="text/javascript"></script>

LakeAnna 10-05-2010 02:44 AM

I have applied the IE fix and still not working - is this still an open issue? Or a dead hack?

Raptor 10-07-2010 01:51 PM

How about having a like option that links displays who liked the post and also adds to the OP's Karma - but not linking to facebook ?

BirdOPrey5 10-08-2010 11:47 PM

I'm using the code from the first (top) post and it's working fine for me in IE8 (XFBML method)... is that unusual?

Chance4Today 10-10-2010 08:36 PM

Thanks :)

soundbarrierpro 10-11-2010 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FSA (Post 2101375)
:edit

i've solved it with the share-button.

Code:

<a name="fb_share" type="button_count" share_url="http://WWW.DOMAIN.COM/showthread.php?p=$post[postid]&t" href="http://www.facebook.com/sharer.php">Share</a><script src="http://static.ak.fbcdn.net/connect.php/js/FB.Share" type="text/javascript"></script>

I'm using this. Great post. All I use is Firefox Browser and the facebook Like button just won't work for me. All I get is an error code. This appears to fix the problem to get the pages posted on facebook.

Nova99 10-15-2010 06:11 PM

IF you use the FB Like button in your forums you should read this:
http://www.searchmarketingman.com/20...utton-bug.html

The Like button messes up the URLs and indexed pages in SE's and makes many pages in your forum blank for IE users, so I've removed it for now until Facebook applies a fix to this.
http://bugs.developers.facebook.net/...ug.cgi?id=9777

It's listed as a priority 5 bug by Facebook now, and that's the lowest priority so it may take a while until it's getting fixed, so the Like button may really mess up your forums now!

BirdOPrey5 10-15-2010 08:13 PM

I don't know if this XFBML code is affected by this bug, this code is relatively old and been out for a while... The code they are talking about is when linked directly to facebook's servers to download the latest javascript code...

As a test I put this into google:
inurl:fb_xd_fragment site:mydomain.com

And it didn't return any URL's so so far my site has been unaffected. However if you use a site name that has been affected hundreds of blank pages come up, such as:
inurl:fb_xd_fragment site:thefootballnetwork.net

Nova99 10-15-2010 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2110519)
And it didn't return any URL's so so far my site has been unaffected. However if you use a site name that has been affected hundreds of blank pages come up, such as:
inurl:fb_xd_fragment site:thefootballnetwork.net

Your site may be affected even if no pages with fb_xd_fragment has been indexed in SEs, visitors using IE may see blank pages sometimes anyway with the result that they exit your site right away and you may loose a possible registering member.

The best way to see this, and the way I found out the bug on my site (I didn't have any indexed pages with fb_xd_fragment either) ,was through Google Analytics.
I started to notice several links ending in fb_xd_fragment that visitors where only on for a few secs.
When I removed the FB Like button it was ok again, so the bug is still there.

BirdOPrey5 10-16-2010 02:18 PM

Thanks... sure enough they were there in the Analytics... switched back to the iframe for now.

Nova99 10-16-2010 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2110719)
Thanks... sure enough they were there in the Analytics... switched back to the iframe for now.

According to posters on the two sites I linked to in my previous post the iframe button is also affected with this, so that wont help.
I have removed the "Like" button and wont add it until FB confirms that the bug has been fixed.
Had hundreds of pages pr. day that where affected by this according to Google Analytics, and when I removed the button none of the fb_xd_fragment links shows up in the logs there anymore.

It's really bad that FB have put a priority 5 on this, since it's a pretty serious bug.

BirdOPrey5 10-16-2010 02:46 PM

damn... thanks.

fxwoody 10-27-2010 11:55 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Nice! I'm using it and it works A1 with the IFrame.
Tho, i didn't put it under the control as it's to low, i switch it in my posbit-legacy under Icons&title ;)

Code:

                        <!-- icon and title -->
                        <h3 class="threadtitle">
    <!---facebook-button--->
<if condition="$post[postcount] == 1"><iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://www.yoursite.com/showthread.php$session[sessionurl]?p=$post[postid]&amp;layout=button_count&amp;show_faces=true&amp;width=&amp;action=like&amp;colorscheme=light"
scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:100px; height:20px"></iframe></if>
    <!---/facebook-button--->
                                <if condition="$show['messageicon']"><img class="inlineimg" src="$post[iconpath]" alt="$post[icontitle]" border="0" /></if>

Better like this i think :)

soundbarrierpro 10-28-2010 11:26 AM

I don't get it.

I'm using this code. It posts to my fb page. but no topic link. Just a link to my domain name. That's it.

Code:

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/widgets/like.php?href=http://www.mysite.com/forums/showthread.php$session[sessionurl]?p=$post[postid]&amp;show_faces=false&amp
        scrolling="no" frameborder="0"
        style="border:none; width:450px; height:55px"></iframe>       
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor];
fb:admins
background-color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />


DannyITR 11-29-2010 01:27 PM

I'm using the Iframe code with my site correctly inputted and nothign happens. Nothing is showing up in my posts in IE or FF. I saw a few other people with the same prob but nobody answered. I'm using the correct postbit template.

Why is nothing showing up???

Garamond 11-29-2010 02:58 PM

Coders who never update a bugged product and/or never answers questions from users should be banned from ever posting any modification again :(

It's so pathetic I don't know whether to cry or laugh.

BirdOPrey5 11-29-2010 03:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Garamond (Post 2127181)
Coders who never update a bugged product and/or never answers questions from users should be banned from ever posting any modification again :(

It's so pathetic I don't know whether to cry or laugh.

Hold up... Look at that stats of this mod, over 100 people marked it as installed... hundreds more probably use it but didn't mark it... There's just a couple people here with problems... For the vast majority of the people it works fine.

If programmers were never allowed to release a program with bugs we'd have no software at all- programs are too complicated to not have any bugs... Even something a simple as this has to deal with bugs that may be present in vBulletin itself or the whole of Facebook.

YOU'VE NEVER EVEN POSTED IN THIS THREAD BEFORE! - So what problems are YOU having with this mod because we don't all have ESP and are able to know the problem before you post it.

If you're commenting on the post made by the guy above you, I saw his post, I'm not the developer so I personally didn't want to comment, but this is what I was going to say:

Either the laws of physics have ceases to work in your general vicinity, facebook is down, or YOU made a mistake somewhere. It's one of those three options... None of those are the fault of the guy who released this mod.

Garamond 11-29-2010 09:52 PM

BirdOPrey5: you act like I criticised you personally. I'm posting on behalf of the many people that never got any answers here from the author, and last time I checked YOU ARE NOT THE AUTHOR OF THIS MOD!

BirdOPrey5 11-30-2010 12:46 AM

You say I have no standing to answer because I'm not the mod author... I say you have no standing to complain because you never posted in this thread before... so here we are... two people with no stake in either the start nor outcome of this argument.

Isn't that what the Internet is all about?

Seriously though... while I'm not the author I have released my fair share of mods and when I see people like you complaining about bugs and lack of support for completely free mods I have to vent... You get what you pay for... You dare suggest someone not be allowed to release a mod because they don't meet your time table for replies? (not that you ever even requested help in this thread.) I say look at the 100+ people who installed and use this no problem- you think they'd prefer he not release it at all because he can't keep on top of support requests? What makes it even more annoying to me is there is nothing wrong with this mod- if you follow the instructions (and facebook is working and your vbulletin is working) it WILL work- there is no doubt it my mind it will work... IF setup correctly.

FreshFroot 11-30-2010 01:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Garamond (Post 2127333)
BirdOPrey5: you act like I criticised you personally. I'm posting on behalf of the many people that never got any answers here from the author, and last time I checked YOU ARE NOT THE AUTHOR OF THIS MOD!

maybe your retarded? It worked fine for me?

Just because the mod says its supported doesn't mean it's supported every day.

It's a free mod what do you expect.. jeez. If you paid for it, then you got a right to whine about it... right now you don't!!

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 05:25 PM

Anyone know how I would make this appear on all posts but not pm's?

BirdOPrey5 12-11-2010 06:05 PM

You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132493)
You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.

Thanks!

It worked!

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132493)
You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.

Do you know how I would get it to only show the subject of the thread and the website as opposed to the subject, title and website?

Like it is showing as "Movember Mo Grow Contest Poll VOTING!! - Silverfish Longboarding - The Longboard Skateboarding Commu on silverfishlongboarding.com."

I want it to just show "Movember Mo Grow Contest Poll VOTING!! on silverfishlongboarding.com."

BirdOPrey5 12-11-2010 08:10 PM

In your headinclude you should have several "og" meta lines... one of them is for title and should be :
Code:

<meta property="og:title" content="$threadinfo[title]"/>
That's what mine is and it uses only the thread title as the subject.

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 08:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132544)
In your headinclude you should have several "og" meta lines... one of them is for title and should be :
Code:

<meta property="og:title" content="$threadinfo[title]"/>
That's what mine is and it uses only the thread title as the subject.

I have no og meta lines.

Should I add them?

If so where?

BirdOPrey5 12-11-2010 10:00 PM

Definitely everyone who uses the Like button should have these headers... Put them anywhere in your headinclude template.

Code:

<meta property="og:title" content="$threadinfo[title]"/>
<meta property="og:site_name" content="$vboptions[bbtitle]"/> 
<meta property="og:image" content="http://www... path to image/logo.jpg">
<meta property="og:type" content="article" />

The og:image one is the only one you need to customize... make this a URL of an image you want to use when someone likes your page, usually the site logo- but it should be "roughly" square. Facebook will resize it as needed within reason though.

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 10:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132592)
Definitely everyone who uses the Like button should have these headers... Put them anywhere in your headinclude template.

Code:

<meta property="og:title" content="$threadinfo[title]"/>
<meta property="og:site_name" content="$vboptions[bbtitle]"/> 
<meta property="og:image" content="http://www... path to image/logo.jpg">
<meta property="og:type" content="article" />

The og:image one is the only one you need to customize... make this a URL of an image you want to use when someone likes your page, usually the site logo- but it should be "roughly" square. Facebook will resize it as needed within reason though.

Cool I added all those and they work well, except for the image, I got it to work in the case of linking with urls (like posting links on the fan page) but it never showed up via the like button.

This is the code I am using

Code:

<meta property="og:image" content="http://www.silverfishlongboarding.com/images/logo.jpg">
Is there a way to fix it to use an image via the like button but still be able to choose the images when linking to it from offsite, such as on the fan page?

If I have to choose one or the other I would rather be able to choose but just thought I should ask.

Thanks for all the help, yer great.

BirdOPrey5 12-11-2010 10:44 PM

I don't think there's a way to choose, if so I haven't found it. You can remove the whole line to go back to how it was.

If you're using the iframe method the image won't ever show unfortunately.

malakaikingston 12-11-2010 10:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132606)
I don't think there's a way to choose, if so I haven't found it. You can remove the whole line to go back to how it was.

If you're using the iframe method the image won't ever show unfortunately.

ahhhhh okay.

good to know, thanks.

malakaikingston 12-14-2010 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2132606)
I don't think there's a way to choose, if so I haven't found it. You can remove the whole line to go back to how it was.

If you're using the iframe method the image won't ever show unfortunately.

Can you clarify something for me, does adding this code in any way link up to my sites fan page? Is there a way to do that if it doesn't?

Thanks again.

BirdOPrey5 12-14-2010 08:37 PM

I believe the fan page is totally independent. I don't know of any way to "link" them. There is one additional "og" tag where you can add your facebook id to be the admin of the like button but I don't believe it really does anything for the like button as implemented in this mod.

Code:

<meta property="fb:admins" content="9999999999"/>
Replace 999999999999 with your facebook id number.

How to find your facebook ID

malakaikingston 12-14-2010 10:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2133957)
I believe the fan page is totally independent. I don't know of any way to "link" them. There is one additional "og" tag where you can add your facebook id to be the admin of the like button but I don't believe it really does anything for the like button as implemented in this mod.

Code:

<meta property="fb:admins" content="9999999999"/>
Replace 999999999999 with your facebook id number.

How to find your facebook ID

Okay cool thanks.

Mahoni999 12-16-2010 11:16 AM

edit:

Anyone knows how we can get the Language changed in the IFrame Version?

Kind Regards

Replicators 12-19-2010 03:59 PM

I got sort of a request if anyone is willing to try, instead of having the like button inside the postbit, is it possible to have it in it's own box below the first post? I cannot get it situated right without it screwing up the postbit.

Also for the meta stuff, it doesn't seem to work for me. I put the stuff in the headinclude template with correct info, but when it gets to facebook it is as it was before. Maybe i am missing something though, i don't even know what it means by og or how the code would know that that meta is for facebook and not the site itself.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01666 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,858KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (13)bbcode_code_printable
  • (12)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete