vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - ajaxReg - Ajax Registration, with instant field checking (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=144869)

Streicher 04-27-2007 05:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coders Shack (Post 1236125)
Thats probably because your using "Jeff" and it would like to see "JEFF"

But than the behaviour of ajaxReg is wrong, because the normal registration of vBulletin allows A and a in this case.

b6gm6n 04-27-2007 06:09 PM

I found the solution to my problem "user names not being checked" etc... i had previously installed Chad's old hack, there was an old resident plug-in named 'CheckUsername' which was still being run upon registration (product > vbulletin) and thus canceled out ajaxReg's username checking... once the old plug-in was disabled/removed and with a couple of refreshes... all is working well, cheers

-b6

Coders Shack 04-27-2007 08:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Streicher (Post 1236556)
But than the behaviour of ajaxReg is wrong, because the normal registration of vBulletin allows A and a in this case.

no, its because of your regex I'm pretty sure.

Instead of this:
Code:

^[A-Z0-9 ]+$
Try this:
Code:

^[A-Za-z0-9]+$

Wayne Luke 04-27-2007 09:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coders Shack (Post 1236140)
well added the manual edits (doesn't include the javascript part)

Thank you. I will give it a look.

FreshFroot 04-28-2007 12:57 AM

I seem to be having a issue.. if the user writes the username in the form they get this in there: "<?xml version="1.0" encoding="windows-1252"?><error>You do not have permission to perform this action. Please refresh the page and login before trying again.</error>"

Coders Shack 04-28-2007 01:08 AM

do you have ajax disabled?

FreshFroot 04-28-2007 01:14 AM

I'll double check, but I don't think so. because the ajax seems to work for the email and password without a problem.. it's jsut the username...

Coders Shack 04-28-2007 02:31 AM

the email and all those others don't use ajax. The only field that uses it is the username field.

FreshFroot 04-28-2007 07:25 AM

hmm I've checked the setting and AJAX is running... I'm wondering wut else could be the problem?

"<?xml version="1.0" encoding="windows-1252"?><error>You do not have permission to perform this action. Please refresh the page and login before trying again.</error>"

what would be causing no permissions?

FreshFroot 04-28-2007 07:37 AM

I figured it out... I'm not sure if it's a bug? but if you have your guest usergroup set so they can't view your forum UNLESS they register it doesn't work.... and shows the "permisison error"... So people using this that have it so users HAVE TO REGISTER in order to view the forum.. have to set it so they can see the forum......anyway you can work a way around that?

Coders Shack 04-28-2007 03:20 PM

hmm, the only reason that would happen is if the ajax.php is blocked if you have that option set. I'm not to sure about how vb works differently when enabling forced registration.

FreshFroot 04-28-2007 08:08 PM

well I don't normally use forced registering.. I guess I hadn't changed it for a long time.. It works now, but I just thought I'd point that out... for people who have forced registeration and might encounter the issue too.

Mr Chad 04-28-2007 08:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FreshFroot (Post 1237227)
well I don't normally use forced registering.. I guess I hadn't changed it for a long time.. It works now, but I just thought I'd point that out... for people who have forced registeration and might encounter the issue too.

This might explains the other peoples issues. But what is happening is that the user is accessing the ajax.php when they click out of the username box and because their not registered its rejecting them. Which would never work unless theres a way to give the guests permission to the ajax file.

FreshFroot 04-29-2007 12:26 AM

So in other words.. in order to use this hack you have to allow guests to view forum...

I guess unless it;s fixed.. mabye CS should post it in his 1st post, so people who install know ahead of time...

Coders Shack 04-29-2007 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FreshFroot (Post 1237326)
So in other words.. in order to use this hack you have to allow guests to view forum...

I guess unless it;s fixed.. mabye CS should post it in his 1st post, so people who install know ahead of time...

well the issue is that the ajax.php uses the global.php and because this plug-in resides in the ajax.php you would need the unregistered user group to be set to Can View Forum. It is possible for me to make a quick fix for those users that really don't want to set the unregistered usergroup Can View Forum to YES.

Coders Shack 04-29-2007 03:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by FreshFroot (Post 1237326)
So in other words.. in order to use this hack you have to allow guests to view forum...

I guess unless it;s fixed.. mabye CS should post it in his 1st post, so people who install know ahead of time...

ok after looking into it. It seems that even if you just include the global.php and have it shut off for unregistered people it wont work. So i first tried making the file pass off as a registration php because it somehow will bypass the prompt, ended up finding out that if you pass a do in the registration page you will get the same error. example: http://yoursite.com/forum/register.php?do=sdfsd (if you have it shut off for unregistered)

So i changed it from DO to a different name and created a different php file instead of a plugin.

So what you will have to do to get this to work on forums that have it where unregistered users cant view their forum is:

1 ) Download the attached files
2 ) Replace your register.js with this one (forum/clientscript/register.js)
3 ) place the register_ajax.php in your forum root (forum/register_ajax.php)
4 ) Disable or Delete the CheckUsername plugin.


also i have not totally tested this fix, so please respond with your results.

odie3 04-29-2007 12:03 PM

Cool MOD - thank you! Was rather easy to install!

Streicher 05-02-2007 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coders Shack (Post 1236660)
no, its because of your regex I'm pretty sure.

Instead of this:
Code:

^[A-Z0-9 ]+$
Try this:
Code:

^[A-Za-z0-9]+$

Hmm, ok this works, but before with
Code:

^[A-Z0-9 ]+$
the registration of a name like Jeff was possible. So who is wrong here. A bug in vB 3.6.5?

Coders Shack 05-02-2007 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Streicher (Post 1239989)
Hmm, ok this works, but before with
Code:

^[A-Z0-9 ]+$
the registration of a name like Jeff was possible. So who is wrong here. A bug in vB 3.6.5?

no i think its the javascript regex vs the php one.

jw00dy 05-03-2007 09:49 PM

I read most of the pages, but didn't see any mention of support with NoSpam

I would love to use this if it will work with NoSpam, but if not, I'd rather have no spam users :)

Coders Shack 05-03-2007 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jw00dy (Post 1240901)
I read most of the pages, but didn't see any mention of support with NoSpam

I would love to use this if it will work with NoSpam, but if not, I'd rather have no spam users :)

it works fine in combination with it. But doesn't check the nospam field.

NolF 05-03-2007 11:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jw00dy (Post 1240901)
I read most of the pages, but didn't see any mention of support with NoSpam

I would love to use this if it will work with NoSpam, but if not, I'd rather have no spam users :)

It works for me with NoSpam.



Coders Shack thx, the changes work like a charm in 3.6.5 ^^

jw00dy 05-04-2007 07:09 AM

AWESOME!!! Thank you!

I'll install this tomorrow when I'm not half asleep.

WiseOne38221 05-06-2007 02:20 AM

Excellent hack, I am sure it will come in handy with almost 6000 members as I have already had people say it took them a long time to pick a name, this will save them TIME! Thanks again.

jw00dy 05-06-2007 06:54 AM

Installed on 2 forums and I can confirm that it works with NoSpam just fine. Thank you!

hugh_ 05-07-2007 05:21 AM

This worked for me with vbulletin 3.5 for anyone who's interested...

Mupetz 05-07-2007 09:18 AM

Yes, working with NoSpam!
Thank you

Coders Shack 05-16-2007 02:50 AM

  • v3.05
    • fixed minor issue
    • added vbsettings option

Mads 05-16-2007 03:08 AM

thanks!
Works fine with 3.6.7

Jibreil 05-16-2007 04:50 AM

Sorry to sound dumb, but how are we suppose to upgrade from your previous version?

HMBeaty 05-16-2007 04:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jibreil (Post 1248512)
Sorry to sound dumb, but how are we suppose to upgrade from your previous version?

1. Reupload files
2. Reimport product and make sure "allow overwrite" is checked

rayw 05-16-2007 08:22 AM

Works great on 3.6.5. Thanks! :)

nfn 05-16-2007 12:06 PM

Hi,

there is a problem with slash (\) in the user name box. If you type as a user name "myuser\", it will give you an error.

Coders Shack 05-16-2007 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nfn (Post 1248721)
Hi,

there is a problem with slash (\) in the user name box. If you type as a user name "myuser\", it will give you an error.

ill make an update when i have a few spare mins.

thincom2000 05-16-2007 06:30 PM

It would be great if this were extended to check NoSpam fields (or other custom fields) and also the CAPTCHA image field.

Spank 05-16-2007 10:01 PM

I'm getting this error when I click to donwload the zip:

Quote:

Site currently unavailable

The Jelsoft site you are requesting is currently not available.
Please check back later.

Coders Shack 05-16-2007 10:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nfn (Post 1248721)
Hi,

there is a problem with slash (\) in the user name box. If you type as a user name "myuser\", it will give you an error.

fixed update to v3.0.6
Quote:

Originally Posted by thincom2000 (Post 1248961)
It would be great if this were extended to check NoSpam fields (or other custom fields) and also the CAPTCHA image field.

This would be a stupid idea. It would defeat the purpose of CAPTCHA because the only way i know of is to make the CAPTCHA value accessible by the javascript and if some one wanted to make a bot they could just make it use the javascript to look up the CAPTCHA value.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spank (Post 1249114)
I'm getting this error when I click to donwload the zip:

vbulletin.org was updating their site.

iogames 05-18-2007 09:07 PM

I followed the directions and I worked in an original 'REGISTER' template, but when I tested registering an user, even the registered usernames are available for the hacks, what did I made wrong???

RvG2 05-19-2007 02:42 AM

perfect! I love ajax... :)

Jibba Jabbas 05-19-2007 02:00 PM

Hi, I tried installing but I keep getting "No file uploaded and no local file found."

How can I fix this?


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01681 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete