vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Mist's Random Banner Hack (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=47648)

Dean C 02-02-2003 01:11 PM

That quite easy just another variable but i plan to have this admin cp intigrated once i reach the mysql part of my book :)

- miSt

mrderanged 02-08-2003 03:01 PM

Hey all,

First of all, thanks for this hack. I have it installed and it's working fine.

I am however wondering, would there be a way to change it so that it rotates the banners after a set time as opposed to each time the page is refreshed. It seems that the randomness keeps pulling up the same banners time after time and it's not an even enough mix......

Thanks in advance...

Scott

Dean C 02-08-2003 03:10 PM

Sorry buddy. My php isn't advanced enough for that. This is the best randomness that i can do :)

- miSt

Koss 02-09-2003 07:30 AM

could you make it do that its not on forumhome?

Dean C 02-09-2003 10:11 AM

This does it in the header and not forumhome...

Just insert the $banner variable in any template to call the random banner :)

- miSt

Koss 02-09-2003 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by NanoEntity
nice one Mist!

Mist! I would just forget about global.php, why not just insert this code to the phpinclude, it will be easy to mod if you need to add a new banner.

Also why list them as
$banner[1]="banner1.gif";
$banner[2]="newthread.gif";

Why not make an Array.
$banners=array('banner1', 'banner2');

Here is a simple way to do it, only takes 3 lines
PHP Code:

//?hololith.com(NanoEntity)
$banners=array('banner1''banner2'); //images names
$shuffle=$banners[rand(0,count($banners)-1)]; //shuffle images 
$adbanner="<img src=\"https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/greentek/adbanners/$shuffle.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\">\n"//images output
//END ?hololith.com(NanoEntity) 

Was that easy :)

DEMO:
http://artwork.hololith.com/sigs.php - random
http://artwork.hololith.com/sigs.php?show=draco v1 - static
http://artwork.hololith.com/sigs.php?show=magal v1 - static
http://artwork.hololith.com/sigs.php?show=kinght v1 - static

This generates random signature, same way it would a banner ad, but its more advanced when it comes to code, about 13 lines.

--------------------------
EDIT - Addon

I am geting PMs from people that want diffrent urls to diffrent banners, here is the code

This was tested and it works.
PHP Code:

//?hololith.com(NanoEntity)
$banner1="<a href=\"http://url1\"><img src=\"{ imagesfolder }/adbanners/banner1.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\"></a>";
$banner2="<a href=\"http://url2\"><img src=\"{ imagesfolder }/adbanners/banner2.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\"></a>";

$banners=array($banner1,$banner2); //banner array
$shuffle=$banners[rand(0,count($banners)-1)]; //shuffle banners 
$adbanner="$shuffle\n"//banners output
//END ?hololith.com(NanoEntity) 

Enjoy.

NanoEntity, could you please explain how one would add a flash banner (*.swf)

thanks Mist :)

mrderanged 02-10-2003 12:20 PM

Hey All,

My PHP is pretty much nonexistant, but I was wondering if the following is possible:

I'd like to have one banner in the header, and one in the footer. I've done this by putting the "$adbanner" variable in the spot where I want them. My problem is that they are both showing the same banner and I would like to have them showing different banners. If I were to add the following line to the end of this hack:

PHP Code:

//?hololith.com(NanoEntity)
$banner1="<a href=\"http://url1\"><img src=\"{ imagesfolder }/adbanners/banner1.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\"></a>";
$banner2="<a href=\"http://url2\"><img src=\"{ imagesfolder }/adbanners/banner2.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\"></a>";

$banners=array($banner1,$banner2); //banner array
$shuffle=$banners[rand(0,count($banners)-1)]; //shuffle banners 
$adbanner="$shuffle\n"//banners output
$adbanner1="$shuffle\n"//banners output 

and add "$adbanner1" to my footer instead of "$adbanner" would this give me a different banner than the one in the header?

Sorry for the newbie question....

Scott

Dean C 02-10-2003 03:41 PM

Simple just duplicate the code like so and use this instead:

PHP Code:

///////// Start Random Banner Hack for header /////////////

//Define Variables //
$bannerh[1]="banner1.gif";
$bannerh[2]="newthread.gif";
$numbanners count($bannerh);

// Generate ranodomness
$num rand(1,$numbanners);

//output banner
$bannerh "<img src=\"{imagesfolder}/bannerh$num\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" />";

////////// End Random banner Hack for header///////////////

///////// Start Random Banner Hack for footer /////////////

//Define Variables //
$bannerf[1]="banner1.gif";
$bannerf[2]="newthread.gif";
$numbanners count($bannerf);

// Generate ranodomness
$num rand(1,$numbanners);

//output banner
$bannerf "<img src=\"{imagesfolder}/bannerf$num\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" />";

////////// End Random banner Hack for footer/////////////// 

Use $bannerh for your header and $bannerf for your footer :)

Regards

- miSt

Koss 02-11-2003 04:09 AM

alright I got the code for the flash banners....but when I put the code for the flash banner, like this

Code:

$bannerh[2]="<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0" ID=popup_06 WIDTH=250 HEIGHT=250>
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="http://www.yourdomain.com/banner.swf?url=[AffiliateWizTargetURL]http://www.yourdomain.com"> <PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=false> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF>
 <EMBED src="http://www.yourdomain.com/banner.swf?url=[AffiliateWizTargetURL]http://www.yourdomain.com" menu=false quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF swLiveConnect=FALSE WIDTH=250 HEIGHT=250 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash">
</EMBED>
</OBJECT>";

it doesnt seem to work
someone please help :(

Dean C 02-11-2003 03:29 PM

Any double quotes in php have to have a " \ " before them...

- miSt


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01112 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,763KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete