vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Board Optimization - Dynamically Linked Source - Speed Up Your Multiple Site Network & Upgrades (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=188108)

Jafo232 08-21-2008 09:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beermonster (Post 1603956)
Where do you put the path to the forum in? there is one line in php-clone.php that says Path to the forum not forums, which path is this?

Edit: and also how are you able to upgrade the databases or is it just files this updates?

Code:

$oldls = './public_html/forums';
you can use relative or absolute when it comes to the path i.e."
Code:

$oldls = '/some/pathto/public_html/forums';
This does nothing to the databases.

AWS 08-23-2008 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by y2ksw (Post 1603964)
I've tried it. Shortcuts won't work. So that's a Linux-only solution ;)

What kind of problems are you having with shortcuts?. I use shortcuts to serve up files and resources all the time. Might be a little config tweaking needed.

GoTTi 08-24-2008 08:30 AM

great mod. so if i understand whats going on here, this mod will let me upgrade multiple forums on the same server, under different domain names (or accounts on the server), as long as i input the license information properly, it will upgrade all the forums running the software at one time?

seems like a really great mod here. i am old fashioned and enjoy upgrading the forums one at a time, and download each script for my domains individually. not all forums can be upgraded to the same version, due to hacks/addons from here that might be out dated, and forum owners dont wanna loose them...

but i do need a better understanding of this mod. does the server need any pre-req software or modifications to it or is this a out of the box kind of mod because i am not server smart, i understand real basic stuff, and i see things in here like OP code and that throws me for a loop like am i suppose to look for something to make this work right...the link in your PDF for opcode is not working so i cant get information on it.

anyways, if you could answer my question id appreciate it. this mod just lets me upgrade multiple forums that are installed on the server in 1 shot?

thanks and good job, been a while since i seen a mod like this that really benefits the server instead of its users.

Jafo232 08-26-2008 01:32 PM

You can use it to upgrade multiple forums at once if you want to, but I would recommend creating a new source repository and upgrading your forums one at a time just for the reasons you laid out.

Opcode caching is basically this. When a PHP script is executed on your server, the server reads the script, compiles it, and then executes the compiled code (op code). It does this EVERY time the script is called. Of course, there is a lot of overhead compiling the source over and over so caching will only compile it once and then the server will use the compiled code saving you A LOT of memory and CPU.

When you run multiple forums on a server, and you are using opcode caching, each forums file will be cached even though for all intents and purposes, they are the same files. By allowing all the forums to share one set of source files, they are only cached once.

So index.php on forum1 and index.php on forum2 are only cached one time when you use the DLS as opposed to twice. This cuts the memory usage for cached files in half.

If you are not comfortable with your server prowess, you may want to test this on some test installs before you try to do it live. ;)

y2ksw 08-26-2008 02:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AWS (Post 1605252)
What kind of problems are you having with shortcuts?. I use shortcuts to serve up files and resources all the time. Might be a little config tweaking needed.

I'm using Apache on Windows 2003 Servers. When using a shortcut (actually terminates with a .php.lnk buth shows .php) Apache returns a 404 page not found error. I tried this with the sendmessage.php file in the same domain, but different folder, just to see if it does anything besides a page not found error :)

It may work with IIS, but I won't use IIS for other reasons ;)

Jafo232 08-26-2008 09:12 PM

Hmm, I know very little about Windows servers, but could you not associate the ink file to run as PHP?

y2ksw 08-26-2008 09:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1607667)
Hmm, I know very little about Windows servers, but could you not associate the ink file to run as PHP?

:) I tried that and it failed because PHP attempts to read directly the link file.

If I run the file first (then it's in the cache), the file link works. However after restarting Apache the cache is empty and it would fail with a 404 error.

Ok nevermind, it's a great solution for Linux, and there it'll surely apply :)

sockwater 08-26-2008 10:18 PM

You can use hard links on windows and it works (just tested). A hard link basically means that if you change either file, the other one will also be changed. You can create a hardlink on windows like this:
Code:

fsutil hardlink create newfile.php oldfile.php
Also you might want to try using junctions, which are basically directory symlinks. I don't know if this would work under apache or not.

EDIT: If you try using hardlinks, I'd like to know if the opcode caching sees them as the same file or separate files.

Jafo232 08-26-2008 11:47 PM

That would be ideal. Otherwise it is only good for patch releases.

y2ksw 08-27-2008 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sockwater (Post 1607709)
You can use hard links on windows and it works (just tested). A hard link basically means that if you change either file, the other one will also be changed. You can create a hardlink on windows like this:
Code:

fsutil hardlink create newfile.php oldfile.php
Also you might want to try using junctions, which are basically directory symlinks. I don't know if this would work under apache or not.

EDIT: If you try using hardlinks, I'd like to know if the opcode caching sees them as the same file or separate files.

I'll try that tonight ... and if it works I'll make a program which creates those links recursively for Windows Servers :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01160 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,751KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete