vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Google Adsense / Adbrite Ads Based on Length of First Post (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=128960)

Neutral Singh 10-21-2006 03:19 PM

Use the following code: ;)

Code:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'postbit_legacy'">
        <if condition="$post['text_length'] < 1200">
        <br>
        Google Adsense/Adbrite/Publisher Code # 1 Here
        <else />
        <br>
        Google Adsense/adbrite/Publisher Code # 2 Here
        </if>
        </if>


SnitchSeeker 10-21-2006 08:28 PM

This looks great!

But is there a way to have it place the adSense ad AFTER the first post (rather than inside it like in your forum)? ie. between the first and second posts?

Looks very clever indeed. And since I only use adSense and non-context targeting ads I have nothing to fear with the TOS :)

SnitchSeeker 10-22-2006 06:41 PM

Have you added code for this to show only for first post? I tried your last post and that doesn't work.

AdSense has a rule that only three ads can be shown per page. If we don't make a rule that excludes this to the first post, we may end up violating their rules.

Could you post an explanation of what exactly the original code does and how we can modify it to show only for the first post?

Also, how do I test this? Will it only work on threads started after installing the plug-in? Or is there a way to make it retro-active (or however you write it)?

I have to say I am very positive about this but it really needs some ironing out.

Thanks! :)

Neutral Singh 10-23-2006 01:29 AM

If we remove the if conditions then this code will work anywhere.

SnitchSeeker 10-23-2006 12:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neutral Singh
If we remove the if conditions then this code will work anywhere.

Thanks. That is obvious.

Could you please answer the questions from my last post? Especially: How do you code it so it only shows up in the first post of a thread?

EDIT: I guess the title does say "length of first post" which could mean you have already coded it for the first post ONLY. If that is the case, then I appologize for not getting it. But could you confirm it?

[S]Also, what do I have to do so that all threads before I installed this will also be affected?[/S] (Nevermind, it seems to do it automatically! Yay!) :)

EDIT 2: Yes! I got it to work! *clicks install* Very nice job! I love it! :)

I still wish I could get confirmation that this is ONLY for the first post and some directions on how to tweek it for different settings would be really cool as well. For example what all the IF statements you have posted here do.

Cheers! Nice job! :)

Neutral Singh 10-25-2006 02:06 AM

Quote:

How do you code it so it only shows up in the first post of a thread?
Cove the code with following conditionals:

Code:

<if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">

Above Code here

</if>


SnitchSeeker 10-25-2006 07:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neutral Singh
Cove the code with following conditionals:

Code:

<if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">

Above Code here

</if>


Thank you so much! :)

Muchos appreciated.

Dumi 08-06-2007 12:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1096743)
Hello,

You should have rearched the TOS before releasing this. if someone has installed this and done as this mod specifies and adds both ad servers to their site, on the same page, they could be screwed and removed from google for reasons they will never know. I would suggest contacting everyone that has installed this to let them know that it does indeed violate the TOS.



007,

You need to go and re-read the TOS again. You are highly mistaken.

FYI, Adbrite is not contextual. It does not pull info from the page to serve ads. Now if you had yahoo and google then yes that would be a TOS violation. :eek:

ercollins 08-08-2007 04:41 PM

It is completely legal to place Adsense and Adbrite on the same page if you actually read the program policies at google.

If you are going to tell someone what they can and cant do you should also include any information to back your statements up.

Quote:

Can I place Google ads on the same page with other ads?

You're welcome to display Google ads on the same site or page as other third party advertisements provided that the formatting or colors of the third party ads is different enough from that of the Google ads. In other words, if you choose to place non-Google ads on the same site or page as Google ads, it should always be clear to the user that the ads are served by different advertising networks and that the non-Google ads have no association with Google. If the formats are naturally similar, we ask that you choose different color schemes for the competing ads.

Our intent with this policy is to be as fair to our advertisers as possible and to maintain the integrity of the AdWords and AdSense programs. You can learn more about this, and all our policies, on our program policies page.

Here is the link:

https://www.google.com/adsense/suppo...&topic=&type=f


Personally I dont run adbrite but I do run CJ.com ads and Adsense, and I had also contacted google prior to doing so, and they replied that I well with in TOS.

The only questionable problem with any of these scripts is that google does not allow their adsense program to run from any scripts or software. Take it at what it is worth.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01134 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,745KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (9)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete