vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Major Additions - GRPS: Groups Commune 2.0.x (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=127303)

Merriweather 03-30-2007 03:48 AM

I finally got around the dang missing avatar issue by adding a replacement variable to the site template:

src="customavatars/

replaced with

src="http://www.mysite.com/forums/customavatars/

Which FINALLY fixed it. I don't know what the issue is with GRPS itself that it couldn't do that when the leader had no avatar, but I'm relieved to have done something about it and if anyone else has the issue, there's your fix.

sabret00the 03-30-2007 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriweather (Post 1215836)
Sabe ~ Does your forum store avatars in the file system, or in the DB?

file system.

sabret00the 03-30-2007 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriweather (Post 1215828)
Question (things I am coming across while trying to solve my own issues): What is the purpose of replycount and lastpost in the grps table? All of my groups have 0 for both of these items in the DB.

both were designed for implementation at a later date, sadly said later date won't happen until 3.0 at which point they're used to cache said information and ease burden on the database.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriweather (Post 1215828)
Forogt to mention before, too, that when posting to a thread, the posting rules say:

You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

Even when the user does have permission.

i tried to fix that. ultimately it'll be scrapped for 3.0.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriweather (Post 1215828)
Also, I believed I found the problem with the "View New Reply" etc links not working. I had my group thread length per page set to 20. When a user tried to use a page jummp link, it would go past the last page, i.e. page 3 of 2 and therefore show a blank page. I changed it to 10 and the issue got worse, I ended up on page 5 of 2 trying to see the last post.

I changed it to 25 and it worked.

It seems what is going on is when you change that number, somewhere, something isn't calculating right. It seems to be calculating the pagejump based on whatever is hard coded into the script/system for posts per page and not looking at what the user has set.

Hard to describe, but I can show you if you'd like.

ahhh, ok. i wouldn't have even though to look there, just seen the problem in the code and have fixed it.

i'll release 2.0.10 around the middle of next week.

sabret00the 03-30-2007 09:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriweather (Post 1215854)
I finally got around the dang missing avatar issue by adding a replacement variable to the site template:

src="customavatars/

replaced with

src="http://www.mysite.com/forums/customavatars/

Which FINALLY fixed it. I don't know what the issue is with GRPS itself that it couldn't do that when the leader had no avatar, but I'm relieved to have done something about it and if anyone else has the issue, there's your fix.

interesting. that's definitely due to neglect on my part. on both of my test setups avatars are stored above the ROOT. i will be more mindful of this in future

sabret00the 03-30-2007 09:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Exitilus (Post 1215353)
I think he meant Request for Groups 3.0 heh..... I'm half asleep right now .. but I'll work on some features as well :)

i'll look forward to seeing them.

sabret00the 03-30-2007 11:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sabret00the (Post 1215240)
About the ability to have multiple group leaders. whoever starts the group will be able to appoint his fellow group leaders and then they'll basically have the same amount of power as the group starter. i.e. the ability to edit members, kick members, delete messages and so on and so fourth, etc. they won't be able to kick other group leaders however. the reason i'm mentioning this is because i'm about to start coding this feature and unless theirs resounding opposition to this i'll write the feature like this.

consider this coded.

Benj 03-30-2007 01:50 PM

might be cool to add the group posts to the forum posts for the statistics on forum home?

sabret00the 03-30-2007 05:44 PM

i appreciate all the suggestions thus far, keep them coming.

Exitilus 03-30-2007 06:27 PM

I didn't read through other suggestions. But I'm *sure* It's been mentioned. I know you don't want to use the forum datastore ... what about some sort of extra code & template edit that will show New Group posts under the New posts section when a user clicks it. (IE Two seperate tables .. one for forum, one for groups).

Merriweather 03-30-2007 09:06 PM

Other ideas:

- Use template replacement variables after install instead of manually editing all smilies etc (this would just be a change in the instructions for the end user).
- Do not allow group leaders to turn the group over to a user who is in a usergroup that does not have the option to lead groups.
- Allow polls in groups.
- Show page numbers/navigation under post title on group home page.
- Improve browse.php to show additional info such as public/private, group leader, number of members, number of posts.

The MOST requested features from my users is post review when posting and email notification of new group posts.

Merriweather 03-31-2007 02:26 AM

I'm not sure if this is something new, or it's just that no one has reported it to me until now, but it seems that IE users get an error when using the advanced editor and they click the "insert image" or "insert email address" buttons. To fix this, I had to make an edit in forums/clientscripts/vbulletin_textedit.js as follows:

Code:

                if (is_ie7)
                {
                        var returnvalue = window.showModalDialog("clientscript/ieprompt.html", { value: defaultval, label: dialogtxt, dir: document.dir, title: document.title }, "dialogWidth:320px; dialogHeight:150px; dialogTop:" + (parseInt(window.screenTop) + parseInt(window.event.clientY) + parseInt(document.body.scrollTop) - 100) + "px; dialogLeft:" + (parseInt(window.screenLeft) + parseInt(window.event.clientX) + parseInt(document.body.scrollLeft) - 160) + "px; resizable: No;");
                }

Change to (add your forum's url where I've put www.mysite.com/forums/):

Code:

                if (is_ie7)
                {
                        var returnvalue = window.showModalDialog("http://www.mysite.com/forums/clientscript/ieprompt.html", { value: defaultval, label: dialogtxt, dir: document.dir, title: document.title }, "dialogWidth:320px; dialogHeight:150px; dialogTop:" + (parseInt(window.screenTop) + parseInt(window.event.clientY) + parseInt(document.body.scrollTop) - 100) + "px; dialogLeft:" + (parseInt(window.screenLeft) + parseInt(window.event.clientX) + parseInt(document.body.scrollLeft) - 160) + "px; resizable: No;");
                }

AND

Code:

// workaround for IE throwing insecure page warnings
                                        iframe.src = 'clientscript/index.html';

(same as above, put your forum's url in place of www.mysite.com/forums/)

Code:

// workaround for IE throwing insecure page warnings
                                        iframe.src = 'http://www.mysite.com/forums/clientscript/index.html';

That way, when the user is in the groups directory, it is not trying to access relative (and non-existent) urls.

Exitilus 04-02-2007 01:37 AM

Ok I just had a *really* weird issue. Some how a spam bot managed to create a Groups Post :| No VB Account .... nothing ... but somehow managed to get a post in a thread ....

sabret00the 04-03-2007 04:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Exitilus (Post 1218014)
Ok I just had a *really* weird issue. Some how a spam bot managed to create a Groups Post :| No VB Account .... nothing ... but somehow managed to get a post in a thread ....

is it possible to show me the post at all?

Exitilus 04-03-2007 05:26 PM

Meh I deleted it :( If it happens again I surely will ... Both me and one of my admins were sitting there wondering what the heck O.o

|Jordan| 04-12-2007 06:45 AM

How's the security on this modification? Has anyone ever had their forum hacked because of it?

Also, does it increase server load?

Antivirus 04-12-2007 06:05 PM

this looks interesting, is there a demo version online which i can check out? i noticed Sabretooth didn't want people using his site to test this. Please let me know, thanks!

rabbits slayer 04-12-2007 08:31 PM

How do I change the "newest member" panel from standing verticle to layiing horizontal?


The panel I'm talking about:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2007/04/4.jpg

Benj 04-15-2007 04:53 AM

another suggestion

simple SEO

groups/index.php?g=1 becomes groups/groupname

thats prob tops on my wish list :D

Dennen 04-17-2007 06:35 PM

Invalid SQL:

ALTER TABLE `vb_usergroup` ADD `grpspermissions` INT(10) UNSIGNED DEFAULT 0 NOT NULL;

MySQL Error : Duplicate column name 'grpspermissions'
Error Number : 1060
Date : Thursday, April 5th 2007 @ 09:35:54 AM
Script : http://www.lyricaldissmisal.com/grou..._installer.php

how do i fix this

Exitilus 04-17-2007 11:00 PM

Don't run the installer. Looks like it was already run :)

ragtek 04-22-2007 03:21 PM

i'm having a problem with the style

http://ragtek.org/groups/
i have the style in the css and the problem is that the path is now false by the grps

WDZaphod 04-22-2007 03:48 PM

HI Forum!

I am completely crazy to see this amazing addon running in my Forum - but it seems I'm too stupid to install...
When I run the installer, an error appears:

Warning: main(./global.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/groups/tools/grps_installer.php on line 36

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/groups/tools/grps_installer.php on line 36

The vB is in a subfolder /forum, there I also uploaded the file structure.
In groups/include/config_grps.php I tried several versions:
../forums/ , ../../forums/ and also /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/forums/ .
The error looked a bit different in all Versions, but I never made it run :(
Any Ideas?

Thanks (and waiting impatiently!) :D

Exitilus 04-22-2007 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ragtek (Post 1233399)
i'm having a problem with the style

http://ragtek.org/groups/
i have the style in the css and the problem is that the path is now false by the grps

There is a Seperate Mod that you need to install to fix this. Look in the Mod Post above and I believe there is a link pointing to it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WDZaphod (Post 1233422)
HI Forum!

I am completely crazy to see this amazing addon running in my Forum - but it seems I'm too stupid to install...
When I run the installer, an error appears:

Warning: main(./global.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/groups/tools/grps_installer.php on line 36

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/groups/tools/grps_installer.php on line 36

The vB is in a subfolder /forum, there I also uploaded the file structure.
In groups/include/config_grps.php I tried several versions:
../forums/ , ../../forums/ and also /var/kunden/webs/test/forum/forums/ .
The error looked a bit different in all Versions, but I never made it run :(
Any Ideas?

Thanks (and waiting impatiently!) :D

Did you setup the grps_config file ?

ragtek 04-22-2007 07:30 PM

yes i solved it with a str_replace, like the mod that makes

one idee:
  • automatic namecomplete in the invite form! like pm's (i hope you know what i mean)
  • where can i set the groupimage? i find nothing
one more thing


the admin path is not static!!!
it can be changed in the config.php, so you should use the variable instead of '="admincp/index.php', in the footer replacement + in the group moderation link

WDZaphod 04-22-2007 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Exitilus (Post 1233553)
Did you setup the grps_config file ?

Ummm, there is just one line : chdir("../forums/");

My directory structure looks like:

/ <= the domain points to
/forum <= inside is the vBulletin
/forum/forums <= the 1st Folder of the Addon
/forum/groups <= the 2nd one...

So I tried to run:
http://www.mydomain.com/forum/groups..._installer.php

What is the right way to configure the config file?
chdir("../forums/");
chdir("../../forums/");
chdir("/forum/forums/");
or the complete path since the Serverroot? (/var/kunden/webs/test/......)

Or should I upload everything to another separated folder? :confused:

Thanks again :up:

ragtek 04-23-2007 05:29 AM

than chdir("../forum")
and the things from /forums copy into the forum folder

WDZaphod 04-23-2007 07:53 AM

So my www-Root will look in this way:

/forum <= content: vB-Files + everything from /forums
/groups

I can't wait to go home - I don't have ssh-access from office :mad:

:eek:

ragtek 04-23-2007 10:26 AM

but you have ftp or?*g*

WDZaphod 04-23-2007 11:21 AM

FTP via Proxy. READonly! Any my webFTP cannot join Folders...

Mmmh, I installed Putty on my Nok6600 few weeks ago. But this is PURE pain to use :D

WDZaphod 04-23-2007 02:43 PM

Okay - with the line:
chdir("../../forum/");

it seems to work. Instead of an error I got a "done" :up:

(yaah, I moved the filders with putty on my mobile. No bash command completion - everything by hand :D )

Now there is the Problem, that I don't find the groups... Everything is turned on in the user rights, also the groups are activated in the admincp-groups-general settings.

But I found:
Strings To Find In "viewthread.php"
These are the strings to find in viewthread.php. Each replacement is seperated by a space followed by a comma.

Is there anything more to replace in a php file?
I need to go home, there is the manual :) Hopefully it helps!



Thanks for the hints!!

ragtek 04-23-2007 04:10 PM

now you have to go on group tools(right side) and click create new group

i'm using this since yesterday and its realy self-explanatory :P

thx 4 great hack!
just pls think on my changes next time ;)
i think its not just for me ;)
Quote:

$config['Misc']['admincpdir'] = 'admincp';
$config['Misc']['modcpdir'] = 'modcp';

WDZaphod 04-23-2007 04:37 PM

Looks ok now, I can enter the groups-system by the URL /forums/groups.
But I miss a link from the Forum to enter the groups?
Something like to see the own groups in the users profile?
Or a link from the users profile to the groups section?

And what does this part mean? (ACP => Groups => General Settings)

Strings To Find In "viewthread.php"
These are the strings to find in viewthread.php. Each replacement is seperated by a space followed by a comma.

image.php, src="customavatars/, src="images/smilies/, member.php, private.php, search.php, sendmessage.php, profile.php, <!-- / post #, imwindow,400,200); return false;">, images/avatars/

sabret00the 04-23-2007 10:30 PM

i've finally got my pc back (literally an hour ago). i haven't had time to check this thread as i'm checking emails. i'll get around to this thread tomorrow. i was about to make a release the day my pc died but i had further work to do on it. i'm not totally sure where i was at now. i'll try and get that out by the end of the week. sorry for the incredible delay. it took me longer to trouble shoot my pc than i thought.

WDZaphod 04-24-2007 05:10 AM

Hey :up:
I didn't check everything so deeply, but: GREAT JOB!
I think this kind of extension will be the future of the forums, you can see in orkut or tocorre.com.

My wishlist (if not implementes already - so many things to try!) is short:
A better integration into vB. It would be amazing to show the groups of a user inside his profile. So the Profile could be like an own Homepage. Own Forums/Groups, own Gallery, own Guestbook. Additonally a "friend of a friend"-System, showing the connections between people (like XING.com) - and you have a killer-Forum!

Again: Well done! :up: :up: :up:

ragtek 04-24-2007 03:57 PM

next suggestion:
<b><a href="index.php?do=creategroup">Start A New Group</a></b><br /><br /> is hardcodet ;) no phrase in groups_groupshome template
in index.php line95: $grps_pagetitle = "Create A Group";
in browse.php its a phrase^^ so would it be ok :P

have you a developer board or something like that, where i can post the errors???

JimmDaBimm 04-24-2007 04:17 PM

works fine on my local installation, maybe i will use it... thank you for this realyrealy nice Hack !!

Tanya123 04-25-2007 02:50 PM

I got it installed and everything is functional, but my groups page is not inheriting the style from my site. All of my URLs are written out completely and I had to do this a long time ago for other reasons. What could be the issue now?

ragtek 04-25-2007 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WDZaphod (Post 1234130)
Looks ok now, I can enter the groups-system by the URL /forums/groups.
But I miss a link from the Forum to enter the groups?
Something like to see the own groups in the users profile?
Or a link from the users profile to the groups section?

i think it would be enouth if you copy this plugin GRPS: Group Activity In User CP (15 Newest) into a new plugin with hook member_start and put $grps_mygroupsbits into the memberinfo template

just a idee!

CHIPIT195 04-25-2007 11:08 PM

I'm a noob to vB, so these are probably some dumb questions... I installed it and it works, but a few problems...

I have a custom style installed, but I just overwrote my default style with it... The custom style moves the navbar from the navbar template into the header... (not sure if that's relevant, but...)

So, I use a subdomain, and I have the groups working @ forums.mysite.com/groups

So, heres the problems I'm having:

At the top of the groups index page, it displays:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /my/site/root/site/subdomain/groups/index.php(355) : eval()'d code on line 1

The Links in the navbar go to forums.mysite.com/groups/navlink.php

And the otherwise, the styles just don't look right... Almost looks as if it doesn't have any formating...

How can I resolve those problems?

:) Help appreciated, as I'm completely new, and don't know how to fix these issues myself, thanks!

vitoreis 04-26-2007 12:16 AM

Testing this. Good work!

Just 1 question: where can i set the groupimage? i find nothing...

thanks


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05053 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,853KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete