vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   AnyMedia BBCode for 3.5.x (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=106239)

bballchris1504 08-30-2006 04:34 PM

EASY Problem,

The videos and everything work great EXCEPT
they take FOREVER to start autoplaying -- this is because the entire video must download before it starts -- is there ANY workaround to this??

It seems like there should be an easy fix -- just that I don't know what it is :cross-eyed:

Like, could I set things up somehow to stream, or ANYTHING that helps really -- Help! Someone! :D

nix 08-30-2006 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballchris1504
EASY Problem,

The videos and everything work great EXCEPT
they take FOREVER to start autoplaying -- this is because the entire video must download before it starts -- is there ANY workaround to this??

It seems like there should be an easy fix -- just that I don't know what it is :cross-eyed:

Like, could I set things up somehow to stream, or ANYTHING that helps really -- Help! Someone! :D

In the adminCP put auto start to off.

MajorFm.com 08-31-2006 12:58 PM

Also does anyone know why this happens:

White Screen Instead Of Player - Even Though I Refreshed Again & Again

Seems to work fine on firefox though....

Something must be conflicting it on thread view... any suggestions?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MajorFm.com
I still cannot see em in ie... cannot work it out, on the flash dl site it says:

You have version 8,0,24,0 installed

I'm baffled... can't view it on 4 machines...

its fine in firefox...

any idea people?

Please check this thread:
http://www.majorfm.com/forum/uk-unde...crew-napa.html for a sample video...

None of my members can view the player, they all see a white player... what do i do? i really need your help on this, i have a busy forum... there must be a workaround?

For the moment, i have had to disable the built in player... please advise... do i need a new swf file or something?

AdmiralSpock 08-31-2006 01:41 PM

Majorfm - did you enable them to be able to use the anymedia player? I had to go in and allow my usergroups to be able to see it, all they could see was the media tags.

MajorFm.com 08-31-2006 02:13 PM

^^^ yes they can see it but only see white boxes... also does anyone know how to centralise the media player?

G_Man 08-31-2006 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
I don't understand this. Why should it matter if he's a member of the vB Chinese team or not?

So far AnyMedia has worked fine on 3.6 for me. But I'd really, really appreciate some kind of "stability" update to make certain that it works on 3.6. I really don't care about new features, it does everything it should do. This hack has really made my site work a lot better, and I really appreciate the work Crist has done. :)


ditto, twice....

What a GREAT hack. Would be a total shame to see it go to wayside. :(

Shazz 08-31-2006 08:34 PM

How do you see that this is activated and works on the 3.6?

nix 08-31-2006 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MajorFm.com
Also does anyone know why this happens:

White Screen Instead Of Player - Even Though I Refreshed Again & Again

Seems to work fine on firefox though....

Something must be conflicting it on thread view... any suggestions?



Please check this thread:
http://www.majorfm.com/forum/uk-unde...crew-napa.html for a sample video...

None of my members can view the player, they all see a white player... what do i do? i really need your help on this, i have a busy forum... there must be a workaround?

For the moment, i have had to disable the built in player... please advise... do i need a new swf file or something?

I dunno. I can see it just fine.

G_Man 09-01-2006 03:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shazz
How do you see that this is activated and works on the 3.6?

What do you mean??

I am running it fine on 3.6

stan111 09-01-2006 07:16 AM

anyone made this for 3.0.7 ?
or have it worked on 3.07 ?

AdmiralSpock 09-01-2006 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stan111
anyone made this for 3.0.7 ?
or have it worked on 3.07 ?

This hack is for 3.5.x and uses plugins, so it won't work with the 3.0.x series. Have you tried this: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...ighlight=media ?? I did a search in the 3.0.x hacks section, and thats what came up first.

DementedMindz 09-01-2006 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crist
I DO NOT know whether I should update the hack.
I'm not a coder of vBulletin-Chinese Team now, as I left there weeks ago.
Sorry about this, and I'll tell you how the update's going if it's really on the way.

hmmm i guess being on a team makes you have to update your code Crist? well i didnt think it was going to be updated since its been weeks with things not working right and you kept saying the same thing.

AdmiralSpock 09-01-2006 11:52 PM

Maybe we all should develop a list of all the problems that people are having with AnyMedia on 3.6 right now, and a coder in the community could pick it up and figure out how to make it stable.

Before I purchased a vB license, I read here about the problems with selfish coders who abandoned their hacks and left many out in the cold, and I never thought that I'd experience that kind of thing. But apparently that is what is happening here.

My site depends on this hack, and for the most part it has been working on 3.6 but I know that there are some problems with it that people are having (that I have not experienced yet). I know now that I probably should have stayed with 3.5.4/3.5.5 for a while until this whole thing was settled.

Shazz 09-02-2006 04:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by G_Man
What do you mean??

I am running it fine on 3.6

Show a screen shot or some example =\

phimshopcom 09-02-2006 04:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by G_Man
What do you mean??

I am running it fine on 3.6

G Man ... were u able to play google video ..without its own player??? If so, what version are you using?

Attention All: Whoever got their forum to work with anymedia and able to play google video or any other...please be supportive and post your info... .


I am using VB 3.5... with the lastest AnyMedia 3.5 .. All seem to work fine... except that I have to use google's player ..to be able to play its videos.

AdmiralSpock 09-02-2006 05:12 PM

I've attached a screenshot of flash working in anymedia.

I couldn't get Google video to work just now, all it said was "Loading". I haven't tried it with YouTube, as I don't use YouTube or Google videos on my site.

But Windows Media, flash, and .jpg images all work through the anymedia player. All I had to do was install it the normal way.

Edit: I see that Crist has been on the site today. Will he explain to the community further why being a part of the vB Chinese team matters in continuing the development of this hack?

G_Man 09-02-2006 05:12 PM

I haven't used Google Video at all... I just tried and it did fail.

I have used it with YouTube videos.


I will agree that this Hack is far from flawless, but I have used it a lot to make my forum better. I am sure that if Crist is not responding something has taken him away from a project that he has worked on for likely hundreds of hours...



Found it works best with stuff off your own server, like this video.

DementedMindz 09-02-2006 05:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shazz
Show a screen shot or some example =\


do you use this player or googles and utubes? if you check with firefoxand internet explorer you will see its very buggy. yeah there is ways to get around it but when you do it check on both browsers cause they will mess up.

jeremycs 09-02-2006 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
Before I purchased a vB license, I read here about the problems with selfish coders who abandoned their hacks and left many out in the cold, and I never thought that I'd experience that kind of thing. But apparently that is what is happening here.

:laugh: You're kidding right?

How about selfish users expecting free updates for life on a free use-at-your-own-risk hack.

So if you publish a free add-on, then you are obligated to update it and keep it maintained for life? for free??
and if for some reason the author does not have the free time or inclination to update the add-on then they are being selfish???

And I suppose the more popular or useful the free add-on is, the more selfish the person is being by not keeping it updated? :p

It could just be that crist is burnt out on Anymedia or he doesn't have much time left to work on free projects at the moment.



But is there anything stopping you or anyone else from fixing the things you need fixed yourself (or hiring someone to do so) and publishing your fixes or changes here?


Just tackle the problems yourself, or wait for someone else does until Crist gets here.

I imagine since this project is somewhat popular, if Crist drops the ball too much longer, then someone else will pick up this project and run with it as they have with several other projects.

sandrodz 09-02-2006 07:27 PM

its an awesome hack... he promised update and he'll do it... give him a break he's not obligated to make anything

jeremycs 09-02-2006 07:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
But Windows Media, flash, and .jpg images all work through the anymedia player. All I had to do was install it the normal way.


If you allow users to upload flash files to be played through anymedia, you're asking for big problems. A malicious user could easily trick you or your members into giving up their username & password for your forum.

In the event that they trick an ADMIN, moderator or other superuser into giving up their login information, then this could obviously cause a lot of problems.

AdmiralSpock 09-02-2006 07:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremycs
If you allow users to upload flash files to be played through anymedia, you're asking for big problems. A malicious user could easily trick you or your members into giving up their username & password for your forum.

In the event that they trick an ADMIN, moderator or other superuser into giving up their login information, then this could obviously cause a lot of problems.

We don't allow users to post using the [media] tags. It's just admins, mods, and other staff. I'm not that stupid

Quote:

How about selfish users expecting free updates for life on a free use-at-your-own-risk hack.
I didn't say I expected free updates for life. Had you taken the effort to read a few pages back, I had said that I and those who use this hack would appreciate a "stability" update to make sure that it works on 3.6. And if you would have taken the time to look at the first post, Crist states that he does not know if he will update the hack or not. If I knew PHP I would do it in a heartbeat. Perhaps someone else will update the hack, I don't know. Que sera, sera.

jeremycs 09-02-2006 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
We don't allow users to post using the [media] tags. It's just admins, mods, and other staff. I'm not that stupid.

Depending on the forum audience, it should be fine to allow the media tags.

As long as they are mature enough to know that it's possible that they will likely see something they might wish they hadn't once in awhile. :P

But it's allowing .swf (and other macromedia flash type) files to be played that is the problem. A person could easily create a flash file that would automatically redirect the browser upon loading. They could redirect it to a page that looks just like your forum login screen, steal the password & log the user user back in as if nothing happened.

The files from places like youtube, google video, etc when played through their respective players are flash & could pose the exact same problem.... but I seriously doubt that google or youtube will attempt to do anything malicious to your forum.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
And if you would have taken the time to look at the first post, Crist states that he does not know if he will update the hack or not. If I knew PHP I would do it in a heartbeat. Perhaps someone else will update the hack, I don't know. Que sera, sera.

I don't need to look at the first post to know that authors of any of these free hacks are subject to disappear at any time. How's that for stability? :P

I understand what you're saying, but every time you click "INSTALL" you have to understand that you are taking and accepting a large number of risks.

If you're really worried about it, then don't install what you (or your programmers) can't audit & maintain.


The only thing that is really guaranteed is the base Vbulletin code.... and they do a pretty fine job :)

But you pay annually for updates to Vbulletin.

If you didn't, you could be sure that the Vbulletin wouldn't have anywhere near as many updates and timely fixes.

jeremycs 09-02-2006 08:03 PM

Anyway I wouldn't be surprised if in the next year or so Vbulletin integrates something like this natively. If they don't, their competitors probably will & then vbulletin will have to. ;)

AdmiralSpock 09-04-2006 12:36 AM

I don't know if anyone else has looked into this, but those of you having problems with YouTube on AnyMedia might want to look at this:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...t=Media+BBCode

Edit: I just found a Google Video BBCode that was already made.. here it is https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=120212

Hopefully this might help someone who's having problems with these two until there is an update to the anymedia

hnjco 09-04-2006 01:58 PM

I installed on my 3.6 board..

Everything working fine but for Google Videos i got message Error: unsupported media type.

anyone for help?

nix 09-04-2006 07:50 PM

I posted how to get google video to work. But you have to use googles player. Which is no big deal IMO. Working fine on a 3.6 board and added some other sites to it.

Sarthek 09-06-2006 08:09 AM

it doesnt show a videos in IE, in firefox it works fine

vb 3.5.4

itorrents 09-06-2006 02:58 PM

It worked fine for me, but one thing I've noticed is that with the .flv files I have hosted that they stop showing up in the original post after a couple days! I can add a new post with the exact same link in the thread and it'll show up again in that post.

DementedMindz 09-06-2006 03:00 PM

yeah i posted about that before but he failed to update it also dont update your post cache either or you will have to edit all your videos again

itorrents 09-06-2006 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedMindz
yeah i posted about that before but he failed to update it also dont update your post cache either or you will have to edit all your videos again

I was trying to backpeddle to see what I did to cause it, now it all makes sense :) that's exactly what I did ;) thanks for the tip m8 :cool:

DementedMindz 09-06-2006 05:08 PM

no problem it just sucks to see a good hack go to waste since he wont be updating it and more. thats why i removed it support sucked and you can do the same thing this does with bbcode and not have to do near as many edits. add 2 bbcodes and your done this you have to edit templates all that bs only to find out half of the hack dont work.

angkor408 09-06-2006 11:06 PM

is there a way user can upload there own song?

AdmiralSpock 09-07-2006 02:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by angkor408
is there a way user can upload there own song?

You could upload as an attachment and link to the attachment through the [media] tags.

moonclamp 09-07-2006 12:50 PM

When adding a .mid or .wav sound file, the attachment shows embedded in windows media player with the full visualization panel.

Attachment 53161

So ... is there anyway to get rid of the video screen and just have the sound bar showing? .. it would be preferable if it played in the flash player, but that's not essential.

G_Man 09-07-2006 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moonclamp
When adding a .mid or .wav sound file, the attachment shows embedded in windows media player with the full visualization panel.

Attachment 53161

So ... is there anyway to get rid of the video screen and just have the sound bar showing? .. it would be preferable if it played in the flash player, but that's not essential.

I have 'cheated' by setting dimensions too small for the screen, like 400,100 .

moonclamp 09-07-2006 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by G_Man
I have 'cheated' by setting dimensions too small for the screen, like 400,100 .

Yeah but then what happens when someone attaches or links a video file?

angkor408 09-07-2006 11:50 PM

Where can I edit this option for the media tags? It would be nice if user have there own wma or mp3 song on there pc they can upload the file directly. All I see in this option is specify the song URL:

Thank,
angkor


Quote:

Originally Posted by AdmiralSpock
You could upload as an attachment and link to the attachment through the [media] tags.


moonclamp 09-08-2006 12:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by angkor408
Where can I edit this option for the media tags? It would be nice if user have there own wma or mp3 song on there pc they can upload the file directly. All I see in this option is specify the song URL:

Thank,
angkor

That would be through the standard attachment options in your admincp, although most servers have a 2 meg upload limit which isn't much good for large mp3 files.

angkor408 09-08-2006 12:38 AM

HI, under my VBMusic max size I set to: 100000. I still can't see an option to upload music from my pc.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04001 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,853KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (22)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete