vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Board Optimization - [DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=199207)

wolfstream 12-22-2008 02:42 PM

Let's see here

Eaccelerator works. I've tested this and found it to be so. It's really easy to test if it works

Eaccelerator was compiled using THEIR recommended setup

YOUR setup doesn't detect eaccelerator functions. That's a problem in your setup. This needs to work with the eacc recommended settings, not the other way around.

There is definitely a problem here, as represented by at least two people. The problem is with how eaccelerator is configured. You shouldn't HAVE to reconfigure a server application for one plugin, in fact most people can not.

The recommended values for eaccelerator configuration (which, btw has worked for years without fail):

Code:

  ./configure \
  --enable-eaccelerator=shared \
  --with-php-config=$PHP_PREFIX/bin/php-config

Changes insisted by your code (and ONLY your code, btw):
Code:

  ./configure \
  --enable-eaccelerator=shared \
  --with-eaccelerator-shared-memory \
  --with-php-config=$PHP_PREFIX/bin/php-config

Again, this should be done properly, so that individuals DON'T have to recompile and reconfigure eacc, especially when they can't.

Deceptor 12-22-2008 02:50 PM

While I appreciate the feedback wolfstream, I think you're forgetting one vital thing here. Without the extension installed it is impossible for any php script to use eAccelerator functions, vB Optimise works exactly like vBulletin does for its datastore system for eAccelerator, and just about every other PHP script I've found that uses eAccelerator.

Please do not make claim there is a problem with the script when it was instead a problem with your eAccelerator setup. Ofcourse eAccelerator will work without the functions available in PHP, as it also works as a php optimiser in whole :)

unp 12-22-2008 02:56 PM

Even vbseo cache doesn't work with eaccelerator compiled without ' --with-eaccelerator-shared-memory \ ' , So there is no problem with vb optimse,

Andreas 12-22-2008 03:02 PM

@wolfstream
Incorrectly setting up eAccelerator is your fault - don't blame this script for a crippled eAccelerator installation.

NolF 12-22-2008 03:10 PM

Here are a list of options that affect performance and you might want to add to the "Optimal Settings Check"
Code:

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Forum Display Options (forumdisplay) -> Show Users Browsing Forums

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Thread Display Options -> Show Users Browsing Thread

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Message Searching Options -> Automatic Similar Thread search

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Thread Display Options (showthread) -> Check Thread Rating

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Thread Display Options (showthread) -> Check Thread Subscription

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Thread Display Options (showthread) -> Show Similar Threads?

There are some smaller ones such us
Code:

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> General Settings -> Use Forum Jump Menu

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Cookies and HTTP Header Options -> GZIP HTML Output

Donated 10$ Not as much as lugicuk but 10$ you get :D

Great job the speed difference is astonishing ^^ the vba module is really a miracle ^^

Thanks :D

Deceptor 12-22-2008 03:13 PM

NolF - Thank you for your donation :) Regarding those options, most I've let out for now on purpose, regarding your first group of options, they come at expense of features, and it is my aim to be able to cache these, rather than drop them for performance, like I did with the forumhome WOL.

As for the other two, the forum drop down menu maybe something I cache too, and GZIP isn't always safe on all server setups, so I didn't put it in there because people would blame my script for telling them to use GZIP when it did damage it instead of good :)

But thank you for the suggestions, I'll probably concentrate on these areas in the next version :)

wolfstream 12-22-2008 03:16 PM

Quote:

Without the extension installed it is impossible for any php script to use eAccelerator functions
That's so incorrect it's not even funny. Eaccelerator works FINE without the above compiled option. If it didn't, it would be put in the recommended settings.

I've had eaccelerator running for years. Cache? Right now, it's running at 30.30% (155.12MB/ 512.00MB), with the top script (right now) being accessed over 4k times since the last time it was cleared. There is no way you can NOT tell me eacc does not work properly, because it does.

Quote:

Incorrectly setting up eAccelerator is your fault - don't blame this script for a crippled eAccelerator installation.
Again, wrong answer. If you don't know what you're talking about, please, don't try to step in and say you do. From their INSTALLATION GUIDE!

Quote:

Step 1. Compiling eAccelerator

export PHP_PREFIX="/usr"

$PHP_PREFIX/bin/phpize

./configure \
--enable-eaccelerator=shared \
--with-php-config=$PHP_PREFIX/bin/php-config

make

You must specify the real prefix where PHP is installed in the "export"
command. It may be "/usr" "/usr/local", or something else.
Eaccelerator was not installed incorrectly at all. This product requires advanced setups and should be modified to work with the EA recommended settings. I've been installing EA the exact same way (eventually you just script it ;)) for clients for years, numerous clients, over a good 30+ servers. Have ANY of them complained about it 'not working'? Nope.

Again, using the above settings, EA has worked, and has cached scripts for years. Right now, I'm at about 5GB cache (should probably clean some of that up ;)), but it most definitely DOES work properly, using the recommended , out of the box, settings.

This is not a problem with anything but products trying to force users into an advanced EA compile.

Deceptor 12-22-2008 03:20 PM

As I said above wolfstream, eAccelerator will work at caching scripts because that's the main purpose of eAccelerator. But for PHP scripts to actually use eAccelerator functions it requires the extension. I've also said this is how vBulletin does things, and other scripts, a member above also pointed out vBSEO.

So unless you know a magic way for my script, vBulletin, vBSEO and anything else out there to use eAccelerator functions without the extension installed, please tell me, I'm always open to suggestions. Otherwise please stop making claim that there is something wrong with my script when clearly there isn't.

Regarding the eAccelerator recommended install, they don't expect most server setups to have scripts which use eAccelerator, and for the purpose of just caching php, it'll work.

lolo? 12-22-2008 03:25 PM

Hello i use the thanks mods the query in postbit or postbit legacy can be cached??
Sorry for this stupid question :)

Andreas 12-22-2008 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolfstream (Post 1691157)
That's so incorrect it's not even funny. Eaccelerator works FINE without the above compiled option. If it didn't, it would be put in the recommended settings.

http://bart.eaccelerator.net/doc/php...emory_php.html

It's clearly stated that you have to compile eAccelerator with support for shared memory if, well, you want to use shared memory!

Quote:

There is no way you can NOT tell me eacc does not work properly, because it does.
To some extend it does: It caches PHP opcode.
But the content cache functions are non-working if not compiled like stated above.
Try to use eAccelerator as vBulletin datastore cache.

Quote:

This is not a problem with anything but products trying to force users into an advanced EA compile.
If you call enabling a fature (that was on by default in eAccelerator < 0.9.5) "advanced" yes, it is.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02048 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,757KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete