vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   PluhNews 1.5 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=21875)

Hamma 02-20-2002 10:45 PM

Alright I am on roll today.. first of all attached to this post is my modified global.php that works with my news. Just require it, instead of global.php (I have had no problems doing this) this will address stripslash errors

Second I have resolved the issue with including multiple news, and headlines on one page. The problem seems to be the script trying to do everything on one SQL connection. This is easily fixed:

Find this
PHP Code:

$connection mysql_connect("$servername","$dbusername","$dbpassword") or die ("Cannot connect to server."); 

And change it to

PHP Code:

$connection2 mysql_connect("$servername","$dbusername","$dbpassword") or die ("Cannot connect to server."); 

Now, after you do this you will have to find every instance of $connection and change it to what you set on that line. You can call it whatever.. $connectionilikecheese for example :p Put any further questions here, all these things worked for me :D

Check it all out here: http://www.dragonwolves.com

sccr410 02-21-2002 06:23 AM

I get the following error:
Quote:

Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sandieg/public_html/index.php:3) in /home/sandieg/public_html/forum/admin/functions.php on line 1530
I just uploaded and required only your global2.php (making sure to change all the path info to my own paths)

Hamma 02-21-2002 10:55 AM

Ok, did you put the include lines at the top of your index page? (the page your including the news on)

<?
require("/path/to/global2.php");
require("/path/to/admin/config.php");
require("/path/to/PluhConfig.php");
?>

The only require line in the phuhnews.php should be

require("PluhConfig.php");

Rename and update to your paths of course.

Gutspiller 02-21-2002 03:12 PM

Hamma, did you ever get this error:

Warning: 1 is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /my/path/forumz/admin/db_mysql.php on line 93

There seems to have been a slight problem with the database. Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.


Database error in vBulletin: Invalid SQL: UPDATE session SET lastactivity=1014310822,location='/forumz/testpage.php',styleid=1 WHERE sessionhash='864316a4ee913aaef151a03edd678015'
mysql error:
mysql error number:
Date: Thursday 21st of February 2002 09:00:24 AM
Script: /forumz/testpage.php
Referer:

and If you did, how did you fix it? I keep getting it at the bottom of my page. I only have 1 headlines and 1 news on the page, but it gives that error, and I have no idea how to get rid of it. :(

Any help from anybody would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Hamma 02-21-2002 03:31 PM

My post above entitled "2 for 2" explains how i fixed that. Its trying to do all those DB queries on one connection and dying out. I made it so it does the query on a different connection for each script :D

Gutspiller 02-21-2002 04:26 PM

Hamma, so if I have say 2 different news things on one page, both headlines and news, I would rename all the $connection in one headline file to $connection1, and in one news file $connection2 and in the other news file $connection3?

So that in one headline it called $connection (the default), the 2nd headlines it called $connection1, in one of the news in called $connection2 and in the 2nd news it called $connection3.

Is that correct?

Hamma 02-21-2002 04:45 PM

Yes, thats pretty much it.. each script needs its own connection name. So each headline/news script would have a seperate one.. make sure you rename every instance of $connection (im pretty sure it shows in only the script, and not the config file)

This worked like a charm for me :D And you were getting pretty much the same errors.

Example:

Ive incuded 1 news, and 2 headlines on my index.php

News
$connection in the mainnews.php was renamed to

$connectionnews

Headlines
$connection in the t2headlines.php script was renamed to

$connectiont2

$connectoin in my daocheadlines.php was renamed to

$connectiondaoc

Let me know how it works out..

Gutspiller 02-21-2002 05:09 PM

Seems to work. Got rid of the error and everything. Great work. After how many times and people have been to this thread, it's surprizing it was something soo simple... Although I had a feeling that it would be something simple.

Many thanks.

Also for anybody using a lot of different connections you may want to double check your config.php file in your admin directory and make sure that you DON'T have persistant connection on, because if you have a lot of different news scripts each taking a spot on your mysql connections to the database, it could limit the access to your site.

Thanks Hamma, we finally traced down that pesky bug. I doubt everybody else that replied in those earlier pages knows that we fixed it. Maybe you should post something on one of the main forum pages and let everybody know that the PluhNews script is working again. :D

Good job.

sccr410 02-21-2002 05:21 PM

In my index.php file:

PHP Code:

<?php 
        
require("/home/sandieg/public_html/forum/global2.php"); 
        require(
"/home/sandieg/public_html/forum/admin/config.php"); 
        include(
'/home/sandieg/public_html/forum/PluhNews.php'); 
?>

I don't have PluhConfig.php because all the config options were moved into the PluhNews.php. I have multiple pages that access different news forums, so I had to do this.

I still get the following error:
Quote:

Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sandieg/public_html/index.php:3) in /home/sandieg/public_html/forum/admin/functions.php on line 1530

Gutspiller 02-21-2002 07:59 PM

Check your other files sccr410 and make sure they aren't "requiring" the same files that you are requiring in the index.php file. I know I had that problem before too, and I think that was the cause, is that there were multiple files requiring the same files.

Let me know.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01699 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,755KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete