vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - NoSpam! - an alternative to CAPTCHA images (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124828)

antialiasis 02-12-2007 12:31 AM

littlematts, try replacing

PHP Code:

         if ($vbulletin->options['nospam_use_reg'] AND $vbulletin->options['quickregister_active']) {
            
$questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
            
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
            
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
            
$nospamquestion $qanda[0];
         } 

with just

PHP Code:

         $questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
         
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
         
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
         
$nospamquestion $qanda[0]; 

Then tell me if it works then.

familyhistory: Registration works fine for me. About the search, yes, I think Smoothie hits the nail on the head - it sounds like there's something up with your navbar template. Did you keep an old template unreverted after upgrading to 3.6 or something like that?

littlematts 02-12-2007 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1180306)
littlematts, try replacing

PHP Code:

         if ($vbulletin->options['nospam_use_reg'] AND $vbulletin->options['quickregister_active']) {
            
$questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
            
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
            
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
            
$nospamquestion $qanda[0];
         } 

with just

PHP Code:

         $questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
         
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
         
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
         
$nospamquestion $qanda[0]; 

Then tell me if it works then.

familyhistory: Registration works fine for me. About the search, yes, I think Smoothie hits the nail on the head - it sounds like there's something up with your navbar template. Did you keep an old template unreverted after upgrading to 3.6 or something like that?


hia buddy.. tried with the same and following alteration but to no avail.. sorry for any mistaken trial ... coz i am not good in coding..

Trial 1:
PHP Code:

default:
          {
          
$questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
         
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
         
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
         
$nospamquestion $qanda[0]; 
         } 

Result: No Luck.

Traial2:
PHP Code:

default:
         if 
$vbulletin->options['quickregister_active']) {
         
$questions explode("\n"$vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
         
$nospamnumber array_rand($questions);
         
$qanda explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
         
$nospamquestion $qanda[0];
         }
         
$nospamdo false;
   } 

Result: No Luck

:( donno what issue with my case.. are u getting the result when tried testing?
do u want me to try any other combination buddy.. i will be only happy to.. coz the nospam mod is much useful than captcha verification as per my view..

regards
Matthew

phill2003 02-12-2007 10:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by littlematts (Post 1178562)
First of all let me thank you antialiasis for your great mod you provided.

I installed your mod on my vbull forum vBulletin? v3.6.4 and it is working perfect with the registration page..

but the issue i face is with integration.. I am not able to integrate the same with Quick Register Ver: 1.6.3 installed along. The question itself is not showing up. I have tried updating the script as specified by you in integration details page but to no avail.



regards
Matthew

I had the same problem as you (if you look back in the thread I have posted a couple of times but got no joy) anyway I have fixed my issue and by the looks of things it may help you as you seem to be having the exact problem i was having...


To fix mine I inserted some code into the quickregister plugin.

in the quick register plugin at global start look for this
Code:

$show['guest'] = true;
and above that place this
Code:


if ($vbulletin->options['nospam_use_reg'] AND $vbulletin->options['quickregister_active']) {
            $questions = explode("\n", $vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
            $nospamnumber = array_rand($questions);
            $qanda = explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
            $nospamquestion = $qanda[0];
        }


This when applied to my quick register plugin got the question to appear as well as the box for the answer :)

I hope this fixs your issue as the nospam hack is IMO one of if not the best hack on vbulletin.org and I was disappointed that it would not work on my quick register which also is a must have for increased registrations.

It might be an idea to whack this in the readme for others in the same situation :) if there are any.

blogtorank 02-12-2007 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1180022)
blogtorank: I appreciate the effort to help, but using presets of any sort completely defeats the point of NoSpam!. If people start using math problems or "Please type [word] into the following box" in that exact format en masse, it allows spambots to just be programmed with the rule and then extract the numbers/word from the question to insert it. The strength of NoSpam! lies in the impossibility of mechanically predicting for any given forum that uses the hack what the answer to the question might be, which is the reason NoSpam! does not come with any default questions.

Gotcha, and thought to pass these onto others to add-in with their existing ones :) Thanks for explanation as well!

Eagle Creek 02-12-2007 12:44 PM

Quote:

I think I like it BUT:
Quote:

Or you can go with inserting a simple image with HTML and ask what is shown on the image.
Isn't this the same as the CAPTCHA then???
antialiasis, what about this?
Why can't spambots read this and they can read a normal image?

antialiasis 02-12-2007 03:50 PM

Because CAPTCHA images are computer-generated images containing letters and/or numbers with varying amount of distortion. Computerized pattern recognition programs can be programmed to read the distorted letters in CAPTCHA images without much trouble, but identifying an object in an image is a dramatically more difficult task requiring far more elaborate, advanced AI.

Say you took your avatar and asked in NoSpam! what that image shows. The average human should without too much trouble be able to answer "eagle". However, a computer doesn't have years of experience of looking at pictures of animals and eagles with a mind-numbingly elaborate neural network that specializes in recognizing objects such as animals in visual data, and thus it will not have any idea what the heck your avatar is. Letters are simple patterns that a bot can be programmed to recognize; recognizing 3-D objects in 2-D images from any angle is something that we humans have been specializing ourselves in for millions of years of evolutionary history and a varying number of years of personal experience. Not to mention that the bot would have to keep a database of rules to recognize an absolutely astronomical number of objects in order to be able to take on an arbitrary image with no clue whatsoever as to what it contains. Artificial intelligence just can't do it, at least not yet.

littlematts, you did it wrong on both trials. :/ Replace exactly what I told you with exactly what I told you. Or do what phill2003 did, since it worked for him. It works fine with my original instructions on my test forum; maybe it's a matter of different PHP versions or something. =/

littlematts 02-12-2007 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phill2003 (Post 1180525)
I had the same problem as you (if you look back in the thread I have posted a couple of times but got no joy) anyway I have fixed my issue and by the looks of things it may help you as you seem to be having the exact problem i was having...


To fix mine I inserted some code into the quickregister plugin.

in the quick register plugin at global start look for this
Code:

$show['guest'] = true;
and above that place this
Code:


if ($vbulletin->options['nospam_use_reg'] AND $vbulletin->options['quickregister_active']) {
            $questions = explode("\n", $vbulletin->options['nospam_questions']);
            $nospamnumber = array_rand($questions);
            $qanda = explode(":",$questions["$nospamnumber"]);
            $nospamquestion = $qanda[0];
        }


This when applied to my quick register plugin got the question to appear as well as the box for the answer :)

I hope this fixs your issue as the nospam hack is IMO one of if not the best hack on vbulletin.org and I was disappointed that it would not work on my quick register which also is a must have for increased registrations.

It might be an idea to whack this in the readme for others in the same situation :) if there are any.


:up: :) :up: :) :up: :)

I dont know.. if a million thanks will reply for this suggestionu gave me.. coz it simply worked!! THANKS mate.. Thanks lotttts.. phill2003

I am soo happy to see people here are soo kind enough to support others to guide them out of trouble..

and my thanks to antialiasis too for the great mod and support.. infact i got to say he tried his best to get me out of this delemma..

antialiasis, i think we should change the integraton details in txt file provided along.. ask users to use ver3 along with the integration method suggested by phill2003

Thank you both.. my joy of success find no limit dudes..

You guys simply rocks..

Matthew

blankoboy 02-13-2007 04:37 AM

I was just going to suggest that adding more than one answer for a question would be a great feature to make this mod really shine. But...low and behold antialiasis already had this feature implemented (along with case insensitive option). You are the man and this mod has my vote for MOTM. Fantastic. :up: :up:

Vbulletin really ought to have this implemented as standard.

Veeb0rg 02-13-2007 11:26 AM

is there a way to get this to work with 3.0.7 vb?

Eagle Creek 02-13-2007 11:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antialiasis (Post 1180723)
Because CAPTCHA images are computer-generated images containing letters and/or numbers with varying amount of distortion. Computerized pattern recognition programs can be programmed to read the distorted letters in CAPTCHA images without much trouble, but identifying an object in an image is a dramatically more difficult task requiring far more elaborate, advanced AI.

Say you took your avatar and asked in NoSpam! what that image shows. The average human should without too much trouble be able to answer "eagle". However, a computer doesn't have years of experience of looking at pictures of animals and eagles with a mind-numbingly elaborate neural network that specializes in recognizing objects such as animals in visual data, and thus it will not have any idea what the heck your avatar is. Letters are simple patterns that a bot can be programmed to recognize; recognizing 3-D objects in 2-D images from any angle is something that we humans have been specializing ourselves in for millions of years of evolutionary history and a varying number of years of personal experience. Not to mention that the bot would have to keep a database of rules to recognize an absolutely astronomical number of objects in order to be able to take on an arbitrary image with no clue whatsoever as to what it contains. Artificial intelligence just can't do it, at least not yet.

HI,

I understand the system of images being read etc.. (very nice explanaiton btw!). But what I don't understand is this. You say:
Quote:

Or you can go with inserting a simple image with HTML and ask what is shown on the image.
Then you still have exactly the same, dont you? You present a simple image like .JPG and then it can be read? Or am I wrong understanding what you are writing :).
I will definetly going to use this hack ;).


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03592 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,819KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete