vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=242)
-   -   [HOW TO - vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078)

Kestryll 04-01-2014 05:22 PM

I do have a test site up with a separate database and vB install on it for testing prior to trying anything on my live forum.

You'll have to excuse my manner of asking follow up questions, when I can't get something to work I tend to ask questions in the form of clarification of what I am doing assuming I have made an error rather than saying 'that didn't work'. It seems more respectful of those trying to help.
The comment about roasting my vB install is mostly comedy however I did manage to do something to my test install when I first tried to make the ad banners work that killed it and required a wipe and reinstall.

So far I have not been able to get the random banners to display, all I have gotten is the header code displaying above the title.
I have placed the header code in various places within the header template and have placed the registration code at the very end of the plug in as above and tried it as the second line of the plug in.
All with the same results, I can only assume that I am missing a step somewhere.

Lynne 04-01-2014 10:17 PM

I couldn't tell from your post whether you were asking for help or not. But, I did just notice that you have the variable entered wrong in your template (that's what happens when you look at vB3 and vB4 and vB5 sites all the time!). It's

{vb:raw random_banner11['$random_number11']}

And, I didn't notice you had two variables - you need to register each of them.

Lynne 05-16-2014 05:06 PM

The first post shows you how to register a variable here:
PHP Code:

$my_insertvar $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME',array('my_insertvar ' => $my_insertvar)); 

That registers the variable $my_insertvar to be used in the template FORUMHOME. Go back and relook at the article and you will see this explained.

Lynne 05-18-2014 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semprot (Post 2498284)
so i need to type that code on all PHP files on root? (usercp.php, forum.php, etc ?)

No, you can add it to a plugin. If you are using it on every page, then you'll want to use a hook location that is on every page - maybe one of the global_* ones. You'll have to try it and see which works best.

npadbidri 11-29-2014 12:59 PM

Hi,

I understand above all things. I just wanted to know that,
{vb:raw user.username}
above code I found in template 'header'.
From where this header template gets object 'user' and how it can able to access it property.

I am interested know where this vBulletin variable like 'user' stored and in which php file?

Can any one help me to understand this?

Thanks!!!!

Lynne 11-29-2014 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by npadbidri (Post 2524746)
Hi,

I understand above all things. I just wanted to know that,
{vb:raw user.username}
above code I found in template 'header'.
From where this header template gets object 'user' and how it can able to access it property.

I am interested know where this vBulletin variable like 'user' stored and in which php file?

Can any one help me to understand this?

Thanks!!!!

The header template is rendered in the /includes/class_bootstrap.php file around line 509. So, try looking at the code above there. (But, I don't see any $user variable registered for use in that template, nor do I see the template code "{vb:raw user.username}" being used in the header template. If you do see that, then this may be from a modification.)

TheAdminMarket 02-01-2015 09:08 AM

Any suggestion why the code below does not works as expected?
PHP Code:

<plugin active="1" executionorder="20">
    <
title>Build Advertisments Block</title>
    <
hookname>cache_templates</hookname>
    <
phpcode><![CDATA[
        global 
$db$vbulletin;
        
$group $vbulletin->db->query_first("SELECT * FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."banners_groups WHERE active=1 ORDER BY lastshow ASC LIMIT 1");
        
$groupid $group["id"];
        
$spots $group["spots"];
        
$random $group["random"];
        
$cellwidth 100/$spots;
        
// Update Group with Last Show Time
        
$timenow time();
        
$vbulletin->db->query_write("UPDATE ".TABLE_PREFIX."banners_groups SET lastshow=$timenow WHERE id=$groupid ORDER BY id ASC");
        
// List Group Advertisments
        
if ($random == 1)
        {
            
$advertisments $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."banners_advertisers WHERE groupid=$groupid AND active=1 ORDER BY rand() LIMIT $spots");
        } else {
            
$advertisments $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."banners_advertisers WHERE groupid=$groupid AND active=1 ORDER BY displayorder ASC LIMIT $spots");
        }
        
$main_bit '';
        while (
$advertisment $vbulletin->db->fetch_array($advertisments)) {
            
// Prepare Templates
            
$templater vB_Template::create('banners_main_bit');
            
$templater->register('htmlcode'htmlspecialchars_uni($advertisment[htmlcode]));
            
$templater->register('cellwidth'$cellwidth);
            
$main_bit .= $templater->render();
        }
        
$templater vB_Template::create('banners_main');
        
$templater->register('main_bit'$main_bit);
        
$templatevalues['mybanners'] = $templater->render();
        
vB_Template::preRegister('header'$templatevalues);
    ]]></
phpcode>
</
plugin

Taking in account that:
  1. I used many different hooks like: global_start, global_complete, fetch_templates etc.
  2. I also used many different templates like: ad_global_header1 etc
  3. The same code with only difference the last 2 lines is working in php file if I use: print_output($templater->render());
Thank you very much

EDIT: What I was adding in the templates is: {vb:raw mybanners}

kh99 02-01-2015 11:53 AM

I would use hook parse_templates. You say you've tried "many different templates", do you mean other hean 'header'? Of course you know, but double check that you put {vb:raw mybanners} in the same template that you preRegister() to.

TheAdminMarket 02-01-2015 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kh99 (Post 2535510)
I would use hook parse_templates. You say you've tried "many different templates", do you mean other hean 'header'? Of course you know, but double check that you put {vb:raw mybanners} in the same template that you preRegister() to.

hmm... Didn't tried that hook and sounds matching the case. As for the rest. Except a typo that I had at the very begining (ad_global_header_1 instead ad_global_header1), the other were correct. And yes I tried many templates, even custom ones from my addons. So:
  1. Difficult to be the template name or the content as the variable is correct.
  2. PHP code is correct as it works with a test file that I did.
After all the hook must be wrong. Let's try with yours :)

--------------- Added [DATE]1422806090[/DATE] at [TIME]1422806090[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by kh99 (Post 2535510)
I would use hook parse_templates.

That did the trick. Thank you.

Easy5s.net 02-20-2015 03:13 PM

hock process_templates_complete

PHP Code:

$templater vB_Template::create('testtest');
    
$templater->register('var1'$var1);
    
$templater->register('var2'$var2);
$out[test] = $templater->render();
$ad_location['global_below_navbar'] .= $out

but not work???. I want auto add temp to below navbar.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01534 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,778KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete