vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   vB Easy Archive - Search Engine Spiderable Hack! (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=65703)

Mr. Brian 08-06-2004 09:46 PM

Don't quite understand your question, can you be a bit more specific..

Cover Zero 08-06-2004 10:06 PM

PHP Code:

function fetch_vars_array()
{
    
$infos explode('/'str_replace('.html'''$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']));
    
$infos $infos[count($infos) - 1];
    
$infos explode('-'$infos);

    
$vars = array(
        
'id' => $infos[0],
        
'pagenumber' => $infos[1]
    );

    return 
$vars;


I see how it is creating the mod_mime/rewritten version of the link, but where exactly in its code does it recognize the .php file in its mod_mime html URL format? For some reason it does not recognize the URL change on my server except for the index page from this script.

Xenon 08-07-2004 11:56 AM

that code block you posted doesn't care about the extension of your forum/topic files, it just cares about the things behind the last / speak the thread/forumid and the pagenumber

stryka 08-07-2004 05:50 PM

Here;s the scenario... I installed VB3 and it overwrote my original ARCHIVE directory for this hack...

now... i didn't have time to fix it till 2months later (now) and of course my new archive pages have been googled already... but my ERROR LOG files is being filled each day with 404 ERRORS and "Call to undefined function: verifyid() " ERRORS... because GOOGLE and others have the old path...

Is there anyway to tell a browser to interpret/re-route the STORED GOOGLE LINK to what i currently have now??

Is there something else i can do?

Kru 08-07-2004 08:31 PM

I am getting the following error message if I try to open it:

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator, and inform them of the time the error occurred and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

I tested everything that were mentioned here but always getting same error. Anybody have an idea?

Xenon 08-07-2004 10:23 PM

@stryka: if you have mod_rewrite then you can use rewrite rules to make the old links forwarding to the new ones

@Kru: hmm, sorry no idea except from those which are already mentioned...

Cover Zero 08-11-2004 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
that code block you posted doesn't care about the extension of your forum/topic files, it just cares about the things behind the last / speak the thread/forumid and the pagenumber

Alright, after trying a modification then reuploading the original code I am still having issues. mod_mime should work on my server because I have already tested to see if mod_rewrite works, which it does. Do you have any other suggestions?

If this makes any difference, I have the forums uploaded in the root directory and uploaded your mod scripts overwriting the original archive folder provided by vB.

stryka 08-12-2004 02:26 AM

Hey Xenon... can you give me some more info on how to do this with mod_rewrite...

currently my old URL looks like this "/archive/topic/5727-1.html" which causes the error...

but i want it to reroute to this" /archive/index.php/t-5727.html"

Thanx in advance...



Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
@stryka: if you have mod_rewrite then you can use rewrite rules to make the old links forwarding to the new ones


porschinho 08-14-2004 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stryka
Hey Xenon... can you give me some more info on how to do this with mod_rewrite...

currently my old URL looks like this "/archive/topic/5727-1.html" which causes the error...

but i want it to reroute to this" /archive/index.php/t-5727.html"

Thanx in advance...

here are my rewrite roules:

RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /archive/
RewriteRule ^topic/([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=t-$1$2
RewriteRule ^forum/([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=f-$1$2

in addition i would rewrite the original URL

from /archive/index.php/t-xxx
to /archive/t-xxx

with this:

RewriteRule ^(f-|t-)+([0-9]+)?(-p-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=$1$2$3

Smitty 08-15-2004 04:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by porschinho
here are my rewrite roules:

RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /archive/
RewriteRule ^topic/([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=t-$1$2
RewriteRule ^forum/([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=f-$1$2

in addition i would rewrite the original URL

from /archive/index.php/t-xxx
to /archive/t-xxx

with this:

RewriteRule ^(f-|t-)+([0-9]+)?(-p-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=$1$2$3

If I remember correctly, add [R=301,L] to the end of each and it''ll throw a clean 301 (permanent move).

Cypjaxion 08-17-2004 06:39 PM

Sorry if this has already been suggested (I didn't see it), but if some people are still having troubles running the scripts (seeing the actual threads and forums besides the forum listings) then try adding this line to the top of you .htaccess file:

AcceptPathInfo On

Now the hack works for me, where previously it didn't.

/me finally clicks install after getting it working!

dutchbb 08-26-2004 04:31 PM

I installed it, when can I expect google to show pages? With vb3 own archive it wasn't working so great, but i see that other forum software makes html pages wich get listed mutch better...

Do I have to be patient?

Smitty 08-26-2004 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple_T
Do I have to be patient?

Yes.

porschinho 08-26-2004 10:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty
If I remember correctly, add [R=301,L] to the end of each and it''ll throw a clean 301 (permanent move).

HMM .. i think that google will reindex the pages with the new adress, if you add the 301 (page moved) header. and then there will be indexed pages like this: index.php?a=$1$2$3 .. or not?

i fixed it in 2 steps. at first, rewrite the old archives to the new format:
RewriteRule ^topic/([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? t-$1$2.html [R=301]

and then rewrite to the real index.php:
RewriteRule ^t-([0-9]+)?(-[0-9]+)? index.php?a=t-$1$2 [L]


with this google will change the URIs from /topic/12345-1.html to /t-12345-1.html
in its index.

i changed the rules 2 days ago and now i am waiting for the next freshbot ...

joeychgo 09-05-2004 03:12 AM

Uploaded a new version???????????

What do I do with this???? How do I update??

Also --how do I make the index show in the "whos online" properly?

Xenon 09-05-2004 05:39 PM

you just have to upload the changed files to install the new version.

or if more work would be required i would have mentioned it within the post i made when i released the new version

joeychgo 09-09-2004 07:44 PM

how do I make the index show in the "whos online" properly?

Xenon 09-09-2004 08:57 PM

Well, as it doesn't use the normal forum directory, i was actually too lazy to write that part right now ;)

teksigns 09-10-2004 01:13 AM

Is Apache absolutely necessary to make this work ?

joeychgo 09-10-2004 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
Well, as it doesn't use the normal forum directory, i was actually too lazy to write that part right now ;)


Something I just noticed.........

vba CMPS pages are not listed. Is there some way to intergrate those? I am making alot of custom content on CMPS pages......It would be nice to have them listed.........

TCB 09-11-2004 09:14 AM

This really drives me nuts! I was so happy to find this hack, since I can't seem to have the vB archive working (php as cgi).

But after uploading the files from this hack to the (now empty) archive folder I changed the config file to set the right paths.

With this clean install I could see the messageboard in archive format (www.mydomain.com/archive/index.php). But as soon as I clicked on a link to a forum (http://www.mydomain.com/archive/forum/19-1.html) I received a normal vbulletin page with the message 'No Forum specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the webmaster'. The pictures on that page didn't show up because they were linked to www.mydomain.com/archive/forum/images, instead of www.mydomain.com/images.

Anyhow, I thought the maybe the mime_mod wasn't installed on the server. So I changed forum to forum.php, just as topic to topic.php. I also changed that in the config.php file.

The result was more or less the same. The link changed to http://www.mydomain.com/archive/forum.php/19-1.html and I still received a standard vbulletin errorpage without the images showing up (but with all colours etc.).

So what should/can I do in order to have a good running archive on a server where php is installed as cgi and mod_mime isn't enabled? :disappointed:

GregCav 09-11-2004 10:41 AM

I installed the non mod_mime version because I'm too impatient to wait around for my host to install something :) This worked great, though. I typed the URL of the newly indexed, spiderable list of my forums and it appeared easy as pie.

Thanks to whoever wrote this. Now let's see those hits start coming in :)

BTW - i submitted the URL to google as suggested in Install.txt. Do other search engines have places where you can add your URL? And about how long does it take for these search engines to crawl my pages? Do they do it cyclically, like every week or month or something? I'm just wondering when I should expect the traffic to start kicking up.

Thanks again. K+ for all :)

Greg

Xenon 09-11-2004 03:59 PM

@Greg: Yes, at least most bigger searchengines have such places to add your url

@tek: AFAIK yes. At least other Servers have problems with executing files within the path of the url it seems.

@joey: hmm, my hack just displays the normal thread/forums. If the cpms has different db tables for it's content it won't be displayed of course :)

@TCB: sorry, there are some serverconfigurations where the archive doesn't work. I don't know exactly why, but it is so...

TCB 09-11-2004 04:05 PM

I have managed to get the original vBulletin to work with 3.0.3 on a server with php as CGI. I have copied to archive files from 3.0.1 over the new archive files (3.0.3) and edited the global.php and index.php files according to this thread: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...hlight=archive

Thanks for your hack and help though :D

MetalMilitia 09-14-2004 07:39 PM

If its already been asked, you can point me to the post number.

Let's say I wanted to use this for an overall site map. What would I have to do in order to have this work in an alternate, non-forums directory.

Rather than having /forums/sitemap/ how could I get it to pull the info from the forums if it were in my main dir and just /sitemap/

Thank you in advance.

MaTT

Xenon 09-20-2004 01:15 PM

hmm, not that easy, as the directory structure is needed for the includes aso.

It should be possible by doing a mod_rewrite and manually changing the urls within my hack, to not use the forumurl variable.

As said it SHOULD work like that but i haven't tested it, and cannot give any support for that

joeychgo 09-26-2004 05:58 PM

Ive noticed yahoo doesnt seem to notice the archive, while google loves it........ I never see yahoo in the archive....

Any thoughts?

Xenon 09-26-2004 09:41 PM

hmm, i'd wonder why, actually i don't see yahoo anywhere normally^^

TheComputerGuy 09-29-2004 02:24 AM

PHP Code:

Fatal errorCall to undefined function: verifyid() in /home/****/public_html/forums/archives/forum.php on line 18 

I renamed it...any idea what I am doing wrong?

Xenon 09-29-2004 12:07 PM

hmm, i have no idea, but the function is called verify_id()

and in the version i uploaded it's called like that, so i gues you have made a modification to the hack, and that went wrong.

lazserus 10-01-2004 04:40 AM

vBulletin has a built in archiving feature. What's the big difference between this hack and vB's already built in sitemapping utility?

tfw2005 10-01-2004 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lazserus
vBulletin has a built in archiving feature. What's the big difference between this hack and vB's already built in sitemapping utility?

OK, I read every post in this thread, didnt see anything for this.

Have Apache, Mod_mime installed

Using mod_mime version

Forum index works, but when you click a link, I get a pop up window with

Code:


query_first(" SELECT COUNT(threadid) AS threads FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS deletionlog ON(thread.threadid = deletionlog.primaryid AND type = 'thread') WHERE forumid = $forumid AND visible = 1 AND deletionlog.primaryid IS NULL "); $pagination = fetch_pagelinks($threadcount['threads'], $archive_options['forumfile'] . '/' . $forumid); $threads = $DB_site->query(" SELECT threadid, title FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS deletionlog ON(thread.threadid = deletionlog.primaryid AND type = 'thread') WHERE forumid = $forumid AND visible = 1 AND deletionlog.primaryid IS NULL ORDER BY sticky DESC, lastpost DESC LIMIT " . (($pagenumber - 1) * 200) . ", 200 "); $threadbits = ''; while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads)) { $threadbits .= "
$thread[title]\n"; } archive_output(" $pagination

$threadbits
"); ?>

Something Im missing? I had 500 and parse errors earlier, but got them fixed. This issue tho, everything seems configed and installed server side as discussed here.

Test it out at

www.tfw2005.com/boards/archive/

Xenon 10-01-2004 12:37 PM

you may have uploaded a corrupted file.

try to download the zip again, and use an FTP program which takes care about your files.
there are some which can corrupt them.

tfw2005 10-01-2004 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
you may have uploaded a corrupted file.

try to download the zip again, and use an FTP program which takes care about your files.
there are some which can corrupt them.

I redownloaded it from here. Unpacked, edited config, uploaded via FTP again. CHMODed to 755 on all files, and directory archive. Set FTP to ASCII as default. Same error

I did notice that forum and topic were still uploading in Binary even tho I had ASCII set to be forced.

I then renamed them to forum.php and topic.php on my comp, uploaded in ascii, CHMODED to 755, and renamed on the server back to forum and topic.

Same issue.

A side note, I uploaded all via WINSCP, SFTP as root, and got 500 errors. Owner and group changed to root when I did that so I think that was the issue.

Is it possible the VB.org version of the file is corrupted, or, there is another server side issue?

Im running a Linux box, Apache, Proftpd 1.29 (which was just patched to work again), Mysql 4X.

Ill try with a different FTP program, but this is the issue so far.

EDIT: Via Core FTP, same issue.

Xenon 10-01-2004 03:56 PM

hmm, wierd...

i have no idea, but the vb.org file is ok, as you're the only one having that error.

tfw2005 10-01-2004 06:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
hmm, wierd...

i have no idea, but the vb.org file is ok, as you're the only one having that error.

OK, well this is really weird.

I switched to the .php versions of this, edited config and forum / topic files accordingly, and now get a 500 error for anything under the index.

Any reason known as to why that issue would happen, aside from the other probelm?

Xenon 10-02-2004 12:08 PM

Hmm?

it seems to be working regarding your link above?

tfw2005 10-02-2004 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
Hmm?

it seems to be working regarding your link above?

That is because I ditched this version, and found out how to get the VB version working. That wasnt working because PHP is installed as CGI on my server. I found a German HOW TO on converting the default VB archive to work under that, and ran with that.

Does your version rely on PHP being installed as a module in apache? If so, then it may not work just like the regular VB archive did not. I translated the German walk thru to english (not literal, just what I did) here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showp...2&postcount=43

I would still love to get yours installed as well, it just didnt seem within my scope to figure out why it wasnt working right now.

Xenon 10-02-2004 05:02 PM

Actually i'm not very good at server configurations and problems, so you may be right that this is the reason.

Well actually i just wrote that hack, for those who had installed the vb2 version, so they won't loose any entries. :)

I may look at it when my schedule gets less busy, maybe i can find the reason behind.

joeychgo 10-03-2004 06:17 AM

how can I change the title bar in a post?


The title now reads

Lincoln vs Cadillac forums - Thread Title

Id like to just have the thread title -or have my forum name afterward


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01457 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,851KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete