vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   QuoteIt! Quote Management System v1.2 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62470)

Azhrialilu 03-21-2004 05:03 PM

I did that and it didn't work...... but then I went out shopping.. and when I came back it was working .. go figure lol

Acido 03-24-2004 05:08 PM

Who's On Line Locations for Quote.php Functions:


in includes/functions_online.php

find:

PHP Code:

case 'bugs.php':
  
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
  break; 

Below add:

PHP Code:

case 'quotes.php':
  if (
$values['do'] == 'list')
  {
   
$userinfo['activity'] = 'listaquotes';
  }
  else if (
$values['do'] == 'addquote')
  {
   
$userinfo['activity'] = 'agregaquotes';
  }
  else if (
$values['do'] == 'delquote')
  {
   
$userinfo['activity'] = 'borraquotes';
  }
  break; 

Find:

PHP Code:

case 'modcplogin':
   
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
   break; 

Below add:

PHP Code:

case 'listaquotes'
            
$userinfo['action'] = '<a href="quotes.php?do=list">Quote List</a>'
            break;
  case 
'agregaquotes'
            
$userinfo['action'] = '<a href="quotes.php?do=addquote">Adding Quotes</a>';
            break;
  case 
'borraquotes'
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Deleting Quotes';
            break; 

Done :squareeyed:
If you have skill, you can change the labels with custom phrases.
Hope Help ;)

magnus 03-24-2004 07:20 PM

Acido, awesome! I've gone ahead and added a link to this on the first page. :)

djohn 03-25-2004 12:42 PM

Thanks, Acido!
Magnus, will this be included in v.2?

Sal Collaziano 03-25-2004 02:03 PM

This is all I get (how do I add the first quote?):

""
( | | ) -

Ravenheart 03-25-2004 02:26 PM

You have to go into Phrases, select any of the quote phrases, edit it (don't touch the wording at all) and just click save. Worked for me.

magnus 03-26-2004 02:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djohn
Thanks, Acido!
Magnus, will this be included in v.2?

Yes.

VAN 03-30-2004 02:45 AM

How can this be added to the Header? I'd like it displayed on all pages, not just Forumhome. :)

magnus 03-30-2004 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VAN
How can this be added to the Header? I'd like it displayed on all pages, not just Forumhome. :)

Install the hack as normal, but instead of making changes to INDEX.PHP, make them to GLOBAL.PHP. Then, use $showrandomquote in your HEADER rather than FORUMHOME template.

VAN 03-31-2004 04:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by magnus
Install the hack as normal, but instead of making changes to INDEX.PHP, make them to GLOBAL.PHP. Then, use $showrandomquote in your HEADER rather than FORUMHOME template.

Thats what I tried first, but it doesnt work. The only way I've been able to get it to work in the header is to paste the code from Step 1 into my phpinclude template.

BTW, I've managed to add in the things I mentioned in my suggestion post. If I get it cleaned up enough, I'll post it as an add-on. :)

VAN 04-02-2004 05:41 AM

Another suggestion for the next version...

Paging. Would be cool if we could set the # of quotes shown in the list via a setting in the admincp. :) I'm having a lot of fun tweaking this one. You've inspired me, magnus! :D

magnus 04-03-2004 02:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VAN
Another suggestion for the next version...

Paging. Would be cool if we could set the # of quotes shown in the list via a setting in the admincp. :) I'm having a lot of fun tweaking this one. You've inspired me, magnus! :D

Too late. ;) Just append &perpage={x} to the request, for example:

http://www.yoursite.com/forum/quotes...ist&perpage=10 will list only 10 quotes per page, etc.. ;)

I'm glad you're enjoying the hack, VAN. Version 2.0 should be out soon, I'm just working out some quirks with the rating system. :D

Geographic2 04-12-2004 08:27 PM

*fingers tapping* *tap* *tap* tap*.... ;)

djohn 04-13-2004 10:49 AM

Any news on the second version magnus?

PET 04-13-2004 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ravenheart
You have to go into Phrases, select any of the quote phrases, edit it (don't touch the wording at all) and just click save. Worked for me.

yap. it is working

magnus 04-14-2004 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djohn
Any news on the second version magnus?

It's there. Still quirky, but I haven't had too much time to work on it. I just released vBGarage as well, so now I have two hacks to tinker with, lol. :D

It'll get released, though. :)

NameWolf 04-15-2004 10:40 AM

Hello,

I am getting the following error on the main page ;

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved=1 ORDER BY rand() LIMIT 1

mysql error: Table 'talking_vbulletin.quotes' doesn't exist

mysql error number: 1146

Date: Thursday 15th of April 2004 02:32:20 PM

I installed the v1.2 on VB3 Gold. Do I still need to follow your upgrade instructions ?

Thanks,

NW

magnus 04-15-2004 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NameWolf
Hello,

I am getting the following error on the main page ;

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved=1 ORDER BY rand() LIMIT 1

mysql error: Table 'talking_vbulletin.quotes' doesn't exist

mysql error number: 1146

Date: Thursday 15th of April 2004 02:32:20 PM

I installed the v1.2 on VB3 Gold. Do I still need to follow your upgrade instructions ?

Thanks,

NW

You haven't created the quotes table in your database. Did you run the installer??

No, you're already running v1.2. You don't need to run any upgrades.

PET 04-15-2004 10:11 PM

What about posiblity to EDIT quotes ? I use quoteIt as a NEWS sistem, so i may want to modify a "news" then delete it and then repost it again.

magnus 04-15-2004 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PET
What about posiblity to EDIT quotes ? I use quoteIt as a NEWS sistem, so i may want to modify a "news" then delete it and then repost it again.

Sure, I could implement an edit feature.

NameWolf 04-15-2004 11:39 PM

magnus, installer has been run and the quotes table is there as far as I can see from phpmyadmin.

Thanks in advance.

NW

magnus 04-16-2004 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NameWolf
magnus, installer has been run and the quotes table is there as far as I can see from phpmyadmin.

Thanks in advance.

NW

Well, then apparently your database has a problem with the " . TABLE_PREFIX . ". Go ahead and edit the quotes.php (and quoteadmin.php) and remove all occurances of " . TABLE_PREFIX . "

PET 04-20-2004 09:34 PM

well...if you add the EDIT OPTIONS i will be very happy :)

paratek 04-21-2004 10:50 AM

The only problem I am having, is the "view all" quotes. It will not list all the quotes, only the first one i entered. The link is calling correctly i believe

http://www.dmaclan.com/forums/quotes.php?do=list

**Update**

It appears i needed to moderate the quotes before they appeared in the "view all" This needed to be done even though i had moderate quotes set to off. All the added quotes randomly appeared anyway, just not in the "view all"

any ideas?

magnus 04-21-2004 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paratek
The only problem I am having, is the "view all" quotes. It will not list all the quotes, only the first one i entered. The link is calling correctly i believe

http://www.dmaclan.com/forums/quotes.php?do=list

**Update**

It appears i needed to moderate the quotes before they appeared in the "view all" This needed to be done even though i had moderate quotes set to off. All the added quotes randomly appeared anyway, just not in the "view all"

any ideas?

If you have moderation off, and you still need to moderate quotes for them to show up, it would seem you have an invalid file/template edit somewhere. Without access to your forum and database, that's my best guess.

bioless 04-23-2004 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Platinumgamer
I had a similar problem to what you're describing. I found that the install actually did work fine, but that nothing was showing up. To fix this, simply go to AdminCP -> Languages and Phrases -> Phrase Manager -> Edit any phrase you see, but don't change anything, just click 'Save' -> Refresh your browser -> Click 'Moderation' -> Voila...Moderate Quotes shows up and all is working fine.

Don't know why that happens, but it seems to be the common error.

Thank you for making that much clearer!

Eternal2u 04-25-2004 05:07 AM

nice system..

i been wanting something like this for awhile...much prop's...

Chris-FH 04-25-2004 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eternal2u
nice system..

i been wanting something like this for awhile...much prop's...

Great work... :)

But I have a problem. For testing, I added some quotes, but on forumhome, only one, always the same one, is shown...

Before you ask, I set the Disable Quote Moderation to yes, and all the quotes were shown on quotes.php?do=list... ;-)

Any suggestion to fix the problem?

C.

//Only the last Post I added is shown...

//I checked all the templates, I dropped the quotes table und created it new, now the first quote I added is shown...

sean289855 04-26-2004 04:19 PM

Will this work in VB 3.0.1. The reaso I ask is I ma getting nothing to display.

Wifey 04-27-2004 04:28 AM

I had added everything exactly as you've said to, and I'm having a problem. Everything works except I can't see any quotes. I do not have the moderate quotes option in my admincp and I have absolutely no idea why.

edit: Okay vB is really freakin' fickle, is it not? I logged out and relogged in and it's showing up.

magnus 04-27-2004 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris-FH
Great work... :)

But I have a problem. For testing, I added some quotes, but on forumhome, only one, always the same one, is shown...

Before you ask, I set the Disable Quote Moderation to yes, and all the quotes were shown on quotes.php?do=list... ;-)

Any suggestion to fix the problem?

C.

//Only the last Post I added is shown...

//I checked all the templates, I dropped the quotes table und created it new, now the first quote I added is shown...

What version of MySQL/PHP are you running?

magnus 04-27-2004 01:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sean289855
Will this work in VB 3.0.1. The reaso I ask is I ma getting nothing to display.

Yes. It should work fine. What's not showing up exactly? Are you seeing the Random Quote box, or are you just not seeing quotes? Etc..

Chris-FH 04-27-2004 04:04 PM

Hey magnus... :)

PHP v4.3.1 and MySQL v3.23.53 is running. Last night, I got some help, and now, it works:

Find:

PHP Code:

         $result_quote $DB_site->query("
            SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved=1 ORDER BY rand() LIMIT 1 

and change it to

PHP Code:

        srand((double)microtime()*1000000000); 
        
$rand_v rand(); 
        
$result_quote $DB_site->query("
            SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved = 1 ORDER BY rand(
$rand_v

C.

magnus 04-27-2004 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris-FH
Hey magnus... :)

PHP v4.3.1 and MySQL v3.23.53 is running. Last night, I got some help, and now, it works:

Find:

PHP Code:

         $result_quote $DB_site->query("
            SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved=1 ORDER BY rand() LIMIT 1 

and change it to

PHP Code:

        srand((double)microtime()*1000000000); 
        
$rand_v rand(); 
        
$result_quote $DB_site->query("
            SELECT * FROM quotes WHERE approved = 1 ORDER BY rand(
$rand_v

C.

Yup. The earlier MySQL workaround. Good job! Glad you got it working. ;)

Wifey 05-02-2004 09:35 PM

Hey :) When someone is looking at the quotes page in Who's Online, it shows them as being on a weird page - I'm pretty sure it said quotes.php? Any way to fix that? No hurry, it's not a big deal and I know you're busy :)

ryancooper 05-14-2004 11:20 PM

I ran the script and did all the updates but I get no quote. Made sure it was turned on and everything. Looks like some phrases are missing. See pic..

Thanks for any help . ..

ryancooper 05-15-2004 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ryancooper
I ran the script and did all the updates but I get no quote. Made sure it was turned on and everything. Looks like some templaes are missing. See pic..


Thanks for any help . ..

Just checked all phrases and templatyes and they are all there. Any ideas? I would really love to get this up an running<

thanks

djohn 05-15-2004 05:59 PM

Magnus, maybe i could help you finish off the hack faster, if you shared what you have done so far. Or beta test it.

nineball 05-18-2004 02:23 AM

Here is a module you can upload to your modules directory to add a quote block to the latest version of vbadvanced

eob 05-22-2004 12:34 PM

You could adapt this hack very easily to make a comments hack, where users could add comments to the end of news articles and non-VB pages...! Any chance of making it happen or would you be offended if I altered it myself?


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01656 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,851KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_php_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete