vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Administrative and Maintenance Tools - BBR Google Analytics Addon (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229347)

asuffredini 01-06-2010 04:33 PM

How do I import the xml file? Thanks!

BBR-APBT 01-06-2010 11:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by asuffredini (Post 1948913)
How do I import the xml file? Thanks!

Just like you install any modification on vbulletin.

adminCP --> Plugins & Products --> Manage Products
Then at the bottom click [Add/Import Product]

TheSupportForum 01-06-2010 11:51 PM

their are variables that havent been updated to vbulletin 4 yet and using vb3 variables
this does not work for vb4

for example

[if ($vbulletin->options['bbr_google_active']) is vb3 variables

<vb:if condition="$vboptions['bbr_google_active']">


you will need to run through you codes again

BBR-APBT 01-07-2010 12:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1949188)
their are variables that havent been updated to vbulletin 4 yet and using vb3 variables
this does not work for vb4

for example

[if ($vbulletin->options['bbr_google_active']) is vb3 variables

<vb:if condition="$vboptions['bbr_google_active']">


you will need to run through you codes again

This is coded for vBulletin 4.0. What are you talking about.

There are template conditionals and you use your regular php code in your plugins.
This modification works just fine.

asuffredini 01-07-2010 11:44 AM

Thanks!

Fusion2 01-08-2010 02:27 PM

How do i "import xml"?

BBR-APBT 01-08-2010 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fusion2 (Post 1950395)
How do i "import xml"?

Just like you install any modification on vbulletin.

adminCP --> Plugins & Products --> Manage Products
Then at the bottom click [Add/Import Product]

TheSupportForum 01-10-2010 11:45 PM

hi just to let you know


the new code has now changed to



Code:

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
try{
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}
</script>


please can you update your script to work with this please

BBR-APBT 01-10-2010 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1952366)
hi just to let you know


the new code has now changed to



Code:

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
try{
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}
</script>


please can you update your script to work with this please

That is the code that I was using that every one was having problems with.

This is working if you wish to change it in your copy, your more then welcome to.

Hubsi 01-13-2010 06:32 PM

Has anyone tested it with 4.0.1?

BBR-APBT 01-13-2010 06:35 PM

It will work with 4.0.1

This has nothing really fancy to make it break.

This should work for almost any vBulletin version.

HondaATC 01-13-2010 06:44 PM

Its working for me so far Hubsi.

Hubsi 01-13-2010 06:47 PM

THX, for the fast answer :)

Bossland 01-18-2010 03:14 PM

Now i dont think that i am stupid, but:

Quote:

1) Import the XML file
How the hell can i import an XML, clicked myself through all the Admin Panel and Settings options, and have not found a way to import any XML except the Languages.

Bossland 01-18-2010 03:20 PM

Nevermind, where vbulletin.com /.de / .org forums have not brougth me any help by searching, google did.

This "Link" was even with the manual not easy to locate

meissenation 01-18-2010 05:40 PM

Installed thanks!

3DUInc 01-19-2010 06:58 PM

Thank you :)

ddrake 01-20-2010 11:39 PM

Thanks! Installed.

meissenation 01-21-2010 07:02 PM

Is it at all possible that the google analytics would increase bandwidth utilization of the NIC? I installed this on the 18th and my bandwidth utilization has literally doubled immediately. I don't know if it was having Google Analytics on my site that has caused an increase in spider activity or something or if it's just coincidence? I went from averaging 4gb bytes out per day to 10gb bytes out.

Sotonforum.co.u 01-22-2010 10:51 PM

I don't understand where I add the Tracking Code from Google?
Is it in a template? If so, which one?
Or do I need to edit the xml?
I'm so confused!?

BBR-APBT 01-22-2010 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sotonforum.co.u (Post 1963870)
I don't understand where I add the Tracking Code from Google?
Is it in a template? If so, which one?
Or do I need to edit the xml?
I'm so confused!?

once you import the xml file, all you need to do is go to your adminCP -> settings -> options-> BBR- Google

and put in your api key number.

You will not receive no more support till you click install.

Sotonforum.co.u 01-23-2010 04:03 PM

Thankyou for speedy response.
I hadn't marked it as installed yet as I didn't think I had fully installed it. I've marked it now.
I thought I had to add my Google analytics code above the </body> tag of one of the files?

BBR-APBT 01-23-2010 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sotonforum.co.u (Post 1964511)
Thankyou for speedy response.
I hadn't marked it as installed yet as I didn't think I had fully installed it. I've marked it now.
I thought I had to add my Google analytics code above the </body> tag of one of the files?

No just import the XML file via plugins and products.

They add your key in the settings/options in the adminCP.
This adds the code for you automatically.

Jeremy8 01-25-2010 03:51 PM

Found a mistake:
Quote:

Remember it takes 24hours for Google to collect data. To make sure it works look at the source code and make sure the google code is displayed just above the </body> tag.
I think you meant </head>

Sotonforum.co.u 01-25-2010 05:30 PM

Thanks for your help BBR-APBT. :)

g10net 01-28-2010 06:05 PM

When adding or inserting Google Analytics tracking code in vBulletin 4 forums software, either in styles, templates, plugins, products or ad HTML code of newly added advertising function, error message similar to the following may appear when saving the code:

The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ‘[‘
in /home/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(4595) : eval()’d code on line 18

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It’s highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

Two options of “Go Back” or “Continue” are available for user selection. And of course, even if user forcefully save and make active or enable the Google Analytics tracking code, the script doesn’t work, and does not appear on web pages.

Google Analytics tracking code or script contains some special characters which does not parse properly. Thus, in order to embed Google Analytics tracking code, the easier way is to wrap the code with <vb:literal> and </vb:literal> tags so that the code is treated literally during page rendering.

For example,

<vb:literal>
<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">\>
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("****");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
</vb:literal>

The Google Analytics tracking code can be placed in footer template, or better suggestion is to place it into ad_footer_end template (inside Ad Location Templates) as to avoid future upgrading issues where templates need to manually merged.

BBR-APBT 01-28-2010 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by g10net (Post 1969189)
When adding or inserting Google Analytics tracking code in vBulletin 4 forums software, either in styles, templates, plugins, products or ad HTML code of newly added advertising function, error message similar to the following may appear when saving the code:

The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ?[?
in /home/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(4595) : eval()?d code on line 18

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It?s highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.


Two options of ?Go Back? or ?Continue? are available for user selection. And of course, even if user forcefully save and make active or enable the Google Analytics tracking code, the script doesn?t work, and does not appear on web pages.

Google Analytics tracking code or script contains some special characters which does not parse properly. Thus, in order to embed Google Analytics tracking code, the easier way is to wrap the code with <vb:literal> and </vb:literal> tags so that the code is treated literally during page rendering.

For example,

<vb:literal>
<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">\>
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("****");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
</vb:literal>

The Google Analytics tracking code can be placed in footer template, or better suggestion is to place it into ad_footer_end template (inside Ad Location Templates) as to avoid future upgrading issues where templates need to manually merged.


Simple install my plugin. Makes it easier all the way around.

balkanboy 01-28-2010 10:09 PM

thanks :D

Gnappy 01-30-2010 03:27 PM

really useful.

Thanks dude!

BBR-APBT 01-31-2010 07:20 PM

Updated:
Version: 1.0.3 - Rewrite of the code to give the option to use the (Standard Tracking Code) or the (Asynchronous Tracking Code)

Numenorean7 01-31-2010 07:25 PM

Nice, thank you for the update :)

texasteamplayer 01-31-2010 07:41 PM

why does it matter? one setting or the other? (standard or asynchronous?)

update necessary?

BBR-APBT 01-31-2010 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 1971566)
why does it matter? one setting or the other? (standard or asynchronous?)

update necessary?

They are two different codes.
One is above the opening body tag. One is above the closing body tag.

There is no need to update but it is recommended. as I have moved where the code was placed in the head. I figured some people wanted to use the standard code.

The mod used to use the Asynchronous Tracking Code full time. Now you have the option is all. I like the standard code for me personally. I like the code loading at the end of everything for the forums loads and not before.

Michael Tsai 01-31-2010 10:31 PM

How to Import the XML file?:confused:

BBR-APBT 01-31-2010 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael Tsai (Post 1971706)
How to Import the XML file?:confused:

Well you got your answer on vBulletin.com since you are to impatient to give me time to answer you. I am sorry my free support is not fast enough for you.

Your answer awaits you here: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...nalytics-Addon

:down:

Michael Tsai 01-31-2010 11:20 PM

How to ?
4) Input your Google Account ID (UA-xxxxxx-x)

BBR-APBT 01-31-2010 11:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael Tsai (Post 1971737)
How to ?
4) Input your Google Account ID (UA-xxxxxx-x)

Read number 2 of the install instructions. A little bit of reading goes a long way.

Michael Tsai 01-31-2010 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1971738)
Read number 2 of the install instructions. A little bit of reading goes a long way.

The number 2 should be:
AdminCP -> Settings -> Options -> BBR Google Analytics
Thanks, anyway!

BBR-APBT 01-31-2010 11:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael Tsai (Post 1971745)
The number 2 should be:
AdminCP -> Settings -> Options -> BBR Google Analytics
Thanks, anyway!

Well I figured if people are going to install a modification, They would know where the options for almost every modification is located.

TheSupportForum 01-31-2010 11:55 PM

when can u try implent the new analystics code

i've tried it many times as a plugin or php file and still no luck, any chances of trying some time please


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01454 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,830KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (14)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete