vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Board Optimization - datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=141005)

Zia 04-02-2007 04:11 AM

Helo code Mokey..

do u mind to report it at
http://trac.lighttpd.net/xcache/
with ur info..

Thanks

Code Monkey 04-04-2007 03:16 AM

I had to turn this off. It doesn' seem to update the cache from the command line. Meaning, when a script that updates the datastore is run in a browser it works fine, when it's run as a server cron it does nothing. I'm not sure if it's a vBulletin issue or an xcache issue. I just have no time to look into it right now.

NeutralizeR 04-05-2007 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Code Monkey (Post 1219425)
I had to turn this off. It doesn' seem to update the cache from the command line. Meaning, when a script that updates the datastore is run in a browser it works fine, when it's run as a server cron it does nothing. I'm not sure if it's a vBulletin issue or an xcache issue. I just have no time to look into it right now.

Hi,

Thanks for the tip for:
PHP Code:

if(!defined('VBA_SCRIPT'))
{
    
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';


I use this hack for the cron:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=123719

Maybe you should give a try because it doesn't seem i have any cron issues...

Code Monkey 04-06-2007 03:39 AM

LOL, very cute showing me my own hack. However, I am refering to server cron. I have some very intensive scripts on certain sites that run every few minutes and need to be run using the command line.

Now that the xcache forums are back up I see it does not support cli yet. So I will wait. Meanwhile, it does a great job caching and optimizing the PHP scripts.

foulplay 04-06-2007 09:48 AM

I just installed xcache and my boards are running smooth and fast.

I will install this hack once all the bugs have been fixed.

NeutralizeR 04-06-2007 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Code Monkey (Post 1220797)
LOL, very cute showing me my own hack. However, I am refering to server cron. I have some very intensive scripts on certain sites that run every few minutes and need to be run using the command line.

Now that the xcache forums are back up I see it does not support cli yet. So I will wait. Meanwhile, it does a great job caching and optimizing the PHP scripts.

I knew i'd seen your name before :P

I also have cronjobs set to run every few minutes (via cpanel - rsync between multiple servers)

They are fine for me.

Code Monkey 04-07-2007 01:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR (Post 1220936)
I knew i'd seen your name before :P

I also have cronjobs set to run every few minutes (via cpanel - rsync between multiple servers)

They are fine for me.

That's very interesting since the xcache website says it does not support the command line interface at this time.

IsMaR 04-07-2007 05:04 AM

how do install xcache in first place

NeutralizeR 04-07-2007 05:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Code Monkey (Post 1221574)
That's very interesting since the xcache website says it does not support the command line interface at this time.

Maybe we are still talking about the different things but whatever :) Peace...

TECK 04-22-2007 04:11 PM

Personally, I would not go this way.
I prefer installing memcached (for datastore) then use XCache for the rest of the php files.
From my tests, this combination improves the VB performance by over 250%. Expecially if you use 2 servers or more for your site.

An example: With the above setup, the forumhome memory usage drops from 3,500KB to 720KB.
The rest is cached by the memcached/XCache combo.

Still, that does not say your code is bad. Congrats on a good idea. :)

Masala4india 04-22-2007 04:45 PM

i m also getting this error
Fatal error: Class vb_datastore_xcache: Cannot inherit from undefined class vb_datastore in /home/forum/public_html/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php on line 14

i checked the answer of phpxcache regarding this error but unable to do. Please guide me.

foulplay 04-22-2007 05:49 PM

Anybody get this mod working okay? Sounds like a brilliant idea!

Zia 04-24-2007 07:31 AM

its working on our site without any single issue...

b4 using it..u must have xcache installed

Atakan KOC 06-05-2007 06:41 AM

Fatal error: XCache variable data cache is not enabled, please set xcache.var_size in php.ini in /includes/class_datastore_xcache.php on line 39

Snider 06-05-2007 10:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Atakan KOC (Post 1261592)
Fatal error: XCache variable data cache is not enabled, please set xcache.var_size in php.ini in /includes/class_datastore_xcache.php on line 39

Read the post !!

gabrielt 06-18-2007 11:23 PM

Quote:

I prefer installing memcached (for datastore) then use XCache for the rest of the php files. From my tests, this combination improves the VB performance by over 250%. Expecially if you use 2 servers or more for your site.
I am running memcached here. Can I use both or they are mutual exclusive? Anyone made performance tests comparing the two?

Thanks
Gabriel.

eva2000 06-19-2007 07:29 AM

haven't used memcached but just installed xcache/datastore hack on one of my forums.. made a tremendous difference to the speed :D

excellent stuff !

anyone have any ideas how this would work with load balanced multi web server setup ? guess memcached would work better for load balanced servers ?

gabrielt 06-19-2007 08:18 PM

Quote:

anyone have any ideas how this would work with load balanced multi web server setup ? guess memcached would work better for load balanced servers ?
I use memcached on my setup, I have two webservers and I installed memcached on my MySQL server, so the memcached on MySQL server caches for both webservers.

Gabriel.

phpxcache 06-21-2007 01:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabrielt (Post 1271351)
I am running memcached here. Can I use both or they are mutual exclusive? Anyone made performance tests comparing the two?

Thanks
Gabriel.

you can use XCache as opcode cacher, while using xcache OR memcached as vBulletin datastore cache.

Yellow Slider 06-30-2007 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phpxcache (Post 1272882)
you can use XCache as opcode cacher, while using xcache OR memcached as vBulletin datastore cache.

Can you explain how?, I'll installed the Xcache hack, and It will Cache the php files?, can someone explain what do you mean by "datastore"?

how can I work with memcache and Xcache to get the most out of the two of them?
memcache will cache the DB ( how exactly ? ) there is another hack?
and the Xcache will cache the php time? and the php process time will be faster?

phpxcache 07-01-2007 12:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yellow Slider (Post 1279944)
Can you explain how?, I'll installed the Xcache hack, and It will Cache the php files?, can someone explain what do you mean by "datastore"?

how can I work with memcache and Xcache to get the most out of the two of them?
memcache will cache the DB ( how exactly ? ) there is another hack?
and the Xcache will cache the php time? and the php process time will be faster?

u need no hack but just install XCache extension to cache php.

this hack/addon just allow you cache datastore to XCache beside memcached/file/apc/...
so if you wanna use memcache for DB/datastore, just install XCache extension but not this hack.

the meaning of "datastore" is defined by vbulletin, not me. it's simply a DB cache, nothing more, nothing less.

Yellow Slider 07-01-2007 12:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phpxcache (Post 1280246)
u need no hack but just install XCache extension to cache php.

this hack/addon just allow you cache datastore to XCache beside memcached/file/apc/...
so if you wanna use memcache for DB/datastore, just install XCache extension but not this hack.

the meaning of "datastore" is defined by vbulletin, not me. it's simply a DB cache, nothing more, nothing less.

Can i use this modification (off course with Xcache installed ) and to work with Memcache at the same time?
beside of that, What do you think will do the work better Xcache with this hack or Memcache?
Are they doing the same things?

There is DC caching and PHP caching, What do I use Memcache for?

phpxcache 07-01-2007 12:39 PM

XCache datastore is same as file/apc/memcached data sore, u just pick one of them.
1. use XCache for php caching, and/or:
2. use of and ONLY one of "ea/file/apc/memcached/XCache" for datastore caching,
u can't do Xcache_datastore + memcached_datastore or anther combination, but you can
xcache_php_caching + xcache_datastore
or xcache_php_caching + memcached_datastore
or xcache_php_caching + file_datastore etc

"ea/file/apc/memcached" is officially supported by vBulletin, this hack only add and XCache optional choice for you.

rootnik 07-01-2007 06:27 PM

What is the lowest I should set my var.cache size?

Would it be foolish to set it to something as low a 4M? I ask because after running it for about an hour I only used around 2mb of the cache and it was showing no signs of maxing out.

Paul M 07-01-2007 06:37 PM

4M is plenty if you are only using it for vbulletin (I only have mine set to 2M).

Yellow Slider 07-02-2007 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phpxcache (Post 1280560)
XCache datastore is same as file/apc/memcached data sore, u just pick one of them.
1. use XCache for php caching, and/or:
2. use of and ONLY one of "ea/file/apc/memcached/XCache" for datastore caching,
u can't do Xcache_datastore + memcached_datastore or anther combination, but you can
xcache_php_caching + xcache_datastore
or xcache_php_caching + memcached_datastore
or xcache_php_caching + file_datastore etc

"ea/file/apc/memcached" is officially supported by vBulletin, this hack only add and XCache optional choice for you.

And this modification is caching php or datastore?
Are you planning to release a modification that will work with Xcache / memcache and will cache php too?

Thanks a lot.

TECK 07-02-2007 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabrielt (Post 1271351)
I am running memcached here. Can I use both or they are mutual exclusive? Anyone made performance tests comparing the two?

Thanks
Gabriel.

If you want real performance, yes use both of them, but do not enable xcache in config.php file.
More exacly, use memcached for datastore and XCache for the php files.
I built my own rpms, optimized for lighty and vbulletin. Please dont ask me anything if you use Crapache. :)

Yellow Slider 07-03-2007 02:40 PM

I have installed this modification, and nothing is changed..
how can I Be 100% that this modification is doing some thing? :\
Maybe I havn't installed it property , but there isn't anything to do, upload a file and to add a line in the config file..

what may be wrong?

config file -
PHP Code:

    // Here you can configure different methods for caching datastore items.
    // vB_Datastore_Filecache  - for using a cache file
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache'
    
// vB_Datastore_Memcached - for using a Memcache server
    // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on
//$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
//$i = 0;
// First Server
$i++;
$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i]        = '127.0.0.3';
$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i]            = 11211;
$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i]    = true;
$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i]        = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i]        = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15

class_datastore -

PHP Code:

        }
        return 
true;
    }
}
// add class_datastore_xcache, enable it in config.php
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php'); 

/*======================================================================*\
|| #################################################################### 

I've uploaded the class_datastore_xcache.php to /includes/class_datastore_xcache.php

rootnik 07-04-2007 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yellow Slider (Post 1281979)
I have installed this modification, and nothing is changed..
how can I Be 100% that this modification is doing some thing? :\
Maybe I havn't installed it property , but there isn't anything to do, upload a file and to add a line in the config file..

what may be wrong?

config file -
PHP Code:

    // Here you can configure different methods for caching datastore items.
    // vB_Datastore_Filecache  - for using a cache file
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache'
    
// vB_Datastore_Memcached - for using a Memcache server
    // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on
//$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
//$i = 0;
// First Server
$i++;
$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i]        = '127.0.0.3';
$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i]            = 11211;
$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i]    = true;
$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i]        = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i]        = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15

class_datastore -

PHP Code:

        }
        return 
true;
    }
}
// add class_datastore_xcache, enable it in config.php
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php'); 

/*======================================================================*\
|| #################################################################### 

I've uploaded the class_datastore_xcache.php to /includes/class_datastore_xcache.php

I'm pretty sure you will want to comment out the $config['Misc']['memcache* lines if you want to switch to xcache.

Yellow Slider 07-04-2007 08:29 AM

I've done it after posting here, and still there in no change..
how can i check and see if the modification actually works?

View the Attachments file maybe it will give you some clue, I've installed the cache templates modification as well..

Yellow Slider 07-06-2007 11:19 AM

Can't anyone help me ? :\

Zia 07-11-2007 08:14 AM

yellow spider..
as ur attachment.its saying var.cache is working

Itworx4me 07-13-2007 01:48 PM

Will this modification work if you have xcache running as a rpm?

Thanks,
Itworx4me

phpxcache 07-14-2007 12:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Itworx4me (Post 1289973)
Will this modification work if you have xcache running as a rpm?

Thanks,
Itworx4me

sure, rpm won't run for you, but it will install xcache, and you run php+xcache. that's it. it doesn't matter if you install it with rpm or whatever

Itworx4me 07-18-2007 01:41 AM

I get this error when trying to install this mod:

Fatal error: XCache not installed in /includes/class_datastore_xcache.php on line 34

Any idea?

Thanks,
Itworx4me

phpxcache 07-18-2007 05:15 AM

u have to get your XCache run first.

i suppose u have installed a XCache with rpm, but u shall append php.ini with xcache.ini and update some values.

see http://xcache.lighttpd.net/wiki/Inst...AsPhpExtension

foulplay 07-29-2007 02:59 AM

Wow I finally figured it out and installed this hack myself. No errors as my site is Super Fast!! I'm using vbulletin 3.6.8

Zia 07-29-2007 07:56 AM

congrats........it really works

Brandon Sheley 08-03-2007 05:35 AM

I asked my host about xcache and this was their reply

Quote:

As for installing it, I don't really recommend it. I've found it to be somewhat
buggy, and doesn't work well with ionCube, or Zend Optimizer.
as I'm running Zend, I don't want to install xcache if it's going to crash the site.
any comment is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

da420 08-03-2007 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loco.M (Post 1308746)
I asked my host about xcache and this was their reply



as I'm running Zend, I don't want to install xcache if it's going to crash the site.
any comment is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

This is true with the previous versions of XCache, but not the current versions (to my knowledge).


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01606 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,862KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (17)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete