vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Forum Display Enhancements - Weather In Your Navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=209150)

BBR-APBT 04-10-2009 04:11 PM

I have made it so it uses a custom profile field and display each users local zip code. Plus the weather box will only show up if they entered their zip code.

First you have to make a new profile field.

admin >> User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field


Single-Line Text Box
Title: Zip Code
Description: Put your Zip code here to display the local weather at the bottom of the forums.

Private Field: Yes
Field Searchable on Members List: NO
Show on Members List: NO




Here is the code.
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldx]">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>

Change $bbuserinfo[fieldx] to the number of your field it is twice in the code.
Enjoy every one.


I use weather.com for mine and it is at the bottom of the forums. weather.com has a much nicer looking layout. If you sign up there and want help implanting the code just let me know.

BigBass 04-10-2009 04:48 PM

Perfect............thank you!

BBR-APBT 04-10-2009 05:10 PM

Your welcome.

To the owner of this mod feel free to add my code to yours if you would like.

columbonet 04-12-2009 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1788303)
I have made it so it uses a custom profile field and display each users local zip code. Plus the weather box will only show up if they entered their zip code.

First you have to make a new profile field.

admin >> User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field


Single-Line Text Box
Title: Zip Code
Description: Put your Zip code here to display the local weather at the bottom of the forums.

Private Field: Yes
Field Searchable on Members List: NO
Show on Members List: NO




Here is the code.
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldx]">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>

Change $bbuserinfo[fieldx] to the number of your field it is twice in the code.
Enjoy every one.


I use weather.com for mine and it is at the bottom of the forums. weather.com has a much nicer looking layout. If you sign up there and want help implanting the code just let me know.



For those that use this:

I went ahead and added 2 zip code fields and marked one for "f" and one for "c". This way the visitor can choose which format to see their weather in. I then placed the code in the template twice. If they leave on zip code empty then it only shows up once. If they enter zips in both fields then they will see both F and C temps.

BBR-APBT 04-12-2009 10:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by columbonet (Post 1789856)
For those that use this:

I went ahead and added 2 zip code fields and marked one for "f" and one for "c". This way the visitor can choose which format to see their weather in. I then placed the code in the template twice. If they leave on zip code empty then it only shows up once. If they enter zips in both fields then they will see both F and C temps.

You could of just made a field with two options F and C and let them choose with a drop down.

Code:

Change this:
&units=f

to this
&units=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]

Would be much easier if you only had one spot for zip code and a option to choose between F and C

columbonet 04-12-2009 11:10 PM

Thanks. Could i get the weather.com code? this other site shows my temp as 60 one second and 53 another.

BBR-APBT 04-12-2009 11:16 PM

You will have to set up an account over to get a api type key else it wont run on your site from my key. Check your PM for the code I will leave most of the one line out. But you will see what to edit.

wwolf27 04-13-2009 09:45 AM

I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

BBR-APBT 04-13-2009 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wwolf27 (Post 1790096)
I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

I never went to the site to see what their code was. As I said I use weather.com. Everyone asked for the code posted to use a custom profile field. So I made it do what they asked and also some people wanted F and some wanted C choices for their members so I told them how to do that also.

columbonet 04-13-2009 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wwolf27 (Post 1790096)
I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

What you have will tell someone their local temp in F. I needed it to be either way due to folks being from all over the world. That is why I asked what I did.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01218 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,752KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete