vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Profile Fields in a Postbit Dropdown (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=208360)

Wired1 03-24-2009 05:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TigerC10 (Post 1775573)
Code:

require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
$parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletin, fetch_tag_list());

$post[fieldxx] = $parser->do_parse($post[fieldxx], false, false, true, false, false, true);


Haven't looked at that function yet, but I'd guess those are 2 different fields mentioned?

TigerC10 03-24-2009 05:47 AM

No no, they're the same field. It's replacing the bbcode version of itself with the HTML version of itself.

You would want to repeat it for a second profile field if you want to enable the bbcode for something else.

Ex:
Code:

$post[field15] = $parser->do_parse($post[field15], false, false, true, false, false, true);
$post[field18] = $parser->do_parse($post[field18], false, false, true, false, false, true);


Wired1 03-24-2009 05:05 PM

So you're simply talking about turning a field that contains a URL into a clickable link with that URL in the display area. You earlier stated:
[url=http://www.tigerdirect.com/someproduct]My Awesome Computer Part[ /url ]

Where does it get the display text (e.g. "My Awesome Computer Part")? I wouldn't recommend using the profile name, as everyone's profile would just have a bunch of links that say Motherboard, Memory, etc. Not descriptive at all.

Or are you talking about having both the URL and the descriptor in the same post field, e.g.

www.asus.com;Asus P6T Deluxe

and then the parser identifies the semicolon (or whatever separator is used), and then uses the first half for the link and the 2nd half for the descriptor?

Not ideal while viewing someone's profile on the backend, on the other hand, the EPFP page could probably be tweaked to have 2 data entry boxes for each profile. OTOH, this comes back to helping URL spammers. My personal solution would be to not allow end users to enter in URLs, and only allow admins to do so in a way that the user couldn't (e.g. replacement variables).

TigerC10 03-24-2009 06:34 PM

No, the entire profile field entry is:

[url=http://www.tigerdirect.com/someproduct]My Awesome Computer Part[/url]

You would manually insert a bbcode into the value for the profile field. This means they could specify the name of the component at their own disgression... Like

[url=http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3867865&Sku=CP2-AM2-9550]AMD Phenom X4 9550 Quad Core Processor[/url]

The parser will change that into a regular link, with the name of the part and then if you click on it, it will take you to the URL for more information. Furthermore, if someone doesn't enter any bbCode to the profile field data, it will just display regular text like it does without the change to the plugin.

So for your example, if the field is named "Motherboard" and someone enters "MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1" for the value then it will display like so

Motherboard: MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1

My change to the plugins lets someone enter "[url=http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4408790&CatId=2838]MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1[/url]" for their value and it will display like so

Motherboard: MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1


It's better than duplicating all of your profile fields to add a URL for a detailed description of each field. Can you dig it?

EDIT:
I've created a customization for this mod and sent it to you via PM, Wired1. It takes out the reliance on "automatic" and "manual" and instead displays all of the profile fields in a profile field category (specified through vboptions). It has the bbCode feature I was talking about too - so you can see how it works.

Saviour 03-24-2009 09:54 PM

Wired...

Is it possible to use a background image for the Dropdown Call? I know this may require some customization...and I'm not sure where one would begin...having already edited the Dropdown Call to "autowidth".

TigerC10 03-24-2009 10:15 PM

That's easy, just change the template like so:

Code:

<div style="background-image: url('path/to/image'); position:absolute; width:auto;" id="specs_$post[postid]" class="vbmenu_control">

Saviour 03-24-2009 11:00 PM

Thanks, TigerC10...but that didn't work...it cropped the image length...and didn't turn out the way I had expected.

Reverted back to the old code.

TigerC10 03-24-2009 11:05 PM

Yeah, normally when people do background images like that it's an image that repeats. You'd have to set the div's width to the size of the image if you want it to be a static size. Generally that's not a good idea because the vB username length can change drastically.

Saviour 03-24-2009 11:20 PM

But I'm not using the username...just the title "Computer Specs".

TigerC10 03-24-2009 11:49 PM

Well, then change

Code:

width: auto;
to
Code:

width: 250px;
Or however wide the picture is.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01163 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,745KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete