vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=203521)

UKBusinessLive 01-30-2009 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PakFuse (Post 1729231)
Nice :D

can you guide me a bit on how to do it...? (I will have 16x16 images - much like emoticons)

Don't worry I am not a novice in Javascript etc. but not a pro as well... so would need a pointer or two :)

Thanks for the great work man.

Hi PakFuse

The menu links are done in HTML, so they are very easy to edit with a basic knowledge of HTML.

I take it you want something like this??

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/8.png

All you need to do is to add this to the description part of the tab link, first find the Menu link that you want to add a picture to

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/faq.php" title="Search F.A.Q">Search F.A.Q</a></li>
Then look at the end of the code where we see >Search F.A.Q </a>

and what we need to do is to add our code in between the > < but infront of the "Search FAQ

So this is the code were going to add

Code:

<img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/film.gif" border="0">
You can call a file from your servers image/misc directory or photbucket or another image host like i did and we need to copy that line of code directly in front of the Search F.A.Q but inside the two > < ;)

Like this

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/faq.php" title="Search F.A.Q"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/film.gif" border="0">Search F.A.Q</a></li>
                </ul></li>

If you do that with all your dropdowns then it should look quite cool.

Have Fun :D

KevinL 01-30-2009 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wayne Luke (Post 1728416)
Does this take into account template hooks for the navbar?

if it took the place of the old navbar and had the hooks that would be massively cool!

Keep up the great work though!! :)

UKBusinessLive 01-30-2009 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KevinL (Post 1729270)
if it took the place of the old navbar and had the hooks that would be massively cool!

Keep up the great work though!! :)

Thanks Kevin :D

Been wondering all day at work what Wayne meant by that, if i knew how the hooks worked on the VB Navbar then i would have a clearer picture, Perhaps i'll make that my Next Project ;)

watch this space :D

KevinL 01-30-2009 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive (Post 1729271)
Thanks Kevin :D

Been wondering all day at work what Wayne meant by that, if i knew how the hooks worked on the VB Navbar then i would have a clearer picture, Perhaps i'll make that my Next Project ;)

watch this space :D

I was thinking of adding the hooks on my navbar for my site...it's a little different then this as it uses js also so this is probably better :) I don't know how I would do it on mine.

This is should really just be a matter of adding the hooks where they belong. Like if you look at the default navbar that should give you a good idea. The only problem with that any product that gets added they just have to go in and change to use your markup instead of the default one. Sounds pretty cool actually :)

Can't wait to see what you come up with next ;)

PakFuse 01-30-2009 07:44 PM

Thanks UKBL :D

you rock :D

*Reserved for Now* But will be tweaking things before I click on Install... I definitely need this.....

PakFuse 01-30-2009 09:37 PM

1 Attachment(s)
OK.... please, help me understand what am I possibly doing wrong here :D

oops.. i mean to make :(

the only thing I did was to take out the background image option from the style :erm:


Please help

Everything is already "dropped down" lol... :D


PS: All Javascripts and other Codes are intact ... I only played with UL and LI codes..... :(

UKBusinessLive 01-30-2009 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PakFuse (Post 1729479)
OK.... please, help me understand what am I possibly doing wrong here :D

oops.. i mean to make :(

the only thing I did was to take out the background image option from the style :erm:


Please help

Everything is already "dropped down" lol... :D


PS: All Javascripts and other Codes are intact ... I only played with UL and LI codes..... :(


If you didn't want the blue gradiant along the bar all you had to do was not upload it or add it to the css part of the code, you shouldn't of deleted or changed anything, It looks like you've deleted a bit more of the css or javascript part of the coding.
Post here your code and i'll take a look :rolleyes:

PakFuse 01-30-2009 10:47 PM

actually weird :-s

I created a simple html local page and tested on computer locally... it seems to be working... posting them at the end of header is giving problem... I wonder why :(

UKBusinessLive 01-30-2009 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PakFuse (Post 1729517)
actually weird :-s

I created a simple html local page and tested on computer locally... it seems to be working... posting them at the end of header is giving problem... I wonder why :(

Not sure its working fine for me :eek: Are you using vba ???

PakFuse 01-30-2009 10:56 PM

No...

Vb 3.8.1...

I have another dropdown menu which is working but I do not wish to keep it using.... anything i need to add or delete, it takes a lot of efforts at too many places...

Your code is working fine when testing locally... I am just wondering why would it not work otherwise... I actually cut-copied-pasted the code from Header where it was not working into a notepad and saved as local html file and it worked....


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01199 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,750KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete