vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=192)
-   -   Profile Enhancements - Social Networking Fieldset in User Profile & Postbit (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=174863)

sdavis2702 05-05-2008 01:11 PM

*********One more thing. This one is important though*********

There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:
Quote:

Facebook:

<if condition="$userinfo['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/user/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]</a>
<br />
</if>
Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.

They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...

OR

They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.

I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.

Here is my code now...
Quote:

<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]</a>
Everything works perfectly now :)

trackpads 05-07-2008 02:23 AM

I added some info for linked in. This hack is awesome! Thanks for the work!

Just add this code into the postbit setting above:

Code:

<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://http://www.linkedin.com/in/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/linkedin.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's LinkedIn Profile"></a>
</if>


sdavis2702 05-07-2008 06:31 AM

^^^ awesome! :)

goddess_dix 05-13-2008 06:04 PM

sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
Code:

<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']">
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.

edgeyveggie 05-20-2008 05:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by funkmeister (Post 1486242)
Thanks for the ideas, but the only option that helps is the one I was asking about initially.

If I make the new profile field NOT private, it does indeed work in the Postbit as well, but then I'm left with that field name and user info shown in the Member Profile, under "Additional Information". So it's displaying there on it's own and also to the right of that, in the new "Social Networking" section. Which is not really good to look at :(

Is this not what everyone else is experiencing? Am I alone with this? I don't understand what could be different for me? Or is this the way it's supposed to display?

Thanks.

I'm getting this too. As far as I'm concerned this renders this other wise useful hack utterly useless, someone please help with this.:mad:

edgeyveggie 05-20-2008 05:19 AM

Ok I got this to work. You might want to include in the main description that you as an admin WILL see that information in the "Additional Information" section but normal users will not so it doesn't matter.

sdavis2702 05-24-2008 05:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by goddess_dix (Post 1518542)
sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
Code:

<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']">
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.

Yup I just realized that... thanks :)

Weapon-x 06-26-2008 09:45 PM

It shows up for me in Firefox but not in IE....how to fix this?

bestmilan 09-11-2008 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdavis2702 (Post 1509250)
*********One more thing. This one is important though*********

There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:

Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.

They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...

OR

They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.

I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.

Here is my code now...

Everything works perfectly now :)


Thank you sdavis for sharing this info -- very helpful !!

Great hack. :up:

Quantnet 09-12-2008 03:43 AM

Anyone knows how to edit the MEMBERINFO template to show the facebook, linkedin links?


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01641 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,752KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete