vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Mini Mods - My Posts & Threads in navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=125529)

mandy71480 02-04-2007 01:50 PM

This is a nice addition! Thanks! I have 3.6.4 and had no problems finding the edits and I have over 10 mods installed.

JohnBee 02-08-2007 03:20 PM

Thanks for this! - wonderful addition to a great modification. :up:
Quote:

Originally Posted by alkatraz (Post 1065944)
since my navbar is sorta customized already i'm too lazy to cut and paste step by step instructions, but here's a quick run down

- I did the mod as instructed first
- then I moved the part that goes beside "New Posts" so it was beside "UserCP"

ah screw it, here's the bits of code you can figure it out it's pretty easy =)


basicaly I replaced the bits within the USERCP <td>'s with:
Code:

<a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">My Account</a> <span id="navbar_myposts"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_myposts"); </script></span>
and here's what my dropdown setup is like:
Code:

<!-- My Posts Menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_myposts_menu" style="display:none">
        <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        <tr>
            <td class="thead">My Account</td>
        </tr>

        <tr>
        <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">My Account Settings</a></td>   
        </tr>
       
        <tr>
        <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?do=finduser&u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">View My Posts</a></td>   
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">View My Threads</a></td>   
        </tr>
       
        <tr>
        <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">View My Profile</a></td>   
        </tr>       
       
        </table>
    </div>
<!-- / My Posts Menu -->



Philster 02-09-2007 04:45 PM

Thanks works good in version 3.6.3 with the 3.6.4 security patch.

Phil.

JohnBee 02-10-2007 12:21 PM

I was wondering.
Someone mentioned recently that the "My Posts" formatting is not quite as appealing as the Advanced Search "Username" results. Does anyone know if it's possible to get the same look and feel as the Advanced search with the "My Posts" addon?

Reedly 02-13-2007 09:33 PM

I assume you're talking about the fact that the link doesn't 'drop down' like the search and 'quick links' links unless you click the arrow instead of the words "my posts"?

I noticed this too, and it was a bit confusing at first since click 'my posts' took me directly to that section. But, then I clicked the arrow to receive the drop down menu.

Is there a way to easily make the words part of the advanced link also?

Oh, and this is a great mod that's working wonderfully - thank you!!!

dutchbb 02-13-2007 11:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnBee (Post 1179092)
I was wondering.
Someone mentioned recently that the "My Posts" formatting is not quite as appealing as the Advanced Search "Username" results. Does anyone know if it's possible to get the same look and feel as the Advanced search with the "My Posts" addon?

What you mean is "threads I posted in"...

That will show you a list with all the threads you have posted in, ordered by the last post in it.

You can use this string to replace the one in "my posts":
Code:

search.php?do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]
However I believe when someone searches for 'their posts', it's more logical to show the latest posts, not the threads they posted in.

A better way to do it IMO would be to add the extra feature like mentioned above (threads I posted in) in the drop down menu:

FIND in navbar:

Code:

                <tr>
                <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">My Threads</a></td>       
                </tr>

ADD BELOW:

Code:

<tr>
                <td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">Threads I Posted in</a></td>       
                </tr>

So now you have the 3
-my posts (YOUR posts, listed as posts)
-my threads (threads YOU started, listed as threads)
-threads I posted in (threads you DIDN'T neccecairly start, but containing your posts, listed as threads)

Hope this makes sense to you :)

dutchbb 02-14-2007 12:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reedly (Post 1181842)
I assume you're talking about the fact that the link doesn't 'drop down' like the search and 'quick links' links unless you click the arrow instead of the words "my posts"?

I noticed this too, and it was a bit confusing at first since click 'my posts' took me directly to that section. But, then I clicked the arrow to receive the drop down menu.

Is there a way to easily make the words part of the advanced link also?

Oh, and this is a great mod that's working wonderfully - thank you!!!

Well my members use "my posts" most of the time so they actually wanted to click once and get the posts. But you can have it your way:

In navbar FIND:

Code:

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?do=finduser&u=$bbuserinfo[userid]" accesskey="2">My Posts</a> <span id="navbar_myposts"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_myposts"); </script></span></td>
REPLACE WITH:


Code:

<td id="navbar_myposts" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#navbar_myposts">My Posts</a><script type="text/javascript">vbmenu_register("navbar_myposts");</script></td>

obmob 02-14-2007 07:59 PM

Good idea :)

Sakera 03-20-2007 10:10 AM

The search cache gives a problem with the View my threads stuff, sadly. When you Write new threads, you can risk that View my threads is'n updated for over an hour, as the search is cached....

styleforum 03-24-2007 11:29 PM

Nice mod, I'll see how people like it and if it needs to be spiffed up like some here have done.

One note though - shouldn't the accesskey be something other than '2'? I bet 99.9% of people would never use that, but since 2 is already the accesskey for New Posts, it will probably confuse some browsers.

Thanks for writing it though! I'm sure people will enjoy it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01131 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,751KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete