vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   Member Bots 1.0 - Allow bots to act as members (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=108070)

trilljester 02-16-2006 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bashy
Hi

I still have bots getting the No Permissions when trying to view a forum that users are allowed to view?

Are the bots in your spiders_vbulletin.xml file (located in includes/xml)? This mod uses this file to determine if the visitor is a bot or not.

ScienceofSpock 02-17-2006 06:04 AM

Just a quick question/security concern:
How are you identifying SE bots? Are you using the user-agent?
If so, are bots allowed to post (considering they're regarded as regular members) ?
If so, What's to stop me loading up Opera, changing my user-agent to googlebot and posting on your forums?

I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, I'd really like to add this to my forum. I'm just trying to play devil's advocate and perform due diligence.

trilljester 02-17-2006 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScienceofSpock
Just a quick question/security concern:
How are you identifying SE bots? Are you using the user-agent?
If so, are bots allowed to post (considering they're regarded as regular members) ?
If so, What's to stop me loading up Opera, changing my user-agent to googlebot and posting on your forums?

I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, I'd really like to add this to my forum. I'm just trying to play devil's advocate and perform due diligence.

Yes, the modification uses the spiders_vbulletin.xml and checks the user-agent to determine if you're a bot or not. And if you follow the default installation, you'll be allowing bots or humans who are clever enough to change their user-agent to post on your site.

HOWEVER, you can set whatever group you want the bots/humans to be in. If you want the bots to be able to see your site but not post, create a new usergroup that doesn't allow posting, just viewing. Which is what I would recommend in any case, so nobody can spoof a bot and post on your forums.

To change to that group, just modify the code you added in init.php and change that group ID to whatever ID you have setup for that special group.

lionheart53 02-17-2006 07:34 PM

I want only the spider for google adsense to get through and not the others. So I tried changing the spiders_vbulletin.xml to just what's below but then my pages in the forum don't come up at all. Any ideas why? Is there a better way to do this?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<searchspiders>
<spider ident="Mediapartners-Google">
<name>Google AdSense</name>
<info>https://www.google.com/adsense/faq</info>
<email>adsense-support@google.com</email>
</spider>
</searchspiders>

<!-- CVS: $RCSfile: spiders_vbulletin.xml,v $ - $Revision: 1.2 $ -->

trilljester 02-17-2006 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lionheart53
I want only the spider for google adsense to get through and not the others. So I tried changing the spiders_vbulletin.xml to just what's below but then my pages in the forum don't come up at all. Any ideas why? Is there a better way to do this?

For some reason not entirely clear to me, VBulletin doesn't handle a single entry in the spiders_vbulletin.xml file very well. So, just add another Spider in the file. For your example, I added GoogleBot as well as Google Adsense.

Try this spiders_vbulletin.xml:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<spiderlist version="1.0">
        <spider ident="Mediapartners-Google">
                <name>Google AdSense</name>
                <type>searchspider</type>
                <info>https://www.google.com/adsense/faq</info>
                <email>adsense-support@google.com</email>
        </spider>
        <spider ident="Googlebot/">
                <name>Google</name>
                <type>searchspider</type>
                <info>http://www.google.com/bot.html</info>
                <email>googlebot@google.com</email>
                <addresses>
                        <address type="range">64.233.160.0-64.233.191.255</address>
                        <address type="range">66.249.64.0-66.249.95.255</address>
                        <address type="range">72.14.192.0-72.14.207.255</address>
                        <address type="range">216.239.32.0-216.239.63.255</address>
                </addresses>
        </spider>
</spiderlist>


lionheart53 02-17-2006 08:07 PM

Thanks. That resolved it. Very weird but I can work with that.

trilljester 02-17-2006 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lionheart53
Thanks. That resolved it. Very weird but I can work with that.

Yeah, it is weird, I'll have to look into it a little more. I might have to update the mod to use it's own XML file for what bots you want in or not, so as not to mess with the original file.

Maybe if I have time this weekend...

Zia 02-18-2006 03:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trilljester
For some reason not entirely clear to me, VBulletin doesn't handle a single entry in the spiders_vbulletin.xml file very well. So, just add another Spider in the file. For your example, I added GoogleBot as well as Google Adsense.

Try this spiders_vbulletin.xml:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<spiderlist version="1.0">
        <spider ident="Mediapartners-Google">
                <name>Google AdSense</name>
                <type>searchspider</type>
                <info>https://www.google.com/adsense/faq</info>
                <email>adsense-support@google.com</email>
        </spider>
        <spider ident="Googlebot/">
                <name>Google</name>
                <type>searchspider</type>
                <info>http://www.google.com/bot.html</info>
                <email>googlebot@google.com</email>
                <addresses>
                        <address type="range">64.233.160.0-64.233.191.255</address>
                        <address type="range">66.249.64.0-66.249.95.255</address>
                        <address type="range">72.14.192.0-72.14.207.255</address>
                        <address type="range">216.239.32.0-216.239.63.255</address>
                </addresses>
        </spider>
</spiderlist>


umm nice..support......do u mind to rrelase an update spiderlist.xml

i trust,u tweak/customize ur spider list......can u relase it....
in fact now a days no one taking care of spiders list...

dutchbb 02-18-2006 03:28 PM

it's a black hat technique

google says don't optimize your pages for spiders, if you do, you are taking a high risk...

trilljester 02-18-2006 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zia
umm nice..support......do u mind to rrelase an update spiderlist.xml

i trust,u tweak/customize ur spider list......can u relase it....
in fact now a days no one taking care of spiders list...

I downloaded the one offered at vbulletin.com - here's the link:

http://www.ragnarokonline.de/spiderlist/spiderlist.xml

Upload it into includes/xml, name it spiders_vbulletin.xml

You could also name it that before uploading and overwrite the one in that directory. I keep one called spiders_vbulletin.xml.new in includes/xml so when upgrading VB versions, I can just copy that one over the default one given in VB.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01167 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,756KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete