vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Major Additions - Product Review Forums ? Research, Review & Compare Items (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=269808)

Ted S 07-21-2012 07:03 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350040)
In Product Listing page I see this in page source:
Code:

<img src="\productphotos\50014e732fa54_full.jpg">

You'll need to add a new product or edit the photo on an existing one.

This version of admincp/productforums.php will let you edit images even if there was already an upload.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-21-2012 08:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350042)
You'll need to add a new product or edit the photo on an existing one.

This version of admincp/productforums.php will let you edit images even if there was already an upload.

Adding a new product works perfectly, editing an existing product image is also working. :)

So I will need to edit the images of all existing products to make the images work properly, bit of a pain but I can live with that, thank you for some seriously excellent and first rate support Ted, you're a heck of a fine chap. :up:

Ted S 07-21-2012 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350059)
Adding a new product works perfectly, editing an existing product image is also working. :)

So I will need to edit the images of all existing products to make the images work properly, bit of a pain but I can live with that, thank you for some seriously excellent and first rate support Ted, you're a heck of a fine chap. :up:

We can fix this with a simple query...

Code:

update pf_product set mainphoto = replace(mainphoto, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_thumb = replace(mainphoto_thumb, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_small = replace(mainphoto_small, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');

Or something along those lines depending on your current image paths.

[Note: to replace \ you must escape it with another \ thus \\]

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-21-2012 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350229)
We can fix this with a simple query...

Code:

update pf_product set mainphoto = replace(mainphoto, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_thumb = replace(mainphoto_thumb, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_small = replace(mainphoto_small, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');

Or something along those lines depending on your current image paths.

[Note: to replace \ you must escape it with another \ thus \\]

What a star, I used this:

Code:

update pf_product set mainphoto = replace(mainphoto, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_thumb = replace(mainphoto_thumb, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_small = replace(mainphoto_small, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');

and everything is fine, just had to re-upload an image for the one I changed earlier and it's working properly now. :)

Thank you Ted. :)

Ted S 07-21-2012 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350250)
What a star, I used this:

Code:

update pf_product set mainphoto = replace(mainphoto, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_thumb = replace(mainphoto_thumb, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');
update pf_product set mainphoto_small = replace(mainphoto_small, '\\productphotos\\', 'productphotos/');

and everything is fine, just had to re-upload an image for the one I changed earlier and it's working properly now. :)

Thank you Ted. :)

Images aside, how's the rest of the addon working for you?

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-21-2012 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350255)
Images aside, how's the rest of the addon working for you?

Images aside, the addon works without flaw or error, the improvements in 1.3 are absolutely breath-taking, very very excited about the coming stable release. :)

Ted S 07-21-2012 09:49 PM

With the release of 1.3.1 stable we wanted to provide a quick recap on how to upgrade. While the process is straight forward and quick, the new image uploading and other features do make it important to go through a few extra steps so please read on and ask if you have any questions:

1. Start with a backup of your forum for this or any other mod you install.

2. Download the latest version of PRF and upload the contents of the upload folder to your forum directory

3. From your AdminCP update the Product Forums plugin package to the included file

4. Review the main addon settings paying special attention to the new upload and image paths if you wish to use the image uploading features

5. Run the image sync script to convert existing images from external links to local images [requires cURL and GD]

6. Post your comments / suggestions whether they're good, bad or indifferent back here for us, and everyone else in the community

This is a major update and as such you'll see changes throughout the templates and phrases. As always we encourage you to make the mod your starting place and customize beyond it with the options and your own adjustments.

For those who wish to use the image uploader & sync script
you will need to have cURL and GD installed on your server and be able to create a writeable folder for images to be saved in. Images can be processed either one at a time by editing an existing product or in bulk by using the sync images link which will fetch all external images and resize, localize and update them [credit too Simon Jarvis].


The complete install & customization guide can be found @ http://www.giftery.me/productforums/howto/

Ted S 07-21-2012 10:31 PM

Wondering what's new? Here's the main changes [yes, there's a lot of them]
  • Customizable rating options... yes/no, 5-star and text freeform
  • Product images. You upload, we resize [gd required]
  • Bulk image importing from external links [curl & gd required]
  • Thumbnails all over... the product index, even forum display
  • Activity Stream updates when a review is posted
  • Support for user-selected thread prefixes
  • Automatic add product links for the user
  • Improvements to product management for speedier changes
  • Cleaned up product adding interfaces for admin use
  • Lots of small tweaks, bug fixes and other changes
See the full change log @ http://www.giftery.me/productforums/changelog

RPSmedia 07-21-2012 10:45 PM

Hi Ted, great product and you saved me lots of money with this. I've got the beta working good but the only thing is I can't find where users can upload the pictures.

Thanks.

Ted S 07-22-2012 05:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPSmedia (Post 2350269)
Hi Ted, great product and you saved me lots of money with this. I've got the beta working good but the only thing is I can't find where users can upload the pictures.

Thanks.

They don't. For a variety of reasons we opted not to build this into 1.3, or at least not uploads. Of course end users can specify a link for an image which, if you run the sync script, will get converted in.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 06:28 AM

Hey Ted,

importing bulk xml's isn't working on my site, is there something I am missing here, I import a bulk xml, the script runs and says done but there are no products showing at all!

Ted S 07-22-2012 06:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350352)
Hey Ted,

importing bulk xml's isn't working on my site, is there something I am missing here, I import a bulk xml, the script runs and says done but there are no products showing at all!

Is your product feed in the right format? If so you'll see an update on each product if finds and whether it's new, existing or incomplete.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 06:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350353)
Is your product feed in the right format? If so you'll see an update on each product if finds and whether it's new, existing or incomplete.

It was my error there Ted, I forgot to add the <productData> opening in each xml, but now I got a database error:
Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 4.2.0:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT threadid FROM thread WHERE title = 'Dr Plumb 9mm Absorbent Carbon smoking Pipe Filters 10's';

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 's'' at line 1
Error Number : 1064
Request Date : Sunday, July 22nd 2012 @ 01:35:11 AM
Error Date : Sunday, July 22nd 2012 @ 01:35:12 AM
Script : http://www.pipesmokerscubby.com/admi....php?do=do_xml
Referrer : http://www.pipesmokerscubby.com/admi...ums.php?do=xml
IP Address : 86.130.60.119
Username : Kirk Fitzgerald
Classname : vB_Database
MySQL Version : 5.1.63-community-log
Any ideas on this Ted?

Ted S 07-22-2012 06:52 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350354)
It was my error there Ted, I forgot to add the <productData> opening in each xml, but now I got a database error:


Any ideas on this Ted?

It's the ' in the line which is not being escaped...

admincp/productforums.php attached

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 06:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350357)
It's the ' in the line which is not being escaped...

admincp/productforums.php attached

Perfect, thanks Ted

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 07:12 AM

Hey Ted,
what happened to the images on the forum/productforums.php page, the product listings no longer have images, has this feature been removed since the Beta?

Ted S 07-22-2012 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350361)
Hey Ted,
what happened to the images on the forum/productforums.php page, the product listings no longer have images, has this feature been removed since the Beta?

Nothing was changed in this between beta 2 and the final... In our test site images show up just fine.

Have you checked your template to be sure it's not using an older, customized version?

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 07:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350362)
Nothing was changed in this between beta 2 and the final... In our test site images show up just fine.

Have you checked your template to be sure it's not using an older, customized version?

Okay, had to revert some templates, huge changes in some templates then, the files don't even compare in winmerge, they are too different now, will have to figure out my changes again, no biggie I guess, just annoying.

Thanks for your help Ted, much appreciated. ):

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-22-2012 01:56 PM

Little addition for anyone wanting it in the forumdisplay for your products, to add the +add new product button to be at the top of the thread listing as well as the bottom, do the following:

Open FORUMDISPLAY

FIND:
Code:

<div id="above_threadlist" class="above_threadlist">
BELOW ADD:
Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['newproduct']">
        <a href="{vb:raw $vboptions.vbforum_url}{vb:if "$vboptions['vbforum_url']", '/', ''}productforums.php?do=addproduct" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_newproduct}</a>
</vb:if>

Perhaps something you could add in future release Ted, not essential as easy enough to hack. :)

Ted S 07-22-2012 06:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350429)
Little addition for anyone wanting it in the forumdisplay for your products, to add the +add new product button to be at the top of the thread listing as well as the bottom, do the following:

Open FORUMDISPLAY

FIND:
Code:

<div id="above_threadlist" class="above_threadlist">
BELOW ADD:
Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['newproduct']">
    <a href="{vb:raw $vboptions.vbforum_url}{vb:if "$vboptions['vbforum_url']", '/', ''}productforums.php?do=addproduct" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_newproduct}</a>
</vb:if>

Perhaps something you could add in future release Ted, not essential as easy enough to hack. :)

There's no hook to add it there or we would have :(

mickknutson 07-22-2012 07:36 PM

Do the products become threads that are automatically Added to the SEO sitemap each night?

Will these threads also be included in the RSS feed for the site?

Ted S 07-22-2012 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mickknutson (Post 2350526)
Do the products become threads that are automatically Added to the SEO sitemap each night?

Will these threads also be included in the RSS feed for the site?

Products are regular threads and will show up in any regular syndication although since the details are saved separately aside from the title you may want to commit them from your RSS process.

qpurser 07-22-2012 07:55 PM

Ted,
just updated to the latest version and all seem to work great but I have an issue with the images.
I added the URL from an external image by using the option "add new product" on the site itself.
When I sync then the pics in my admin CP I get the following message:
Code:

couldnt understand the image for - skipping
All Done!

When I look in the created thread the pic is there however looking into the general overview page the thumbnail is not there. Just a question mark.
I looked into my server and the thumbnail was created in the correct folder. Also when I looked into the link where the question mark is it points to the correct image and folder on my server.

What could be wrong?
Thanks for any help
Michael

RPSmedia 07-22-2012 08:14 PM

Which version gives you image uploading then?

"Product images. You upload, we resize [gd required]"

Also, how do you add different fields (sorry if I missed how to, I searched)

1320Nation 07-22-2012 09:10 PM

Hey Ted, I downloaded and installed version 1.2.3 and have really not used it yet. Would it be better for me to uninstall that version, and then install the newest version? Or just upgrade the older version I mentioned?

Ted S 07-23-2012 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPSmedia (Post 2350540)
Which version gives you image uploading then?

"Product images. You upload, we resize [gd required]"

Also, how do you add different fields (sorry if I missed how to, I searched)

1.3+ gives admin photo uploading and resyncing user submitted images.

You add fields through your AdminCP. Expand the first PRF option group on the navbar.

Ted S 07-23-2012 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by psychobike (Post 2350558)
Hey Ted, I downloaded and installed version 1.2.3 and have really not used it yet. Would it be better for me to uninstall that version, and then install the newest version? Or just upgrade the older version I mentioned?

When you install a vBulletin mod it adds version 1, 2, 3, etc... to account for upgrades so it really makes no difference.

Ted S 07-23-2012 02:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by qpurser (Post 2350532)
Ted,
just updated to the latest version and all seem to work great but I have an issue with the images.
I added the URL from an external image by using the option "add new product" on the site itself.
When I sync then the pics in my admin CP I get the following message:
Code:

couldnt understand the image for - skipping
All Done!

When I look in the created thread the pic is there however looking into the general overview page the thumbnail is not there. Just a question mark.
I looked into my server and the thumbnail was created in the correct folder. Also when I looked into the link where the question mark is it points to the correct image and folder on my server.

What could be wrong?
Thanks for any help
Michael

Michael -

I'm not sure I'm following... you get the error but see a local copy of the main image for the same product but not a thumbnail? When you view the thumbnail created directly does the image file work [render]?

qpurser 07-23-2012 11:11 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350617)
Michael -

I'm not sure I'm following... you get the error but see a local copy of the main image for the same product but not a thumbnail? When you view the thumbnail created directly does the image file work [render]?

Sorry if my explanation was a little complicated to follow.
I went through all the steps again and I found the issue. I had something wrong in my URL settings for the image folder.

Really sorry I have wasted your time to follow up on this while it was my mistake. Feel so stupid right now.

Michael

Ricsca 07-23-2012 11:37 AM

Now it works, really nice component ...

you can upload images to the users?

Ricsca 07-23-2012 12:02 PM

In my forum is on the box for quick response.
Is there a way to disable it in the forum to display the reviews?
The quick answers are not counted as votes.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-23-2012 12:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ricsca (Post 2350708)
In my forum is on the box for quick response.
Is there a way to disable it in the forum to display the reviews?
The quick answers are not counted as votes.

The quick reply box is removed in the latest version, which version are you using?

Ricsca 07-23-2012 12:54 PM

excuse is true;)

RPSmedia 07-23-2012 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350613)
1.3+ gives admin photo uploading and resyncing user submitted images.

You add fields through your AdminCP. Expand the first PRF option group on the navbar.

Sorry for being a pain. I'm running 1.3.0 beta 2.

I'm guessing you're talking about adding fields in the Custom Ratings Field? When I do that, nothing shows up.

** edit - I just upgraded to 1.3.1 but still can't get the extra options to show up. Thanks.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-23-2012 02:24 PM

Hi Ted,
found a bug, when searching for products in the admincp, when I select a specific category (Pipes) I get a page saying 151 results and the first 10 results, when i click next page the search result returns 'all' 366 products not just the remainder of the 151 from Pipes that I searched for.

Ted S 07-23-2012 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by qpurser (Post 2350693)
Sorry if my explanation was a little complicated to follow.
I went through all the steps again and I found the issue. I had something wrong in my URL settings for the image folder.

Really sorry I have wasted your time to follow up on this while it was my mistake. Feel so stupid right now.

Michael

No problem!

Ted S 07-23-2012 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ricsca (Post 2350698)
Now it works, really nice component ...

you can upload images to the users?

End users can not upload images. They can however add a url for an image which the admin can either upload or import via the image sync script.

Ted S 07-23-2012 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPSmedia (Post 2350724)
Sorry for being a pain. I'm running 1.3.0 beta 2.

I'm guessing you're talking about adding fields in the Custom Ratings Field? When I do that, nothing shows up.

** edit - I just upgraded to 1.3.1 but still can't get the extra options to show up. Thanks.

Have you upgraded from a past version? If so, check that your templates are all reverted.

If not, what are the settings on your custom groups?

Ted S 07-23-2012 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2350752)
Hi Ted,
found a bug, when searching for products in the admincp, when I select a specific category (Pipes) I get a page saying 151 results and the first 10 results, when i click next page the search result returns 'all' 366 products not just the remainder of the 151 from Pipes that I searched for.

Thanks. We'll get this tackled in 1.3.2

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-23-2012 03:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2350761)
Thanks. We'll get this tackled in 1.3.2

Excellent, look forward to it. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03489 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,866KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (11)bbcode_code_printable
  • (27)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete