![]() |
Quote:
This is no good at all for when upgrading my live site, why are the external linked images deleted? |
Quote:
Essentially the script just sees an image field. Whether it's internal or external is irrelevant to a browser or the script and thus calling one field avoids having to check two places for images. Speed is good. That said, in the syncing process there's a number of sanity checks in place so if an image doesn't load, isn't a valid type, etc it gets skipped over and the external link remains in place. The process runs one image through at a time to avoid any issues with something breaking mid-way and reloads after 25 images to avoid browser timeouts. But critical errors can always throw curve balls so for beta 3 we're adding a field to store the old link. Just in case. When you re-ran the script did it say there was nothing to process? Are all of the products now showing local paths? You can query: SELECT productid,mainphoto,uploadimg FROM pf_products |
Quote:
I'm not sure why you'd want to go from an uploaded image to an external url rather than another upload but you can reset it by changing the uploadimg flag to 0. |
The err is mine Ted, I have made an error in the image view url in the core settings, just trying to figure out what I should have in there now. :)
|
Doesnt' work for me. 4.2.0
|
1 Attachment(s)
Hiya Ted,
doesn't matter what I change the "Image View Url" to in the core settings, when I check the view in Products listing page all I see is this text where the thumbnail should be: Quote:
When I use firebug to check the image location I see this: Code:
/productphotos/50014e732fa54_thumb.jpg In the core settings I have set the Image View Url to '/productphotos' but still cannot see any images anywhere. I have the images in "C:\xampp\htdocs\vb4dev\productphotos" Any ideas what I am doing wrong here TEd, it's all getting to be a bit of a headache now! |
Quote:
|
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
If not, try changing one or two products to an external url [via your database or adding a new item], run the sync script again and see how those look. You can run this version of admincp/productforums.php which will print debug code if you're not sure on the paths |
Hi Ted, the images are present in the /productphotos/ folder but are not loading, I tried adding two new products on my test environment, nothing changed.
I uploaded the new admincp/productforums.php you posted but don't know how to get the debug stuff to show, I turn on debugging but have no idea how make it show! I think it is going to be simpler for me to delete my existing install on my live site and re-install with 1.3 when it's stable and start afresh. I don't want my site to be running a patched up version of your brilliant mod, I should like it to be functioning fully and properly. :) |
Quote:
And, given how vBulletin runs mods, upgraded or new, you get the exact same build structure. .......... At this point there are no known issues with 1.3.0 beta including the image sync routine -- so obviously we'd like to understand what's happening to your site and if there is indeed an issue in the script before we roll this code to "stable". So, if you're up for it, let's think through this...
The debug script I provided only runs when you run the image sync process on new images. It's completely unrelated to the admin setting. |
1 Attachment(s)
Okay Ted, no problem, will continue.
I just added a new product and used an external image link, then I ran the sync external images, at the end of sync I see this text: Quote:
This is what I see on my localhost test site: Manage Product in admin Attachment 139818 Viewing forum Attachment 139817 Viewing the Product itself Attachment 139820 Viewing Product listings Attachment 139819 |
Quote:
Your test forum is hosted on a windows server which has backwards urls (productphotos\ instead of productphotos/)... It's strange that nothing errors in creating the images but perhaps windows is smarter in processing than it is in rendering... To this this run the mySQL query: Code:
update pf_product set mainphoto = replace(mainphoto, '/', '\\'); Note: This will update all images, including those with external links. |
Ran the query Ted, now there are no images anywhere, not in admin, forum, product view or product listing
|
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
when I click this, I get error.: Database error in vBulletin 4.2.0: Invalid SQL: SELECT pf.postid,pf.threadid,pf.headline,pf.rating,pf.loc ation,pf.mainphoto_thumb,DATE_FORMAT(pf.createddat e,'%a %b %D, %Y') as posted,u.userid,u.username, pfp.title as productitle,pfp.mainphoto_thumb FROM pf_review as pf JOIN user as u ON u.userid = pf.userid JOIN pf_product as pfp ON pfp.productid = pf.productid WHERE pf.productid = '1' AND pf.approved = 1 ORDER BY pf.createddate DESC LIMIT 0, 25; MySQL Error : Unknown column 'pf.mainphoto_thumb' in 'field list' Error Number : 1054 Request Date : Saturday, July 14th 2012 @ 07:04:44 PM Error Date : Saturday, July 14th 2012 @ 07:04:44 PM Script : http://xxx/forum/productforums.php?d...es&productid=1 Referrer : http://xxx/forum/threads/275 IP Address : xxx Username : xx Classname : vB_Database MySQL Version : 5.5.23-55 |
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
|
Quote:
View a product [in the front or backend] and open the page source. Copy down the image src path and try loading it on your server... it should be \productforums\xxxxx.image which should correspond to where the image is saved. I can't see your server configuration to know how your folders, slashes and file types are set so it's hard to tell what part of your links are broken but from everything you've posted there doesnt seem to be an issue in how the script works but rather in the configuration versus where images actually are. |
This has got to be one of the most valuable and best mods ever. You guys have worked HARD on this. I will wait until the beta graduates before upgrading to the latest to go live with but I am watching this thread very closely! I think tens of thousands of my forum participants are going to use this once I turn it on.
|
Quote:
sorry about delay, had to sleep. :) Okay then, so when viewing a product ont he front end I obviously see no image, viewing source code I see this for the image call: Code:
http:\\i1049.photobucket.com\albums\s386\KirkFitzgerald\PetersonCeramic3PipeStandPipeRack.jpg Code:
http://localhost/vb4dev/%5C%5Ci1049.photobucket.com%5Calbums%5Cs386%5CKirkFitzgerald%5CPetersonCeramic3PipeStandPipeRack.jpg |
Quote:
The reason external links won't work is the query I had you run which changes / to \ to work specifically for local links. If you want to use remote images instead that's no problem, we can fix the links to point back to those... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
yes, I did sync the images and I did run the query, the result you are seeing in my last post is the result of adding a product from the front end where members would be submitting Products. I changed nothing after running the query other than submitting a new Product on the front end to see what happened, and the results I posted was what happened. Perhaps this is a problem specifically with using Xampp on localhost, I don't know, windows is notorious for being riddled with bugs, we may be looking at a conflict that windows is to blame for. I don't know what else to tell you Ted, the process I went through has been laid out as acted upon, I have absolutely no idea why the results are as they are. I could shut down my real site for an hour or so, back up everything and run the upgrade there for the Beta and see what happens! |
Ted,
I used your "old" mod which worked fine for me and love it. I just updated to your newest version and a little confused/lost. Now all the new reviews I post need approval/moderation. I can't figure out anymore how to turn this off as I don't want to approve them. Also when adding a new review the image uploader doesn't show up on the page. What could be the issue? Thanks for any help or suggestions Michael |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Can you do the same source comparison on an image that was actually up and moved locally? |
Quote:
Code:
<img src="\productphotos\5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg" style="max-width:300px;max-height:300px;" /> |
Quote:
So \productphotos\5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg 1. If you type this path into windows [C:\server\...\productphotos\] does it work? 2. When you open the file 5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg from that folder in windows, does it show anything? 3. Looking at another image on your pages that does work, what's the path? |
Quote:
Code:
C:\xampp\htdocs\vb4dev\productphotos\ Code:
C:\xampp\htdocs\vb4dev\productphotos\5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg The no image icon shows on the Product listings page, it loks like this: Code:
<img src="themes/pscubby/rating/pf/noimage-75.png" width="75" height="75" border="0" alt="missing photo" /> |
Hi Ted S, does the beta fix the issue I commented some replies back?
I still have this plugin installed but nobody can review anything. Should I install the beta or wait for a fix? Regards |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Try changing the source in your template from {vb:raw mainphoto} to productphotos/5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg |
PRF users... Thank you so much for trying out beta out and the feedback!
Just a quick heads up for you all that our team will be at an offsite much of this week with limited access. We will of course still try to provide the fastest support we can and, given that all signs for the beta point up, we hope to launch the stable version of 1.3.0 the following week! |
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
replaced this line: Code:
<a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/showthread.php?t={vb:raw threadid}" class="title"><img src="{vb:raw mainphoto_thumb}" border="0" alt="product photo for {vb:var title}" /></a> Code:
<a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/showthread.php?t={vb:raw threadid}" class="title"><img src="productphotos/5001db3eda3fd_full.jpg" border="0" alt="product photo for {vb:var title}" /></a> It did this: |
Quote:
I always get the message that the description does not contain the minimum length to send the review. |
Hi Ted, you know we're fans of your work so you'll excuse me if I'm being repetitive, but does this new version allow for multiple ratings categories for an individual product?
The full change log mentioned customization, and this is the feature that's keeping us from implementing the product on our big board. |
Quote:
That said, we have addressed this as explained in the change log. Of course we'll leave it to you to confirm if it works properly with your forum settings. |
Quote:
Take a look at the screenshots or try the beta and let us know if this cuts it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I am sorry to report that there is no improvement. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Code:
<img src="\productphotos\50014e732fa54_full.jpg"> |
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|