vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=205388)

vbplusme 12-24-2009 02:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zordrack (Post 1936976)
I have a problem with vbridge plugin -- a conflict with vbulletin gzip compression.
I'm sorry if I didn't notice any previous discussion about this, I had read this thread, but not very carefully, I'm almost 18 hours coding and debugging today.

So, the problem is: turning on gzip compression in vbulletin admin panel causes wordpress with activated vbridge plugin to go somewhat nuts.
Instead of any wordpress page you can only see corrupted first page of vbulletin.
Turnin gzipping off eliminates the trouble, but that's not a nice solution, I think.

A little research turned out that critical line is line 88 in file vbridge.php
Code:

require_once($vwd . '/global.php');
. When gzipping in vbulletin is on, this inclusion results in immediate output of forum's front page and termination of all scripts.

So, the question is -- is there any way to suppress gzipping mode for vbridge inclusion, but leave it on for normal forum operation?

PS: Sorry if my text isn't easy to understand, I'm not native English...

You get gzip error problems when gzip is already enabled on your server. I think it has nothing to do with vbbridge. I this problem when I moved servers and discovered that if gzip is enabled on the server, vbulletin's implementation of gzip croaks. Check your server settings in phpinfo and you will probably find that gzip is enabled already. It has nothing to do with the elegance of the solution, that is the way it works.

HTH

1up_dave 12-24-2009 05:32 AM

I've found a temporary fix for the "admin/first user" bug.

The dilemma: I'm working on a project that is requiring a pretty complex setup, and this plugin was a crucial part of it, especially due to the fact that we need to fully support multiple contributors. Unfortunately, we ran into a huge issue during development, the issue being a bug where the author ID would change to 1, no matter who was editing it.

Ultimately, it came down to a box on the post editor which allows one to change the current author of the post being edited. This box works fine without the plugin active because it would pull the list of authors from the WP database, but the vB bridge does not push it's users into WP, so WP would still only find the same users in it's database. That means when anyone edited the post and saved it, the author box would default to user #1 (usually 'admin'), because, as I mentioned earlier, it does not "see" any of the vB users.

The solution:
Make A BACKUP Of Both Files BEFORE You Make ANY Edits!
These are core files, and can ruin your Wordpress backend. You Have Been Warned!



Open: wp-admin/includes/edit-form-advanced.php
Find and Delete/Comment:
PHP Code:

$authors get_editable_user_ids$current_user->id ); // TODO: ROLE SYSTEM
if ( $post->post_author && !in_array($post->post_author$authors) )
    
$authors[] = $post->post_author;
if ( 
$authors && count$authors ) > )
    
add_meta_box('authordiv'__('Post Author'), 'post_author_meta_box''post''normal''core'); 


Open: wp-admin/includes/edit-page-form.php
Find and Delete/Comment:
PHP Code:

$authors get_editable_user_ids$current_user->idtrue'page' ); // TODO: ROLE SYSTEM
if ( $post->post_author && !in_array($post->post_author$authors) )
    
$authors[] = $post->post_author;
if ( 
$authors && count$authors ) > )
    
add_meta_box('pageauthordiv'__('Page Author'), 'post_author_meta_box''page''normal''core'); 


That's it!
I'd love to figure out how to make the plugin disable this box, and will probably try to do so once this project is done, unless the developer beats me to it. One last reminder: Because we made core file edits, there's a strong chance that the changes you've just made will be overwritten in future upgrades.

M4GN3T 12-28-2009 07:17 PM

Is this working with vB4.0 or not?

AndyAA 12-28-2009 10:31 PM

Does anyone know how to display the authors details / about me (Biography, Location, Interests, Occupation ) in a post?

I have tried various solutions such as:

<?php echo $vbulletin->userinfo['location'] ?><br />
<?php the_author_ID(); ?>
<?php the_author_meta(); ?>
<?php the_author_description(); ?>

but no luck

I am desperate to find how to do this and have't had much success googling or searching for it.

amjadz4 12-29-2009 11:54 AM

hey people i'm back!! :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by M4GN3T (Post 1940746)
Is this working with vB4.0 or not?

Yes I have confirmed and tested it works with WP 2.9 and vB 4.0.0 Gold.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyAA (Post 1940951)
Does anyone know how to display the authors details / about me (Biography, Location, Interests, Occupation ) in a post?

I have tried various solutions such as:

<?php echo $vbulletin->userinfo['location'] ?><br />
<?php the_author_ID(); ?>
<?php the_author_meta(); ?>
<?php the_author_description(); ?>

but no luck

I am desperate to find how to do this and have't had much success googling or searching for it.

What post? vbulletin or wordpress?

MikesSite 12-30-2009 03:57 AM

I have this installed and working great on 3.8.4. Thanks for the great mod, dev! Also thanks for the help with the install amjadz4!

AndyAA 01-01-2010 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amjadz4 (Post 1941454)
Originally Posted by AndyAA
Does anyone know how to display the authors details / about me (Biography, Location, Interests, Occupation ) in a post?

I have tried various solutions such as:

<?php echo $vbulletin->userinfo['location'] ?><br />
<?php the_author_ID(); ?>
<?php the_author_meta(); ?>
<?php the_author_description(); ?>

but no luck

I am desperate to find how to do this and have't had much success googling or searching for it.



What post? vbulletin or wordpress?

In Wordpress please...I am desperate for a solution

flyah 01-01-2010 09:17 PM

does this really work with vb4.0? I mean, no bugs or whatever?

amjadz4 01-02-2010 03:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyAA (Post 1944311)
In Wordpress please...I am desperate for a solution

Hmm, should not be hard. I think it can be done using simple SQL commands and PHP. Also you have to include vBulletin's global.php before calling any variable.

Quote:

Originally Posted by flyah (Post 1944352)
does this really work with vb4.0? I mean, no bugs or whatever?

Yes it works. no bugs or whatever.

AllinJac 01-04-2010 09:00 AM

Sorry for the NUBIE question here but I am having a hell of a time finding

the_author

where is this located.... Is it in WordPress or vBulletin and can anyone tell me which file...

I went through every PHP file and could not find a single instance of the_author...

Thanks in advance for the helping!!!

http://allinjac.com/blog
http://allinjac.com/forums

lycheepassion 01-07-2010 06:53 PM

What exactly does a wordpress bridge do, does it cross post too?? Thank you!

vprp 01-08-2010 04:03 AM

Anyone have Disqus installed on their Wordpress blog? Would this work with it?

AndyAA 01-08-2010 04:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amjadz4 (Post 1944626)
Hmm, should not be hard. I think it can be done using simple SQL commands and PHP. Also you have to include vBulletin's global.php before calling any variable.



Yes it works. no bugs or whatever.

Are you able to provide an example using simple SQL commands and PHP to call the users details in wordpress?

I already have global.php included in a variable.

1up_dave 01-12-2010 01:28 AM

I'm no programmer, but here's what we're using. I don't know if it's the correct query to use, but it works for us.
PHP Code:

<?php $db->query_first("SELECT username FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "user WHERE userid = " $post->post_author); ?>

Then again, we're using the Smarty template engine, so I'm not sure if this would work properly if put directly into the template files. Maybe create a theme function with it or something.

AndyAA 01-13-2010 07:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1up_dave (Post 1953195)
I'm no programmer, but here's what we're using. I don't know if it's the correct query to use, but it works for us.
PHP Code:

<?php $db->query_first("SELECT username FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "user WHERE userid = " $post->post_author); ?>

Then again, we're using the Smarty template engine, so I'm not sure if this would work properly if put directly into the template files. Maybe create a theme function with it or something.

Sorry Dave no luck

If I use <?php the_author_link(); ?> it displays the authors names but I want some more info to be shown like the authors about me and location

AndyAA 01-13-2010 07:19 AM

And random author wordpress codes work and some dont:

<?php the_author_posts(); ?> works
<?php the_author_firstname(); ?> doesn't
<?php echo the_author_email(); ?> works
<?php the_author_description(); ?> doesn't
<?php the_author_link(); ?> work's
<?php $curauth->description; ?> doesn't

Anyone who knows how to get this author stuff working please hit me up...its the last thing I need to fix on my entire blog!!

caracena 01-15-2010 12:35 PM

Hi all,

I'm having the same problem that AndyAA has but with a twist. I'm trying to make two things work: Show the author's info and also make the comments propperly work becouse it won't get the user's avatar. Also, I have a problem where the author is always the same (from vB DB) no matter which user posts and I have multiple contributors... how an I fix this?

Also, has anyone had any problem with the flash upload system in WP after installing this addon? I had to switch to normal uploader becouse the flash system won't recognize users as logged in when this plugin is active.

Using 2.91 + 3.8.4.

Thanks!

Tomahoochi 01-16-2010 02:31 PM

I'm having the same "author" issue as mentioned above. I'm currently running WP 2.7 and VB 3.8.1. I can't upgrade until there is a solution t this since the bridge is integral to my site (www.tmrzoo.com). I've been using ver. 3.05 of the bridge for some time now. NONE of my 774 WP users and 1362 VB users have the same userid. After I upgrade, all of the author names are wrong. Any fix for this?

WouterN 01-16-2010 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyAA (Post 1954210)
And random author wordpress codes work and some dont:

<?php the_author_posts(); ?> works
<?php the_author_firstname(); ?> doesn't
<?php echo the_author_email(); ?> works
<?php the_author_description(); ?> doesn't
<?php the_author_link(); ?> work's
<?php $curauth->description; ?> doesn't

Anyone who knows how to get this author stuff working please hit me up...its the last thing I need to fix on my entire blog!!

You should try passing arguments to the function(s) like the_author_ID()

Stephan Whelan 01-17-2010 06:36 PM

Is this MOD supported anymore as i'm keen to get this working but have run into a few issues that would need the developer to help out with...

InfoNirvana 01-18-2010 12:10 AM

A member active in this thread will do it for a paid service
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=969

Stephan Whelan 01-19-2010 01:50 PM

InfoNirvana,

Thanks for that. I'll be honest that installing it isn't an issue - it's trying to debug problems. We've got as far as getting it all installed and posts being posted to VB, however when we set it to Auto-Integrate we get the following PHP Error reported in our logs:


Fatal error: Cannot redeclare get_userdatabylogin()

MadsK 01-19-2010 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stephan Whelan (Post 1960197)
InfoNirvana,

Thanks for that. I'll be honest that installing it isn't an issue - it's trying to debug problems. We've got as far as getting it all installed and posts being posted to VB, however when we set it to Auto-Integrate we get the following PHP Error reported in our logs:


Fatal error: Cannot redeclare get_userdatabylogin()

Have you installed the plugin on fresh installs of both WP and VB? Also which versions of the two are you using?

Stephan Whelan 01-19-2010 02:13 PM

I have - the wordpress install is 2.9.1 and vbulletin is 3.7.6. We've followed instructions (the only tweak we had to do was provide an absolute path to our globals.php file). Everything worked fine up until Auto-Integration.

amjadz4 01-19-2010 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stephan Whelan (Post 1960197)
InfoNirvana,

Thanks for that. I'll be honest that installing it isn't an issue - it's trying to debug problems. We've got as far as getting it all installed and posts being posted to VB, however when we set it to Auto-Integrate we get the following PHP Error reported in our logs:


Fatal error: Cannot redeclare get_userdatabylogin()

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stephan Whelan (Post 1960213)
I have - the wordpress install is 2.9.1 and vbulletin is 3.7.6. We've followed instructions (the only tweak we had to do was provide an absolute path to our globals.php file). Everything worked fine up until Auto-Integration.


You get this error when you have another plugin conflicting with it. Disable all other plugins and enable just the bridge. When you have it working, then enable the others one by one. If you encounter the same error, you have found the culprit. Sorry to say but you cannot use that plugin along side the bridge due to conflict. Try finding an alternative.

caracena 01-20-2010 05:29 PM

So far I've got this working. I still have to make a good "About the Author" to go in every article in my WP while fetching everything from vB and to make my WP comments (without using the comments from the forum replies) appear with the user's avatar but I can wait for that.

My problem right now is that the bridge is making IE8 act strange. With this plugin activated, there's like a 150px width blank space to the right of my site so I have a horizontal scroll bar. If I use this bar and scroll to the right, it shows only the page background color without the 100% width background images in the top and bottom. It's like the site's CSS knows where to stop repeating images but the browser thinks that the page is wider. It doesn't happens in Firefox.

Any guesses?

Thanks!

Quantnet 01-21-2010 12:04 AM

What happens to custom usergroups from VBulletin? Do we manually add each user to Editor, Contributor usergroups in WP?
I have a few VB users I like to make Editors and how do I go about this.

SirFalcon 01-21-2010 05:42 AM

Bridge works for me.

Currently using:
WordPress 2.9.1 and vBulletin 4.0.1 (the latest version for both software)

Question:
How do you make it display a link back to Wordpress in the vBulletin forums instead of copying the entire blog article?

amjadz4 01-21-2010 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caracena (Post 1961400)
So far I've got this working. I still have to make a good "About the Author" to go in every article in my WP while fetching everything from vB and to make my WP comments (without using the comments from the forum replies) appear with the user's avatar but I can wait for that.

My problem right now is that the bridge is making IE8 act strange. With this plugin activated, there's like a 150px width blank space to the right of my site so I have a horizontal scroll bar. If I use this bar and scroll to the right, it shows only the page background color without the 100% width background images in the top and bottom. It's like the site's CSS knows where to stop repeating images but the browser thinks that the page is wider. It doesn't happens in Firefox.

Any guesses?

Thanks!


I have replied to your PM.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Quantnet (Post 1961854)
What happens to custom usergroups from VBulletin? Do we manually add each user to Editor, Contributor usergroups in WP?
I have a few VB users I like to make Editors and how do I go about this.

Each vb group can be assigned to each WP group. You can choose for example VIP group in vbulletin to be editors or a group like for example Special Members to any one of the WP user groups

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirFalcon (Post 1962032)
Bridge works for me.

Currently using:
WordPress 2.9.1 and vBulletin 4.0.1 (the latest version for both software)

Question:
How do you make it display a link back to Wordpress in the vBulletin forums instead of copying the entire blog article?

In vBridge settings in dashboard look for this:

Quote:

Excerpt Forum Post?:
No
Yes

If Yes Above How Many Characters In Exceprt: Whole Numbers Only

If Yes Above, Enter Link Text Back To Article:
There you can have a link back to the WP article. Type in something like "Read More"

Stephan Whelan 01-21-2010 07:28 AM

Thanks amjadz4 - i'll give that a go.

Quote:

Originally Posted by amjadz4 (Post 1960214)

You get this error when you have another plugin conflicting with it. Disable all other plugins and enable just the bridge. When you have it working, then enable the others one by one. If you encounter the same error, you have found the culprit. Sorry to say but you cannot use that plugin along side the bridge due to conflict. Try finding an alternative.


intospain 01-23-2010 04:35 PM

Absolutely amazing mod, definitely the best mod I have come across.

SirFalcon 01-25-2010 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amjadz4 (Post 1962081)
In vBridge settings in dashboard look for this:



There you can have a link back to the WP article. Type in something like "Read More"

Thank-you! :D

Commander-X 01-25-2010 04:04 PM

Hello I have successfully installed this one posts are posted on the forums, vbulletin can log in etc etc. However when I insert an image in my post via the add image uploader in wordpress the pop up uploader keeps redirecting me to the log in screen, when I enter my log in details it goes blank. Any ideas?

Thanks

caracena 01-26-2010 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Commander-X (Post 1966263)
Hello I have successfully installed this one posts are posted on the forums, vbulletin can log in etc etc. However when I insert an image in my post via the add image uploader in wordpress the pop up uploader keeps redirecting me to the log in screen, when I enter my log in details it goes blank. Any ideas?

Thanks

Hi Commander,

Try switching to explorer upload. I know it's a pain to upload one by one, but that error happens only when using the flash uploader.

oBEAVISo 01-28-2010 04:30 PM

I woud like to get this installed but would not even know where to begin.. Would it cost much to have someone install this for me and make sure its all working as it should be ?? ..

Could one of the developers contact me please.If interested please email me at wane35@googlemail.com with a quote or contact me on msn messenger please paddygamezbox@live.co.uk .

regards

Paddy

mandingo 01-28-2010 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Commander-X (Post 1966263)
Hello I have successfully installed this one posts are posted on the forums, vbulletin can log in etc etc. However when I insert an image in my post via the add image uploader in wordpress the pop up uploader keeps redirecting me to the log in screen, when I enter my log in details it goes blank. Any ideas?

Thanks

This was happening to me when my forum(/forum) was there, and my blog was in the main public html directory. I moved the blog to (/blog) and everything was fine. I think it's a cookie path thing.

amjadz4 01-28-2010 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oBEAVISo (Post 1969101)
I woud like to get this installed but would not even know where to begin.. Would it cost much to have someone install this for me and make sure its all working as it should be ?? ..

Could one of the developers contact me please.If interested please email me at wane35@googlemail.com with a quote or contact me on msn messenger please paddygamezbox@live.co.uk .

regards

Paddy

Please check email / PM.

Regards.

Pirat3 01-29-2010 06:34 PM

Is there any conflicts with VBSEO?

amjadz4 01-29-2010 06:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pirat3 (Post 1969951)
Is there any conflicts with VBSEO?

Nope.

Quantnet 01-29-2010 07:30 PM

I have this working to the point of people can use the same login for both forum and WP. I can post to forum as well.

After i can make a test post, I then turn on integration and turn of Post to Forum.
Now I tried to map a usergroup to Contributor or Author and when I click Map, they have this warning

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /public_html/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php:153) in /public_html/wp-includes/pluggable.php on line 868

all the previous posts are now not showing any author because the mapping didn't work.

any idea?


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02493 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,876KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (22)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete